crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 04:28 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Jan 30 2007, 04:15 PM)
Ehhhh... that hurts leh.. cut the nails first.
Hehehe... once used to it won't hurt wan... The geli part is when a glider sleeps and claws at... hahah... you know what lah.

Now my Kiah got bad sleeping place, in my wardrobe... damn hard to find which shelf she sleeping in my clothes hahahah...

QUOTE(cheaka @ Jan 30 2007, 04:21 PM)
Yeah loh...his nails always get stuck on the cloth...no matter what cloth...tomorrow when he is sleeping like a pig...i will curi curi cut his nails..hehehe...i got those nail cutter thing...can use that ah...

Hmm... I guess you can use those clippers. Make sure you cut under some good bright light. Also make sure to see where is the quick(vein) and only cut the sharp tip off. Yups, the best time to cut the nails is during sleep.

crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 30 2007, 04:35 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Jan 30 2007, 04:29 PM)
Hehe..Chiwek sleeps everywhere shakehead.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif . He even explored and slept inside my car's gear shaft cover  rclxub.gif  I had to unscrew the whole dashboard to retrieve him. Chiwek in the process spoiled my power window switch. Have to go and repair later.
Heh..so you must have cut his nails before letting Chiwek into your shirt la  laugh.gif  brows.gif  My friend said Chiwek is the luckiest male glider and the most pervert one too (cos his penis is always on the prowl)  rclxub.gif
HAhha... Chiwek indeed is the luckiest glider on earth to me tongue.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 2 2007, 12:29 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(carsonoel @ Feb 1 2007, 11:58 AM)
yea thats another concern also~

the need to poo and wee, and also will it be awakened by loud noises?

Like lectureres on mic or a noisy clasS?

really paranoid of my SG stressing out in that enviroment~

EDIT : oh, and I have always heard that hamsters die mysteriously wan, suddenly die the next day... Will this hapen to SGs?  cry.gif
College student, I am also college student... my advice... get your gliders during your holidays to pratice bonding. Do under shirt bonding for best results in short time hahahah... Also, do get a good cotton pouch.

Bring a small piece of fruit with you to college... I bring my frozen glider mix so it is easier. After makan sure sleepy so gliders will sleep.

When you have bought them or 1 glider, let it get used to loud noises. On loud radio, bring it outdoors to hear cars and all other noises. When my glider was younger, I brought her to movie set where got many people cheering over sumo wrestling, that was good loud noise and my glider just sleep and sleep without waking up.

Glider will pee and poo in the pouch normally. Anyway, I bring my glider to college everyday in my bag. My lecturers all know bout my glider, even play with her.

What you can do is find out bout your college's rules and regulation... mine got no rules about pets and quite a number of people bring their pets for assignment purposes. Once there is no stated rule or got a loop hole, then get your glider lah.

If your glider crabs, just tell people is your new ring tone hahahah... Hey, it REALLY works!!!

But remember, do bond first and really, the best time is when you are having your holidays, during that time you can teach your glider to stay in pouch for long periods and study its naturally waking and feeding time and also it's habits.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 4 2007, 08:52 PM

12,047 posts

Now glider joey harder to get liao... went to Pet Family just now, seems got a long list of people that book joeys. Wah, good business now... but then hope those joeys that were sold were all properly weaned off lah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 5 2007, 09:01 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Feb 5 2007, 04:58 PM)
4th week (one month liao) with my Gollum

I am so happy that my progress with my SG is doing great...He is just so cute everytime  I look at him. After I got my little pouch, I have been taking him out alternate days. Took him to my office, to car workshop, to mamak, drive around in the car with me...etc...

I always make sure I have a small container full of fruits....not apple..(cannot last)....like grapes, pink guava.....

It has been great..and he loves the worms that I had been feeding him as a meal...I am thinking to breed worms myself ....anyone know how???

And the best thing about my Gollum..he is not so crabby now....very gentle when he is on my arm...and he is also bond with my husband...so either him or me can carry around...

