Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

ADVAN
post Apr 11 2017, 09:23 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

Hi all, anybody tried Sunoco Oil before?
Would like to get some feedback on that. Seen any place selling this?
Looking for fully sym 5w40.

http://www.sunoco.co.jp/english/product/street/svelt.html

ADVAN
post Jul 7 2017, 08:00 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

Hi guys, any feedback on Mobil 1 New Life 0W40 Fully Syn??
Is this mobil 1 new life an ester oil base?
Now tesco doing promotion for RM169. Seems like a good deal.

ADVAN
post Jul 10 2017, 09:07 AM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 9 2017, 08:29 PM)
Anyone heard or use before Full Bore engine oil ?
can share some review on it ?

thanks~
https://www.fullboreoil.com/
Mind to share where can get to buy?
ADVAN
post Jul 19 2017, 03:05 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(life27 @ Jul 19 2017, 01:09 PM)
Is it Lexus brand , I think it will be acceptable brand in the market
My god, as conclusion , it is not good to mix fully and semi synthetic in a car during next service interval
I heard mechanic said cant jump straight from mineral to fully at next service interval. Because the content in mineral oil and fully oil is different.
ADVAN
post Jul 20 2017, 04:16 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jul 20 2017, 01:13 AM)
Anyone use Moty's brand engine oil ?
I'm using Torco SR-1 5W30 now .. plan to try this Moty's oil M110 5w30 for my next oil change ...
Moty is ester base oil. But they dont have API rating. Maybe because is racing oil. It is widely used by JS Racing Japan. Good for NA car with high rev like vtec engine.
ADVAN
post Aug 1 2017, 11:26 AM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(samfisher @ Jul 31 2017, 04:47 PM)
hi guys..anyone here have tried the new SHELL HELIX HIGH MILEAGE 15W-50?..any review?..
This is semi oil for old car right?
Saw it is selling in Shell station.

ADVAN
post Aug 11 2017, 02:53 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Aug 10 2017, 04:12 PM)
[attachmentid=9033354]
This.
Made in Germany.
Made in Germany good??

ADVAN
post Oct 10 2017, 09:16 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Dolinyen @ Oct 6 2017, 07:16 PM)
Now with new technology why still need go outside do purchase?
just go online and grab it, i saw lazada recently can buy engine oil too...
the pop up ads keep reminding me...
Lazada engine oil mostly sold by the spare part shop. Chances of getting immitation oil is high. But there are also genuine one.
ADVAN
post Nov 9 2017, 12:54 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 5 2017, 02:24 PM)
Hi all, amateur to car care here and currently drive a Kenari (auto). Been using random brands of engine oil in the past, I just leave to the car workshop sifu to decide. My uncle told me to use Total brand but usually he recommend me to go to his friend's workshop in Muar, Johor while I am in KL.

So I am looking for a good car workshop for routine oil change (every 5000 km or 3 months). I found some Total Auto Lubcare workshops near my house, so I suppose they use original Total oil.

Will they charge a premium price? How much should I pay if I am getting normal Total oil + oil filter + labour? Just want to know the average price so I won't kena potong.

And if they charge way more, how should I nego? Hmm
For mineral oil, i use Eneos 20W50 SN for my iswara. Oil i buy myself at RM65. Labour and filter workshop charge me RM18. Eneos works vr well with my iswara, but im not sire about other car.
ADVAN
post Nov 29 2017, 08:45 AM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

Recommend to use ACEA C3 oil for newer car instead of A3/B4
ADVAN
post Dec 8 2017, 08:49 AM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

Anybody tried this Hardex Eximius 0W30 before?
Claimed to be PAO oil and comliance to many specification.
Made in Kuantan oil. Haha

ADVAN
post Dec 8 2017, 11:23 AM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 8 2017, 11:12 AM)
The one listed in API is the old series oil i think.
This new series Eximius Platinum and Eximius Gold not listed yet.
Currently im using the Eximius Gold (middle range product), very satisfied.
The next oil change i plan to use Eximius Platinum. laugh.gif

Have u personally tried their oil? Maybe u can give some feedback on their 0W20. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
ADVAN
post Dec 8 2017, 02:01 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Dec 8 2017, 12:54 PM)
Price?  dunno if the printed specs are just for show, but how do they comply with a3/b4 requirement of tbn 10 while at the same time achieve C3/LL04 of low-saps requirement that has a tbn of 7? the additives needed to achieve a tbn of 10 would have pushed the saps level beyond compliance level of c3/ll04
Price i not sure. Im wondering where got sell.
I guess they are complying different year of ACEA standard for A3/B4 and C3 maybe?
ADVAN
post Dec 8 2017, 04:52 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(N_Silver @ Dec 8 2017, 03:17 PM)
Any difference between wso 10w-30 semi and caltex havoline 10w-30?currently using wso and want to refill (have caltex on hand)
Just refill la. No difference, as long same grade. Better than low oil level.
ADVAN
post Dec 9 2017, 11:32 AM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 8 2017, 10:43 PM)
YES the one which cost me rm24x from service center every time i go change. Now my car is out of warranty.. sending my car to quicksave in USJ and LM never disappoints.
Beware of LM which alot of semi syn oil selling at fully syn price.
ADVAN
post Dec 9 2017, 07:59 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 9 2017, 02:02 PM)
u mean u the new molygen? hmm.gif
If not mistaken is molygen and toptec
ADVAN
post Feb 8 2018, 01:30 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 6 2018, 10:14 AM)
Hi Sifus, hope recommendations are allowed here. I've done searches and read a couple pages but still unsure. May I know what engine oil is recommended for a Civic FD1 approaching 190K mileage? I prefer spirited driving over fc, though striking a balance is preferred. Lastly, thinking of sending it back to Honda SC for a full check and oil change. Do they allow bringing in one's oil? Thanks.
Mine also FD1, now stand at 115k mileage.
I am using 0W30 fully syn oil now, so far everything fine. Good balance on fc and power.
After over warranty period, i never send back to Honda SC anymore, but my experience with a few SC in KL they dont allow to bring in own oil, others SC im not too sure.
ADVAN
post Feb 8 2018, 03:50 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 8 2018, 02:53 PM)
Ah I see. Same here, except for hard to get cosmetic replacements I've always sent it to the same outside mechanic since warranty ended. Thing is, he's getting sloppy the last few times I sent for maintenance and making me think of other things that may have gone wrong that I don't know about. Hence the thought of sending back to SC for a good engine look over and fix. Currently using ENEOS fully syn oil. Fishing if there's a better one. For yours, could you specify which particular bottle/brand? Thanks
For reliable and experienced mechanic for civic FD i recommend u below:

JDM Hardcore Motorsport (2 branches)

1. SG Buloh - Lot 479, Jalan Perusahaan 3, Bandar Baru Sg Buloh.
2. Seri Kembangan - No G-75, Jalan PUJ 3/8, Taman Puncak Jalil.

I am using Hardex Eximius SN Platinum 0W30
ADVAN
post Feb 8 2018, 03:52 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(LemonKnight @ Feb 8 2018, 03:00 PM)
I am pretty sure he is talking about the golden-red Honda 0w-30 bottle.
My advice dont buy that one.. Too many immitation in the market. sad.gif
ADVAN
post Feb 19 2018, 07:09 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 19 2018, 01:58 PM)
just bought liqui moly top tech 4100 fully synthetic 5w-40 5L for only rm195 at lazada for next service ( 2003 toyota camry 2.0e )
Are you sure liqui moly top tech 4100 is fully synthetic?

0.1250sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:47 PM