wai wedding need use so much money

TSJeli0320
post May 14 2014, 02:34 AM, updated 12y ago

57 posts

i see ppl use over 50k+ for a wedding buffet, wedding dinner, find good date for wedding, many many things

i think that those so extra and waste $$$ even though u get the angpao money back

wai not just register as husband wife or maybe take a few family photos? isnt it more cheaper and simple

wai la so ma fan do all this, unless that person really really rich la. I see those financial problems owe ppl money still want do all this.

PS Me kiddo here so not understand
thpace
post May 14 2014, 02:35 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

then why open thread?

no body want to hear a whining b**** in middle of the night barking loudly
TSJeli0320
post May 14 2014, 02:38 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ May 14 2014, 02:35 AM)
then why open thread?

no body want to hear a whining b**** in middle of the night barking loudly
wai fatty in pikachu suit, so ugly wai
SUSLVL1NiNjA
post May 14 2014, 02:39 AM

753 posts

Society these days measure success by how big is your bank account.
Zhao
post May 14 2014, 02:39 AM

1,267 posts

jeli jangan x jeli.
urnicksux2
post May 14 2014, 02:41 AM

77 posts

thats why wimmins go for richfag
MunchkinLandlord
post May 14 2014, 03:03 AM

agree with you....later can use tat money for honeymoon brows.gif

This post has been edited by MunchkinLandlord: May 14 2014, 03:03 AM
Username_Taken
post May 14 2014, 03:06 AM

132 posts

ask the bride
pkiensing
post May 14 2014, 03:14 AM

[Richfag]
824 posts

because is about to make it memorable...
is once in a lifetime!!!
SUSLVL1NiNjA
post May 14 2014, 03:20 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(pkiensing @ May 14 2014, 03:14 AM)
is once in a lifetime!!!
If you think that spending a lot for something memorable in your life worth spending that much, that means your grand wedding is much more memorable than your wife.
The Analyst
post May 14 2014, 04:23 AM

127 posts

For me, it's as long as the wife likes it. I don't want her to have any regrets and use that against me in future. icon_rolleyes.gif
fat cat
post May 14 2014, 04:33 AM

449 posts

is once in a lifetime!!!
if memorable means you will remember that huge amount of money you spent, then go for it.
pkiensing
post May 14 2014, 04:36 AM

[Richfag]
824 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ May 14 2014, 03:20 AM)
If you think that spending a lot for something memorable in your life worth spending that much, that means your grand wedding is much more memorable than your wife.
QUOTE(fat cat @ May 14 2014, 04:33 AM)
if memorable means you will remember that huge amount of money you spent, then go for it.
why so serious! shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
kurangak
post May 14 2014, 04:36 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

my wedding simple. beach event, invite pastor to christen our matrimony there, light food n drink, close family n fren only invited.

event cost, 25k++
SUSleonhart88
post May 14 2014, 05:13 AM

1,686 posts

Usually the parents' daughters want to cari muka in front of their friends that their daughter hv good catches. If u hv cheapo wedding means ur daughters marry poor men.
kons
post May 14 2014, 05:17 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

that's why nowadays people getting married late.

wedding dinner in 5* hotel in KL, easily 70K and above yo.
SUSkimsim
post May 14 2014, 05:43 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

I heart can easily earn back the dinner tables fee.

Just invite rich peoples lah.

SUSleonhart88
post May 14 2014, 05:49 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(kons @ May 14 2014, 05:17 AM)
that's why nowadays people getting married late.

wedding dinner in 5* hotel in KL, easily 70K and above yo.
Qhy in hotel where mark zuckerberg marry in his house
SUSkimsim
post May 14 2014, 06:08 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 14 2014, 05:49 AM)
Restaurant baru nice food, Hotel for show off only.
SUSFindingGamerWife
post May 14 2014, 06:14 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(Jeli0320 @ May 14 2014, 02:34 AM)
i see ppl use over 50k+ for a wedding buffet, wedding dinner, find good date for wedding, many many things

i think that those so extra and waste $$$ even though u get the angpao money back

wai not just register as husband wife or maybe take a few family photos? isnt it more cheaper and simple
wai la so ma fan do all this, unless that person really really rich la. I see those financial problems owe ppl money still want do all this.

as a fellow middle class serf, it is your duty to spend more than 100,000 on your wedding

imagine if you dont spend a fortune on your wedding. your father will be so ashamed of you he will disown you. your mother will cry at night what kind of crappy child she has borne to this world. your colleagues will isolate and not talk with you, for fear that your poor genes and air that you breathe are shared with them

As a middle class serfs, face is important. anyone int he world can buy food and drinks and houses, but not many can buy face. so do yourself a favor, and splurge on weddings. dont lose face.

biar papa, asal bergaya.
kons
post May 14 2014, 06:18 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 14 2014, 05:49 AM)
Easiest halal food which is not buffet style.
If you want minimum of 40 tables, what kind of house can fit that?

Number of tables is depending on what kind of business do you run and your parents run.
Usually the more connections you have, the more tables you need.

QUOTE(kimsim @ May 14 2014, 06:08 AM)
Restaurant baru nice food, Hotel for show off only.
Certain restaurants in hotel like Tai Zi Heen, Lai Po Heen definitely can match whatever restaurant food you can name of.
patienceGNR
post May 14 2014, 06:55 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

i understand what u mean cos i also wondering. my plan for wedding is just garden wedding with finger food. done laugh.gif
cubiclecarbonate
post May 14 2014, 07:07 AM

558 posts

U married already?

How much is your wedding cost?
SUSkernan_rio
post May 14 2014, 07:24 AM

You don't have to. My cousin had a simple wedding diner (close family and friends only) in a restaurant. Rest of the money he saved for a good house.
chew3344
post May 14 2014, 07:30 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(kernan_rio @ May 14 2014, 08:24 AM)
You don't have to. My cousin had a simple wedding diner (close family and friends only) in a restaurant. Rest of the money he saved for a good house.
+1 nod.gif
kenji1903
post May 14 2014, 07:40 AM

3,785 posts

hai kiddo...

spending money is not the point... its what the couple wants that's important...

and some mafan stuff... its tradition, you can opt not to follow, its a choice...

the amount of money spend to see wife happy is priceless... anyway, 2" won't understand one lar...
munak991
post May 14 2014, 08:03 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(FindingGamerWife @ May 14 2014, 06:14 AM)
as a fellow middle class serf, it is your duty to spend more than 100,000 on your wedding

imagine if you dont spend a fortune on your wedding. your father will be so ashamed of you he will disown you. your mother will cry at night what kind of crappy child she has borne to this world. your colleagues will isolate and not talk with you, for fear that your poor genes and air that you breathe are shared with them

As a middle class serfs, face is important. anyone int he world can buy food and drinks and houses, but not many can buy face. so do yourself a favor, and splurge on weddings. dont lose face.

biar papa, asal bergaya.
Lulz face?
SUSapj8188
post May 14 2014, 08:07 AM

198 posts

If you dont do it your in law say you no respect them no give them face and will not able to take care of her daughter blah blah blah.
h4r8_kIlLeR
post May 14 2014, 08:07 AM

89 posts

You can always be a cheapo if you want to.... Small wedding... Tesco cake... Nasi putih+ ulam+ babas instant curry + plain water
crapp0
post May 14 2014, 08:09 AM

4,414 posts

Depends on how they want to budget their wedding. I personally would not rely on "ang pao" money at all to fund my wedding.