He is still very shy to be out from the bag unless in a dark environment....but he is such a baby....needs to be handfeed....unless he is too hungry..then only look for the food tray...hahaha...

His diet now is worms (about 15 small worms a night), apple (twice a week), pink guava (twice a week), red grapes (twice a week), mini mandarin orange .... is it okay for an adult SG?

My husband had been complaining about his smell that he leaves in the cage....he was thinking to use cat litter sand as the bottom..(not as bedding)....is it okay? As i remember someone was talking about don't use the sand....please advice how to get rid of the smell... blush.gif
Wah.... 15 worms is too many... cut it down to 5 or 6, like what suiteng just said. Mealworms is not full of protein but full of fat. If you want to feed insects, do go with crickets. Much more nutritious for gliders.

Erm.... you need to give more variety to the diet. Grapes is not so good when eaten too much and you gotta take out the seeds. Guava is ok so are apples. Feed honey dew, rock melon, sun melon, papaya, kiwi fruit and pear. Mandarin oranges... not advisable since it can cause diarheaa sometimes. Do limit citrius intake.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 6 2007, 10:08 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Feb 6 2007, 10:02 AM)
Hehe.. ya.. male glider got scent gland on their forehead and chest there. So they are a bit more smelly tongue.gif Also that dangling thing a little bit lower than his belly there very annoying too hehehe..

As tikusgila said, limit citrus intake. For travelling, you can give him jambu air also. Easier to carry. Tried making your own glider mix yet? Try to check it out from tikusgila, she's selling some that your glider will love to eat. (P/S: I curi the recipe liao now I make my own mix hehehehe..)
Hahha... you curi my mix? Wah.... no wonder no more customers lah LOL... tongue.gif

Eh, my Kiah weird, she now showing a bald spot on her head... weird or not for female? I know she is a SHE coz got pouch loh... and no jewels hanging hahahah...
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 6 2007, 10:33 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Feb 6 2007, 10:26 AM)
Hehehe... dun angry la...  blush.gif  blush.gif

Weird to have bald spot woh.. my Sasa forehead black black wan. Maybe she have been rubbing her forehead somewhere and you didn't notice it? My Benben rub his head until really so botak lah.. aduh..
Ah.. dunno what she rub lah... I never cage her wan... maybe she go gaduh with my hamster hahahah... Last night I saw her sit in my bearded dragon's tank eating his crickets... my goodness, she not afraid of big lizard hahahah...
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 6 2007, 11:04 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Feb 6 2007, 10:44 AM)
Wah lau curi makan cricket  doh.gif Maybe she too noti liao so kena whack gua lol...
Sometimes when I cage Benben and Sasa too long ar.. they will revenge. How you know? So brilliant... they poo halfway, then jump to the side of the cage so that their poo fly out. My god.....
Hahah... dunno kena whacked or not but the bald spot was there before she go find my beardie. Ai, I no eye to see her sometimes, too naughty. She do not like cage, if I cage her too long, she will injure her nose. So no choice loh, my room become her room liao. I gotta sweep everyday for her poo but her pee she likes to find my baju and pee on my baju... damn funny.

IN the middle of the night when I am asleep, she will come to kacau me. Groom my hair and lick my face... later jump jump masuk my pants.... ish... damn naughty. Later she push and make my table and stuff untidy and fall to the floor.... wah, I got a little monster lah...

At least your Benben and Sasa can stay in cage loh.. mine to spoilt liao, sigh....
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 6 2007, 09:23 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Feb 6 2007, 03:58 PM)
I can jaga for u if u wan  nod.gif  I'm not celebrating CNY this year  cry.gif  So I'll be working full time. How long?
Lucky wor... I tot my chiwek is pervert  shakehead.gif  doh.gif  laugh.gif 

Groom hair? He groom mine very pain leh. I slap him away but he still come back to me.

