STPM 2014/2015

300thecat
post Jul 22 2015, 10:42 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 22 2015, 01:02 AM)
Sup peeps, I'm doing A-Levels now, I might need to take an external MUET paper for it. To continue on with my degree.

Can someone guide me through the whole process?
We've got plenty of information on that here already, bro. Run a quick search, everything is at your fingertips.

Also, I found SAT exercises helpful if you can get your hands on them.
Phoenix W.
post Jul 22 2015, 01:55 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 22 2015, 01:02 AM)
Sup peeps, I'm doing A-Levels now, I might need to take an external MUET paper for it. To continue on with my degree.

Can someone guide me through the whole process?
If you're doing A-Levels, why do you want to take MUET? Take IELTS or TOEFL instead.
MUET only eligible for admission into public university in Malaysia only.
A-Levels can't be used for admission into public university in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Phoenix W.: Jul 22 2015, 01:55 PM
Just Visiting By
post Jul 22 2015, 05:52 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Phoenix W. @ Jul 22 2015, 01:55 PM)
If you're doing A-Levels, why do you want to take MUET? Take IELTS or TOEFL instead.
If he/she is taking A-Level but only intends to further study in IPTS (local universities), then he/she needs MUET.

Malaysian stupid law stipulates that any Malaysian students enrolled in any universities in Malaysia must sit for MUET regardless of what other English Language Proficiency Test the student possess.

Meaning to say even with A-Levels (wholly conducted in English) and with IELTS/TOEFL, Malaysian law says you still need to get MUET.

iSean
post Jul 22 2015, 06:40 PM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(Phoenix W. @ Jul 22 2015, 01:55 PM)
got cold hard fact by parents sweat.gif
saying no money send me out to Oversea studies, so stuck here for good...
A-Levels, in Singapore no need IELTS/MUET, as I was told by NUS by e-mail.
Phoenix W.
post Jul 22 2015, 06:52 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 22 2015, 06:40 PM)
got cold hard fact by parentsĀ  sweat.gif
If you planning on sitting for MUET, the first thing you should do is look it up in the MPM website.
http://www.mpm.edu.my/
MUET is held three times every year, March, July and November session, so you should carefully decide which session you want to take so you can allocate a specific time for your preparation.
Try to do some MUET exercise to understand the test better.

This post has been edited by Phoenix W.: Jul 22 2015, 11:36 PM
Kanan Jarrus
post Jul 22 2015, 09:08 PM

399 posts

got cold hard fact by parents  sweat.gif
why not: let your parents pay for your edu fee, while you work part time and use those money to pay your living hostel fee..
stickmanchong17
post Jul 22 2015, 10:49 PM

359 posts

If u wanna go NUS or other SG uni, I think u can try to apply 4 their scholarships like ASEAN scholarship, but d competition might be tough~
stickmanchong17
post Jul 22 2015, 10:54 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(scgoh123 @ Jul 20 2015, 08:04 PM)
Anyone had finished their Maths T coursework? I heard that it's tough to do it.
sorry, I cant help u wif it. I'm not in Sc. stream~
shereen82
post Jul 22 2015, 11:03 PM

104 posts

do u mean they cant afford even u hav accepted the tuition grant from NUS?

if u hav faith on yourself, try for scholarship? or any bond with singapore company? One of my fren did this for his degree
FlexArianaSwift
post Jul 23 2015, 01:01 PM

268 posts

Well, nus has been very strict on their admission these years especially this year, stpm 4.0 and muet band 5 got rejected for engineering course, this was very unusual as the cut-off point was not that high few years back, they are even more strict for a-levels applicant.
Trust me on this, I had been rejected by nus and got accepted into ntu, and from my fellow ntu mate(going to enrol this year), some of them are with perfect 4.0 and high muet score got rejected thats why they are in ntu. sad.gif
crazywing26
post Jul 23 2015, 09:21 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(FlexArianaSwift @ Jul 23 2015, 01:01 PM)
Well, nus has been very strict on their admission these years especially this year, stpm 4.0 and muet band 5 got rejected for engineering course, this was very unusual as the cut-off point was not that high few years back, they are even more strict for a-levels applicant.
Trust me on this, I had been rejected by nus and got accepted into ntu, and from my fellow ntu mate(going to enrol this year), some of them are with perfect 4.0 and high muet score got rejected thats why they are in ntu. sad.gif
Same situation with my friend. Even scholarship also got rejected (STPM 4.0; MUET Band 4 though). He has to apply for study loan and the debt is quite high. Unless he will work in Singapore after he graduates or else he can hardly pay back the loan.

