Steam Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V43, Worst Steam sales ever?

TSCheesenium
post Jul 11 2014, 09:49 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Jul 11 2014, 08:07 AM)
Not every content become DLC bcoz they can't finish it on time. Some were already done, they just delay the release.
What are the evidence that Gearbox cut the content for DLC when its finished and fully polished?

Mechromancer's early previews are quite rough on the edges with missing animations and bugs. Psycho literally was rebuild from sctratch after release.

You have no evidence that they actually cut finished content and turn them to DLC while keep harping on that they are doing do.

I just cannot stand developer that overdone dlc shit, even season pass or GOTY version could not cover all gaming content.
They did not force you to buy those cosmetic stuff while Headhunter packs are useless unless you want to do a lot of raid content.

Then they still got DLC leveling cap shit?! rclxub.gif not just one but TWO level cap DLC. doh.gif
No one forcing you to buy them. And also useless unless you are the hardcore players who could play UVHM.

To be fair, not every developer play this dlc marketing strategy.
That is true, Gearbox isnt Capcom.

So it is fair to preorder great games if you know how they handle new content.
Then, I hope you wont preorder Borderlands The Pre-Sequel.

Still, that just my preference, some people want to try out new game asap, some did't mind to play older games which completely released every damn DLC at cheaper price.
Dont try new games if you butthurt over GOTY versions. Wait for complete edition only buy.
TSCheesenium
post Jul 11 2014, 11:34 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Jul 11 2014, 11:19 AM)
there no evidence show that those DLC were finished or fully polished b4 BL2 released but there no evidence on the other side as well. What so call early preview is controlled publish by them, only they know the true story.
I'm not going to entertain everyone with flame war. Everyone got their preference. Yup, they are not forcing me to buy those DLC, therefore Im not buying it. Same like everything that on sales or micro-transaction, nobody is forcing us to buy their product. But people that doesn't buy it mostly will rant about it.
once upon a time, the GOTY version is actually complete version. Nowadays, even the complete version might not be complete. Yes, I'm not even planning to preorder any massive DLC game.
There are but you just denying it. Go find a Mechromancer preview compare to the released version. The art and animations are unfinished in the early preview even though the skills are mostly done. Psycho is finished months after release. If they finished him before release, whats the point of holding it for more than half a year when people tend to buy DLCs more in the first 3 months after the game's release? That is reducing their potential revenue which is a dumb move and Psycho isnt even on disc content.

Not every developers are scum bags like EA. Gearbox is pretty shit, but their DLC policy isnt that bad.

Both classes were pitched along with the 4 original classes was pitched to be in the final game but they did not get picked due to various issues. You think everything is in production will be in the final game? No, that doesnt happen at all as there will be plenty of content cut from the game as the development gets closer to release with various reasons from insufficient time to finish it, like Mechromancer to not enough money to push the content out. Most cut content will become DLCs post release since they are started so why throw them away.

DLC that actually expand the content, like Tiny Tina DLC is completely different from microtrasactions that force you to pay $10 to skip the waiting timer.

BL2 GOTY version has all the essential content which is Mechromancer, Psycho and the 4 DLCs from Season Pass. The other content are either useless, like those hats and skins if not just tiny content that isnt worth bundling with. Gearbox made those tiny content packs because the hardcore players wants more raid like content so they made those content for them. If you dont do raids all the time to get those legendary drops that appear once a blue moon, those content are literally rubbish to you because they take less than an hour to beat each with barely anything new.

Since you hate this business model so much, then, dont buy their games. Vote with your wallets rather than whine here are Gearbox is robbing you. I dislike their UVHM nonsense and all the post Season Pass raid content, they did not get a cent from making those content. BL2 GOTY is more than enough for majority of the players.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 11 2014, 11:36 AM
TSCheesenium
post Jul 11 2014, 11:52 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Jul 11 2014, 11:45 AM)
I did vote with my wallet, but still I could not resist getting this shit off my chest. Just like how u dislike micro-transaction and rant about it.
DLC at least offer something in return in terms of new playable content. Also, even expansions like Skyrim's Dragonborn and XCOM's Enemies Within expansion are considered as DLC where not every DLC is a money grab.

Microtrasaction does not. It is designed to let you skip some grind that they designed to force you to go through or buy power with real money. At its worst, it is an initiative to milk more money from the "time limited" ones or the dumb ones, does DLC even do that in general? At best, it just give you small amount of cosmetic content like a hat for much higher price you pay for most DLC.

Am I "time limited" or stupid to buy Enemies Within for XCOM or a car pack for Grid 2? Does those 2 DLC removed any unpleasant grind from Grid 2 and XCOM?

Do you even know the difference? Or you are expecting games to be finished on release with no DLCs.

And you dont even seemed to understand why Gearbox made more DLCs after the Season Pass. It is simple, because the hardcore players asked for it.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 11 2014, 11:57 AM
TSCheesenium
post Jul 11 2014, 04:29 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Jul 11 2014, 04:25 PM)
You mean this research?

Please dont sperm spam the thread with those stuff. sweat.gif
TSCheesenium
post Jul 12 2014, 08:42 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Jul 12 2014, 03:34 PM)
inactive la that thread somemore no chinese ver
Thats a mobile game, not a PC game.