Luckily for me, i have enough to pay the full cost of a wedding if is around 50K-75k thx to my job.
Amy09
post May 14 2014, 08:10 AM

279 posts

once a life time..but mostly is chinese not the person who married but those oldfolks like to show off

my grandmother always hope any of us, get married and want to make it big and grand....but unfortunately none of us is married

This post has been edited by Amy09: May 14 2014, 08:11 AM
LittleGhost
post May 14 2014, 08:11 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

because no one really grows up, and peers pressure is still a thing post adolescence.

pencapchew
post May 14 2014, 08:13 AM

24 posts

Yalo...kinda agree. Entertain guests la, like being a clown for the whole night and really no stamina for hamsap moment with wife on wedding dress cosplay after that. What a waste...

SUSsamftrmd
post May 14 2014, 08:16 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

You are soooo dream girl for my wallet.👍
SUSleonhart88
post May 14 2014, 08:16 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 14 2014, 07:40 AM)
hai kiddo...

spending money is not the point... its what the couple wants that's important...

and some mafan stuff... its tradition, you can opt not to follow, its a choice...

the amount of money spend to see wife happy is priceless... anyway, 2" won't understand one lar...
Not couple. Usually the parents daughter
Nauts
post May 14 2014, 08:20 AM

340 posts

Uneducated thinking = Spend BIG on wedding to save face and please long lost relatives only see once in a very dark blue moon.

Educated and forward thinking = Simple wedding with family and close (quality) friends.

Go figure
doppatroll
post May 14 2014, 08:22 AM

1,123 posts

all the money and time waste just for pride and face....
kopihazelnut
post May 14 2014, 08:24 AM

42 posts

i cannot la.. i have big family... need to invite all...
IluvProton
post May 14 2014, 08:28 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Jeli0320 @ May 13 2014, 09:34 PM)

u gal or boy?

meleis, cainies or yindian?

if u a yindian boy. is gooding. gal family gip u bunch of gold and cash to marry their daughter.

if meleis dun care boy or gal, no problem can apply bantuan kahwin 1maresia

if u a cainis gal, no problem also. ask ur parent make ur bf wallet bleed nonstop when ask duit kahwin

if u a cainis boy, nvm also Shaolin Temple still got alot vacant for them
rcracer
post May 14 2014, 08:31 AM

?????
3,772 posts

wedding is not for you.

wedding is for the people around you, you spend the money so your parents, her parents, can feel the joy, show off, your wife can wear that beautiful dress and be princess for a day

weeding is not for you
mumeichan
post May 14 2014, 08:34 AM

4,152 posts

Same reason why people spend so much on education.
arshad
post May 14 2014, 08:35 AM

Blessed
1,527 posts

Dewan Felda already 100k yo for 1k people. laugh.gif
SUSMrUbikeledek
post May 14 2014, 08:36 AM

580 posts

50K for wedding? i better buy a superbike.
rcracer
post May 14 2014, 08:36 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ May 14 2014, 08:36 AM)
50K for wedding? i better buy a superbike.
you picit picit and cucuk cucuk your superbike?
IluvProton
post May 14 2014, 08:39 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ May 14 2014, 03:36 AM)
I lelz this

SUSleonhart88
post May 14 2014, 08:40 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ May 14 2014, 08:24 AM)
This type of girl show off sucking ur money deep deep
wai1460
post May 14 2014, 08:42 AM

267 posts

if u got many $$$ then u can make big2 wedding lo, if no $$$ then go for small & budget type lo.
Its depend on your decision.
kopihazelnut
post May 14 2014, 08:45 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 14 2014, 08:40 AM)
This type of girl show off sucking ur money deep deep
hahaha... i prefer small and simple but what to do, its not like i can choose to which family i should born to...
but doesn't have to be 50k and in hotel... but i have pretty exquisite taste, and that worries me..

SUSeksk
post May 14 2014, 08:47 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ May 14 2014, 08:45 AM)
hahaha... i prefer small and simple but what to do, its not like i can choose to which family i should born to...
but doesn't have to be 50k and in hotel... but i have pretty exquisite taste, and that worries me..
u got no time to makan and enjoy during your wedding dinner lar. hehehe
thesoothsayer
post May 14 2014, 08:49 AM

954 posts

I'm going for simple civil registration. No ceremony. I'm an atheist who doesn't care much for culture.
SUSleonhart88
post May 14 2014, 08:54 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ May 14 2014, 08:45 AM)
20k can? biggrin.gif
For honeymoon my budget 10k

This post has been edited by leonhart88: May 14 2014, 08:55 AM
SUSleonhart88
post May 14 2014, 08:56 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ May 14 2014, 08:49 AM)
I'm going for simple civil registration. No ceremony. I'm an atheist who doesn't care much for culture.
What if ur in law dont agree?
ReWeR
post May 14 2014, 08:58 AM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ May 14 2014, 08:24 AM)
juz treat them minum kopihazelnut cukup lar
Selectt
post May 14 2014, 09:00 AM

wattttt!!
1,707 posts

is once in a lifetime!!!
side ideas.. make as well use rm50k to travel all around the world
wangpr
post May 14 2014, 09:00 AM

758 posts

Most of the reason is parent fault........ want show off to relatives and fren

Show off got money take issit ??? Haha

IluvProton
post May 14 2014, 09:02 AM

143 posts

cainis dinner no sked. sure got untung or less also only fork few k nia.

is the duit hantaran and house dinner and those fancy deco + kehpohchi Dai Kam Jeh + yi mah ku teh + chu pang kau yau + fei see lai
Selectt
post May 14 2014, 09:03 AM

wattttt!!
1,707 posts

QUOTE(Nauts @ May 14 2014, 08:20 AM)
Uneducated thinking = Spend BIG on wedding to save face and please long lost relatives only see once in a very dark blue moon.

Educated and forward thinking = Simple wedding with family and close (quality) friends.

