QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jul 23 2015, 11:03 AM)
That's very true. Buy the car to enjoy it. So many are so concerned about RV by which they loose sight of real driving dynamics & experience.
Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion
Jul 23 2015, 01:02 PM
367 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Jul 24 2015, 04:45 PM
THP major service was 60K, $3600. I actually am very satisfied, although it was expensive my car now feels & performs like new. After 3 years it's certainly great to have the car running so well.
Aug 5 2015, 10:13 PM
Aug 6 2015, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Aug 6 2015, 05:26 PM) sure or not? Whilst what you say it very true, were forgetting something here. Turbo makes this car is a very good quick get away. Excellent for a robbery hit and run. Our Pug still got value meh ...... hehehe!a pug gets stolen? i was told you leave the door open and keys inside also no problem wor |
Aug 7 2015, 10:18 AM
Aug 13 2015, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(x800 @ Aug 13 2015, 11:28 AM) No problems, its just the environment and service personnel doesnt meet my expectation of a Peugeot SC, unlike CSL & Pandan SC. Its a personal preference thing. You are right, I had the same feeling. So decided to use them just for normal service. Their volume is low, so not a long waiting period for appointments as in the Klang Valley. Recently when I had air con problem, thought of taking it to Glenmari. Again a long waiting period for appointment and was running out of the 3 year warranty. Will try Kajang SC next. Decided to just have Seremban SC log in the problem before the 3yers warranty ends. To my pleasant surprise they managed to diagnose the problem and order the parts. Finally my air con was fixed within 2 weeks. At Glanmeri, getting an appointment may be 2months. They are improving and volume is increasing. Won't be surprised they'll have to upgrade to a better place soon. More mechanic are already employed. They seem competent. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 14 2015, 08:22 AM |
Aug 15 2015, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(Khoiyat @ Aug 14 2015, 03:11 PM) After I test driven the 408 I can feel the performance especially when turbo kicked in Need a bit more info to make comments. But upon releasing the throttle i can feel there is a strong engine braking pulling the car which is really annoying. Anyone can claim that this is normal on this car? What engine rev & speed were u when releasing throttle? Were u applying brakes lightly, hard or none? Engine braking does not deploy during normal driving,ie moderate driving attitudes, as in city driving mostly. It may deploy upon hard driving attitudes! This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 15 2015, 10:51 AM |
Aug 17 2015, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(RTM @ Aug 16 2015, 06:02 PM) My wife interested in getting 408 turbo, may i know major minor issue from this car before buying, and anyone know what is the best deal you can get now, thank you No major issues, very reliable & enjoyable car.I've had mine 3+years, running well.Minor issues: 1.Coolent temp. sensor faulty. 2.Driver's door hinge noisy. 3.Faulty aircon bearing. All 3defects were rectified by warranty claim at service center. Check Carlist.com. Sales on now at $100K + free package. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 17 2015, 07:07 PM |
Aug 18 2015, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(ATEC @ Aug 18 2015, 10:12 AM) Hi ATECYes that's exactly the problem I had, a rattling noise during acceleration! Actually if you start your car and stand near the engine, you'll hear the noise in about 10 sec. time. A faulty bearing in the aircon causes this noise. I was told it's a common problem on the 408T. It could be bad qc on a batch of aircon bearings. I got mine fixed at Seramban SC. |
Aug 18 2015, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(speedysam @ Aug 18 2015, 11:34 AM) Does this means the bearing does not last for a long period? lucky its stil under warranty.how much the cost of it? I don't think that's the case. Although this problem is common, not everyone is having this problem. I think it's only a certain batch or qc has been not that tight.Bro ginolee Sorry to hear about your problems. To be factual, Peugeot France is very sticky about warranty. They will void warranty if any one service is missed or delayed. They are not bothered whos fault it is! With this I don't know how people here can tell you warranty is valid when the former owner has missed a service date. Anyway, in your case better you get your aircon serviced by a mechanic you are confident. I suggest you find a mechanic to service your car and don't bother about SC. Now there are a few Peugeot workshops in Klang valley already. You will get better service and less cost. Btw the way, do let us know the contact of any good Peugeot workshop you find. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 18 2015, 07:05 PM |
Aug 19 2015, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(SpaceX @ Aug 19 2015, 01:01 AM) My 408T is more than 3 years, so it's under 2-year extended warranty. What u say about this extended warranty is very true. T & C are rather vague, what exactly is covered is not clear.Balakong SC informed timing chain is not covered under the warranty parts. From the extended warranty booklet, the explanation on the parts under warranty is kind of vague. Any opinion on whether I should demand for warranty timing change replacement? IMO, timing chain is covered under extended warranty. You should approach Clic & also get an independent legal opinion on this. |
