Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

mhyug
post Jan 7 2015, 12:25 PM

1,551 posts

hoo last few posts all economics , hard core to it.

well, what to do as the wheel spins, ada masa atas, ada masa bawah. i guess staying positive, working hard will get us trough. not to mention keep your own level of expenditure on check and dont forget that piggy bank.

hoping there will be no major recession of sorts and good fortune and good economic boom for all.

mhyug
post Jan 8 2015, 02:22 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(Fakhriayie @ Jan 8 2015, 12:16 PM)
Hi guys..Just wanna ask. I just get an interview offer next week. Need opinion. Can I tell the interviewer to contact me through email if cannot contact me through phone if I got the job because I am afraid I need to go for offshore with my current comp after the interview. Or its not proper to say that? Thanks
yep. thats how it is with us offshore workers. in fact ONG companies knows that even better then us haha.

even tho they do have phones on drilling rigs, but mostly used to contact your bos/base and to some extend your family and friends(this one do at your own discretion la haha brows.gif )

its 100% ok. i my self highlight that in my applications, and resume. my phone isnt the best way to reach me. but if they called me during my time onshore then i will certainly pick it up.
mhyug
post Jan 9 2015, 11:15 AM

1,551 posts

yep. i wonder what will sapura do, before the oil price tumble they were planning a drilling campaign to be kick started in march.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Jan 9 2015, 11:18 AM
mhyug
post Jan 13 2015, 01:38 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jan 12 2015, 11:00 PM)
i like your above statement  smile.gif  sweat.gif
keep reading similar type of people typing similar type of questions at here... and some do not understand their own strength and weaknesses keep typing the same which options to go. worst is still not get the offer letter or as intern and have a big dream.
at current uncertainty situation, it is a very good time to build/renew qualifications and networks and wait for the recovery again.
i still get my AWS last month. bonus and increment not sure yet. site allowance still deposited into my bank account.
agreed 100%. even with common sense of oil price falling outsiders still believe all of us earn buckets of gold. what they didnt know is the retrenchments, pay cuts, job cuts, project cuts, campaign cuts all sort of cuts and freeze. biggrin.gif

good idea on renew/build on the qualification part. might as well be ab good time to further studies etc and then when the industry bounces back you have an edge of some sort laugh.gif

anyway whats the bloody story on choppers at labuan??heard contract terminated/banned....feck i got pummeled on a 7hr free ride on a vessel..... rclxub.gif
mhyug
post Jan 21 2015, 03:07 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 21 2015, 08:38 AM)
i think if they really want to lay off, just bloody layoff those expensive expats. petronas has darn too many of them from top to bottom. and half of them are useless as feck. shakehead.gif

anywho, baker and halliburton merger seems more negative then positive for the working class. well it seem for the coming months/years perhaps this the oil price we live with.

doa la ekonomi dan harga minyak improve for the better. smile.gif
mhyug
post Jan 22 2015, 02:11 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 22 2015, 01:57 PM)
I'm jumping back to downstream brows.gif

I miss working at East Coast!
perghh abang yakup tetap steady rclxms.gif
mhyug
post Jan 22 2015, 05:38 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 22 2015, 04:26 PM)
Kuantan peoples masuk please in this tered liao need your second opinion

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3477821
hoho bro jaga2 kuantan area town pon banjir teruk kadang2. gebeng tuh ada one road if not mistake, jabor area itu pon sure naik air if rain=high tide= they release water from the dams.

mhyug
post Jan 29 2015, 12:33 AM

1,551 posts

abang yakup dah start kat gebeng ka? jgn bawak keta mahal2. rosak nt dgn tanah merah and debu habuk besi dr kuantan port.

btw what does a technical writer do??write technical parts of tender and docs??(p.s versi malas google neh haha tongue.gif )
mhyug
post Jan 29 2015, 07:36 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 05:34 PM)
Will be this year. Earliest june, latest by September.
relating to what ahh???? job cut??new contract?? closure??merger??opening??drilling? production?? downtream?? upstream??

