Not sure but mine only jerk when im driving slowly without pressing the the peddle. Its abit annoying during slow traffic.
Proton Suprima S V2, V2 already!
Jan 25 2015, 11:45 PM
671 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Not sure but mine only jerk when im driving slowly without pressing the the peddle. Its abit annoying during slow traffic.
Jan 30 2015, 09:32 PM
If your budget is tight, try get the F1 Directional 5 instead. Im currently using a second set after the first one only last me 45000KM. Still not as great as F1 Asy 2 but because of the RM320 price tag, its worth considering
Feb 27 2015, 07:45 PM
Mine also was like that, it doesnt want to run the navigation app no matter how much I press the button. In the end, i was force to asked the sc ppl to help me solve the problem.
Now its running but the HU always hang randomly, so much stress Currently surveying to replace the HU, might get a pioneer with mirror function. |
Mar 15 2015, 11:56 PM
Finally change my stock HU to a better one.
[attachmentid=4374056] |
Mar 16 2015, 12:19 AM
Everything else work except the front and reverse sensor. I have to change to a third party sensor. But im willing to sacrifices that because Im starting to get really fed up with the random hang on the stock HU.
Mar 16 2015, 10:56 AM
Yup, to my surprise the new HU didnt fit nicely. I thought 7inch lcd should be big enough but lucky theres a bracket to hold it. Didnt consider the size before buying it. lol
Later i will upload a demo picture of the unit when i have the opportunity. As for the price, it cost me RM2k including the reverse sensor and labor. |
Mar 17 2015, 01:42 AM
@mystvearn
Ill try to answer your question the best possible QUOTE Does the GPS work? This Kenwood model? http://www.kenwood-electronics.co.uk/car/n...m/mm/DDX7015BT/ emm....i dont think the gps work anymore because it doesnt have a function that uses the GPS. And yes thats the one im currently usingQUOTE How does the third party sensor work for the front and rear sensors. The Suprima shows a picture with the zone so you know which zone is near. In high end HU, there is a port for the reverse sensor, but not the front sensors. i think the stock sensor perform better because it can detect object farther then the one i replace. The third party sensor just perform average so far. QUOTE Maybe an 8 inch unit would be better? The Suprima unit got a DVD above and the buttons are on the side. That is why the need for a braket. Also, IINM, high end HU have steering controls, however, only limited to one control and not both sides. The mode and search left and right on the right side of the steering column is not available on most HU manufacturers. You might be right but if you do some quick comparison, you will notice the screen size is the same for both the stock and the one i got - 7 inch. It might be that the casing on the stock unit is a lil bit bigger then most 3rd party HU. But you can still overcome it if you can find a better looking bracket, it should improve the overoll look. Just in my case im lazy to look for it at the moment As for the steering control, luckly i still can use all of it except for the mode button. it just not compatible with my player. QUOTE I wanted to change mine, but I have a problem fiding a unit that has the front sensor and the right steering remote. I can find the reverse sensor and GPS in high end units. If you know, please tell us Sorry im not sure if such unit exist or is around, maybe i didnt looking harder. I actually lowered my expectation when replacing the HU. I just told the shop owner that i want to keep the control on the steering, can use reverse camera/sensor and sound better then the stock HU. In the feature here say this: http://www.kenwood-electronics.co.uk/car/n...T/?view=details Parking sensor wire Yes Reverse sensor wire Yes Why need manual reverse sensor? We actually try using back the stock sensor but in my case it doesnt work properly because it seem to be heavily related with the stock HU. Because i dont want to wait long, i just told them to ditch the stock sensor and replace with a new sensor system. QUOTE Also, This model is not sold in Malaysia. Please tell where you did this Bought it at a small accessories shop near proton center in sg besi. This model just arrive in malaysia directly from the supplier, they havent officially launch it here. QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 16 2015, 06:30 PM) Nope, mine only show parking guide. Just plain basic |
Mar 17 2015, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Mar 17 2015, 09:00 AM) owh I see... btw, just for info, this is what we call visual proximity reverse/parking sensor... yes the one im using doesnt have that left or right side object indicator, just plain beep and parking guide line.[attachmentid=4375415] not just beep beep sound, it comes with visual guidance... IINM, not all car got this features... even camry didn't come with this features for its front parking sensor IINM.... but proton not market this features... haih.. another bad move by proton... came on, revamp proton.... same goes to auto un-flip side mirror, during drive, if you flip your side mirror due to tight space or to pass, you can flip your side mirror, then when your car accelerate, the side mirror will be auto un-flip... waiting for HU firmware upgrade, there will be major bug fixed... so maybe will be more stable... this is on BMW [attachmentid=4375420] Thats what i like about proton, they dont usually advertise the small things like auto flip side mirror, front sensor and other thing. |
Mar 18 2015, 02:39 PM
Apr 18 2015, 08:03 PM
Suprima s R3 laptime
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZW_bfXzS7A even pro driver can only get 2:42:71 This post has been edited by Volt: Apr 18 2015, 08:04 PM |
Apr 18 2015, 09:14 PM
Sigh.... my car is going to do it's 60K km service next monday, i wonder how much it would cost for the major service?
I think alot of thing need to be changes once the car reach 60k km and my paycheck still 1 week away. This post has been edited by Volt: Apr 18 2015, 09:14 PM |
Oct 3 2015, 02:22 AM
I have used 2 sets of Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 for my suprima over this 2 years.
First set last me around 42K and 2nd set which im still currently using, could last me another 40K. In terms of performance, i would say above average. Im not a pro driver but so far i havent experience any slip during driving either in dry or wet road. The only thing i dont like about this particulate tyres is the noise level it produce during driving. Its noticeably louder then the stock tyres and can be really annoying on bad or old road. The only reason i still pick this tyres is the price. For RM318 per tyres, its cheaper then other rival such as Yokohama C-Drive which cost RM360 near my area. |
Oct 4 2015, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 3 2015, 09:51 AM) You must be content with the F1 Directional 5 for using that one again As long you can get it at a decent price, its a good buy. But for frequent long distant traveler, i would recommend getting something else. Mainly because of the noisy tyre roar. I think 99% of the time I'm doing city driving. Home-work. At most in town driving will never get more than 60 KM/h. I can do 80+km/h with my Honda Future. Only time when I do pressure the tyres is one exiting out to the main road since there are cars, so most of the acceleration is done there since I need to cross to the other side and there are no traffic lights. On average I do 20 km/day. 1% long distance (includes balik kampung). I have skidded with the stock tyres twice. Luckily there were no cars. Current mileage is almost 20k. I have checked the stock tyres this morning, I see some blistering (or wrinkles) on the rubber nearest to the outer wall, no blisters on the rubber towards the body of the car for all tyres. Some blisters run for 1-2 mm deep. Two tyres have blisters on the groove part (rear tyres). The front tyres have less blisters compared to the rear, but appeared more "scrubbed" than the rear tyres which I think is due more to acceleration. I do check the tyre pressure regularly Thread depth is about 5 mm on average from the tyre thread indicator, not from the groove. There should be enough thread since 2 mm is when it is recommended to change. I will bring the car to the Goodyear to check the blistering. A bit worried about this since I cannot see how deep the blister is actually. Im planning to get either Yokohama DB decibel or Goodyear Asymm 2 in my next change. I want something more quiet cos i always on the road. |
Feb 4 2016, 05:11 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(silver311 @ Jan 24 2016, 10:25 AM) Any of you guys changed your infotainment system? Will it void your warranty and any recommended replacement? This stock one is very problematic i have change my infotainment to pioneer since last year. I got really feed up after the proton's infotainment hang on me for straight 2 days. and yes it will void the warranty but not the whole car, i think it would not void the engine. So far i already claim few small part from proton and they still honor it. last time i successfully claimed an engine mounting without a problem. |
Feb 5 2016, 12:39 AM
its up to you but let me warn you that changing the infotainment is a pain in the ass. you will lose your front sensor and the back sensor might need some modification/replacement. The shop that i last went need the whole day to setup the new infotainment and to make sure everything works including the control on the steering and the reverse sensor.
Feb 11 2016, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 11 2016, 10:34 AM) IINM, for the rear sensors should not be a problem since new HUD has inputs for both camera and rear sensor. The problem is the front sensor. That what i first thought but during installation, the shop worker having difficulties making the reverse sensor work. They tried few alternative but that darn thing still wouldnt work properly. At the end the shop owner install a cheap 3rd party reverse sensor kit for free since im a loyal customer of his. Its not accurate like the one on the stock HU but it sufficient for the time being. QUOTE Even in default unit, need to push button to activate the front sensor. I went to few accessory shops and they say that the front sensors will be a standalone unite like the default version. However, you loose the small figure on the screen when the front sensor is turned on and have to rely purely on beeping sound. Like reverse sensor before reverse camera. Yea, the shop owner also told me that the front sensor need a new sensor kit if i still want to use the front sensor. But in the end i didnt install it because i dont use it often before changing the HU. So im not to bothered without it QUOTE Control on steering is battery operated right? There are no physical wires from the steering to the radio. Its all wireless. Getting the left controls on the steering wheel to work should be straightforward for the car. I am not sure about the right controls. I am not sure if the "mode", "<", ">" will work. Usually the cars will have the telephone call, speakerphone controls and the end call for the other remote. Did you loose any of the default controls when changing the unit? About the controls on the steering, Im not sure how it work but fortunately they manage to make everything work as it should. Both left and right work properly. The other thing that i lose when changing the HU is the navigation system. 3rd party GPS HU are quite expensive but luckily i can still use waze on my tablet ![]() This post has been edited by Volt: Feb 11 2016, 12:18 PM |
Feb 11 2016, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Feb 11 2016, 01:15 PM) Thanks for the detail reply. I think Proton may have used some proprietary blaupunkt sensor it slightly harder to mess around with it. If you use waze on tablet, can you use the HUD screen to control waze? Say thank you, or put destination, or must you do that from the tablet and the screen is only there to mirror it? If so, you will have two screens on at the same time when mirroring? I normally just use the tablet itself because the screen on my tablet is alot bigger then the HU and i can place it near my dashboard but in case i want to access my tablet through the HU, i can do it using a special app for android device. That app lets me control the tablet through the HU. But the touch sensor on the HU isnt sensitive as on the tablet so often i just input the info on to the tablet instead. Plus you cant use the HU to play mp3 while mirroring, so it a big inconvenient |
Feb 22 2016, 07:11 PM
My car already clock 86k km but when I went to Proton center at Jalan Chan Sow Lin to get that host replace, they dont have stock. WTH proton, they recall their cars but dont have stock for that part in their branch center. So now im just waiting for a disaster to happen
Feb 26 2016, 12:18 PM
I bought mine for RM400 (per tyre) before gst last november at a tyre shop in klang. The price shouldn't be that different in 2 month.
This post has been edited by Volt: Feb 26 2016, 12:20 PM |
Apr 29 2016, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(Mxmagic @ Apr 25 2016, 12:24 PM) Hi, I'm a student and I'm deciding between the iriz and the suprima S, heard iriz is techonologically better but the suprima bigger space and nicer drive would be really good to have, I'll be driving this car for at least 4 years before it is handed to my brother, so, is it worth it to add another 15k for the suprima S, how much more expensive it is to maintain? I think you should consider preve premium, abit cheaper but perform exactly the same as suprima s |
| Change to: | 0.0594sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:43 PM |