Hehehe..at least chiwek and kiah is a perfect match... both also manja and naughty  laugh.gif
Hhahaha... Chiwek is not as perverted as Kiah.... she likes to sleep at many funny places on me... but now she got a favourite place to sleep... in my underwear drawer... LOL.. I dunno how she gets in but I found her twice inside sleeping.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 6 2007, 09:58 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Feb 6 2007, 09:51 PM)
funny place?  blink.gif  people keep thinking I'm some pervert honry fella for putting something extra enlarging my breast.  doh.gif  which in fact is chiwek hanging on my chest.  tongue.gif

*choke* underwear?!  becareful ooo..later she become accustomed to that kind of smell, jialat wooo....  brows.gif
Hahah... eh, at least you do not have a friend who try and feel for your glider. Kiah wasn't even on me and my friend put her hand on my chest to feel for Kiah... wah... I kena molested hahahah.... But I do get stares... some thought I had some wrong operation or something doh.gif

Ish, I dunno where this Kiah learn her naughty antics... but today she very good girl, slept on my bed whole day while I was at college... tongue.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 09:35 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Feb 6 2007, 10:37 PM)
got ler... dry.gif taking the oppourtunity.

Is Kiah a light sleeper? I don't think so since she crawled from your bag to your body to sleep when I came to get Chiwek..so I'd guess she's a heavy sleeper like chiwek. Then I'd guess that they will sleep the whole day time until 11pm  nod.gif  Chiwek sleeps never wake up until either I disturb him or it's time to PLAY!!! rclxub.gif
Kiah wakes a bit if I disturb her, but she is immune to noise... loud concert, car horns, music, dog barking... nothing of those sort wakes her up but a nudge can wake her. Of course she just open her eyes, see a bit then fall alseep again hahaha....

Now her new time is getting up at 12am... she sleeps throughout the day now. Last time she wakes up a bit to play and eat but now totally sleep till 12am.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 09:35 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Feb 7 2007, 02:08 PM)
Is it bald totally??..like bald to the skin...and it has some dark brown clog..and slightly wet...I will try take picture later today....

Can anyone suggest where I can get the calcium supplement from? What human yogurt that i can buy to feed him. I think my SG is lack of calcium.... hmm.gif

Added on February 7, 2007, 2:12 pm

Last night i gave less worms...he is like tak cukup like that...so i cut more vege and fruits for him - cucumber, pink guave & apple....he makan the pink guave & apple...the cucumber don't like.....

Anymore things you guys can suggest what to feed my SG.....i ran out of ideas what to feed...
A good yogurt would be er... oh dear, I can't remember what is the name... well, try and find the most expensive yogurt by Nestle... it is full of fat and fruits, to me it taste so much like ice cream. This yogurt if small container is RM2.50 already but then the taste is so delicious and so so creamy, doesn't taste like yogurt at all hahahah...

Have you tried Honey Dew? My glider likes honey dew, jambu air, papaya, rock melon and mango. Anyway, do view my sales thread on glider food if you'd like an alternative.

Cucumber and most vegies aren't favourites with gliders. I have tried producing Mixed Vegie glider food and it wasn't a hit with majority of gliders here hahahah...

Calcium powder, do get pure calcium powder that is phosphorus free with added vitamin D3. Avoid dairy calcium. You can get hold of Repti Cal, sold at Pet Family now for RM24 a container. Can last a long time too and expires in 2008.

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Feb 7 2007, 04:06 PM)
they like always never enough of those good things.  sweat.gif
cucumber? I don't think any sugar glider likes cucumber. Coz it's not sweet. Have to get them sweet fruits. And they love durians very much  brows.gif  chiwek always get free treats of durians from durian stalls uncle  doh.gif  whereas me the owner do not eat durian in my lifetime  laugh.gif
Har? Durian? I have not tried that on Kiah... yoh, I LOVE durian hhahah....

