[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V6!

Minecrafter
post Jun 12 2014, 09:56 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(n3w @ Jun 12 2014, 09:37 PM)
Cpu, monitor, mobo, power supply, wifi. Need these 5 items.  smile.gif

Oh ya, hdmi needed too for the motherboard or need a dedicated graphic card?
I think this is what you can get. hmm.gif

CPU:Intel G3240 3.1GHz RM195
Mobo:Asrock H81M-HDS RM189
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W Rm149
Wifi:TP-Link WN821N RM29
Monitor:Dell E2014H 20' RM339
Total:RM901
Prices are from IdealTech.

I'd suggest you to save at least 1K. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jun 12 2014, 09:57 PM
Minecrafter
post Jun 12 2014, 10:05 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(n3w @ Jun 12 2014, 10:00 PM)
Like that ah, the RAM would be compatible with any DDR3 RAM module right.

Dont mind can quote from lowyat too k. If reasonable may go up KL to purchase. unsure.gif
What is the RAM do you have?
Why do you need HDMI btw? hmm.gif

CPU:Intel G3220 3Ghz RM169
Mobo:Asrock H81M-DGS RM179
Wifi:TP-Link WN821N RM29
PSU:Antec VP-450P 80+ Bronze RM129
Monitor:Acer K222HQL 21.5' RM369
Total:RM875
Prices are from Viewnet.
Minecrafter
post Jun 12 2014, 10:18 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(n3w @ Jun 12 2014, 10:13 PM)
HDMI just in case to link to the TV.  tongue.gif

RAM I still need to see later and extract from the other spoilt computer from the repair shop.

As long it's DDR3 RAM would be compatible with the mobo right?  nod.gif
Ahah,you can grab the Asrock H81M-HDS RM189 from IdealTech wink.gif

Yup. nod.gif Spoilt computer?Hopefully the RAM is still fine.. sweat.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 12 2014, 10:40 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(n3w @ Jun 12 2014, 10:36 PM)
Old comp mobo seems kong.  sad.gif

So not worth fixing.

If say add RAM total would be 1k?
If Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz..RM129,the total of the former would be RM1004. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 13 2014, 12:07 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Jun 13 2014, 11:56 AM)
After much consideration, decided to not upgrade my old C2D machine & go for a new build instead

[Budget] RM1500 maximum

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Casing, LCD, HDD, keyboard & mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Mainly, GTA V..will play other games too mostly racing, very light on FPS

[Personal preferences] none

[Location] KL

Looking for best bang for buck machine.

Thanks guys!
What casing do you have?

CPU:Intel Core i3 4130 3.4GHz RM344
GPU:Gainward GTX750Ti GS 2GB GDDR5 RM520
Ram:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM244
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W Rm149
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59
Total:RM1495
GPU is from Lingloong@GS,the rest are from Viewnet.

No knows the requirement for GTA V since Rockstar haven't announce it yet!So there is no guarantee that you can play on high. biggrin.gif nod.gif
You'll be able to play on games like F1 2013,Grid 2 and Dirt 3 fine though. wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 13 2014, 12:17 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Jun 13 2014, 12:12 PM)
I rather get from one shop. Idealtech carries all this + maybe can get some discount.
CPU:Intel Core i5 4150 3.5GHz RM369
GPU:Gainward GTX750Ti GS 2GB GDDR5 RM540
Ram:GSkill Aegis 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM239
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM149
ODD:Liteon 24x DVDRW Rm59
Total:RM1535
Well,if Chrix wants to buy from 1 shop,hopefully the total would be lesser from discount. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Chrix @ Jun 13 2014, 12:13 PM)
Is a cheap cooler master I bought way back in 2007/8, mid tower, should fit these stuff fine right?

As for the specs, I did research on what similar components are to the PS4 and seems only the CPU is the only thing which we as the almighty PC race  laugh.gif  cant get, other than insane optimization of consoles compared to PC.

It wont be a priority to play on absolute high settings, looking decent & smooth will suffice.

