191 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

aivenrolx
post Aug 1 2014, 09:55 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 31 2014, 11:43 AM)
Iinm, the 120GB comes on top of the standard 500GB HDD man, I doubt it will be insufficient laugh.gif
Still, you could always upgrade later on, that's one of the greatest things about Illegear notebooks icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyways, better be quick, the promotion is only until early August  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi,ok thanks thanks
InstantNoodles
post Aug 1 2014, 10:22 PM

smile.gif thank you sifus for your help(especially sifu [PF] T.J.) ! glad to have you in this forum icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2014, 10:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Aug 1 2014, 07:31 PM)
hi guys i am buying a laptop for myself...any dieas and recommendation? thank you very much =D
1. Any brand other than ACER
2. RM2k-2.5k
3. multitasking and gaming
4. 15.6 inch
How about these?
15.6"
Asus K551LN-XX251H, i5-4200U + Nvidia 840M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8.1

Dell Inspiron 15 5000, i5-4210U + AMD HD R7 M265 + (1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2399[2.6kg], 8GB, 4-cell, spill-resistant KB, 2 years Pro support, W8.1SL

Lenovo Z50-70, i5-4210U,Nvidia 840M + (1920x1080)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8.1, 2 yrs

HP Pavilion 15-N227TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia 840M@RM1849[2.33kg], 4GB, 500GB, Ubuntu

Toshiba Satelite L50-B203BX/GX, i5-4200U + AMD R7-M260@RM2399[Onkyo], 4GB, 1TB, W8.1; colors: black/gold

*Prices in RRP~
If you are adventurous, get the HP Pavilion 15, get a 256GB SSD and install your own SSD brows.gif
OR get the Asus and install a 128GB SSD icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2014, 10:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(aivenrolx @ Aug 1 2014, 09:55 PM)
Hi,ok thanks thanks
QUOTE(InstantNoodles @ Aug 1 2014, 10:22 PM)
smile.gif thank you sifus for your help(especially sifu [PF] T.J.) ! glad to have you in this forum icon_rolleyes.gif
You guys are most welcomed!
Happy choosing icon_rolleyes.gif
fantastical
post Aug 1 2014, 10:38 PM

108 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Asus
2. Budget: 2.2k
3. Usage: browsing Internet, watching movies, doing assignments
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14 - 15 inch
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 1 2014, 11:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 1 2014, 04:23 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: any reputable good brand.
2. Budget: max RM2.5k
3. Usage: light gaming (fifa, fm, dota 2), microsoft office.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14".

thanks!
This is a good choice icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14 5000, i5-4210U + AMD HD R7 M265 + (1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299[2.02kg], 4GB, 4-cell, spill-resistant KB, 2 years Pro support, W8.1SL

*extend warranty to 3 years with remaining budget, and upgrade to 8GB RAM icon_rolleyes.gif
fkinmeng
post Aug 2 2014, 11:39 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 1 2014, 11:00 PM)
This is a good choice icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14 5000, i5-4210U + AMD HD R7 M265 + (1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299[2.02kg], 4GB, 4-cell, spill-resistant KB, 2 years Pro support, W8.1SL

*extend warranty to 3 years with remaining budget, and upgrade to 8GB RAM icon_rolleyes.gif
4 cell enough ka? hmm.gif

thanks anyway.
Kennyk93
post Aug 3 2014, 01:51 AM

Hi, any recommendations on laptops like;

1. Lenovo preferably
2. Budget around 2.5 - 3k
3. Assignments, light gaming, movies
4. 15" Flex 2 and z50-70

In your opinion, which one would be a better choice? In terms of reliability and performance. Thank you!
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2014, 12:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Kennyk93 @ Aug 3 2014, 01:51 AM)
Hi, any recommendations on laptops like;

1. Lenovo preferably
2. Budget around 2.5 - 3k
3. Assignments, light gaming, movies
4. 15" Flex 2 and z50-70

In your opinion, which one would be a better choice? In terms of reliability and performance. Thank you!
Only the i5 variant of the Z50-70 is worth it hmm.gif
Otherwise you are better off with the Flex 2 icon_rolleyes.gif
Since you have the budget, definitely the Flex 2 laugh.gif
Extend warranty to 3 years on-site and you are good to go~
noloveishere
post Aug 3 2014, 01:07 PM

119 posts

Hello all, going to get a laptop for study use, and need recommendation because i am noob icon_rolleyes.gif
1. Preferred Brand : None, but no apple though

2. Budget : Less than 1500

3. Usage : Surfing, youtube, work, light multitasking, no gaming at all

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" minimum

Main focus on thin design, want maximum portability, screen as long as it can support youtube 720p then can already rclxms.gif , don't care about fast boot or backlit keyboard and all bells and whistles blush.gif

Thank you all that help me thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2014, 02:10 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(noloveishere @ Aug 3 2014, 01:07 PM)
Hello all, going to get a laptop for study use, and need recommendation because i am noob  icon_rolleyes.gif
1. Preferred Brand : None, but no apple though

2. Budget : Less than 1500

3. Usage : Surfing, youtube, work, light multitasking, no gaming at all

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" minimum

Main focus on thin design, want maximum portability, screen as long as it can support youtube 720p then can already  rclxms.gif , don't care about fast boot or backlit keyboard and all bells and whistles  blush.gif

Thank you all that help me  thumbup.gif
Not really a lot of slim notebooks for that price range unfortunately sad.gif

Maybe this one?
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14 3000, i3-4005U + Intel HD4400@RM1349[2.2kg], 4GB, 500GB, Linux, 4-cell, spill-resistant KB, 2 years Pro support; W8.1SL@RM1499