Go figure
rm50k to travel the world + dinner with close family members.
rcracer
post May 14 2014, 09:04 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ May 14 2014, 09:02 AM)

is the duit hantaran and house dinner and those fancy deco + kehpohchi Dai Kam Jeh + yi mah ku teh + chu pang kau yau + fei see lai
you know kepochi means a kay poh cheeb-- lol

pisces88
post May 14 2014, 09:06 AM

3,966 posts

Take 50k buy property better
Selectt
post May 14 2014, 09:07 AM

wattttt!!
1,707 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ May 14 2014, 09:02 AM)

hm.. hope for generous relatives and size of ur wedding plan. U know got cheapskate ppl here ask wana go for coll's wedding. its just once a lifetime wedding the cheapskate couldnt afford to give rm50. rolleyes.gif
MrNoob.com
post May 14 2014, 09:09 AM

girls will say is once in a life time so must be luxury... inb4 ada wang ada amoi...
alanyuppie
post May 14 2014, 09:12 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Jeli0320 @ May 14 2014, 03:34 AM)

Yea. everything should be simple when it comes to pleasing others/formalities in life (birth, wedding, funeral events etc)

When it come to pleasing ourself, only then $$ is well spent (rm 2k gadget ... repeat twice a year, rm100k car, rm700k house, rm400 escort/sexy time)

kentchow75
post May 14 2014, 09:13 AM

Best Biz Card Printing Service
1,353 posts

You only marriage once in a life ma , so why not have the best luxury wedding than stingy lausy wedding event
SUSMrUbikeledek
post May 14 2014, 09:14 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ May 14 2014, 08:36 AM)
Use superbike for one night stand magnet la.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post May 14 2014, 09:15 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(kentchow75 @ May 14 2014, 09:13 AM)
You only marriage once in a life ma , so why not have the best luxury wedding than stingy lausy wedding event
Wedding like a king but after that live like a beggar. Plus bankrupt somemore.

This post has been edited by MrUbikeledek: May 14 2014, 09:15 AM
deodorant
post May 14 2014, 09:15 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

you cainis or meleis?

cainis, if not too extravagant normally relatives and friends angpow will cover everything.
rcracer
post May 14 2014, 09:16 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ May 14 2014, 09:14 AM)
Use superbike for one night stand magnet la.
but i see all superbike convoy all sosej fest only,

only rempit with ex5 got minah rempit

the bigger the bike the more gay?
alanyuppie
post May 14 2014, 09:19 AM

2,834 posts

Compared to simpler life when $$ not involved..... those who want a hand in marriage must kill a bear/lion or two and present the head to the future father in law.

Spectreoutreach
post May 14 2014, 09:22 AM

856 posts

die die must wed in style TS XD
SUSTyler__Durden
post May 14 2014, 09:22 AM

98 posts

Too bad, deswai don't get married
MadhavanR
post May 14 2014, 09:23 AM

85 posts

u really wimmins ?
cam get married thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

hard to find wimmin who is satisfied with that marriage...
MadhavanR
post May 14 2014, 09:27 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ May 14 2014, 08:28 AM)
u gal or boy?

meleis, cainies or yindian?

if u a yindian boy. is gooding. gal family gip u bunch of gold and cash to marry their daughter.

if meleis dun care boy or gal, no problem can apply bantuan kahwin 1maresia

if u a cainis gal, no problem also. ask ur parent make ur bf wallet bleed nonstop when ask duit kahwin

if u a cainis boy, nvm also Shaolin Temple still got alot vacant for them
dei, u just keluar hutan kah ?
gal family gib gold no more edi... sad.gif

summore nowdays all mix marry....
marry cainis, the gal expect us gib gold... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

so always dealing , no need gold, just share the wedding money...

IluvProton
post May 14 2014, 09:32 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(MadhavanR @ May 14 2014, 04:27 AM)
dei, u just keluar hutan kah ?
gal family gib gold no more edi... sad.gif

summore nowdays all mix marry....
marry cainis, the gal expect us gib gold... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

so always dealing , no need gold, just share the wedding money...
dei,
sure or not? last week my supervisor dotter married. he told me he gip the guy 15k.
not all yindian can marry cainis. especially those parent tradition minded 1.
natamhanjing
post May 14 2014, 09:34 AM

74 posts

naka kawin 4, buat simple sudah. smile.gif
MadhavanR
post May 14 2014, 09:37 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ May 14 2014, 09:32 AM)
dei,
sure or not? last week my supervisor dotter married. he told me he gip the guy 15k.
not all yindian can marry cainis. especially those parent tradition minded 1.
not exactly cainis....
some marry viet, indon, thai...
if buy from album, all tanggung by the guy....
but if normal marry...then usually will deal to split wedding cost...

pay RM 15k?
must be sum ulu kampung family....
crapp0
post May 14 2014, 09:38 AM

4,414 posts

I laugh at couples who are so desperate to marry and throw a big wedding that they are willing to take out a loan just to finance it.

They usually try to 1 up their friends wedding, talk about bodoh sombong.

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 14 2014, 09:39 AM
Chaud
post May 14 2014, 09:43 AM

1,119 posts

if you're really a girl and don't mind not having all this wedding thing then be my gf...can save alot and go honeymoon instead brows.gif
IluvProton
post May 14 2014, 09:49 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(MadhavanR @ May 14 2014, 04:37 AM)
not exactly cainis....
some marry viet, indon, thai...
if buy from album, all tanggung by the guy....
but if normal marry...then usually will deal to split wedding cost...

pay RM 15k?
must be sum ulu kampung family....
i tot only foreveralone cainis will buy waifu sweat.gif
yes but not from hutan
kopihazelnut
post May 14 2014, 09:51 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 14 2014, 08:54 AM)
20k can? biggrin.gif
For honeymoon my budget 10k
10k? wer u want to go? bora2 island?

QUOTE(ReWeR @ May 14 2014, 08:58 AM)
juz treat them minum kopihazelnut cukup lar
better i do the wedding ceremony during day, fasting month...
am i genius or what?
ReWeR
post May 14 2014, 09:52 AM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ May 14 2014, 09:51 AM)
am i genius or what?
good idea, just play games and give speech enuf liao icon_idea.gif
kopihazelnut
post May 14 2014, 09:53 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(ReWeR @ May 14 2014, 09:52 AM)
good idea, just play games and give speech enuf liao  icon_idea.gif
but cannot piap2 during day.. dont wan la..
SUSleonhart88
post May 14 2014, 10:00 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ May 14 2014, 09:51 AM)
10k? wer u want to go? bora2 island?
am i genius or what?
Japan korea china taiwan hongkong
I dont like private lonely island like bora bora or maldives

This post has been edited by leonhart88: May 14 2014, 10:01 AM
limfreelance
post May 14 2014, 10:01 AM

343 posts

if u poor, idup orang miskin.
just suxk yourlife, jangan kahwin.
ReWeR
post May 14 2014, 10:01 AM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ May 14 2014, 09:53 AM)
but cannot piap2 during day.. dont wan la..
cannot wait until night time meh? hmm.gif
munkeyflo
post May 14 2014, 10:15 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

People all want to show off that they can afford a grand wedding. It's all about the face.
seather
post May 14 2014, 10:16 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

an important reason to throw a lavish wedding is to show ur bride n her parents that u are earning enough to support your new family...

when u got daughter u will understand.. imagine ur future SIL can only afford 10 tables in a one shoplot restaurant, honeymoon go genting... and ur daughter is a law graduate from Oxbridge... u oso sure ask them think twice first..

of coz, those who pinjam money or clear out their bank accounts are dam stupid...

to me a reasonable amount is the money u have left deducing all your obligations.... basically ur savings...

