Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V13, MIUI 6 official developer released :)
Cavino
Aug 15 2014, 10:54 AM
Oh, 1 more thing abt piston.
It got little noise blocking feature. Also its iem is pretty sensitive, touching the earpod (whatever its call) produced a very noticeable loud thud, so should not have too much head movement where its moves the iem on your ears.
My daughter hated it although its audio seems to be the best among all 3 iem I got WHEN used on MI3, complaining abt the iem big round design that is a bit painful when plug into her ears. She prefer the sony RM199 with stronger bass that had molded ear iem design.
So its not perfect but nothing can match it for its price range tho...
This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 15 2014, 11:07 AM
Cavino
Aug 18 2014, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(apache_utara @ Aug 18 2014, 12:30 AM) Talking about ebay, i saw tempered glass SP can get at RM7 already.. Now can change every month already I noticed a lot of the MIUI features are already in MiPad V5. But i still feel google launcher is better  Heard sometimes, those cheapo non-branded glass sp weakness is the glue they for their sp. The glue used are of inferior quality that damage the original screen or leave a sticking residue under it when you remove the glass sp
Cavino
Aug 18 2014, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 18 2014, 02:34 PM) Agreed.... does not deserve to use smartphone... smartphone is for smart people... But I tot smartphone can make stupid ppl smart...that's why I use it...
Cavino
Aug 18 2014, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Aug 18 2014, 02:53 PM) Bros, serious reply. Need help on this Seriously, if it was damage, you're screwed. If you can' use a wire or something to press the pin down, its best to send to Xiaomi Official SC to ask for help. They can do it without damaging your sim pin and retaining the warranty.
Cavino
Aug 18 2014, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Aug 18 2014, 02:59 PM) I think simple solution is not to use the damn adapter lol either use full size sim or micro sim thts it. If you got nano sim go get it changed from ur network service provider. I would rather not risk using adapter seeing that Xiaomi already provides you two different kinds of sim trays. hmm. The new MI3 does not have micro sim tray anymore unless you buy separately from external source or Xiaomi China...
Cavino
Aug 18 2014, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(sanosizo @ Aug 18 2014, 03:11 PM) how much did you manage to freely pull it out before it got stuck? perhaps if there is a small gap, you could insert a nano sim in there to push the pins up. The thing is if the gap is large enuf to put in a sim card, there's high risk of the pin being bended as well.
Cavino
Aug 19 2014, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(jolokia @ Aug 19 2014, 09:00 AM) Why would we ever need indoor location map ?? I only need it when i am driving, indoor driving remote control car no need map...  Someone's house is so big with too many rooms, we have to use gps to navigate to the toilet or find the way out...
Cavino
Aug 19 2014, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(Fasap @ Aug 19 2014, 09:32 AM) Yeah, its a curse man. Living in a big house with big rooms rather than small condo units or rented rooms. Real bummer. Bro, I'm not kidding, my daughter got lost inside an Insurance co CEO house, looking for toilet, almost panic until she remember she still has the phone and unfortunately takda map for the house..
Cavino
Aug 19 2014, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(ahmadz @ Aug 19 2014, 05:39 PM) My Mi 3 keep receiving 'Cant activate SIM Card' notification. Does anyone knows how to solve this? Thanks in advance. p/s: Ive just received my Mi 3 today eventhough on UPS website, it should arrive by tomorrow evening.  Off all of your MI CLOUD syncing in the account section.
Cavino
Aug 19 2014, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(sleyer @ Aug 19 2014, 07:18 PM) flip case still no stock... where can i get flip case can make mi3 stand I still got the original un-open flip case in the box. Not using it. You want, I sell you at cost.
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(viqq @ Aug 22 2014, 08:56 AM) I switched off my mi3 to charge most of the time, but yesterday i fell asleep without waiting it to fully charge. My mi3 won't auto cut when charging overnight. The phone was a little bit hot when I touched it. I suggest don't do overnight charging or plug in your mi3 after 100%. I'm starting to miss my iPhone My MI3 left overnight charge, cool after 100%. I've check the amp before, its minimal charging so the phone SHOULD be cool, not a bit hot. If a bit hot, 2 things might trigger it. 1. Primary possibility is your have active apps running in background, either on purpose or go rogue that consume huge amt of battery thus the charger will keep charging with high amp to replenish it. 2. Secondary possibility is your charger or cable spoil liao...
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(viqq @ Aug 22 2014, 09:14 AM) Yeah my thoughts are like that too. But the charger is perfectly new. How can it be spoiled. One month plus only? By the way I switched off my phone. There is no possible way it an app can run. This phone gave me a lot problems and worries since I bought it. Any takers? You're using original charger or oem one. If original, then no choice. If oem, then you know why. Anyway, if you have Xiaomi PB, try charging using that. Unlike direct plugon charger that do trickle charging after reaching 100%, Xiaomi PB will switch itself off after reach 100% for a short while. Its one of the best safeguard that not all PB has. See if the same "hot" temp re-occur after that 100%. Wonder if your phone battery spoil or not.