Thanks minecrafter!
I'm sure it will. wink.gif

Sometimes porting from Consoles to PC is just horrible i think.Hopefully Rockstar is doing what we all want..optimized. biggrin.gif

Btw,you can get the build from IdealTech.Hopefully the discount would make it below 1500..or there will be discount. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 13 2014, 12:19 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Jun 13 2014, 12:15 PM)
I think can be played on high, remember the consoles CPU are weak 8 cores. Like literally weak, the Graphic side on the other hand is the PS4 graphic is similarly to that of a HD 7850, the 750 Ti GS is powerful by like 5-6% I think so you can probably crank Ultra brows.gif
Hopefully i'm able too lol. biggrin.gif Just hoping the optimization won't be that bad. hmm.gif hmm.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 13 2014, 02:21 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Jun 13 2014, 12:42 PM)
Could I got for a R9 270 or even R7 265, would it be a better performer for a little more money? Unlike an overkill for the rest of the components right?
Since its recommended here; http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming...iew,3107-3.html
Raven already answered it. wink.gif

QUOTE(lamerz @ Jun 13 2014, 01:25 PM)
Thanks for your kind reply,did a little bit of reading about above processor, it seems there is two version v2 and v3,where v2 is for for socket 1155 and v3 1150. Is there any difference between two of them, I am quite confused  sweat.gif should I go for v2 or v3,

Thank you
You've a Z68 motherboard.It supports Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge processors(You need a BIOS update i think. hmm.gif ),so just go for the V2.The difference is only the price i think..and socket! biggrin.gif

Minecrafter
post Jun 16 2014, 03:31 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ Jun 16 2014, 11:49 AM)
hmm i see...make sense...after E3 i feel like riding on a roller coaster...seeing how the minimum requirement is now 64bit window....
oh well gonna save more for future proofing....thanks for the advice!
You may want to watch this. nod.gif icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Jun 16 2014, 03:02 PM)
Try:

Intel Core i5 4440 RM559
Asrock H87 PRO 4 RM319
Kingston Value RAM 8GB RM249
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD RM259
Asus R9 280X dcii top oc 3GB RM1199
Seasonic M12II 620W RM359
BitFenix Shadow Chassis RM229

Total RM3173
Lingloong is selling the H97-Pro4 at RM329.. brows.gif

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Jun 16 2014, 03:10 PM)
cpu-Intel core i5-4440-rm559
mobo-asrock b85 killer-rm299
memory- Gskill Aegis 8gb-rm239
gpu-Sapphire R9-280 dual-x OC 3GB-RM919
SSD-Plextor M5S 128GB-RM274
PSU-FSP Raider 650W Silver certified-RM269/Antec VP series 550w-rm199
odd-Liteon 24x DVD/RW player-rm59
case-CM Scout 2-RM279
monitor-LG 23EA63V-P-RM579

total-rm3476
Maybe drop the SSD and get it later on? wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 17 2014, 03:08 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Jun 17 2014, 03:06 PM)
i also think of sticking with intel. More mobo choices, especially ITX form

btw, i3 dual core is sufficient for games right?
Depends on the budget.If you've the money,better grab an i5. brows.gif nod.gif
You can play games with an i3 but in games that utilise more cores,it'll lose out..i think those games are BF4 and Far Cry 3 etc. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jun 17 2014, 03:12 PM
Minecrafter
post Jun 17 2014, 03:57 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jun 17 2014, 03:55 PM)
Good day,

I might switch to intel by end of this year, yet still haven't decided on sticking with Win 7 ultimate or going window 8 pro.

My current mobo is ASUS which support the processor AMD Phenom x4.

Current GPU: Nvidia GTX 680

My current target:

Motherboard: Asus Z87

Processor: i5 4670k (1150 socket)

I have yet to know are there any other version of z87 out there, as I am not looking into overclocking.

Thank you.
Not overclocking,then get these. wink.gif

Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GHz RM599
Asrock H97-Pro4 RM329
Total:RM928
Prices are from Lingloong@GS.

Rig specs? *CPU and GPU already know biggrin.gif*

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jun 17 2014, 03:58 PM
Minecrafter
post Jun 17 2014, 06:46 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jun 17 2014, 04:01 PM)
Appreciate your infos.

It has been 3 years using this, I am still learning to build my own PC.

