5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Chipset cooler, discussion and suggestion

akachester
post Feb 25 2007, 10:29 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Would those JingTing perform better than TR or Noctua?lol...Hope can ask my brother to get me one when he go Taiwan for holiday...lol..
akachester
post Feb 28 2007, 07:35 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Can i fit a fan onto my Zalman Flower NBF46J?I just feel its getting too hot.Any way of including a fan there?
akachester
post Mar 6 2007, 09:13 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

I am wondering, there are some mobos that only come with one chipset heatsink while there are some that comes with 2.What are the difference?Is that what we call northbridge and southbridge if there is 2 of those heatsink there?This is because i am using a gigabyte mobo now that only have one chipset heatsink but i have seen some pictures of DFI mobos that comes with 2.Is there any difference and should i be using 2 aftermarket chipset cooler or i can leave one of them using the stock one?Thanks...
akachester
post Mar 7 2007, 06:49 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Mar 7 2007, 04:13 PM)
if im not wrong, the northbridge produces more heat. thus it needs a bigger hsf to facilitate the amount of heat released smile.gif
O..ok.Does this mean that it is not neccessary to change the stock HSF on the southbridge even though i am into OCing compared to the northbridge?I only have a NB cooler rite now and still considering whether it is necessary to get another for the SB.
akachester
post Mar 7 2007, 11:16 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Ok.Thanks for the information.I guess there aint any need for SB cooler after all.I will try to search for a better NB cooler than my current Zalman flower.Would an ATI Xfire 3200 chipset be producing the same amount of heat as the NF4 SLI chipset under the same condition?

And i would like to know is it possible to get the TR HR05/05SLI at LYP and what price it will be?The HR05SLI should be able to fit most mobos rite(i mean particularly DFI mobos)?

This post has been edited by akachester: Mar 7 2007, 11:17 PM
akachester
post Mar 8 2007, 09:34 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just wondering, how do you guys judge which chipset cooler is better and which is not?Is it by just looking at how the heat is lowered during LOAD?The JingTing doesnt look too bad at all.From the charts, it does look better than the PC Cooler..
akachester
post Mar 11 2007, 09:50 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just wanted to know, would the Noctua fit well on the DFI CFX3200?I have seen many people using the Evercool NB cooler on their DFI.Is the Evercool good?Or any good suggestion on what chipset cooler i should be using on a DFI board?I currently have a Zalman and it isnt doing a very good job in cooling my current "VERY HOT" NForce4 SLI mobo...
akachester
post Mar 12 2007, 12:39 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Mar 11 2007, 11:15 AM)
the noctua will definately fitt the CX3200. alot of people use the evercool because its relatively cheaper
Wow..good news for me then.I was afraid that it would not fit.I had a rough estimation using the Noctua with the DFI Lanparty Venus and it does seem that it wont fit in especially if having a long GC.My cousin is already having trouble mounting the Zalman on the Venus due to the long GC and its big HSF.Thats why i am wondering will it fit on the CFX3200 or not..And if it does, it will be a good news to me as i am thinking of replacing my Zalman soon...

This post has been edited by akachester: Mar 12 2007, 12:50 AM
akachester
post Mar 23 2007, 07:39 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just received an email from Noctua regarding the NCU6 compatibility with DFI CFX3200 mobo..Bad news, they highly do not recommend using it just in case in the future you wanted to change to those GC with big HSF.Damn, if i would have gotten a good reply from them, i might opt to buy it very very soon...

akachester
post Mar 24 2007, 08:30 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Mar 23 2007, 09:32 PM)
Noctua dont recommend installing U6 on my mobo too but you can change the direction of your U12F or your ocming heatsink. Problem should be solved.
But wouldnt graphic cooler be clashing with the nb cooler?I mean assuming if i am using cooler like 8800, it would surely be clashing with the nb rite?If it really wont, then i will surely be getting it soon once i get my budget...

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Mar 24 2007, 04:40 AM)
checkout the new mosfet cooler frm thermalright, sure looks radical and cool, adjustable length somore, altho what tht means im not sure

[attachmentid=208509]
If i am not wrong, from the picture, the adjustable length should be the bottom end of both side of the mofset. If you look at both the heatsink's end and head, they are flat. So, i guess u could use either end for your mofset depending on the size since both end are of different length..I mite be wrong..lol..