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(viqq @ Aug 22 2014, 09:51 AM) Original of course. I can't even find OEM chargers for China products. How ironic. I want my life back. This phone is giving me headaches. You charge your phone with it turned off too? Even if I turned off the phone for charging the chip should not have turned off also.. I don't know how to do another experiment. By the way it's left for more than 5-6 hours since fully charged. I couldn't wait until it to reach 100% then I fell asleep already. was 99% liao.. But at least now I know I shouldn't leave it charge overnight. Reflash to the lastest V23 stock version, factory reset, then see if it works or not.
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(viqq @ Aug 22 2014, 10:35 AM) Nah. I think I'm cool with v14. When I charge it with a power bank it's perfectly cool. I think I just don't let it overcharge again next time. Nothing can be done now. Lesson learnt, no more China phones for me. They are cheap and have good specs but they have compromised little things that you won't notice when buying a phone, e.g. Mic quality, speaker quality, battery quality, motherboard, techincal support & etc. The original charger also looks and feel flimsy. Looks fugly too to be honest. That's the only thing that they should've copied iPhone but did not. You can use Samsung phone's 2 amp charger if someone have them. As for quality of stuff, I agree, overall they are good but the small things that makes up the stability and actual quality, I still prefer my S4. Most likely will upgrade to S6 next year or Note 4 even tho way they are more expensive but less problematic overall and overall apps stability is better (yes, the small stuff matters to me too). This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 22 2014, 11:35 AM
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(viqq @ Aug 22 2014, 12:08 PM) Agreed. Even their firmware updates brings havoc more than help. Havoc havoc ha ha havoc havoc. I'm done with this phone. Let me use it for a few months more and see what happens next. By the way, I did another experiment with a power bank, same thing, the phone still gets charged and heated even after a long period after 100. Suspecting they don't have this charge protection thingy installed on their battery. About update, even Samsung also screws up a lot lar. Their S4 kitkat is so buggy on initial official release, up to now, I still no want update, prefer to stay at 4.3 with its more stable system. Even then, my widget screen update will freeze permanently unless I reboot whenever I activate/deactivate 4G data connection. Iphone firmware update is MUCH less problematic coz they do not have to deal with variety of hardware assembly, screen layout, etc. Just only 1 choice unless you jailbreak. So if you choose stability and stagnancy above all, iphone is still the phone to go for. More choices means more headache.
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(viqq @ Aug 22 2014, 12:08 PM) Agreed. Even their firmware updates brings havoc more than help. Havoc havoc ha ha havoc havoc. I'm done with this phone. Let me use it for a few months more and see what happens next. By the way, I did another experiment with a power bank, same thing, the phone still gets charged and heated even after a long period after 100. Suspecting they don't have this charge protection thingy installed on their battery. That's why I prefer Xiaomi PB, cheap and yet it has more protection features and quality than most below RM200 pb.
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 22 2014, 01:05 PM) wat kind of protection is tat exactly? and I don't think their pass thru charging is protected  I've been trying to find out about pass thru charging. If you say pass thru charging is not protected meaning, they will keep charging trickle charge after 100% till morning, then that might indicate pass thru charging does not go thru battery. The charger will charge both the battery and split out to charge phone instead of it charging battery and battery charging phone.
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(hazril @ Aug 22 2014, 02:34 PM) i beg to differ...i owned a pineng pb...comparing both pb,pineng also has the protection features also plus with a lcd display + torch...quality wise both almost the same... I did say MOST. Yes, Pineng is another cheap and good quality brand. Using mostly li-polymer battery, it is very popular now besides XM. I've been considering Pineng 929 15k mah pb before Xiaomi pb. However it same mah pb is still double the price of Xiaomi although the added price goes to torch light and lcd and usage of the more expensive li-poly battery but do we really need torch light and lcd for double the price of pb tho I had to admit its twin charging port also looks attractive. I'm just saying at its price the nearest competitors of equal quality with extra add on is double the price. This post has been edited by Cavino: Aug 22 2014, 02:55 PM
Cavino
Aug 22 2014, 03:08 PM
To add on, the charge cycle is not calculate using the old method like everytime you charge, its 1 cycle no matter its 98% or 2%.
Li-Ion calculate cycle by percentage as well. If you used 50% and charge to full. It WILL NOT be consider 1 cycle but it was calculated as half cycle. Then next time you do another 50% charge, it will adds up to 1 cycle.
That's why now, I'm not looking to charge my pb using a high amp charger or charge only cable to up the amp. My note 2 charge with its cable seems to charge at 1 ~ 1.5 amp for the pb thus it takes 8-9 hours for full charge but the battery remains cool most of the time.
Cavino
Aug 26 2014, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 26 2014, 02:44 AM) Btw. I've heard that it's the oleophobic coating that makes the glass so tough and hard to scratch. But the coating wears off...? No, oleo coating is for anti-finger print only, no other purpose and it wears out fast, so its a gimmick selling point only.