126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Trading Card Games [TCG] World of Warcraft Trading Card Game

Tentris
post Nov 5 2008, 09:00 AM

Only 2 Slashdance loot cards from my DoW box, but a nice mix of epics which i'm pretty happy about.

From the looks of it, Shammy, Mage and Pall cards were particular powerful from the cards i received.

Questions:

1. How do i sell off/trade the rest of the cards i dont need?
2. I'm confused about "Resources" -- every turn i put down 1 card to be a resource. Does 1 card resource = 1 resource?

If 1 card = 1 resource = 1 resource per turn, therefore, it'll be at least 5-8 turns before i start playing some of the really powerful cards in the deck. Is my understand correct?
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 5 2008, 09:45 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Nov 5 2008, 09:00 AM)
Only 2 Slashdance loot cards from my DoW box, but a nice mix of epics which i'm pretty happy about.

From the looks of it, Shammy, Mage and Pall cards were particular powerful from the cards i received.

Questions:

2. I'm confused about "Resources" -- every turn i put down 1 card to be a resource. Does 1 card resource = 1 resource?

If 1 card = 1 resource = 1 resource per turn, therefore, it'll be at least 5-8 turns before i start playing some of the really powerful cards in the deck. Is my understand correct?
Answers to ur question,

1. U can sell/trade cards either at Toybox or CC (Damansara Branch), but most of us will be at Toybox every Friday and Saturday. Do drop by sometime, if u dunno the way, PM me and ill bring u there biggrin.gif

2. Yes, if u lay down 1 card (either a location, quest or a face down card) in ur resource row is consider a resource, 1 card in ur resource row represent 1 resource.

I hope this helps, free fell to ask anymore question if u like.
Tentris
post Nov 5 2008, 09:46 AM

Saturday, what times usually?

Added on November 5, 2008, 11:10 amSome nice basic strategies to be found here.

http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/insider/11/...building101.xml

This post has been edited by Tentris: Nov 5 2008, 11:10 AM
colintang99
post Nov 5 2008, 01:57 PM

15 posts

1 or 2 pm onwards. But u dont need to worry, You can drop by any day except monday. There'll always be a WOW player there
Tentris
post Nov 5 2008, 02:46 PM

i will definitely come by this weekend then. spend a few hours there, see if i can get a few games in.
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 5 2008, 10:34 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Nov 5 2008, 02:46 PM)
i will definitely come by this weekend then. spend a few hours there, see if i can get a few games in.
Sure thing .. hope to see ya there.
cyfc29
post Nov 6 2008, 01:33 AM

39 posts

Will be there too!
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 6 2008, 01:41 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Drums of War Release Party @ Toybox

Locale: Toybox, Taman Paramount
Date: November 08, 2008 (Saturday)
Time: 3:30pm
Entry/Registration fee: RM85
Format: Sealed (5 DoW booster packs)

Prizes:

1st/2nd : DoW t-shirt
3rd: DoW deck box

Swiss Style Rounds: Players will receive a Booster Pack for each Win (1 Win = 1 Pack)

All participate will get 2 EAs...

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Nov 6 2008, 07:53 AM
Saruman85
post Nov 6 2008, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(Tentris @ Nov 5 2008, 09:00 AM)

Questions:

Also Tentris, you went to Comics Corner Subang didn't you? Comics Corner Damansara Jaya is their tournament centre, they have Hobby Leagues most Saturdays. People go there to play then head over to Toybox (or at least that's what they did when I was in Malaysia). They also have a good community to trade with over there, as well as folders to look for cards that you need.

Amd yes, the powerful cards are costed higher so you can play them late-game and not kill everyone with a turn 2 Illidan Stormrage tongue.gif

I'll be back in about a month's time people, so if anyone wants anything from the UK let me know smile.gif
Tentris
post Nov 6 2008, 10:10 AM

During the sealed pack tournament for DoW at TB, are we allowed to trade cards from our deck with others.

17 x 5 boosters = 85 cards only + 1 hero card = 86 card pool to build a deck with.

*2 cards from the booster care probably not going to be used, 1 hero + 1 UDE point card in each booster.

its going to be a struggle to come up with 60 playable cards for a deck from 86 card pool if trades are not allowed.

or is there a smaller deck size to be used during this tournament? 32 cards? 40 cards?

Added on November 6, 2008, 10:18 amOfficial rules answer can be found here:

http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/wow/en/...ournamentrules/

This post has been edited by Tentris: Nov 6 2008, 10:18 AM
retep
post Nov 6 2008, 11:10 AM

30 posts

Jesus christ, 85 bucks for sealed? For only 5 boosters? To be frank this a frigging blatant ripoff. If I were to buy the packs online it'll only cost RM9 each, which only amounts to 45 bucks for packs of 5, shipping excluded.

I know supporting local stores is critical to the local scene and the stores need to make some profit by marking up the price of the product etc. etc.

Screw this, I'm not going this weekend.
yitjuan
post Nov 6 2008, 02:06 PM

arc reactor
688 posts

tentris, it's a 30 card deck. usually you put 6-7 quests that draw cards, any cantrips you can find, a lot of allies in a nice curve, midrange focused(3-6 drops) and play any removal you can find. Horde Hunter is a good choice for Sealed DOW since the flip and they have 3 removal abilities(Snipe, Topple and Arcane Spikes) if you can get the cards.
Tentris
post Nov 6 2008, 03:08 PM

RM85 for 5 boosters is a bit over regular retail.

1 booster = RM17

over-the-counter, 1 booster is RM13, so there seems to bit of a disconnect here.

Unless the info was wrong and its RM85 for 6 boosters...

if it was my shop, i would sell at cost price (maybe RM10? each booster), because it is a promotional event, and getting a good number of ppl into the shop (who might buy other stuff) is always a good thing.

but, oh well, i'll turn up anyways. and probably play too. i need to get my feet wet in a tournament sometime, and all this reading and theorycrafting will get me no where if i dont put it into practice.

Added on November 6, 2008, 3:11 pmbtw, i notice that some of the players at worlds have deck builders build their decks for them...

do we have anyone here in Malaysia that does the same? build decks, then sell either at auction or at the shops?

Added on November 6, 2008, 3:14 pmAwesome resource here.

http://www.wowtcgdb.com

Using it to build some decks for next week's RQ.

wtb playtester pst cbf wow'ing until xpac anyways.

This post has been edited by Tentris: Nov 6 2008, 03:14 PM
qjwong
post Nov 6 2008, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(retep @ Nov 6 2008, 11:10 AM)
Jesus christ, 85 bucks for sealed? For only 5 boosters? To be frank this a frigging blatant ripoff. If I were to buy the packs online it'll only cost RM9 each, which only amounts to 45 bucks for packs of 5, shipping excluded.

I know supporting local stores is critical to the local scene and the stores need to make some profit by marking up the price of the product etc. etc.

Screw this, I'm not going this weekend.
First off, some disclaimers.

I quit WoW TCG awhile back (although I sitll like to raid as game master, muahahaha. Playing overpowered cards and winning often is of course, fun), heavy Magic player. To be perfectly honest (although I'd probably be boo'ed hard by the people here), I don't care much about this game's survival. Also I don't own a business, I'm still a student at MMU, but I run both WoW and Magic tournaments and is the official TO for both games for my club which would explain why I'm more sympathetic towards Toybox in this case, and my insight over tournament events and prize payouts.

Point no 1 - it's hell way cheaper to buy online and ship over.

Sure it is.

I'm assuming you're talking about buying from starcitygames. They sell DoW booster boxes at only 60USD for a box of 24. Which comes to 2.5 USD a pack, x 3.6 = RM9 a pack. You mention it doesn't include shipping - that's very convinient because cheapest shipping from starcitygames by the US Postal Service, is 31.5USD. That comes to 31.5x3.6 / 24 an additional RM4.7 a pack.

Which makes each booster cost RM13.7 - 70 cents more expensive than retail (If I remember correctly).

When you buy a booster from the shop, remember, they paid for the shipping, they paid the rent, electricity bills, water bills and all other expenses for a place you can play at, keeping it clean and comfortable for you at all times.

Also, don't forget when you buy product from your local store, you're showing UDE that there are people who play the game locally, and hence, more likely to receive more tournament support from UDE.

Unless of course you're not interested in having a nice comfy place to play at and don't care about tournament support from UDE.

In that case, enjoy paying your 70cents extra per pack. smile.gif

Point no 2 - Toybox trying to rip us off!

As far as I last remember, retail prices for boosters are RM13 each, which makes RM65 when x5. Take that cost out from the RM85 entry fee, you're paying RM20 for two EA cards and lots of chances to win boosters and other swag.

Let's take a 8 man tournament for example, which will typically call for 3 rounds of swiss. after 3 rounds, 1 player will have 3 wins, 3 with 2 wins, 3 with 1 win, 1 with 0 wins which means toybox will have to make a payout of 3+(2x3)+3 boosters = 12boosters.

12*13 = RM156, RM20 collected from each player x8 = RM160

Additional profit? RM4 - for a whole day of additional work.

*numbers of rounds are not mentioned, but by experience it will most probably be 4 at these sort of events, which is the norm for 9-16 players.

let's make a case for 16, which calls for at least 4 rounds in this case - most payout scenario, 1 x 4 wins, 4 x 3 wins, 6 x 2 wins, 4 x 1 wins, 1x 0 wins = payout = 4+12+12+4 = 32 packs x RM13 = RM416

money collected RM20 x 16 = RM320

additional profit = lost of RM96

But dude, you might say, you're counting in a retail value of RM13, that includes the profit - the numbers and math are wrong!