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Feb 7 2007, 07:37 PM)
too sad mine hate the sight of babywipes or any tissue. He'll crab like mad if he sees anything cloth or white coming near him.  rclxub.gif  Thus I never bath him.
Glider bath.... anyone wants such services? I can make your glider smell like baby shampoo hahahh....

crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 8 2007, 10:17 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Feb 8 2007, 10:54 AM)
just PM me if u need help. icon_rolleyes.gif  nod.gif
glider bath?? how wor? i need la..he is so stinky  shakehead.gif  but still i love him  wub.gif
Hahah... I can teach you how to bath glider... but then very hard... must show you summore.

QUOTE(suiteng @ Feb 8 2007, 11:18 AM)
You cannot be jealous of Kiah coz she's female and your Chiwek is male (born to be smelly).

Oh ya, they love to drink this.

Oh yes, Kiah loves that drink too.

Of course, such drinks need to be given in moderation as treats.

QUOTE(chal @ Feb 8 2007, 06:01 PM)
cry.gif ....

Last week i found that my male have killed and ate my female joey. both are the same age. I don't know what have happend to them that bring up the tragedy.

There're no wound to the female except the both eyes were gone, and the whole internal organ being suck out from it's mouth !!!(I presumed).

So sad that both of them were in progress of became tame. both are going well and they've mild bond with me. (Don't run away, don't bite, etc). but after the tragedy, the male became WILD and attemp to bite me if got any chance.

I've always spare a apple inside their 3ft cage. and my home got no potential predator...

WHY IT HAPPEND??? got any clue... cry.gif .. and how on earth I can forgive and bond again wt the male...
I still cannot figure out why even till now.... kinda weird since both are JOEYS! Weird case...

crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 9 2007, 08:47 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Feb 9 2007, 01:51 PM)
Yesterday I bought Dutch Lady Yogurt 0% fat Rasberry/Strawberry flavour. I put 2 teaspoon on a tray....My gollum loves it...thanks guys..now I am glad my SG is getting some calcium from there.....

Hehehe....but he is still very shy to come to my arm...have to slowly lure him there....then he would pee pee and poo poo...hahaha.....
Any yogurt is safe for gliders but next time try to find low fat or full fat yogurt. Well, gliders need a bit of fat and fat from yogurt is good for them. tongue.gif

Hahah... just to tell you guys... Kiah loves cheese... but then it is not advisable to give gliders cheese. I didn't give Kiah cheese, she stole it from my sandwich... naughty!!! doh.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 11 2007, 01:02 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Feb 11 2007, 12:17 AM)
brows.gif  brows.gif
"Eh hun, where's kiah aaa?" *reaches* whistling.gif  whistling.gif
LOL.... Kiah don't like pouches... no choise loh LOL.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 12 2007, 08:47 PM

12,047 posts

Wah... call SPCA straight. Another solution, call PERHILITAN or something and report about the mistreatingf of exotic animals. SPCA forum is dead. Also, the forum is run by a volunteer... not an officer. SPCA forum is for chatting lah, not to report incidents.

Added on February 12, 2007, 9:59 pmRecently I heard market price for sugar gliders have gone up.... most people selling them for Rm300 to RM400 each.... wow, price has gone high these days.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Feb 12 2007, 09:59 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 12 2007, 10:04 PM

12,047 posts

If we tolong buy, then it will just make the shop get more gliders to sell... then the whole cycle will be the same. I would say best is complain big big about such petshops, allow authorities to take action against animal cruelty.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Feb 12 2007, 10:05 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 14 2007, 06:14 PM

12,047 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...69674&sec=focus
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 15 2007, 07:40 PM

12,047 posts

The Star will always read their emails daily.... SPCA... nopes, that is why I said call rather than send email. Same goes with the other animal welfare... still, emailing is something good coz got black and white and got pics as well.

The Star will always cover up and edit company names... so, not a very proper thing if we want people to know about which company or shop but it is a good start. Too bad Pet World Magazine stopped production, if not can get them to do a story on petshops mistreating animals.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 18 2007, 10:34 PM

12,047 posts

Aiyoh... so loving... Cham loh... Kiah no chance liao LOL

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled