Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)
Aniyo123
Feb 5 2015, 01:11 AM
Wanted Asus VM62N(not for sale yet in Msia) or Zotac Zbox EN760 (no stocks at moment) so decided to look for a laptop.
1. None 2. up to RM2299 3. Work and games 4. at most 14
most important is lightweight if possible have vga output as I already have a monitor (hence why I wanted a htpc in the 1st place) mid range graphic card core i5
rexshadow
Feb 5 2015, 01:17 AM

QUOTE(lenzaiipotatoo @ Feb 4 2015, 01:53 PM) Hi everyone, Preferred Brand: Asus, Dell, MSI Budget: 4k-5.5k Usage: Gaming Size: 15.6, 17 Im looking at AW15 4K IPS display no ssd, MSI GE62 2QE and ASUS G751JT Which one should i pick How about looking thru illegear website. Or ask prince j. Just an opinion.
Crissaegrim
Feb 5 2015, 03:21 AM
Ok going to post my needs.
Gaming laptop budget RM5k+ I want something that will last me for some time (2-3 years) Branding - No concern. Screen size - 15.6"
Initially looked at MSI but that was around dec '14. Open to any suggestions.
sazerx23
Feb 5 2015, 12:26 PM
Hi all,
I've been planning to get the Lenovo z50-70 i5 version for awhile now. Are there any similar models to this one? I know that the Acer e5-571g is similar, but there isn't much info about it online. I opened a thread but there were no replies, hope someone can help me here.
Budget : 2.5 MAX Preferred brand : Any good ones Usage : Watching videos and light gaming Other preferences : Full HD screen, decent graphics card, 15 inches , lightweight.
Thanks!
StephenNg95
Feb 5 2015, 03:04 PM

Hi. I will be going to uni soon so I will be needing a laptop.
Preferred Brand : Dell Budget : less than RM5k Usage : University work, gaming and some editing work Preferred screen size : 13 inch should be enough.
I prefer Dell laptops because of the support service I may need if there is problem with the laptop (need to convince them it's hardware problem) MOST IMPORTANTLY, I NEED A LAPTOP WITH A GOOD COOLING SYSTEM !! Had a bad experience with XPS 9100.
I did some research on my own and came down to Alienware 13 and Inspirion 14 7000. Inspirion is cheaper and the processor is 4th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-4710HQ Processor (6M Cache, up to 3.50 GHz) compare to Alienware which the processor is Intel® Core™ i5-4210U Processor (3M Cache, up to 2.70 GHz). What's the difference?
Is the Alienware build quality better?
(*I post the above message on Thursday, and today (Friday) the price of the 2 dell laptops just increase to am extra of RM 400!!!! wth!!!)
Thanks!
This post has been edited by StephenNg95: Feb 6 2015, 02:14 PM
mdeeen
Feb 5 2015, 04:19 PM
I got my ILLEGEAR Z5 with goood price.. Thanks to hamjun0225 & Prince J here my comparison table.. just wanna share.. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1fwi...dit?usp=sharing
aloy88
Feb 5 2015, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(mdeeen @ Feb 5 2015, 04:19 PM) I got my ILLEGEAR Z5 with goood price.. Thanks to hamjun0225 & Prince J here my comparison table.. just wanna share.. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1fwi...dit?usp=sharingWhere do u find 2859 for Insiporon 7447 ? Is it the Full HD version ?
FabianCheong
Feb 5 2015, 05:31 PM
Hi, Sifus. Need your help. Looking for a laptop for student use. Brand : Any Price Range : Below RM 2100 Uses : Light Gaming, Microsoft Word, Media, etc Screen Size : Any Size Weight : Irrelevant Anyways, I was considering buying the Acer E5-571G laptop.. Still need another option.
mdeeen
Feb 5 2015, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(aloy88 @ Feb 5 2015, 04:44 PM) Where do u find 2859 for Insiporon 7447 ? Is it the Full HD version ? got it.. it was here.. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2446359 & also compare with here (ask) https://www.facebook.com/navotechtechnology?flyingspaghettimonster=ts&fref=ts.. u may also ask some people here.. ask for CNY offer, available perhaps.. This post has been edited by mdeeen: Feb 5 2015, 06:50 PM
myway1985
Feb 5 2015, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(mdeeen @ Feb 5 2015, 06:36 PM) haih, price up.. last time check at techhypermart Got PPL wan? I hv
v2k
Feb 5 2015, 09:06 PM

