English Clubs Chelsea FC V28, BPL - Chelsea 4 - 2 Swansea City

yinchet
post Aug 20 2014, 11:49 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

Tbh, it is quite unfair to criticised oscar like that.
I dun think the said willian, ramires and mikel have what oscar had.
Passing, tackle, vision, creativity and first touch is way above them.
imo, he have the potential to be next fabregas or ballack.
We tend to forget he is just 22 years old.
I'm quite please with the teamwork btw oscar, fabregas, hazards.
though oscar look lacking of sharpness and match fitness.
juststayreal
post Aug 20 2014, 11:50 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Aug 20 2014, 10:03 PM)
^ ok then, I'll msg Roman to sell Oscar to PSG. laugh.gif

inb4 #Oscarout

It's all about balance. Yes, Oscar natural position is playmaker. But Mou see his other speciality too, his workrate.

Last season, our pivot were not creative enuff. Hence Oscar have to burden the playmaking along with Hazard and Wiliian. But now, we have Fab in pivot who can be a deep lying playmaker. Oscar vs Fab. Who is proven in the PL? Of coz FAb. He had so many season in PL dy, Oscar just had 3 season in the PL. So naturally, Mou will want the more experience player (Fab) to do the playmaking. While Oscar's role for now is similar to Ramires. Tbh, for now I see our playmaking going thru Fab, Hazard. Not Oscar and Schurrle. Oscar's job shud be sumthing like Ramires' job last season. Schurrle's job will be like runner + odd goal.

Btw, let's not be too harsh on Oscar. These brazillians, germans have had a long summer playing the WC. They joined up with the squad quite late in the pre season. Match fitness and form could also be a thing. Let's judge Oscar after 1/3 of the season.

Tldr version. I foresee Oscar playing in a different type of role now that Mou is using Fab as a deep lying playmaker. Imho, Oscar is our best midfielder in pressing the opposition and winning the ball from their DM and defender. Ram does it quite well too, but he always end up with a foul. Oscar's tackle and pressing in the opposition half is second to none in the Chelsea squad.

In our own half, we expect Matic to be a pressing midfielder. But higher up the pitch, it is the presence of Oscar and Costa that is pressing the opposition and winning the ball high up the pitch. Just like what Mou emphasized last season. His philosophy for us, is to win the ball up high in the opposition half, and launch our attack. It is Oscar's work rate and pressing that always wins him a place in Mou's starting 11. imho la.
QUOTE(kucingmainan @ Aug 20 2014, 10:07 PM)
that is why i think he did ok for the last game. not great. decent game for his standard. not exceptional.

i dont think mikel or ramires suit our passing game (we pass a lot in last match). both mikel and ramires have limited range in their passing, not to mention poor first touch.

agree on oscar performance after mata departure. i am one of the guy from 'mata team' and keep on dwelling on 'if only we have mata, we could have win the game' last season. not once, not twice, but almost everytime when the team fail to perform.  blush.gif

hazard done pretty well imo. successfully dribble past numbers of defender, click well with our attacking dept, tracking back & cover for dave. same old hazrd.

for world cup performance, everyone from our contingent play poorly bar schurrle.

current squad good enough for me. got top class cover for each position. our 'second' team can challenge for top4 spot imo.

may i know which am/winger would u suggest to compliment our world class squad?

p/s: i think our defence quite shaky in the last game. cahill and terry both have their share of sloppy moment.
if he is playing a different type of role, something similar to Ramires, that I accept as a reason that he performed below my expectation. However, it still doesn't seem right.. hmm.gif the problem with him is that when Chelsea desperately need a mastermind to create goals, he is not there for us. He lacks the creativity to become a star player and dictate the game. What if Chelsea plays without Fabi and Hazard? We have no extra "key" to tear out opponent's defense. Do we need another playmaker capable of dribbling, passing, and well positioned to create goals? Also, set piece skills are very,very important. We got +1 (Fabi) this season, but we need more

Ok, there is no such thing as "perfect" player that can defend and attack brilliantly both at the same time. However, in the aspect of defensive work, I believe that it depends on the player's strength and stamina. Is Oscar's defending abilities on par with Yaya Toure? Can he really win the ball when he is chasing it with world class ball holding midfielders? I have a doubt on it. Yes, he is very determined and he is the "Mourinho's boy" (always stick to his plan) biggrin.gif but is he the only one who has such ability?

Before he left, Mata was determined too and tried to chased the balls as hard as he can, but no chance was given to him sad.gif I believe that work rate is all about strength and determination, and Chelsea need more than that.