Well, what I'm trying to say is that they could have just sell their boosters as normal and not lose their usual profits without any extra effort. Alot of people will come and purchase DoW boosters from them I'm sure. Alot of people are excited about the new set and the new cards.

This way don't don't lose extra profit, less effort, obviously, this is the smarter thing to do. Right?

Well, no - both the retailers and players stand to lose.

Players lose the chance to get the special swag given out on the event, they lose the chance to get their hands on the EA promos, and they have less things to get excited about and one less avenue and event to gather and have fun at.

And lack of excitement and interest will eventually lead to the death of the game, which is bad for both retailer and player.

In summary, no I really doubt they're trying to make more profit or rip you off, retep.

Besides, they're a business, making a profit and earning a living is something they have to do to survive and hopefully make enough to live comfortably just like any other job.

So go out there and buy a pack from your Friendly Neighbourhood Local Retail Store! Support your favourite game and your favourite hangout if you like them! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by qjwong: Nov 6 2008, 03:44 PM
Tentris
post Nov 6 2008, 04:15 PM

tbh, after doing some research, there is no real good reason for anyone interested in tournament play to buy booster packs/boxes.

its far far more economical and time efficient to buy individual cards that you specifically want.

You build the deck you want, you get it all at once, and you pay a (relatively) cheaper price than having to plow through boosters to find the cards you need (and go through the hassle of trading away/selling the ones you dont).
ahtiven
post Nov 6 2008, 04:33 PM

1,185 posts

qjwong, very comprehensive analysis there. i like! but profit is definitely there.. somewhere hidden. smile.gif

and i dont think paying another rm20 for a couple hours of tournament with your friends or hobby is a ripoff. :/

also, if you are lucky enough rm85 with 1 high end loot card = you will go sky high, correct Colin? biggrin.gif
qjwong
post Nov 6 2008, 05:21 PM

@ahtiven

>qjwong, very comprehensive analysis there. i like! but profit is definitely there.. somewhere hidden.

Thanks. smile.gif

That's why I said...

... I really doubt they're trying to make more profit ...

*calculations* Blah blah blah... additional profit = lost of RM96 blah blah blah...

Of course they have to profit - if Toybox can't make a profit off the game, it's bad news for the players there, either the game will die in the long run because it's not worth it for Toybox to carry, or Toybox will have to close down because it's not worth the expenses required to keep it running. :'(

@Tentris

>its far far more economical and time efficient to buy individual cards that you specifically want.

I agree!

Statistically, you're most of the time better off buying individual singles for your decks. The only question is, is the availability there?

If no one wants to open boosters, there will be no new cards, hence no cards to buy.

Also unfortunately, if no one buys boosters, it means no sales for Toybox, which in turns means no sales for UDE which equals soon to be dead game.

Thankfully, for me, limited formats are fun. I love booster drafting and sealed deck (in Magic, that is. Sorry WoWers!) - and it's a great way to get cards and have fun in a more balanced environment. (Then again, it might be because I tend to do well in limited formats. Heh.)

Besides, if you get lucky and hit your loot Spectral Tiger, thats a huge lottery ticket there. Which I was lucky enough to get one and a Rocket mount loot card, which I promptly sold off to Starcitygames for 500USD since no one locally seemed to want it. biggrin.gif

P/S - Cracking packs for the sake of cracking packs is one of those sins that I enjoy doing every now and then. I don't know how to explain it. It's expensive, I usually have more than enough commons and uncommons as it is, but there's just something magical about it. wink.gif

This post has been edited by qjwong: Nov 6 2008, 05:26 PM
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 6 2008, 06:25 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Awww .. retep. So i guess u will not b joining us this weekend lor. blink.gif
colintang99
post Nov 7 2008, 01:06 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Nov 6 2008, 04:33 PM)
qjwong, very comprehensive analysis there. i like! but profit is definitely there.. somewhere hidden. smile.gif

and i dont think paying another rm20 for a couple hours of tournament with your friends or hobby is a ripoff. :/

also, if you are lucky enough rm85 with 1 high end loot card = you will go sky high, correct Colin? biggrin.gif
Hahahaha thanks for the reminder, stephen. It was once in a lifetime thingy tongue.gif...

>>QJ, excellent explaination. As much as the shop try to provide prices, they dont skyrocket the price to a point counted as "rip-off". If you do include the calculation as of cost price, toybox still does not really earn that big margin of profit. And the enjoyment of palying with it...Cmon, cant get it else where...And anyway Ong will not allow his players to walk away empty handed...There'll surely be his usual "surprise" prizes drool.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Nov 7 2008, 01:57 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Check out the new redeption cards for DoW crafted items ...

Necessary Materials
Primal Air: 3
Primal Fire: 3
Primal Earth: 3
Primal Water: 3
Primal Mana: 5
Hardened Adamantite Bar: 2
Eternium Bar: 2
Khorium Bar: 3
Nether Vortex: 1
Primal Nether: 3