This post has been edited by seather: May 14 2014, 10:18 AM
alanyuppie
post May 14 2014, 10:20 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 14 2014, 11:15 AM)
People all want to show off that they can afford a grand wedding. It's all about the face.
Many people screw up on their financial planning (enjoying material life a God... buying newly launched "necessities" as they come to show off to peers) before reaching marriage age. Now their pocket empty $$$ to proceed with wedding , they blame these rituals as being too expensive.

ciwi1166
post May 14 2014, 10:23 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ May 14 2014, 08:07 AM)
You can always be a cheapo if you want to.... Small wedding... Tesco cake... Nasi putih+ ulam+ babas instant curry + plain water
wimmenz won't agree.. biggrin.gif hv to fight2 with peers
SUSs2peMocls
post May 14 2014, 10:26 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ May 14 2014, 04:23 AM)
For me, it's as long as the wife likes it. I don't want her to have any regrets and use that against me in future.  icon_rolleyes.gif
So your wife is the type of woman who will blame you for any regrets she may have and use those regrets against you, huh? You must have a very happy marriage.
AceKendy
post May 14 2014, 10:27 AM

230 posts

My wedding would be thirty five thousand feet above the sky and I would gladly invite my friends and family to join us.

oh yea, there is only a 1 way up ticket and the only way down is to jump.
munkeyflo
post May 14 2014, 10:37 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ May 14 2014, 10:20 AM)
Many people screw up on their financial planning (enjoying material life a God... buying newly launched "necessities" as they come to show off to peers) before reaching marriage age. Now their pocket empty $$$ to proceed with wedding , they blame these rituals  as being too expensive.
It's all about the face. Must show off. laugh.gif

Keep low profile and have a comfortable life better.
Error404
post May 14 2014, 10:42 AM

236 posts

Why want to use ipong or samseng instead of 3310? All can make & receive calls.
Why want to drive god car instead of proton saga? Both car can travel from point A to point B.
Why wanna go Mauritius instead of Pulau Ketam? Both place also island.
Why want to good food instead of Maggi mee everyday? All food also filling ur stomach.

If TS can answer this, then that is the reason why ppl spend so much on their wedding
ironmaid89
post May 14 2014, 10:45 AM

Well the purpose parent want to do Wedding dinner is to acknowledge or announce to the public that their son or daughter already marry.
kenji1903
post May 14 2014, 10:46 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 14 2014, 08:16 AM)
Not couple. Usually the parents daughter
then i'm lucky cos wife's family only wants roast pig and gold bangle
ragk
post May 14 2014, 10:53 AM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

u marry some1 daughter, and make the wedding event small and like no 1 know. Their parent will felt like they raise the kid for over 20+ years and some unknown guy just came and grab it away and no 1 even know what happened.
juicyliana
post May 14 2014, 10:59 AM

when u think juicy, think liana
746 posts

Personal experience is:

RM36K for wedding dinner @ RM1200 per table at 4* hotel in KL
RM5K for lunch buffet for the morning reception
RM4K for pre-wedding pics
RM2K for actual day photographers
RM2K for actual day makeup artist
RM10K for honeymoon in Japan, Free & Easy
RM90K for house downpayment & legal fees & Stamp duty
RM60K for house furnishing and Reno.

Upfront need almost RM200K just to settle down....

Angpow cannot cover wedding dinner cost as average guest give only RM100... Some even RM100 but 2 people come. cry.gif cry.gif

Need to save many many years with partner to get that amount....

SUSPowerbike
post May 14 2014, 11:02 AM

Wedding new need furniture inside room.. My new room bought furniture already 20k+ without hiring designer.. 50k is consider normal
old_and_slow
post May 14 2014, 11:02 AM

1,602 posts

They mampu, so what. The catering, canopies, place all got budget range. Low budget, mid budget, high budget. Their money, their problem.
ciwi1166
post May 14 2014, 11:33 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ May 14 2014, 10:59 AM)
Personal experience is:

Angpow cannot cover wedding dinner cost as average guest give only RM100... Some even RM100 but 2 people come.  cry.gif  cry.gif

dafuq... you anak raja izzit..? biggrin.gif
juicyliana
post May 14 2014, 11:39 AM

746 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ May 14 2014, 11:33 AM)
dafuq... you anak raja izzit..?  biggrin.gif
bro, all these save over a span of 5 years. both parties save through monthly salary and also bonus.

Possible if 2 people save... it will be very very hard for 1 person to save.

Anyway, both married at age past 30s.
torreto
post May 14 2014, 11:48 AM

659 posts

Deswai don't kahwin biggrin.gif I damn takut when it comes to wedding that's y I dumped my ex too
ciwi1166
post May 14 2014, 11:51 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ May 14 2014, 11:39 AM)
bro, all these save over a span of 5 years. both parties save through monthly salary and also bonus.

Possible if 2 people save... it will be very very hard for 1 person to save.

Anyway, both married at age past 30s.
hehe yes. smile.gif I'm not questioning how long u take to amass that amount but instead why need that so much amount. smile.gif
anyway, if both are capable then no problem.
skloda
post May 14 2014, 11:51 AM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

its once in a lifetime...
cllee86
post May 14 2014, 11:56 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ May 14 2014, 11:51 AM)
its once in a lifetime...
Divorce rate is going up yo tongue.gif
skloda
post May 14 2014, 11:58 AM

1,895 posts

QUOTE(cllee86 @ May 14 2014, 11:56 AM)
Divorce rate is going up yo  tongue.gif
so be wise to choose a right partner icon_idea.gif
Azurika
post May 14 2014, 11:58 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

/k/ earns 20k, 50k wedding is no big deal
cllee86
post May 14 2014, 11:59 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(skloda @ May 14 2014, 11:58 AM)
so be wise to choose a right partner  icon_idea.gif
Still no guarantee bro, along the road then something something happen tongue.gif
kenji1903
post May 14 2014, 12:00 PM

3,785 posts

Personal experience is:

Angpow cannot cover wedding dinner cost as average guest give only RM100... Some even RM100 but 2 people come.  cry.gif  cry.gif

you include house downpayment and reno also? doh.gif

60k reno is very cheap, condo or DSL?
LoveMeNot
post May 14 2014, 12:02 PM

Live . Laugh . Love
1,710 posts

Kinda depends on (1) how your parents/in law want it to be (2) how you want it to be.

I hope my in laws will be cool about having a small intimate reception of about 50 people only. If can, I don't even wanna have it. Better use the money go for honeymoon + take nice wedding photos
skloda

1,895 posts

QUOTE(cllee86 @ May 14 2014, 11:59 AM)
Still no guarantee bro, along the road then something something happen  tongue.gif
yea so dont commit so fast tongue.gif

enjoy bachelor life bro icon_idea.gif
kenji1903

3,785 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ May 14 2014, 11:33 AM)
dafuq... you anak raja izzit..?  biggrin.gif
actually wedding spending is only 200k -150k (house) - 10k (honeymoon) = 40k... biasa only whistling.gif
incubus_skj
post May 14 2014, 12:04 PM

oh mai gotto
1,749 posts

so now this tered is who spend most in his/her wedding liao issit???

damonlbs
post May 14 2014, 12:07 PM

487 posts

which is better

invest in the wedding or in the marriage
pisces88
post May 14 2014, 12:08 PM

3,966 posts

Personal experience is:

must be nice house brows.gif
juicyliana
post May 14 2014, 12:29 PM

746 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 14 2014, 12:00 PM)
you include house downpayment and reno also? doh.gif

60k reno is very cheap, condo or DSL?
Don't wanna stay with either in-laws or parents. also don't intend to rent. prefer to have own place. getting a own house together should be part of the plan too before settle down.