In response to #kucingmainan question, maybe I'm being too subjective and it's still very early of the season, but I think we can have the perfect squad if we can get Sanchez (okok I know it's IM-POS-SI-BLE! sweat.gif)

I've looked at his first game and I'm so impressed of his performance. People says that Spanish League is no way on par with EPL, and the footballers playing there will most likely being crushed by EPL's aggressive and rough playing style. However, I see that he fits absolutely well, and this is only his first EPL game! He runs all over the pitch, from left>middle>right, then next minute right>middle>left, omg he is everywhere! He can take corners, free kicks, everything you need as a set piece taker. When he was robbed of the ball, he can be so aggressive that he chase and strike on his opponent everytime. The referee had no chance but to fouled him but even so, he shouted and claimed that the referee was wrong. In fact, I think Sanchez was the real reason why Arsenal grab the narrow win (though motm is Ramsey) This is the determination thing I haven't seen in a long time, what Chelsea and Man Utd were well known for, what was need to become a real champion. Sanchez has give Arsene the spirit they lack in years.

Well I shouldn't praise our rival's player so much, but yeah, this is what I think of a qualified am/winger for Chelsea thumbup.gif
briantwj
post Aug 21 2014, 12:31 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(juststayreal @ Aug 20 2014, 11:50 PM)
if he is playing a different type of role, something similar to Ramires, that I accept as a reason that he performed below my expectation. However, it still doesn't seem right.. hmm.gif 1) the problem with him is that when Chelsea desperately need a mastermind to create goals, he is not there for us. He lacks the creativity to become a star player and dictate the game. 2) What if Chelsea plays without Fabi and Hazard? We have no extra "key" to tear out opponent's defense. Do we need another playmaker capable of dribbling, passing, and well positioned to create goals? Also, set piece skills are very,very important. We got +1 (Fabi) this season, but we need more

Ok, there is no such thing as "perfect" player that can defend and attack brilliantly both at the same time. However, in the aspect of defensive work, I believe that it depends on the player's strength and stamina. 3) Is Oscar's defending abilities on par with Yaya Toure? Can he really win the ball when he is chasing it with world class ball holding midfielders? I have a doubt on it. Yes, he is very determined and he is the "Mourinho's boy" (always stick to his plan)  biggrin.gif  but is he the only one who has such ability?

Before he left,  Mata was determined too and tried to chased the balls as hard as he can, but no chance was given to him sad.gif 4) I believe that work rate is all about strength and determination, and Chelsea need more than that.
1. Which is why we signed Fab in the first place. To give us an edge in killer pass and through balls. To be the creative spark. Like I said and what this said. If we keep relying on Oscar like last season, we noe it's not enuff, teams found a way to stop our trident from playing. Which is why Mou signed Fab. If we all rmb, when up against those that park the bus against us. We could not break it down. Hence we nid another creator in Fab. Fab is here to shoulder the playmaker responsibility and make us not to over rely on Oscar and co.

2. What if Chelsea plays without Fabi and Hazard? Mou will always have an answer. Even if u are in doubt of Oscar, never doubt Mourinho. Yea. Maybe u can say I'm a Mourinho fan. laugh.gif When without Fabi and Hazard, Mou will always have a way. Look at how far we went in the CL last season without players like Matic, a proper LB, a consistent goal scorer. I credit our CL journey to Mourinho. notworthy.gif

3. Well. Oscar's stats speaks for itself, just Google bout it. I dun nid to clarify on that. I'll just requote

a - Oscar is one of Chelsea's three most successful tacklers last season
b - Oscar was the highest tackler of the World Cup

c - There were games last season when Oscar makes more successful tackles and interceptions on his own than the entire Chelsea backline

and also let's not forget the age difference, experience difference between Yaya and Oscar. Oscar is just 22, just starting his career at a big club. While Yaya is 31, had experience playing in big club like Barca. It's too unfair to compare Oscar and Yaya. Wait til Oscar peaks at his career at 31. Then we'll see.

Btw, imho, i think in time Oscar will play a deeper role as he ages and reach his peak. hmm.gif

4) Me too. I believe work rate is all about strength and determination. And Oscar have the most of it in the forward position. Maybe through out the squad, I would've pick Matic. But in an advance position. Oscar shows hunger in closing down and pressing and tackling. Sumthin that Mourinho admires.

To me, Oscar is the soldier and Mourinho is the general. A general will play the soldier to his best attribute in the general's tactic.