Any more posts about mobile game in a PC subforum will be reported.
TSCheesenium
post Jul 16 2014, 01:45 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Jul 16 2014, 10:37 AM)
Lol, all this while I thought X-Com is an FPS type of game so I never bothered with it. Now I learn that it's a strategy game. Must buy liao. tongue.gif
If you like strategy games, you'll probably like XCOM. Just dont expect the reboot to be the same as the original but the reboot is still a pretty good game as a whole.

Do remember to get the complete edition. It is pretty good IMO as even the small DLC does add a bit of stuff. The cosmetic DLC is great if you like to customise your soldiers.

And the iPad version of XCOM is pretty good too, except a bit harder than the PC version.
TSCheesenium
post Jul 16 2014, 02:26 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Jul 16 2014, 01:51 PM)
Different difficulty settings?
No, gameplay and mechanically similar to PC version, except the iOS version has half of the maps of the original game and no cosmetic option.

If you remembered, XCOM always have those highway or road maps with little covers and lots of explosive cars which are much harder than the other maps with buildings, the iOS version is literally filled with these maps with a lot of building maps removed from the game. Almost every 2 mission, you'll get an open map which is a pain in the butt to play that results higher death toll and also less veteran soldiers in your army.

I kinda call it XCOM: Die More Edition on iOS.
TSCheesenium
post Jul 16 2014, 03:17 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Jul 16 2014, 03:14 PM)
The Complete Edition is the one in Humble Bundle as bonus game right? If yes, then yup, I just bought that. And also The Bureau: X-Com Declassified, just for the kick of it. I'll try it out first and will just leave the more expensive one (Enemy Unknown) till next time lah.  biggrin.gif

Also, when I see soldiers with guns in game trailers/pictures/posters, I will immediately think 'FPS'. I'm bias that way. LOL.  tongue.gif
No no, I was talking about this version. It is the Complete version of XCOM, not X-COM. XCOM's marketing has a lot of those close camera shots which made it feel like a shooter. Misleading marketing lol.

X-COM is kinda obsolete these days as there are Open X-COM to play which is leagues better than the original.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 16 2014, 03:18 PM
TSCheesenium
post Jul 16 2014, 03:24 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(limjenson @ Jul 16 2014, 03:21 PM)
Don't you need the vanilla xcom before using openxcom?
Open X-COM is standalone.

I think it is the same as Open RA and TA Spring which is fan made version of Red Alert 1 and Total Annihilation.
TSCheesenium
post Jul 16 2014, 03:58 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Jul 16 2014, 03:51 PM)
Okay, noted. Thanks. Will KIV till sale.

I saw X-Com: UFO Defense's store page and went 'I would totally play this.' But when I saw XCOM's store page, I went 'Meh, FPS.' hahahaha.... something went wrong somewhere in my brain.
Well, XCOM has some sort of cinematic camera for some of the moves you make. It still plays like a turn based strategy if thats what you are looking for. The cinematic camera can be turned off. It is a bit simpler than X-COM but still pretty damn good.

There is also Xenonaunts and Space Hulk. Xenonaunt is the remake of the original X-COM by fans with some quality of life improvements while Space Hulk is the digital adaptation of the board game that is still very punishing like the original board game.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jul 16 2014, 03:58 PM
TSCheesenium
post Jul 16 2014, 04:05 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Oh, another XCOM-like game with a bit of survival elements.
TSCheesenium
post Jul 16 2014, 04:34 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(BBS @ Jul 16 2014, 04:31 PM)
Open X-COM does required the vanilla version.

Below message is from http://openxcom.org/downloads-milestones/

OpenXcom requires a vanilla version of the original UFO: Enemy Unknown / X-COM: UFO Defense (any edition) with the latest patch...
You are right.

My mistake.
TSCheesenium
post Aug 4 2014, 10:12 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

My gawd, 2K really port Bioshock 1 to iOS.

What the hell is wrong with you people? Touch screen is the worse control scheme for FPS. Why not port original XCOM, Enemies Within, Civ 3, Civ 4, Railroads or dumbed down Civ 5 to iOS?
TSCheesenium
post Aug 8 2014, 08:18 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Aug 8 2014, 07:44 PM)
Hello Sifus. Please recommend a good and cheap gaming laptop. Budget 4k and below. >.<
Try Lenovo Y50.

RM4k with i7, 860M (should be around the same level as 840), 8GB RAM. RM3.5k if you dont want Win 8 preinstalled.

Link: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3112306
TSCheesenium
post Aug 8 2014, 08:31 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Aug 8 2014, 08:24 PM)
Does it have removable/replaceable graphics?
No.

Removable GPUs arent worth it anyway.

870M is about 30% more powerful than 860M. 880M is about 50% performance of 860M. It isnt a huge leap from different graphics generation. A new MXM GPU will cost you 1-2k. Might as well save up and buy a new laptop.

And you wont be able to find a MXM chip laptop with 4k budget. They are generally 5k and above.
TSCheesenium
post Aug 9 2014, 11:26 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

If you gonna start another shit storm, I am reporting you straight to the mods.

We dont need arrogant people like you. It is just a game, not World Cup.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Aug 9 2014, 11:29 PM
TSCheesenium
post Aug 10 2014, 01:42 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(xhakox @ Aug 10 2014, 01:08 AM)
Please do.  wink.gif
If he comes back and starts threatening people, anyone is free to report him. We dont need trouble makers. There are enough trouble makers in this world, I dont want to see one here.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Aug 10 2014, 01:42 AM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0235sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:57 PM