This post has been edited by akachester: Mar 24 2007, 08:33 AM
akachester
post Mar 24 2007, 09:05 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 24 2007, 08:53 AM)
The problem on that heatsink is, how the hell in the world are you going to stick that heatsink on your mosfet & PWM's chips?

Thermal sticker won't be able to stick that heavy heatsink, even better if your motherboard in standing position. [not in lying down position.]
lol...maybe someone should start bashing TR with email regarding this matter..Anyway, just wondering, how many type of mosfet/PVM coolers around?Does all mobo support these type of cooler and does it really help that much?Caue my old Giga mobo doesnt have these...
akachester
post Mar 24 2007, 03:08 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Mar 24 2007, 11:48 AM)
It is depends on how you mount the U6. I dont think there will any problem in clearance.

lol..With these words, the Noctua is begining to get really tempting now.But i must really measure how am i going to mount it first even though i doubt i will be getting the 8800series anytime near...Just having this kind of doubt since i had wrongly gotten the Fatal1ty cpu cooler which is blocking my ram ever since...
akachester
post Mar 26 2007, 08:08 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

lol..that chipset cooler is "cute"...

Had anyone tested the Noctua NC-U6 with a fan?How well it will perform?
akachester
post Mar 27 2007, 08:24 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Mar 26 2007, 08:51 PM)
Shawty attach fan to it before, I think you can check back many many pages back... sweat.gif  If you don't want, you can PM him directly... brows.gif
lol..i will check out previous post and see later...

Anyway, i might be changing my stock DFI nb cooler with the Noctua soon.And since my Zalman might be lying around, could i replace the SB cooler with the Zalman as well?lol..cause i had touch the SB before and it feels quite hot as well...And its time to test my chill factor..

This post has been edited by akachester: Mar 27 2007, 08:24 AM
akachester
post Mar 31 2007, 01:56 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Is that lanparty chipset cooler will be built-in into the original DFI board?Seems nice to me and looks like it will perform well.Especially having fins as well at the base..
akachester
post Mar 31 2007, 06:11 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Any recommended fan for the NC-U6 which is powerful but silent?
akachester
post Mar 31 2007, 06:44 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Mar 31 2007, 06:14 PM)
do you have the fan clip for NC-U6? mine dont have leh
Nope i dont have those fan clips either but thought of adding another fan for the Noctua for better performances...
akachester
post Mar 31 2007, 06:47 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Mar 31 2007, 06:47 PM)
using cable tie shud do the trick but not so "lawa" but it works.
Is it very hard to get those fan clips?
akachester
post Mar 31 2007, 06:57 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 31 2007, 06:50 PM)
Remember to use silent fan on the NC-U6. smile.gif

As high speed fan won't work on NC-U6.
Plus, if you use high speed fan for the NC-U6, it will result to high vibration which is not good for your chipset which will result to bad contact between the chipset and the base.

And when the contact between the base and the chipset is bad, the thermal transfer wont be good.

If you have a way to find those rubber strips like what you get in either Noctua NH-U12F and in the Thermalright Ultra 120 packaging, then that's good. The rubber strips will lower the vibration produced by the fan.

I suggest using either 60MM @ 700MM fan that runs on not more than 2000RPM
Thanks for the info there.Is there any recommended fan at those sizes by you?Heard from people here that you have tested some fans before on the NC-U6.Which performs best and which does not?

Anyway, some pictures of my NC-U6 in my rig. Barely hitting my GC (7300GT) and the Zerotherm cooler.Not sure will still fit or not if using longer GC in the future...

akachester
post Apr 1 2007, 10:00 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Guys, need some oppinion here...

I know there are 2 types of chipset available.One is a chipset with heatspreader where the chipset size is very big while another is without the heatspeader.If my SB is with heatspreader, could i use a zalman cooler which has a smaller base on it?

EG:

The base of my zalman cooler is smaller than the chipset heatspreader of my sb.Could i still use the Zalman to replace the original DFI without any problem?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:27 PM