Aug 21 2015, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(SpaceX @ Aug 20 2015, 11:29 PM) I have called CLIC, routed to the extended warranty dept but later was conveniently pushed to Tune Insurance as the extended warranty issuer. Called Tune and the guy confirmed timing chain is not covered under the extended warranty. I asked to show which part of the booklet says so and he pointed out the last sentence in the covered parts section; If the timing chain needs to be changed before recommended time, you certainly have a case for claim. It's the same as a battery Kong before a year or 20k km. Now you need to find out what is the recommended time."Timing belts/timing chains and its related components should be changed in accordance with the manufacturer recommended intervals." Anyone know what's the interval for timing chain change? If the recommended timing chain interval is more than my current mileage, do you think I have a case to demand for warranty claim? |
Aug 27 2015, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(syafiq87 @ Aug 26 2015, 10:04 AM) guys what does the triangle at the odometer mean???it only appear when i on the switch...aftr start the engine it gone....b4 dis i didnt notice i appear....it is related to ABS... Bro this car has many amber messages & lights which are advisory, meaning no fault but equipment is active & functioning. ![]() However a defect is also indicated by amber message & amber icon. This triangle also comes on to catch the drivers attention to tell him a defect has been detected. Meaning, what you have now is not just an advisory but a defect! This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 27 2015, 11:18 PM |
Aug 28 2015, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(tonyloo82 @ Aug 28 2015, 09:00 AM) Bro Skyjack, if he snap the photo at the moment he turn the key to "ON", all the check lights will on and it will goes off if there is no issue after ignited the engine. Good you asked this question,cos this has confused many. Ignition on, system self test starts. Many of the components carry out a functional test upon introduction of electrical power. As soon as the ECU gets self test satisfactory signal, warning lights go off. So after engine start if no warning lights means self test completed & satisfactory. |
Sep 2 2015, 01:45 PM
Sep 10 2015, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(CHONG YB @ Sep 10 2015, 12:56 AM) Hi did anyone experiencing steering feel heavy and light intermittently? I have been noticing this for about 1 month thinking it was the tyre pressure issue but not really the cause. Can anyone advise if this is normal? I'm driving a 1.6 T white. Your feedback is very much appreciated! Thank you. Hi broYou certainly have a problem in steering signal feedback. It's a defective electrical feedback signal that is causing this intermittent feel. Can be dangerous, i'd strongly advice to send the car to your SC. |
Sep 14 2015, 07:32 AM
QUOTE(pg84 @ Sep 12 2015, 08:28 PM) Anyone get this engine clatter ? .....from the net is tensioner issue causing timing chain hitting cover Yes the engine clutter is caused by trimming chain. My neighbor thought mine was a diesel engine. This problem was sevier on early Prince, but on EP6CDTM, it's only noise. Are you having any engine problems? |
Sep 15 2015, 08:10 AM
QUOTE(pg84 @ Sep 14 2015, 08:50 PM) Thats the thing , no error or power loss watsoever. Just the clattering sound. My foremen say its common n could be solved within a day. So my guess is the guide or tensioner Yes it is common on all Prince engine. There were a number of engine failures on Minis, in the early models. BMW diagnosed guides as the problem and redesigned them. It's not a problem now, but clutter seems to be there.Exactly like below Interesting your foreman says he can solve it. Would like to know what he can do. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Sep 15 2015, 08:16 AM |
Sep 15 2015, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(vemaltech @ Sep 14 2015, 12:10 PM) I am getting my car on 22nd Sept next week...... Make an appointment for 40k service at Balakong SC.........After that, plan to send my car for Sierra Glow Coating(Rm1980) at Penang. Found 408T Oem player cost 1.5k including Labour & reverse camera with warranty 2 years at KL 40k service is normal service, should be under $500/-.I've claimed thermostat sensor, it's around $500.How is the cost of 40K service? This is a very reliable Lion. All new 1.6THP petrol engined Lions are now fitted with this engine with further emissions refinement. Adhere to it's service shedule,you'll have no problems. Can't compare this car with Hyundai or Jap cars. The technology in this car is multi years advanced! How much did you pay for the car? This post has been edited by SKYjack: Sep 15 2015, 08:49 AM |
Sep 16 2015, 08:15 AM
QUOTE(vemaltech @ Sep 15 2015, 12:34 PM) Hi skyjack, I too was keen on the 508. But at that time 508 engine still had some unresolved issues. Got to be careful if want to get used 508. If not mistaken from 2014, 508s were fitted with EP6CDTM engines. These are the reliable Prince engines. At the same time 2 of my friends who have the older Prince 508, have had no problem with 3years ownership. I guess luck plays a part too!I found a receipt, previous owner claimed the thermostat sensor before. I m coming along from Penang to Gombak to buy this Lion...Used car dealer offered me cash price 60k for the car & rm500 fees for name transfer & Puspakom. Very nice used car dealer in Gombak. .... No processing fees as some used car dealer cheating by placing 2 to 3k processing fees..... Insurance i take my own. i told the used car, i prefer AIG, since they offer Agreed value of 82K, so used car dealer advise me to get it my own. Kindly advise, How much i can insured my Windscreen. I really satisfied with the condition of the car since the interior original smell still there & every looks brand new & feels like brand new....I can feel since i test drive brand new car before..... Actually i targeted Peugeot 508, but my budget never allow me since i m buying cash & don't prefer monthly installment. Finally end up with 408T.... Ya ur rite, can't compare with Hyundai & Kia in term of handling. Still have 6 days to go. feel the days going very slow....i can't wait to deliver my car.....huhuhu..... IMO, 82k is overvalue as you paid only 60k. When it comes to claims,Inc co insist on market value. I insured mine ( 2012 model ) for 65k, windscreen 3k. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Sep 16 2015, 08:27 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0492sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:15 AM |