And also, we are all judging Oscar's performance based on just 1 game, against Burnley. Don't forget he had a long WC too. Fatigue and match fitness might bcum an issue too. Let's see how Oscar performs after a few more games. nod.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by briantwj: Aug 21 2014, 12:59 AM
juststayreal
post Aug 21 2014, 01:36 AM

255 posts

^Sure M8, you have made your point and I have made mine. As you have said, it's only the 1st match of the whole season and I may have speculate too early. Let's see what happens in the near future.

I will repeat my earlier post
*I certainly hopes that Chelsea continue achieving good result, and ultimately win the League Title (with all the efforts, Mourinho really should) and therefore I wish for the best of Oscar and hope he can assist, score goals and play beautiful football to prove me wrong in the near future.*

ps: With all the supports given, Mourinho has no other option but to win the league this season. If what you guys said were right, i.e. he did a great job employing Oscar in a better role he could have played, Chelsea will gonna win eventually, and that is exactly what I wanted. However, if things do not proceed as what's expected, I'm here presenting an idea why is it so and hopefully drastic changes will be made.

To one the above comments, it's not unfair to criticize a player if one has his point. This world requires people to think critically and innovatively to develop. At least, people in developed countries does tongue.gif. In the end, as long as both parties have mutual respect, I think it's fair for you and me to discuss about the player's performance smile.gif

Anyway, this Oscar issue has gone too far and I'm gonna stop here. Time will proves whether I'm right or wrong. But one thing's for sure, we all hope that Chelsea win the EPL. Thanks all~ KTBFFH! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by juststayreal: Aug 21 2014, 01:48 AM
briantwj
post Aug 21 2014, 01:42 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

yea. It's a fair bit of discussion. Now with Fab around, kinda curious about Oscar's role. hmm.gif

Maybe Fab's arrival might reduce Oscar's creative burden. Maybe Mou will find a way to reignite Oscar's creative side.

Just have to wait and see as the season progresses.

KTBFFH! flex.gif

This post has been edited by briantwj: Aug 21 2014, 01:46 AM
yinchet
post Aug 21 2014, 03:08 AM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

I mean it is not fair to comparing it with fabregas, mata or silva, or even yaya which already fully mature and develop player.
Yes criticism will bring improvement but let be patient with oscar and let see how his developing into a gooding player.
I'm sure fabregas and mou able to help oscar develop into world class.
nxid
post Aug 21 2014, 09:50 AM

QUOTE(juststayreal @ Aug 21 2014, 01:36 AM)
^Sure M8, you have made your point and I have made mine. As you have said, it's only the 1st match of the whole season and I may have speculate too early. Let's see what happens in the near future.

I will repeat my earlier post
*I certainly hopes that Chelsea continue achieving good result, and ultimately win the League Title (with all the efforts, Mourinho really should) and therefore I wish for the best of Oscar and hope he can assist, score goals and play beautiful football to prove me wrong in the near future.*

ps: With all the supports given, Mourinho has no other option but to win the league this season. If what you guys said were right, i.e. he did a great job employing Oscar in a better role he could have played, Chelsea will gonna win eventually, and that is exactly what I wanted. However, if things do not proceed as what's expected, I'm here presenting an idea why is it so and hopefully drastic changes will be made.

To one the above comments, it's not unfair to criticize a player if one has his point. This world requires people to think critically and innovatively to develop. At least, people in developed countries does tongue.gif. In the end, as long as both parties have mutual respect, I think it's fair for you and me to discuss about the player's performance smile.gif

Anyway, this Oscar issue has gone too far and I'm gonna stop here. Time will proves whether I'm right or wrong. But one thing's for sure, we all hope that Chelsea win the EPL. Thanks all~ KTBFFH!  biggrin.gif
i dont think you should put your hope on more assists from oscar. he is not that kind of player. he is not hazard, running with the ball often, beat defenders and lay short passes to assist goal. he is not fab where he can make a defence splitting through ball regularly. he is not both. but he is still a creative player. not because of his work rate, aggressiveness or tackles and pressing game but because of his off the ball movements. that is his potent weapon. he open up play by his movement of the ball. finding space to receive the ball.