Cannot be settle down first only think of where to stay right?

the house is sub-sale DSL, renovated. so manage to cut down some cost there. just do minor reno to suit personal taste. tongue.gif
jasonlim
post May 14 2014, 12:32 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

u tak suka u jgn kahwin
sgwc
post May 14 2014, 12:32 PM

18 posts

why you ask? because

"Kalau tak buat karang nanti apa orang kata..."

that's why

This post has been edited by sgwc: May 14 2014, 12:33 PM
SUSAllnGap
post May 14 2014, 12:36 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 14 2014, 10:37 AM)
It's all about the face. Must show off. laugh.gif

Keep low profile and have a comfortable life better.
Yep. Me n future wife use the cash go Europe tour better
kenji1903
post May 14 2014, 12:37 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ May 14 2014, 12:29 PM)
Don't wanna stay with either in-laws or parents. also don't intend to rent. prefer to have own place. getting a own house together should be part of the plan too before settle down.

Cannot be settle down first only think of where to stay right?

the house is sub-sale DSL, renovated. so manage to cut down some cost there. just do minor reno to suit personal taste.  tongue.gif
i meant you included the house as part of the marriage sweat.gif

should have done all that before the wedding... my case, i include car also can? laugh.gif

not bad... not bad... by the way, wedding photos is studio package?
kenji1903
post May 14 2014, 12:40 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 14 2014, 12:36 PM)
Yep. Me n future wife use the cash go Europe tour better
my case, after the wedding we still went to Europe, but its like 1.5 years later, still updating blog laugh.gif
arif85124
post May 14 2014, 01:02 PM

43 posts

u tak suka u shotgun
yahiko
post May 14 2014, 01:07 PM

1,215 posts

ask parent,, dont ask us

This post has been edited by yahiko: May 14 2014, 01:08 PM
danabu
post May 14 2014, 01:15 PM

419 posts

show off lor...
SOCKman!
post May 14 2014, 01:27 PM

345 posts

me and waifu wanted small garden wedding, parents said cannot accomodate enough people, so ended up in 5* hotel laugh.gif sometimes it is out of your control. we enjoyed the 2 nights stay in pent house though smile.gif
JonSpark
post May 14 2014, 01:38 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

They spend money like drinking water their problem la, you yourself don't follow their footstep lo icon_idea.gif
zeist
post May 14 2014, 01:43 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

girls nowadays want everything grand.

pick lap cheong also go for the bad boys, whereas good boys all makan sendiri.

just wait and see the aftermath after marriage.

thesoothsayer
post May 14 2014, 01:45 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 14 2014, 08:56 AM)
What if ur in law dont agree?
No objections so far.
juicyliana
post May 14 2014, 02:09 PM

746 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 14 2014, 12:37 PM)
i meant you included the house as part of the marriage sweat.gif

should have done all that before the wedding... my case, i include car also can? laugh.gif

not bad... not bad... by the way, wedding photos is studio package?
Can include car too. smile.gif

yes, photos is studio package. some people go for freelance but the bride & groom gotta find their own gown.
IluvProton
post May 14 2014, 03:33 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ May 14 2014, 05:59 AM)
Personal experience is:

when was this ?
u cainis or not? no need gip duit perkahwinan ? laugh.gif
mana cincin ?
mana dai kam jeh? yima kuteh pre-wedding dinner?
car deco ada?

kenot la. now I budget budget exclude house stuff also about 80k liao doh.gif
juicyliana
post May 14 2014, 03:50 PM

746 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ May 14 2014, 03:33 PM)
when was this ?
u cainis or not? no need gip duit perkahwinan ?  laugh.gif
mana cincin ?
mana dai kam jeh? yima kuteh pre-wedding dinner?
car deco ada?

kenot la. now I budget budget exclude house stuff also about 80k liao  doh.gif
This was end of last year.

Wife parents didn't ask for dowry, very fortunate eh... else sure kena ketuk.

cincin just use the normal white gold band, less that RM2K for a pair.

No need dai kam jeh coz this is a Christian wedding.

car pinjam orang punya.... luckily no need to rent. for the deco, it is covered by the bridal studio.

Why your kahwin only RM80K? U need to give how much for the dowry?
shin_daria
post May 14 2014, 03:56 PM

24 posts

depend on spouse and family la. ur spouse saving type u selamat, ur spouse high maintainace type, you're dead. same goes to parents and future inlaws.
my wedding oni 12k...u jelly brows.gif
IluvProton
post May 14 2014, 04:11 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ May 14 2014, 10:50 AM)
This was end of last year.

Wife parents didn't ask for dowry, very fortunate eh... else sure kena ketuk.

cincin just use the normal white gold band, less that RM2K for a pair.

No need dai kam jeh coz this is a Christian wedding.

car pinjam orang punya.... luckily no need to rent. for the deco, it is covered by the bridal studio.

Why your kahwin only RM80K? U need to give how much for the dowry?
oh, so lucky la you.

no la, yet kahwin laugh.gif saja tat day tok tok kira kira.

expecting 20k for dowry. 40k for dinner, 20k for etc
nelienuxe_sara
post May 14 2014, 04:17 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

semua mau jaga muka
tak mau kawin simple2 mau grand2
The Analyst
post May 14 2014, 04:18 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ May 14 2014, 01:26 PM)
So your wife is the type of woman who will blame you for any regrets she may have and use those regrets against you, huh? You must have a very happy marriage.
It's a husband's job to let the wife be happy. If it is something within my means, I will do it. She does the same for me as well. $50k, $100k wedding, so be it.
SUSs2peMocls
post May 14 2014, 04:27 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ May 14 2014, 04:18 PM)
It's a husband's job to let the wife be happy. If it is something within my means, I will do it. She does the same for me as well. $50k, $100k wedding, so be it.
So you're saying without a husband, the wife has no capacity of being happy?
The Analyst
post May 14 2014, 04:35 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ May 14 2014, 07:27 PM)
So you're saying without a husband, the wife has no capacity of being happy?
I don't think you understood me but anyway, if i can give her a dream wedding by spending a bit of money, why not? It's for someone I love so it is worth it to me.
SUSs2peMocls
post May 14 2014, 04:40 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ May 14 2014, 04:35 PM)
I don't think you understood me but anyway, if i can give her a dream wedding by spending a bit of money, why not? It's for someone I love so it is worth it to me.
I'm saying it's not your job to make her happy.
The Analyst
post May 14 2014, 04:41 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ May 14 2014, 07:40 PM)
I'm saying it's not your job to make her happy.
To me, as a husband. I try my best. nod.gif
SUSs2peMocls
post May 14 2014, 04:41 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ May 14 2014, 04:41 PM)
To me, as a husband. I try my best. nod.gif
Same goes for both husband and wife.
The Analyst
post May 14 2014, 04:42 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ May 14 2014, 07:41 PM)
Same goes for both husband and wife.
Why not? Of course. She does the same for me as well.
SUSs2peMocls
post May 14 2014, 04:43 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ May 14 2014, 04:42 PM)
Why not? Of course. She does the same for me as well.
Oh, means she paid for half the wedding cost? Aiyah... should've just said so early on la, not so confusing.
lwy0120
post May 14 2014, 04:45 PM

ppl wan jaga maruah diri mah
thn bo bian lo
ticke
post May 14 2014, 04:46 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

dah nama jeli...jeli ler tu
The Analyst
post May 14 2014, 04:48 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ May 14 2014, 07:43 PM)
Oh, means she paid for half the wedding cost? Aiyah... should've just said so early on la, not so confusing.
I paid quite a bit more but its okay. Now all joint accounts anyway. smile.gif
iniapaini87
post May 14 2014, 04:50 PM

