QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Sep 14 2014, 09:35 PM)
oo rig kat singapore docks ka?Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream
Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream
Sep 14 2014, 10:34 PM
1,551 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Sep 30 2014, 05:18 PM
land ahoyyy. been a while at sea.
by the way anyone got the news about the punch-through incident with aqua marine? saw the photos, the rig needs a tow back to the dry docks by the looks of it. some of the dangers us ONG peeps face. |
Oct 1 2014, 10:36 PM
yuhh. the aqua marine incident was at miri, im not sure of the block tho.
a photo of the incident. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « slow drilling days this year.completion, development, exploration all veryyy slow. This post has been edited by mhyug: Oct 1 2014, 10:38 PM |
Oct 16 2014, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(BillySteel @ Oct 16 2014, 09:25 AM) What are you talking? Let them be la bro. they all hear stories only blom cuba The employer sets the salary...and not many local comps i know in o&g pays anything above 3k to their freshies.MNC's also very few. I started my first job in klang valley for 1.4k a month. If no allowance that month i makan timun. From most people i hear in Malaysia high salary does not equate to higher responsibility and challenge it equates to who you know and how pandai u taichi. I make more money now overseas with so much less resposibility than i did locally in Malaysia with more responsibility. Why you think everyone in Malaysia want to jump? well freshies carry on la apply the big guns. maybe stars are aligned right and u may get that fat ass pay check. and for the rest of the freshies whom applied a million times, then you know la haow hard to get those high paying stuff, even the low paying also. well hello hello labuan...again...damn this bos bumping crew like pinball. |
Oct 21 2014, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(noruazumi @ Oct 20 2014, 10:11 AM) It was reported that there was a fatal accident happened at Rig E-104 (Chemingat Rig? anyone?). 2 crews were working on the life boat when the life boat suddenly fell off 35m onto the sea. Both were found dead by the rescue team. QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 20 2014, 08:07 PM) nothing much can be shared with the outsider at the moment as this incident is still under investigation. Most people roughly know what happened but to find the root causes it will go through a proper investigation which will involve many personnel including representative from the client.. hohh if you read a few pages back i was at the rig during the puteri a-5 well development. my crew just came back if im not mistaken. and not sure if they have suspended operation. i knew both of them (not personally)since i was there to set up my equipments and had constant work meetings/discussion with both of them. scary stuff since the smoking area at E104 is near one of those life boats. not sure wch one fell since im not at the chemingiat well workover. This post has been edited by mhyug: Oct 21 2014, 08:30 PM |
Oct 30 2014, 01:51 AM
Nov 1 2014, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Oct 31 2014, 08:39 AM) Malaysia's future talents pick Petronas & Google as top choice mmg pon bro....talent la sgt asyik dok sapu dia punya utp ja. yg dr luar ni mana nak masuk petronas. nak tgk CV pon depa x mau. Bernama SINGAPORE, June 17 -- 2014: Malaysians studying business, engineering, natural sciences and law picked Petronas as their Top 1 IDEAL Employer this year, while Google claimed the hearts of those doing humanities and IT. Set out to track career aspirations and preferences of future talent pools, the Malaysia Top 100 IDEAL Employers student survey by Universum also recognises the most coveted employers based solely on responses gathered. The inaugural survey also uncovered the most important career goals of undergraduates, whereby 65 per cent consider having work/life balance as the most important, followed by 50 per cent who chose "to be secure or stable in my job." The survey was conducted among almost 11,000 university students in Malaysia. Despite this, when assessing attractiveness of employers they want to work for upon graduation, students valued remuneration & advancement opportunities as much as their people & cultural qualities. Rachele Focardi, Senior Vice President of Employer Branding and Talent Strategy - APAC, Universum said, "Malaysia has made significant progress in recent years, positioning itself competitively as a business hub and gateway to the region. "Naturally, the ease of finding and attracting good local talent becomes crucial for the success of homegrown and foreign enterprises. "By launching a Malaysian edition of Universum's annual global student survey this year, we hope to provide a regular reality check for employers on expectations that their future talent had of them and their careers upon graduation," Focardi said. Undergraduates in Malaysia share similar aspirations with their global counterparts, who also view work/life balance as their most important career goal. When asked about their expected monthly salary upon graduation, Malaysian undergraduates hoped to draw an average of RM3,258 while other key findings from the survey revealed that a majority of Malaysian university students find local employers more ideal to work for compared with foreign ones. Universum is the global leader in employer branding, providing end-to-end solutions that empower organisations to become better at attracting, recruiting and retaining top talent. Source: MOLE http://www.mole.my/content/malaysias-futur...ogle-top-choice hmmmm......Goodluck! |
Nov 3 2014, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(Stamp @ Nov 2 2014, 09:54 PM) their scholars in utp got good grades, tau. coz they picked high SPM achievers as their scholars, min 7A+ to qualify to apply for Petronas scholarship. competition super duper stiff. yep i know that haha. its just that many of them angkat kaki sonner then my CV getting spotted by pet haha |
Nov 7 2014, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(mouthpoop @ Nov 7 2014, 09:42 AM) I am not trying to sound like a grumpy old man but sayang, life is unfair. I dont see the point of us here circlejerking on these people that use 'cable' to be where they are. The discussion brought us nowhere except to the same very place we are right now. btol tu. yeah some got connections, and yea i do envy them. but im not those super top CGPA students either when i was studying. but managed to get in this industry the hard way round. The wayforward now is to build yourself your cable. Get in the industry from any means you can, you can try from the below; sub vendor company, small/medium oil and gas enterprise and build your network from then on. slowly but surely. Once you are up there, you have a firm grasp of understanding on the business since you went through greater experience than the 'fast-tracker'. And now you can start helping your family/distant relatives/your friend's son/ your classmates even that are trying to get in the industry. “The only time you look in your neighbor's bowl is to make sure that they have enough. You don't look in your neighbor's bowl to see if you have as much as them.” ― Louis C.K. and one thing the super duper top CGPA wont take is the low pay, high work load, and to mention the grunt, bone breaking work some requires you to do. so if you think you deserve more??well think again are you willing to lower some of your expectations to taste the sweet success later. so anyone who thinks they deserve more then the other guy, prove it. at some pt ypur cgpa wont mean anything but by all means it will be a good platform to start when you start your very 1st walk into the working world. |
Nov 14 2014, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(mouthpoop @ Nov 14 2014, 02:34 PM) I am actually excited to see how this will evolve. i rather see they dont merge...well not until im in one of them haha, after that they can merge.The merger of two largest service companies in the industry. Though I am still in the recruitment process of one of this companies, I wish they will agree to come out with something productive. http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/11/13/...N0IX2HZ20141113 once a big company buys, their hiring gets lousy. very hard to even secure a bloody interview. This post has been edited by mhyug: Nov 15 2014, 12:12 PM |
Nov 16 2014, 02:33 AM
Nov 17 2014, 06:16 PM
Nov 17 2014, 10:25 PM
deng the merger went on. wonder how things will start to change. i assume the hiring will be put on hold for a while.
i wonder if this merger will be 2 sides of the coin, i.e more opportunities or leads to job cuts This post has been edited by mhyug: Nov 17 2014, 10:32 PM |
Nov 28 2014, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(ak101ss @ Nov 22 2014, 12:19 PM) Received same email, I applied for BHe Brunei. Same position. huii stop damning the mrt la. some of us here really need it. x kisah la how songlapness this country is, at least that mrt is coming. UPDATE : 9 questions, and I f***ed it up pretty badly. Questions 1-7 were all about challenges faced etc. etc. Last 2 about why you want to work in baker hughes I wasn't used to looking into a camera at all, I just didnt feel comfortable, ended up stuttering and using the wrong words. Guess imma continue buildin' that god damned MRT. on another note, drilling and production is on the low, so it will be harder to get in to the job market. wont be easy to enter OnG muda mudi. mahukah nak slug it out backbreaking work, with low pay for a few years, less holiday??? and NO sight of land for weeks, no good internet and at some places no tv. if yes i have some service line within the drilling side looking for recruits. i wonder whats the update on those candidates Baker interviewed. with the merger and all where do you stand? a few of the baker guys i know pon sudah sweating since most services baker is offering to client is also offered by halliburton. well either way deep water is picking up a bit on the east.....dah ber minggu x nampak semenanjung ni...still in one piece ka?? This post has been edited by mhyug: Nov 28 2014, 12:43 AM |
Dec 12 2014, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(BaRT @ Dec 12 2014, 11:50 AM) hoho its has begun. they put in lots of money and stock options in buying baker and now time to balance the book. |
Dec 15 2014, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(langstrasse @ Dec 14 2014, 11:34 PM) Folks, the news about employee shedding has now become common with current industry situation and to be honest, it was expected as it's a common choice by companies in difficult times. im not sure on the epcc side of things, but drilling wise there has been a spike in activity. east msia especially. more rigs coming in for pcsb, inpex, nippon. shell just started a batch drilling of 20 wells off marjuram/malikai(im unsure wch block). Much worse news would be if projects (exploration or even worse, development) get shelved and companies take the wait and see attitude. Has anyone heard of confirmed news of this type? Any mothballed projects in the news lately ? development wise its really slow, every one is quite focused on explorations at the moment. |
Dec 15 2014, 03:57 PM
Dec 16 2014, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(BillySteel @ Dec 15 2014, 09:30 PM) What you think you see rarely represents the industry as a whole. Oil prices are affecting rig counts. yep. this may the ones planned way back then. and they could just alter their plan to drill 1 well instead of any proppsed number before. plus they could delay and wait on the drilling for exploration.Petronas already said they will honor all existing tendered contracts. |
Dec 18 2014, 12:21 AM
hoo prelude dah nak siap akhirnya...and oil price x la menarik tp gas?? masih ok kot
Dec 20 2014, 02:57 AM
well the price went up a bit..wee bit only. lets hope it goes up to a competitive level but not too high.
| Change to: | 0.0540sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:04 AM |