you can find all of the heat map of every players involved in the last game vs burnley here
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...l#s2014-m755304

oscar is all over the pitch. right, left, center. and actually hazard is the one who sit behind costa when attacking. he is not that impressive because you can see the effects of his movement clearly. actually it play a major part in contributing to open up opponent defence. it is hard to man mark him because of this. i can say right now chelsea is almost complete. hazard who can dribble past opponent and draw opponents to him, fab who can make a nice through ball, schurrlle who can support the striker to score goals, costa a goal machine and oscar who open up defence by his off the ball movements.
sanfa
post Aug 21 2014, 10:51 AM

man from earth
760 posts

yeah, i love the fact that right now we seems like a complete team rather than team that relied on certain player only.. IMHO, for match against Burnley, between Oscar and Hazard, i clearly saw that Oscar has performed better on that particular match. it might be because Hazard has been marked tightly by the defender due to his influence last season, give a space for fab to shine..

later in the future some of the team will start to give more attention to fab, then it will be time for Oscar and hazard to shine.. maybe even Wilian and Ramires will get their fair chance to play.. but I do love Oscar -Fab combi because both of them can both play at pivot attacking. so, they could exchange position throughout the game..

#Oscar is the most versatile player that we have coz he could play at all midfield position.. jack of all trades.. and his attributes allowing other players to constantly change position with him depending on situation.. he might not a world class winger but he definitely world class as a player..
Kerplunk
post Aug 21 2014, 11:30 AM

802 posts

yep i guess it might be down to the system that mourinho employs which emphasises more on oscar's ability to find space and make crucial tackles, rather than be the centrepiece of chelsea's attacking play. sometimes it is quite baffling to see oscar starring in an advanced role for brazil, and then revert to his 'normal' self in blue. if it's down to the gaffer's orders, then there's nothing much we can do about it.

however, one legitimate worry is our diminutive brazilian losing his natural attacking instincts in the process and ends up becoming another ramires with better technique. sweat.gif

this is why i believe jose should give oscar a more attacking role once in awhile, just to watch him unleash his deadly attacking ability we all know he has.

on a side note, SHOCKINGLY, barca's transfer ban has been upheld and they face a transfer embargo till 2015. wait a sec..i thought we were the bad guys? laugh.gif
yokoloco
post Aug 21 2014, 12:20 PM

1,116 posts

transfer news guys.
Chelsea targetting 23 year old striker Mattia Destro from Roma with Torres on loan to them as part of the deal. can reduce the 20m price tag of Destro.

mutliple sources.
soulseeker6187
post Aug 21 2014, 12:58 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Aug 21 2014, 12:20 PM)
transfer news guys.
Chelsea targetting 23 year old striker Mattia Destro from Roma with Torres on loan to them as part of the deal. can reduce the 20m price tag of Destro.

mutliple sources.
Is this Destro kid is good?

yokoloco
post Aug 21 2014, 01:13 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Aug 21 2014, 12:58 PM)
not that sure.. but based on this

seems like he can find the back of the net alot better than Torres. lol.
briantwj
post Aug 21 2014, 01:14 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

any1 but Torres...... laugh.gif
nxid
post Aug 21 2014, 01:19 PM

QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Aug 21 2014, 12:58 PM)
afaik, his scoring ability is average. means better than torres of course. lol...
but what makes him different from other strikers are he is quite mobile and really good in link up with other players.
should be a good buy i guess.
Belphegor
post Aug 21 2014, 01:26 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Just watched the video. Destro kid like Cavani to me. tongue.gif Of course younger and more thirst for glory. brows.gif
briantwj
post Aug 21 2014, 01:27 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

Time to look up for Destro in FM2014 then. brows.gif
alip_11
post Aug 21 2014, 01:32 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Aug 21 2014, 01:27 PM)
Time to look up for Destro in FM2014 then. brows.gif
his stat r more gooding in fm13. brows.gif
Akmall540
post Aug 21 2014, 01:56 PM

197 posts

Mattia Destro used to be my poacher back in FM13. IINM he was shortlisted by Cesare Prandelli in the Italy squad for the World Cup but got axed for the final squad. But one thing to take note is he is injury prone (referring to FM13 though).

This post has been edited by Akmall540: Aug 21 2014, 02:04 PM
alip_11
post Aug 21 2014, 02:03 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(Akmall540 @ Aug 21 2014, 01:56 PM)
Mattia Destro used to be my poacher back in FM13. IINM he was shortlisted by Cesare Prandelli in the Italy squad for the World Cup but got axed for the final squad. But I thing to take note is he is injury prone (referring to FM13 though).
agree.

but since our backup striker for now is torres, I'd rather pick destro anytime though. laugh.gif
eeki
post Aug 21 2014, 02:11 PM

299 posts

if exchange player, we still have 18 foreign player. we only can sell or they take 2 players.

125 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:47 AM