Update:

Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 965

Motherboard: Asus M4A88T-V EVO USB3

RAM: DDR3 8 GB

GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 680

PSU: Corsair TX850M

Casing: cooler master CM690

Monitor: HP x23 LED
Go with the parts i suggested. wink.gif

QUOTE(heizad @ Jun 17 2014, 06:41 PM)
furthermore no need unlocked proc too right if not into OC?
Yup,would be a waste of money lol.My friend has in i7 4770k..and he told me he doesn't oc it..i went.. doh.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 17 2014, 07:03 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(lamerz @ Jun 17 2014, 06:55 PM)
Hello guys, after further consideration I might go for socket 1150. Here is the breakdown:

[Budget] 1500

[Purpose] video rendering editing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] PSU,radeon 4850 GPU, harddisk

[Monitor resolution] 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Vegas pro adobe premiere after effect

[Personal preferences]

Thanks again~really appreciated it smile.gif
Model and brand of the PSU?
Do you need a monitor?

CPU:Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 3.3GHz RM799(It says "ASK" in Lingloong's thread,should be around 790-810 though)
Mobo:Asrock H97-Pro4 RM329
RAM:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM235
Casing:CM K380 RM145
Total:RM1567
Prices are from Lingloong@GS. wink.gif

Ask lingloong if he has the ODD,can't find it in his threads. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jun 17 2014, 06:56 PM)
thanks !! Will go for it. biggrin.gif

Oh btw for most game I just set the graphic settings to high (or ultra, depend on a game), so this proc you suggested will do ?
Should be fine on high-ultra. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 18 2014, 03:38 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Jun 18 2014, 03:25 PM)
if you buy a whole system from one shop, normally installation is free... but please ensure you take back all the boxes and accessories that comes with the components

having said that, learning to build your own PC isn't so hard at all, Youtube is a good source and there is no shortage of knowledgeable forumers in LYN as well
Here's 2 tutorials. nod.giftribal94

Austin Evans

Han ETG aka Malaysian Austin Evans(That is what i call him sometimes biggrin.gif )

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jun 18 2014, 03:39 PM
Minecrafter
post Jun 18 2014, 04:16 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(vincent_hong @ Jun 18 2014, 04:11 PM)
Hey guys, I would most probably be getting the new cpu this weekend. Just to double confirm, are the spec below good enough? This was suggested by a fellow member of this forum.
Purpose : Gaming (Assassin's creed,Battlefield,etc) & 3D graphic projects (Adobe softwares)
CPU:Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 CPU at RM799
GPU:Gainward GTX750Ti GS 2GB GDDR5 RM519
RAM:8GB DDR3 1600Mhz is RM244 (What brand?)
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM174
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM148
Casing:CM K380 RM149
Total:RM1643
GPU is from Lingloong@GS,the rest are from Viewnet.
Corsair Value Ram.

Lol the total is RM2213 btw. tongue.gif You can get Zotac GTX760 2GB GDDR5 RM7xx from GBros. nod.gif Still below 2.5K.

You said this in your post 1.5 weeks ago.
"Also, it would be helpful if you can suggest similar rig but with an additional purpose of 3D animation software for graphic design. I want to know the difference in price. Whether i can afford it. Thank you."
The 1.6K build i suggested is below.

"CPU:Intel Core i3 4130 3.4Ghz RM344
GPU:Gainward GTX750Ti GS 2GB GDDR5 RM519
RAM:Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz RM129
PSU:FSP Hexa 500W RM148
Total:RM1643
GPU is from Lingloong@GS,the rest are from Viewnet."

And this is my reply to the part where you said "with an additional purpose of 3D animation software for graphics design". wink.gif

"For the 3D Animation purpose,get Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 CPU at RM799 and increase RAM capacity to 8GB. (8GB DDR3 1600Mhz is RM244). Should be around 2.1-2.2K. "

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jun 18 2014, 04:22 PM
Minecrafter
post Jun 18 2014, 04:46 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(vincent_hong @ Jun 18 2014, 04:39 PM)
Yup! yup! thanks for ur suggestion! decided to up my budget to rm2.5k cos sister will be using it for her design assignments too.. SO the GPU change to Zotac GTX760 2GB GDDR5 RM7xx from GBros? better?
CPU:Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 3.3GHz RM799
GPU:Zotac GTX760 2GB GDDR5 RM7xx
Ram:Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM244
HDD:WD caviar Blue 1TB RM174
Total:RM2394-2494
GPU is from GBros@GS,the rest are from Viewnet.