FlexArianaSwift
post Jul 23 2015, 11:53 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(crazywing26 @ Jul 23 2015, 09:21 PM)
Same situation with my friend. Even scholarship also got rejected (STPM 4.0; MUET Band 4 though). He has to apply for study loan and the debt is quite high. Unless he will work in Singapore after he graduates or else he can hardly pay back the loan.
Well he is going to nus or ntu? Although the debt is high but he can pay back monthly and he is not alone. Of course he is going to work in singapore due to the 3 years bond, if he is good enough he can try to work oversea?
crazywing26
post Jul 24 2015, 12:10 AM

283 posts

He applied to NTU and I am not sure whether he did not apply to NUS or NUS rejected him. NTU accepted him with tuition grant 50%. He tried for scholarship and rejected. I thought the 3-year bond with Singapore is only meant for scholarship holders? I am not very clear of the terms of bonding sweat.gif
iSean
post Jul 24 2015, 09:53 AM

iz old liao.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Jul 22 2015, 09:08 PM)
why not: let your parents pay for your edu fee, while you work part time and use those money to pay your living hostel fee..
Parents:
- Dad - Going to retired soon, due to company going to shut down, thanks to GST and bad business.
- Mom - Working with wages at small hardware shop.

- Brother : Parents need help pay my bro's car rent
- Sister : Doing Dentistry burning up thousands of ringgit in Indon.

Was thinking of doing A-Levels of escaping Pengajian Am due to my Bad Bahasa Malaysia essays.
because my karangan always get 8/25 during my trials at my school's Form 6. cry.gif

Now I don't know I can last in A-Levels anymore, need to cope with so many stress :/

FlexArianaSwift
post Jul 24 2015, 12:26 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(crazywing26 @ Jul 24 2015, 12:10 AM)
He applied to NTU and I am not sure whether he did not apply to NUS or NUS rejected him. NTU accepted him with tuition grant 50%. He tried for scholarship and rejected. I thought the 3-year bond with Singapore is only meant for scholarship holders? I am not very clear of the terms of bonding sweat.gif
Well, the bonding is for 50% tuition grant. Scholars normally dont have bond(malaysian normally take up Asean scholar), there may be exceptions though. Dont worry, he should be able to/ easily secure a job in singapore since he is attending its government uni, the bond is meant to keep you serve their nation, they wont let talents fly away. After the bond maybe he can try oversea or continue working in singapore since the income working in spore is not bad after all. wink.gif
Kanan Jarrus
post Jul 24 2015, 01:45 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jul 24 2015, 09:53 AM)
Parents:
- Dad - Going to retired soon, due to company going to shut down, thanks to GST and bad business.
- Mom - Working with wages at small hardware shop.

- Brother : Parents need help pay my bro's car rent
- Sister : Doing Dentistry burning up thousands of ringgit in Indon.

Was thinking of doing A-Levels of escaping Pengajian Am due to my Bad Bahasa Malaysia essays.
because my karangan always get 8/25 during my trials at my school's Form 6. cry.gif 

Now I don't know I can last in A-Levels anymore, need to cope with so many stress :/
aiyyoohh....then if like dat, your plan very mistake already since early beginning....

your main problem is:Money... even talent students nowadays hard want to find scholarship to go abroad, and also in here... before choose the type of Pre-U, you should know liao on what you're going to do after your degree, plan out your road....

you aim to go overseas with recognised cert, such as A-level, SAM etc.....but, in middle of road, you have no money to get to study abroad, heck, even in middle of A-level also you are struggling......