Dont worry what ppl say...
By law...u are married when u sign n register the marriage certificate...
Whats the point...have huge grand wedding...not even 5years already divorce...what a waste...
Just do a simple wedding...
So.my wedding i wil make it simple...
And i wil state in the wedding invitation card just give money only... i.dont wabt ur shityy foto frame... your shyte candles.
Ur crap kitchen ware..
Make my life easier...

SUSs2peMocls
post May 14 2014, 04:50 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ May 14 2014, 04:48 PM)
I paid quite a bit more but its okay. Now all joint accounts anyway. smile.gif
Nice bro. 50/50 contribution all the way! thumbup.gif
IluvProton
post May 14 2014, 06:47 PM

143 posts

cainis why got so many spend on wedding?

coz....

人在江湖 身不由己
kenji1903
post May 14 2014, 09:10 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ May 14 2014, 02:09 PM)
Can include car too. smile.gif

yes, photos is studio package. some people go for freelance but the bride & groom gotta find their own gown.
then you a lot of things didn't include, dowry, rings?

i went for freelance, my gown rental alone already reaching 4k
SUSleonhart88
post May 15 2014, 01:52 AM

1,686 posts

Chee bye la show off
MerryGoRound^2
post May 15 2014, 02:16 AM

354 posts

Personally, I think it's because of the typical asian Chinese mentality that prioritizes ego or face-saving, need to let the whole world know or people would get the wrong idea that the marriage was a quiet one because of other reasons. This is why I avoid weddings at all costs.

But some truly does it big simply because they want to share the joy, but I personally prefer a small, quiet wedding if possible. It's nice sharing your moments with people whom you really love and know over a huge group of people that you barely know. Later dad invites his friends, mom invites her friends, brother invites his friends, sister invites her friends, then you and your spouse's friends. Then later the cousins, and it just extends and cousins might end up bringing their own friends to the dining table sweat.gif
marsupilami
post May 15 2014, 02:29 AM

313 posts

Marriage is not for the poor
seiferalmercy
post May 15 2014, 03:06 AM

135 posts

coz waifu and mom wants to kuda
YKayz
post May 15 2014, 03:26 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ May 14 2014, 02:39 AM)
Society these days measure success by how big is your car, house and spending.
YKayz
post May 15 2014, 03:27 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 15 2014, 02:29 AM)
Breeding is not for the poor
juicyliana
post May 15 2014, 08:47 AM

746 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 14 2014, 09:10 PM)
then you a lot of things didn't include, dowry, rings?

i went for freelance, my gown rental alone already reaching 4k
the wife's parents didn't ask for dowry. so there is no "price" to be paid.
dewking
post May 15 2014, 09:43 AM

46 posts

once a life time ma. must make it memorable. the chinese dignity!
bartbarb
post May 15 2014, 10:00 AM

393 posts

sometimes is the old folks who wants it...

K.T.Y.E
post May 23 2014, 04:29 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(The Analyst @ May 14 2014, 04:23 AM)
For me, it's as long as the wife likes it. I don't want her to have any regrets and use that against me in future.  icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxms.gif can't offend wimmenz
dynamic123
post May 23 2014, 10:25 PM

325 posts

Me and my gf dont mind just sign the paper then do a small private dinner with only close friend and rather use the money go and honeymoon. The rest of the money can help me pay for house and car. The problem is our parents thinking only.
spunkberry
post May 24 2014, 05:51 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

show off maaaah. more money, more extravagant, more show, more face.

Bodoh. it's just one day.
JoNkK
post May 24 2014, 09:53 AM

29 posts

Just because of their egoism and pride to prove something...
flamephotography
post May 28 2014, 01:27 PM

264 posts

Super grand gring grong wedding doesn't promise you a good and happy marriage. Take Citi and Dota Kay for example. Hope they are still doing fine.

Cheers.......... icon_rolleyes.gif
yahiko
post May 28 2014, 05:40 PM

1,215 posts

I just finish my wedding:-

RM22K for wedding dinner @ RM500 per table at normal restaurant
RM2K for pre-wedding pics (buy second hand dress RM500+ dinner RM200 + husband white cot + sport shoes) free lance
RM1.5K for actual day photographers
RM1K for actual day makeup artist
RM500 to print Photobook and photo for family
about RM1k for angpow payout to DaiKamJie+ Kids open door+ normal Kids etc etc
Other remeh temeh stuff: RM2k
Dworyz: RM5k

so total spend : RM33K like that.
Profit from angpows ONLY: RM31K lucky me

so we only wasted RM 2K++ on the whole wedding laugh.gif laugh.gif

btw i do from A-Z wedding 101.. but simplify version la

This post has been edited by yahiko: May 28 2014, 05:41 PM
yeezai
post Jun 2 2014, 07:32 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

normally wedding dinner is for family to show others family their son getting merrid ma...its about face...altho some 1.5k++ table food also taste so so but they still go with it..liqour + beer confirm total lost liao ...dont say having wedding dinner profit ..unless you get those table under 800rm or do it in kampung place...go take wedding photo oredi cost 5k++ ..cannot get back one ..rent gown 2k , make up 1k, rent car 2k , prewedding dinner 3k..not worth it...better spend 20k for nice honeymoon
SUScoronaa
post Jun 4 2014, 08:16 AM

62 posts

once in a lifetime. no? sweat.gif
fkinmeng
post Jun 5 2014, 01:32 PM

6,372 posts

QUOTE(coronaa @ Jun 4 2014, 08:16 AM)
once in a lifetime. no?  sweat.gif
well, each to their own lo.

different people like different feel, as long as can afford and like it, then just do it.

don't compare with others, is your wedding, not theirs.
KoChun
post Jun 5 2014, 03:18 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(coronaa @ Jun 4 2014, 08:16 AM)
once in a lifetime. no?  sweat.gif
U not planning to kahwin 4 meh? biggrin.gif LOL
SUSPLOUFFLE
post Jun 5 2014, 04:20 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Jun 2 2014, 07:32 PM)
normally wedding dinner is for family to show others family their son getting merrid ma...its about face...altho some 1.5k++ table food also taste so so but they still go with it..liqour + beer confirm total lost liao ...dont say having wedding dinner profit ..unless you get those table under 800rm or do it in kampung place...go take wedding photo oredi cost 5k++ ..cannot get back one ..rent gown 2k , make up 1k, rent car 2k , prewedding dinner 3k..not worth it...better spend 20k for nice honeymoon
ya.go genting highlands rm4000 only.luxury package,

i think just treat them eat at coffee terrace is cukup.

