Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V24, Please follow the format :)

fkinmeng
post Aug 1 2014, 04:23 PM

6,372 posts

1. Preferred Brand: any reputable good brand.
2. Budget: max RM2.5k
3. Usage: light gaming (fifa, fm, dota 2), microsoft office.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14".

thanks!
fkinmeng
post Aug 2 2014, 11:39 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 1 2014, 11:00 PM)
This is a good choice icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14 5000, i5-4210U + AMD HD R7 M265 + (1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299[2.02kg], 4GB, 4-cell, spill-resistant KB, 2 years Pro support, W8.1SL

*extend warranty to 3 years with remaining budget, and upgrade to 8GB RAM icon_rolleyes.gif
4 cell enough ka? hmm.gif

thanks anyway.
fkinmeng
post Aug 3 2014, 09:10 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(jackycrazy @ Aug 3 2014, 08:42 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: None, hope that sifus can suggest some so that I can compare...
2. Budget: 2k-3k
3. Usage: Mostly Uni Stuff:Assignment, Movie, Web Surfing, MatLab, Gaming like Dota 2 & CS:GO
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:-

Hi all,just started my uni life few weeks ago, and I think it is the time to get myself a laptop and I'm wondering if you really need one for your uni's life, try not to spend my parents' money as much as possible...
I'm an Engineering student and not sure whether is there any software I'm gonna use in my uni life but so far I know that I'm gonna use MatLab...which I don't know what the hell is this thing...
Also can sifus suggest a laptop powerful enough to play D2 and CS:GO smoothly??I don't expect high resolution gaming using laptop but a decent one should be enough....
I'm not sure which screensize I want since I don't own a laptop before...
Hopefully can get an answer from you all soon... smile.gif
engineering, you might use pro-e or those drawing software if yours is mechanical engineering.
fkinmeng
post Aug 12 2014, 04:34 PM

6,372 posts

actually, which brand is the best in terms of longevity and price wise?

is lenovo good enough?
fkinmeng
post Aug 12 2014, 04:47 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 12 2014, 04:42 PM)
Have a read haha  icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks for the read, didn't know it is on the front page. blush.gif

but the main problem is, where to test the laptops? not all physical shops have all sorts of laptops.
fkinmeng
post Aug 12 2014, 05:00 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 12 2014, 04:52 PM)
I suppose that's because at the same price range, people would prefer going for the Flex 2-15 that comes with a FullHD Screen + hybrid drive hmm.gif
However, never buy a notebook solely based on the main specs... if you like the HP Pavilion (after you have tried it out), and don't need a FullHD screen, then its worth considering  nod.gif
The most important thing is that you like it nod.gif after all, you will be stuck for it for several years to come~
Some notebooks we will never get to try, especially higher end business notebooks.. but still, most of us will never consider getting those notebooks as well, so it doesn't really matter.

Most of us will be happy enough with premium-line notebooks for everyday tasks: They perform well enough and are reliable too~

As for gaming devices, apart from those close to or more than RM10k, they can be found as long as you try nod.gif

Anyway, mind sharing your budget and usage?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Aug 1 2014, 04:23 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: any reputable good brand.
2. Budget: max RM2.5k
3. Usage: light gaming (fifa, fm, dota 2), microsoft office.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14".

thanks!
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 1 2014, 11:00 PM)
This is a good choice icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14 5000, i5-4210U + AMD HD R7 M265 + (1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299[2.02kg], 4GB, 4-cell, spill-resistant KB, 2 years Pro support, W8.1SL

*extend warranty to 3 years with remaining budget, and upgrade to 8GB RAM icon_rolleyes.gif
i asked before, and you gave suggestions already. but still, worried lo. blush.gif

some people said, laptops with dedicated GC easier to kaput when compared with those with intel hd graphic, that's part of my worry as well. rclxub.gif

but main point is don't want to regret la.

0.0556sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:08 PM