If you really want it thin, then maybe you can fork out a little bit more for this one icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Lenovo Ideapad Flex 2-14, i3-4030U + Intel HD4400 +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM1699[2kg], 4GB, W8, 2 yrs; color: black

adam_lew85
post Aug 3 2014, 02:35 PM

779 posts

1. Preferred Brand : Any

2. Budget : 2000 - 3000

3. Usage : Medium or high gaming, 3D rendering

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : FHD

Thankyou and have a nice day! 😃😃
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2014, 02:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adam_lew85 @ Aug 3 2014, 02:35 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any

2. Budget : 2000 - 3000

3. Usage : Medium or high gaming, 3D rendering

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : FHD
Thankyou and have a nice day! 😃😃
Unfortunately your budget is not really enough for high-end gaming sad.gif
Most of those are RM4k or above

For your budget, try looking at these:
15.6"
MSI
GP60-2OD-034MY, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

GP60-2PE-026MY, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT840M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) @RM3299[Dynaudio], 4GB, 1TB HDD, W8.1

jackycrazy
post Aug 3 2014, 08:42 PM

302 posts

1. Preferred Brand: None, hope that sifus can suggest some so that I can compare...
2. Budget: 2k-3k
3. Usage: Mostly Uni Stuff:Assignment, Movie, Web Surfing, MatLab, Gaming like Dota 2 & CS:GO
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:-

Hi all,just started my uni life few weeks ago, and I think it is the time to get myself a laptop and I'm wondering if you really need one for your uni's life, try not to spend my parents' money as much as possible...
I'm an Engineering student and not sure whether is there any software I'm gonna use in my uni life but so far I know that I'm gonna use MatLab...which I don't know what the hell is this thing...
Also can sifus suggest a laptop powerful enough to play D2 and CS:GO smoothly??I don't expect high resolution gaming using laptop but a decent one should be enough....
I'm not sure which screensize I want since I don't own a laptop before...
Hopefully can get an answer from you all soon... smile.gif
fkinmeng
post Aug 3 2014, 09:10 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(jackycrazy @ Aug 3 2014, 08:42 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: None, hope that sifus can suggest some so that I can compare...
3. Usage: Mostly Uni Stuff:Assignment, Movie, Web Surfing, MatLab, Gaming like Dota 2 & CS:GO

Hi all,just started my uni life few weeks ago, and I think it is the time to get myself a laptop and I'm wondering if you really need one for your uni's life, try not to spend my parents' money as much as possible...
I'm an Engineering student and not sure whether is there any software I'm gonna use in my uni life but so far I know that I'm gonna use MatLab...which I don't know what the hell is this thing...
Also can sifus suggest a laptop powerful enough to play D2 and CS:GO smoothly??I don't expect high resolution gaming using laptop but a decent one should be enough....
engineering, you might use pro-e or those drawing software if yours is mechanical engineering.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2014, 09:21 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jackycrazy @ Aug 3 2014, 08:42 PM)

Can consider this one:
14"
Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5)@RM3199, 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

The price is in RRP, meaning you should be able to nego until ~RM3k nod.gif
Recommended this 14 incher because its more balanced in terms of performance and portability nod.gif
It comes with a powerful quad-core CPU, definitely capable of running all the Engineering programs you throw at it brows.gif
And it comes with a pretty decent graphic card as well, definitely more than capable of handling D2 and CS:Go nod.gif

However, do take note that smaller notebooks tend to get hot when on load, so make sure you provide proper ventilation while you are running analytic programs/ gaming icon_rolleyes.gif

technosakai
post Aug 3 2014, 10:05 PM

546 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Lenovo, Acer
2. Budget: 2k - 2.5k
3. Usage: Mostly Uni Stuff:Assignment, Movie, Web Surfing, Fifa maybe?
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" above

Currently I'm looking at Lenovo S410P and Asus K551LB. Price is almost the same. Which one is better?
A store in pyramid is offering student price for S410P for 2499, with i7 processor and also Microsoft office ( Student ) not full.
Any better choice?
Please help biggrin.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2014, 10:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Aug 3 2014, 10:05 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Lenovo, Acer
2. Budget: 2k - 2.5k
3. Usage: Mostly Uni Stuff:Assignment, Movie, Web Surfing, Fifa maybe?
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" above

Currently I'm looking at Lenovo S410P and Asus K551LB. Price is almost the same. Which one is better?
A store in pyramid is offering student price for S410P for 2499, with i7 processor and also Microsoft office ( Student ) not full.
Any better choice?
Please help biggrin.gif
Not taking a look at the Lenovo Flex2- 14? hmm.gif
technosakai
post Aug 3 2014, 11:12 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 3 2014, 10:09 PM)
Not taking a look at the Lenovo Flex2- 14?  hmm.gif
The price and spec of it?
I don't really like those notebooks that can be bend like Flex.
People complain about Lenovo's hinge not so good.
Later overtime the Flex's hinge might be loose as hell so maybe not a good choice for me blush.gif

Other than Flex, any good option? I wanna game some times on the notebook. Maybe Fifa 14.
Any other good choices between 2 - 2.5k?

This post has been edited by technosakai: Aug 3 2014, 11:18 PM
cslance
post Aug 3 2014, 11:34 PM

337 posts

Hi, I'am considering on the following laptop. Please give some comment and advise which one to get. Main usage. Autocad, photoshop and 3d rendering software.

1) MSI GS70
2) Illegear RS-15
3) Asus G750

My budget fall below RM6k. So please advice. Need advice hopefully before the RS-15 promotion end. 7th August

191 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:22 PM