http://www.rwgenting.com/en/fb/buffet/cterrace/promo.htm

Buffet Dinner
Sunday to Thursday: RM 75.00 nett [adult]; RM 38.00 nett [child]
Friday and Saturday: RM 79.00 nett [adult]; RM 40.00 nett [child]

https://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...ury_package.htm
SUScoronaa
post Jun 5 2014, 10:10 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jun 5 2014, 01:32 PM)
well, each to their own lo.

different people like different feel, as long as can afford and like it, then just do it.

don't compare with others, is your wedding, not theirs.
yeah. quite true. don't compare our wedding celebration/reception with other people or else you gonna get heart attack if you compare your wedding with son of millionaire. can do but will headache after that to settle the loan sweat.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(KoChun @ Jun 5 2014, 03:18 PM)
U not planning to kahwin 4 meh? biggrin.gif LOL
if mampu, can also icon_idea.gif brows.gif

Azurika
post Jun 6 2014, 09:45 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

50K for wedding consider cheap d lo kid smile.gif

My side have at least 60 tables, hotel rates 2k min, do the maths.
fkinmeng
post Jun 6 2014, 04:27 PM

6,372 posts

Getting hitched supports a whole ecosystem of businesses

icon_idea.gif good read.

This post has been edited by fkinmeng: Jun 6 2014, 04:27 PM
huaymeeng
post Jun 6 2014, 04:38 PM

266 posts

my wedding budget so far:

photo package: 688 ++ (compulsory add on, e.g. eye lash, ampoule)
wedding dinner: 11k (~550 x 20 table)
attire: bride ~ 600, groom ~ 300
actual day photographer: ~ 300
actual day + ROM makeup ~ 200
angpow: ~ 500
honeymoon: so far 2134 spent (flight ticket - 987, accommodation - 1147, more to come)
other: ~ 2k

hopefully can keep it within 20k. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by huaymeeng: Jul 10 2014, 11:23 AM
KoChun
post Jun 6 2014, 07:14 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Jun 6 2014, 09:45 AM)
50K for wedding consider cheap d lo kid smile.gif

My side have at least 60 tables, hotel rates 2k min, do the maths.
You marry CIMB Bank, 50k x2 also no prob biggrin.gif LOL
robotica
post Jun 8 2014, 09:34 PM

37 posts

not only get back money ppl make money out of wedding some in 10s of thousand per wedding thats why lah. where got troublesome. smile.gif
Ash1988
post Jun 9 2014, 06:50 PM

641 posts

Wah where u all get RM550 per table for wedding dinner?
I booked mine for around Rm1.2k in KL area..
huaymeeng
post Jun 9 2014, 11:35 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(Ash1988 @ Jun 9 2014, 06:50 PM)
I'm from penang, RM550 standard (medium) rate for restaurants.

Expensive one can go as high as 1.Xk in hotel.
flamephotography
post Jul 18 2014, 11:21 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(Ash1988 @ Jun 9 2014, 06:50 PM)
I think the keyword is KL area. If inside KL City, I doubt you can fine one around RM5++ per table. Try some where like Kepong or Sungai Buloh. Maybe you can find a decent restaurant at that price per table. A decent one in PJ area is somewhere around RM8++ per table. Places like Oriental Pavilion has that kind of price range.

Just my half cents worth. Cheers......... icon_rolleyes.gif
andrekua2
post Jul 18 2014, 12:10 PM

13,468 posts

Dont overspend and ruin your life.

I only invited a dozen of friends over but my dad overdid it with 70 tables and luckily breakeven. Still loses 10K for the buffet dinner.

Maybe spend 5K or so on photography, few K on new furniture, 1-2K for ring and 5K for dowry. These are the one that cant be skipped.

I think the money saved can be better utilized on something useful like a car, house or whatever.
sonerin
post Jul 20 2014, 08:02 AM

8,739 posts

You can have very cheap preally wedding photo. A simple ring. It can be less than 2k for both. Save as much as possible if budget is a constrain
wodenus
post Jul 20 2014, 02:15 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Friend of mine didn't even have a wedding, just a registration smile.gif

syahmie
post Jul 20 2014, 02:20 PM

262 posts

it is not we want to spend $$$ on wedding. everything getting so much expensive these day. haish... my photography and videography already cost me 5.5k. haish...
Skylinestar
post Jul 20 2014, 02:46 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(syahmie @ Jul 20 2014, 02:20 PM)
it is not we want to spend $$$ on wedding. everything getting so much expensive these day. haish... my photography and videography already cost me 5.5k. haish...
wedding at KFC, what say you
chrisderick88
post Jul 20 2014, 04:19 PM

277 posts

I know it's pointless to complain, but I guess I want to my share of bashing as well!

So I haven't really planned marriage. Even then my gf already tell me a reception is a must (chinese style, blah). Her parents/her father's business associate blah blah...

I'm looking at a 6 fig hole, arnt i?
zikre2003
post Jul 20 2014, 04:23 PM

285 posts

you tak suka you takpayah kawin..
chrisderick88
post Jul 20 2014, 04:27 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(zikre2003 @ Jul 20 2014, 04:23 PM)
you tak suka you takpayah kawin..
yap. till you talk to your gf about it.
nodeffect
post Jul 21 2014, 09:19 AM

Your past does not equal your future.
1,281 posts

because ure spelling wai wrongly, that's why u dont understand... go study first... get a rich husband
DarkEmotion88
post Jul 21 2014, 04:11 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

my side wan banquet with 100 tables. i'm having cold sweat already. finding a hotel to accommodate that much tables also difficult. cheapest pun around 2k+ per table. i assume most ppl that gonna attend gonna be cheapskate bagi small angpow so most likely i'm gonna have to foot 20-30%.

prewedding photoshoot dah mau sampai 20k. dowry $ belum take into consideration berapa it's gonna be yet. proposal ring and wedding band dah 15k. alot things also belum take into consideration + honeymoon also belum kira. T_T wan cry d
JTEM88
post Jul 23 2014, 12:19 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Jul 21 2014, 04:11 PM)
my side wan banquet with 100 tables. i'm having cold sweat already. finding a hotel to accommodate that much tables also difficult. cheapest pun around 2k+ per table. i assume most ppl that gonna attend gonna be cheapskate bagi small angpow so most likely i'm gonna have to foot 20-30%.

prewedding photoshoot dah mau sampai 20k. dowry $ belum take into consideration berapa it's gonna be yet. proposal ring and wedding band dah 15k. alot things also belum take into consideration + honeymoon also belum kira. T_T wan cry d
wow! that's really an expensive wedding @.@
DarkEmotion88
post Jul 23 2014, 09:21 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(JTEM88 @ Jul 23 2014, 12:19 AM)
wow! that's really an expensive wedding @.@
just recalculated prewedding shoot is already 24.8k. forgot additional costs for accommodation. rclxub.gif

my family side itself also roughly can take up 50-60 tables on my side d. bride side estimate la +- 15-20tables. rest mostly are my parents punya very very very close frens & business partners. tak invite buat malu my parents only later say wai u no invite me to your son's wedding?!

yesh very expensive. initially i thought 50 tables enuff la. now feel 100k+ tak jadi cover whole thing. it could if dun need so many tables. rest all can settle no issues. only the banquet as i'm sure angpow cannot cover at all.