Btw,if you've extra money,get Asrock H97M-Pro4 RM299(from Lingloong)..for extra USB 3 Ports and SATA 3 Ports and for PCI slots(incase u need them lol).. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jun 18 2014, 04:47 PM
Minecrafter
post Jun 18 2014, 07:07 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(vincent_hong @ Jun 18 2014, 05:32 PM)
I stay in KL.. Bukit Jalil to be specific.. is it better to get from Idealtech in Pandan Indah?
CPU:Intel Xeon E3-1230 V3 3.3GHz RM799
Mobo:Asrock H81M-DGS RM175
GPU:Gainward GTX760 2GB GDDR5 RM799
Ram:GSkill Aegis 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM239
HDD:WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM189
Casing:Thermaltake Versa H23 RM129
Total:RM2479
Prices are from IdealTech.

There. smile.gif

QUOTE(heizad @ Jun 18 2014, 06:52 PM)
guys...any major difference between ASRock H97M Pro4 and ASRock H97 Pro4 apart from the size and pcie 2.0 numbers? just found below build from idealtech but thinking to change a bit here n there..maybe the proc mobo...my budget tops rm4k...only need a rig..

CPU: Intel Xeon E3 1230V3
MOBO: ASUS B85M-G
RAM: GSkill AEGIS 2x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
HDD: WD 1TB Cavair Blue HDD
Chasis: Thermaltake Versa H23
ODD: LG 24x Sata DVDRW
SSD: Plextor M5S 128GB SSD
GPU: Gainward GTX770 2GB DDR5
PSU: Xigmatek Tauro 600W PSU
Usage?

And here's the differences. nod.gif
http://www.asrock.com/mb/compare.asp?Selec...Model=H97M+Pro4

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jun 18 2014, 07:14 PM
Minecrafter
post Jun 18 2014, 10:17 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Jun 18 2014, 09:15 PM)
gaming since i'm not gonna use my pc for my work tongue.gif apart from that perhaps torrenting...basically an entertainment rig...thinking to change from xeon to i5 instead..not sure if i'm gonna get back to overclocking..lazy to study new terms though lol...
I think the rig looks fine. wink.gif
If you drop the SSD,get it later on and get an i5 instead..you can get R9 290 though. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(philip42 @ Jun 18 2014, 09:32 PM)
Hi guys i need a rig for gaming purpose, i will need a monitor as well. My budget is RM3k. Thanks smile.gif
CPU:Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GH RM599
GPU:Zotac GTX760 2GB GDDR5 RM7xx brows.gif
Ram:Corsair 8GB DDr3 1600MHz RM244
PSU:Antec VP-550P 80+ Bronze RM199
Monitor:LG 23EA53V 23' RM480
Total:RM3032
Monitor is from Hoodidi@GS,CPU and Mobo are from Lingloong@GS,GPU is from GBros@GS,the rest are from Viewnet. wink.gif

QUOTE(selikatwo @ Jun 18 2014, 09:49 PM)
Hello.. my friend want to buy pc this coming sunday, total budget about RM 2500 exclude monitor, my current suggestion as below.

Processor = Intel Core i5-4440 - 579
Motherboard = Gigabyte H87M-D3H / Asus H87M-E - 319 / 329
RAM = Corsair Vengeance LP - 309
PSU = Silverstone Strider Essential 500W - 179
Casing = Cap Ayam - 50
Mouse and Keyboard = Cap Ayam - 50
Hard Disk = WD 1TB - 180
WIFI = Dlink/Tplink - 50
Graphic Card = GTX760 / R9 270X - 799/729

Total = RM 2445

any recommendation for change? Thanks
CPU:Intel Core i5 4460 3.2GH RM599
GPU:Sapphire R9 270X Dual-X 2GB GDDR5 RM699
Ram:Corsair 8GB DDr3 1600MHz RM244
PSU:Antec VP-550P 80+ Bronze RM199
KB/M:Logitech MK220 RM69
Wifi:TP-Link WN881ND RM59
Total:RM2570
CPU and Mobo are from Lingloong@GS,the rets are from Viewnet. wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 19 2014, 12:16 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Jun 18 2014, 11:58 PM)
good build, its from idealtech after all.

anyway idealtech, when will this?.

Ask zhen^wei.. icon_idea.gif
Minecrafter
post Jun 19 2014, 12:42 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Jun 19 2014, 12:29 AM)
i know they are secretly watching this thread  tongue.gif
ph34r.gif laugh.gif

15 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0535sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:50 PM