but, if let's say you stay at stpm, you can still save a lot of money, even more when you don't go tuition.... in fact, just as exactly same as a- lvl cert, stpm cert is recognised in overseas, in ipts and also ipta!!! even if you don't have money to go abroad, you can study in ipts, and if ipts is a little harder in terms of cash, then you still got tiny chance to compete for a seat in ipta, win-win situation!!!!!!

you should just keep hang on, and move forward in your previously stpm,.....
FlexArianaSwift
post Jul 24 2015, 04:00 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Jul 24 2015, 01:45 PM)
aiyyoohh....then if like dat, your plan very mistake already since early beginning....

your main problem is:Money... even talent students nowadays hard want to find scholarship to go abroad, and also in here... before choose the type of Pre-U, you should know liao on what you're going to do after your degree, plan out your road....

you aim to go overseas with recognised cert, such as A-level, SAM etc.....but, in middle of road, you have no money to get to study abroad, heck, even in middle of A-level also you are struggling......

but, if let's say you stay at stpm, you can still save a lot of money, even more when you don't go tuition.... in fact, just as exactly same as a- lvl cert, stpm cert is recognised in overseas, in ipts and also ipta!!! even if you don't have money to go abroad, you can study in ipts, and if ipts is a little harder in terms of cash, then you still got tiny chance to compete for a seat in ipta, win-win situation!!!!!!

you should just keep hang on, and move forward in your previously stpm,.....
Agree with you! With such financial burden one should choose form 6 , it is cheap and open a wide variety of choices-- ipta, ipts, singapore, uk unis. If one is good enough, scholarships are available if u got offer from top oversea unis!
Flying in the sky
post Jul 24 2015, 09:45 PM

Hello, everyone!! I'm currently taking STPM, batch 96'
I've some doubt bout de STPM retake, I need some advice.
I got a B- for my chem in the sem 2 exam.I don't know whether I nid to retake or not. If retake, I'm scared tat I cannot handle cuz I've another 5 retake papers ( sem 1: 3 papers; sem 2: 2 papers)If I do not retake, then most probably I won't hav a chance to get an A for my overall chem even if later I got an A for both Sem 1 & Sem 3 exam, the max grade maybe only A-.
One more thing, if I get worse result for my retake exam, which result will be taken into consideration? The previous one or they'll only look at my retake result, based on the higher grade?
If I would like to retake one more paper while I've ald bought my pin no, is it possible for me to do tat?
Thx, ur help is much appreciated!
Flying in the sky
post Jul 24 2015, 10:06 PM

Hello, everyone!! I've some questions bout STPM retake.
If I get worse result in my retake exam than the previous one, which result will be taken into consideration when concluding the final grade? They'll juz look at my retake result, or they will juz choose based on the higher grade?
If says tat I've ald bought the pin no for retake exam and I would like to register one more subject last minute, is it possible for me to do tat?
Thx for ur advice!
Phoenix W.
post Jul 24 2015, 10:48 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Flying in the sky @ Jul 24 2015, 10:06 PM)
Hello, everyone!! I've some questions bout STPM retake.
If I get worse result in my retake exam than the previous one, which result will be taken into consideration when concluding the final grade? They'll juz look at my retake result, or they will juz choose based on the higher grade?
If says tat I've ald bought the pin no for retake exam and I would like to register one more subject last minute, is it possible for me to do tat?
Thx for ur advice!
MPM will consider the best grade only when concluding your final result. For example, in term 1 you got B+, then when you retake you got B, then MPM will only take the best grade, well in this case, the B+, so don't worry, most people I know who retake their paper will improved, just try your very best.
You can certainly register any subject you wish to retake as long as the online registration application in MPM is still open, please refer to the "Kalendar Peperiksaan STPM" in MPM for more information regarding the closing date of registration for retake in each term.
Please don't burden yourselves by retaking so many papers, you need to allocate some time for your preparation and you'll be busy as hell in each term, so retake when you think you can. It's no use retaking so many papers but in the end you'll unable to truly study all of them.
All the best ! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Phoenix W.: Jul 24 2015, 11:09 PM

69 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0320sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:29 PM