This post has been edited by DarkEmotion88: Jul 23 2014, 09:23 AM
Penguin_88
post Jul 30 2014, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(kernan_rio @ May 14 2014, 07:24 AM)
Yea..Agree with you too...smile.gif
flamephotography
post Jul 30 2014, 04:16 PM

264 posts

The title should not be "wai wedding need use so much money".

Is more like "Wai you choose to spent so much money on your wedding"

I even know someone that did their ROM and the next day. went overseas for honeymoon without any ceremony. Is a matter of choice.

Cheers................ icon_rolleyes.gif
kaiserwulf
post Jul 31 2014, 05:00 PM

1,110 posts

Fully agree. Pre wed I shot RM4k only. Gila pay >10k and complain poor. No family member who attended your wedding ceremony will ask you to show the photos 1 month and onwards after wedding. Lupa sudah.

Only things I can agree is wedding dowry chinese style where it is used to buy pawnable 999 gold. Lots of beautiful and wearable wedding bangle out for sale. Also, 3Ex diamond ring also is good. Give more abit nvm, no rugi. Can use to pay the boatman when Maresia sinks 1 day with DUMNO running it.

Food and banquet please invite what you can afford and never scold people cheapskate. YOU invite them not THEY want to come. What amount they give is from their heart. If you cannot breakeven, who call you nose big? No money don't show off grand table.

Source: own wedding blush.gif

QUOTE(flamephotography @ Jul 30 2014, 04:16 PM)
The title should not be "wai wedding need use so much money".

Is more like "Wai you choose to spent so much money on your wedding"

I even know someone that did their ROM and the next day. went overseas for honeymoon without any ceremony. Is a matter of choice.

Cheers................  icon_rolleyes.gif
Drian
post Jul 31 2014, 05:04 PM

4,999 posts

That is why I will sure shoot girls who claim that being a guy is easier than being a girl.
They obviously don't realise the amount of financial responsibility guys hold.

Drian
post Jul 31 2014, 05:11 PM

4,999 posts

You guys better worry more about house as well.

That would take even more money.

DarkEmotion88
post Jul 31 2014, 06:08 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jul 31 2014, 05:11 PM)
You guys better worry more about house as well.

That would take even more money.
1/2 way settle house. only need to worry renovation but i prefer minimalistic design for home so that shouldn't be too costly.
tabletman
post Jul 31 2014, 06:15 PM

256 posts

If you guys thought wedding is expensive, wait till you see the bill of funeral cost.

Seriously, it is really up to you couple how much you want to spend for a wedding. Some prefer a big crowd as witness, some are forced to have a big crowd because others' weddings also have big crowd. Some just don't bother, register, send out sms to inform others, update facebook and save the money.

spunkberry
post Aug 1 2014, 12:29 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jul 31 2014, 05:04 PM)
That is why I will sure shoot girls who claim that being a guy is easier than being a girl.
They obviously don't realise the amount of financial responsibility guys hold.
Meh. It depends.
nite6snow
post Aug 1 2014, 03:23 PM

19 posts

in my opinion wedding is not about couple is doing what they like, is two family is doing what they like just for FACE

sonerin
post Aug 2 2014, 10:10 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(nite6snow @ Aug 1 2014, 03:23 PM)
in my opinion wedding is not about couple is doing what they like, is two family is doing what they like just for FACE
+1
Amanda'S
post Aug 3 2014, 02:02 AM

17 posts

I hate chinese traditional dinner, wanted to go for simple dinner with close friends and family, but parents dont agree. sad.gif
g r a p e k e y
post Sep 9 2014, 01:38 AM

483 posts

my wedding was pretty sweet and memorable and everyone was happy lol. After deducting everything including pre-wedding shots, ang powss for everyone, dinners, etc, we have access of total almost rm15k ^-^v
meteoraniac
post Sep 9 2014, 01:23 PM

1,099 posts

its really expensive isn't it

even if we could spend more, me and my fiance rather keep the money for better usage

pre-wedding shoot - 6k
wedding day shoot - 5k for 2 days
wedding dinner - 25 tables of closest friends and family, no business associates

these are the cost accumulated so far before the actual day..

i think its pretty reasonable.. haha
Amanda'S
post Nov 18 2014, 12:26 AM

17 posts

Now I'm having headache over wedding stuff. sad.gif
temptation1314
post Nov 18 2014, 09:45 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

If you and your partner are ok, don't bother much about parents anyway.

What happen to me was

I spent RM4k on photoshoot

Then nothing, maybe a few hundred bucks for the JPN registration.

My in laws parents will held their own lunch nearby their hometown restaurant. Cost forked by themselves.

My parents held a buffet dinner. Cost forked by themselves also.

I don't want to mention much as there's so much of stupidity in our culture anyway. Unlike 20 - 30 years ago, all this can be done simple with few k's
Nowadays there's too many young one who overused their quota and even withdraw credit card's money and also borrow from loan shark which cause so many bankruptcy.

Think wisely before spending unnecessary future money lo.

My money all saved for my wife who delivered in private which cost RM11k+
flamephotography
post Nov 18 2014, 04:55 PM

264 posts

I guess now is the best time to test how strong is your replationship. How both of you can co-operate and work with each other. Is a good mental and stress testing to see how much your relationship can stand. If this also cannot survive, then there will be more serious problems when both are really married with in-law problems and children, financial problems.

Cheers and hang on.......... Always remember a GRAND GRING GRONG wedding will not promise a good and healthy marriage.
fallencypt
post Nov 28 2014, 10:58 PM

17 posts

Actually the only return you can make is at the dinner. Especially in the country like China.
frequency
post Jan 9 2015, 03:38 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

planning on mine

pre wedding on freelance photographers, renting gown, make up aritist -about 4k
engagement ring, wedding ring - 2k (staff purchase)

round table dinner I don't really worry but the garden ROM ceremony is killing part I guess about 5-8k easily

@.@' headache

Sphereexhibits
post Jan 9 2015, 04:04 PM

That why wedding fair is a very good platform for those people are looking for wedding planner to avoid the unnecessary trouble. This 23 - 25 Jan 2015 will be held in Mid valley centre got KL Wedding Expo. Beside, this expo also a Designer Wedding Gown worth RM5880 Sponsored by Keith Kee (Amber Chia Famous Designer).
check more detail below link, you will more surprised.

http://www.klweddingexpo.com.my/contest.html

https://www.facebook.com/klweddingexpo

wyyew
post Jan 9 2015, 05:20 PM

264 posts

I wished not to use so much also . but nowadays social media is so great , everyone is sharing how grade from propose , ROM and dinner. Thus , it still depend both of us whether willing to spend on it . I have calculated if it just registered from putrajaya and legally stayed together . There are only RM100 max .

Marriage is not only both of us , both family if money can buy both family happiness . suggest to spend..

0.0643sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:58 PM