Preferred Brand : NO Budget : less than RM1.5k Usage : University work, movie Preferred screen size : bigger better
mdeeen
Feb 6 2015, 12:26 AM
Illegear Z5 i7 VS Dell Latitude E6540 which one better for working, design 3D, math computing, browsing..?
This post has been edited by mdeeen: Feb 6 2015, 01:07 AM
SUSSorHye
Feb 6 2015, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(jackycrazy @ Feb 4 2015, 08:21 PM) Need recommendation for friend 1. Preferred Brand: Any 2. Budget: Within 2k 3. Usage: University Stuff, Movie, Song 4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Light weight and screen size around 14 Kindly suggest one for her... Best if come with long warranty... Dell Vostro 5480, best bang for your buck
koonghx
Feb 6 2015, 11:00 PM
I am looking for a laptop or a tablet/2-in-1
1. Preferred Brand : No preference. Not Illegear as I am overseas throughout the year ( Warranty Issue). 2. Budget : RM1500 and below 3. Usage : Coding, SSH client, Linux 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13 inch and above
My previous laptop was a rMBP 13 inch. Used for 6 months got problems and returned it. Right now, my plan is to use a laptop/tablet/2-in-1 for SSH to my desktop or as a portable computer for on the go coding/web browsing.
I am looking at Onda Tablets v919 or Teclast Tablets X98 Air 3G These tablets are Windows / Android dual boot but next next week is Chinese New Year, so I probably can't get them before end of February.
So, right now I am looking for a similar priced or speced laptop/tablet if available.
I would very much like to buy a Freedos laptop because it would save some cost as I will uninstall Windows anyway. But the problem with my price range is that the laptops have disk drive which means that the laptop is heavy and thick.
HP Stream 13 seems to be a pretty good option but it does not have upgradable RAM. Can you guys suggest me a laptop that is light and cheap? Preferably with flash storage/SSD. Processor no need to be powerful, just that RAM need 4GB and FreeDOS.
Sorry that my inquiry is quite long.
Thank you!
tank_slayer
Feb 7 2015, 05:11 PM

My budget is above 5k but below 6k...im interesting in Msi GE62 Apache Pro or Alienware 15... Both specs are same Which is better? *pls gv me some reasons for ur opinion, really needed, thx
This post has been edited by tank_slayer: Feb 7 2015, 05:12 PM
myway1985
Feb 7 2015, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(tank_slayer @ Feb 7 2015, 05:11 PM) My budget is above 5k but below 6k...im interesting in Msi GE62 Apache Pro or Alienware 15... Both specs are same Which is better? *pls gv me some reasons for ur opinion, really needed, thx Aw15 onsite service... dun need carry to service center n wait
tank_slayer
Feb 7 2015, 08:39 PM

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Feb 7 2015, 07:18 PM) Aw15 onsite service... dun need carry to service center n wait Lol service is not problem for me... I want know compare to performance and quality which one better?
myway1985
Feb 7 2015, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(tank_slayer @ Feb 7 2015, 08:39 PM) Lol service is not problem for me... I want know compare to performance and quality which one better?  Both more or less same.. but lasting aw win lo... Just found out from an IT guru, most of the time new model facing heat issue becoz hardware not compatible with other parts...u know wat I mean
blackcaz
Feb 8 2015, 02:44 AM
hello,
im looking for a 15inch laptop for some gaming like battlefield n photoshop.
currently i have shortlisted a few which includes
1.Lenovo IdeaPad Y50-70 2.ASUS G551JM 3.asus n551zu wif amd fx7600p n r9 ( heard its a waste as it doesnt bring full potential wif 1600mhz 4.asus a550jk or any other sugeestion budget between 3to 3.5k
tq very much for your opinion.
jeushyun
Feb 8 2015, 10:36 PM

1. Preferred Brand: Dell only 2. Budget:2K below 3. Usage: University Stuff,Dota 2 4. Preferred laptop/screen size:minimum 14 inch
This post has been edited by jeushyun: Feb 8 2015, 10:37 PM