basically apa itu surprise??? hmm.gif
mhyug
post Jan 29 2015, 11:32 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 29 2015, 08:51 PM)
i guess all the operators start spending back again, rigs easy to get contracts and demand high dayrate....kekekeke...
QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 29 2015, 09:37 PM)
* touch wood *  brows.gif
touche to both!! drool.gif drool.gif
mhyug
post Jan 30 2015, 12:58 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jan 30 2015, 09:17 AM)
Hurmm...
huhh rowan gorilla..please no..crappy rig. all sort of problems. and pcsb still yet to learn from the countless BHA loss, hole problems etc due that rigs crappy drillers and tourpushers. ohmy.gif
mhyug
post Jan 30 2015, 07:09 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 30 2015, 04:58 PM)
Nothing to do with OPEC on this.
As now is US and Saudi are fighting, have to see who die first. If Saudi die first, oil price will shoot rocket high shakehead.gif
double edge sword that, one side i will be like yoshaaa!!!!im gonna drill and drill!!, other side will be im using a bicycle and will bury any combustion engine i have lol hahahah rclxms.gif

dilemma's of us ong workers. brows.gif
mhyug
post Jan 30 2015, 10:09 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 30 2015, 07:16 PM)
US wins and oil price go rocket high, recession will come faster doh.gif
Oil price rise and other business can't catch up will be problem. US's debt are way too high than we can imagine, they are trying to cover the holes now. That's why they are trying to flood the market with their oil. 1st step is to dominate the market then rise the price.
But Saudi already see this, that's why they are playing poker with US. The stakes are high on this game. Both are chasing for the Ace.
If Saudi wins, oil price goes back to 70-80 will be the best.
i think 7-080 usd is quite sustainable and reasonable for companies to go on E&P campaigns
mhyug
post Feb 1 2015, 11:43 PM

1,551 posts

kinda setting up for a grey career path right with the last few discussions hahaha

but anyway i think stamp is right. lets focus on career, tech development, experience and stories etc. lets all hope for the best in both the economy and onil prices. smile.gif

mhyug
post Feb 5 2015, 09:46 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 5 2015, 02:29 PM)
Reporting from Gebeng. Hancur siot jalan area sini. Lorry berat banyak keluar masuk area quarry due to iron ore mining hmmm
hoho mcm i said kan bro yakup. very unhealthy woo that kuantan back road. jgn pakai motor, also pakai comp 4x4 kalau ada tongue.gif

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Feb 5 2015, 08:22 PM)
Weatherford to Cut 5,000 Jobs as It Fights Oil Slump
Feb 5 (Reuters) - Weatherford International Plc plans to cut 5,000 jobs, or about 9 percent of its workforce, by the end of the first quarter as the oil services company tries to save costs amid sinking oil prices and budget cuts.
The job cuts will focus on both operating and support positions and a majority of the reductions will be in the Western Hemisphere, the company said in a statement.
Weatherford, which currently employs about 56,000 people across the world, expects the job cuts to result in annualized savings of over $350 million.
"Due to the quickly changing market conditions, we are aligning and reducing our cost as well as organizational structures to match the new environment," the company said.
Weatherford said it expects its cost actions, a reduction in capital expenditure by $550 million to $900 million in 2015 and a positive contribution from working capital balances, to offset any reduction in earnings.
Last month, the company said it would eliminate the position of chief operating officer as it copes with a 60 percent slide in global crude oil prices.
Global oversupply and tepid demand growth have sent crude prices to five-year lows, prompting oil producers to trim their budgets.
Oil companies have responded to the lower spending levels by cutting thousands of jobs and also salaries.
Schlumberger NV, the world's largest oilfield services provider, is laying off 9,000 employees, while Baker Hughes Inc is reducing its headcount by 7,000.
Oil major BP Plc said it last month that it would freeze base pay across the company this year, while Resolute Energy Corp said it would slash its CEO's base pay by 96 percent.
(Reporting by Supriya Kurane in Bengaluru; Editing by Gopakumar Warrier)
Article Date: Thursday, February 05, 2015
they started this week in my base. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 5 2015, 09:17 PM)
Aduyai upstream E&P exploration and project development memang slow gila sekarang. Hope the oil price will picking up gain in two years time... Aku nak jump lagi...
hanya bole mimpi ja buat masa ni nak lompat2 mcm bro yakup rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: Feb 5 2015, 09:47 PM
mhyug
post Feb 6 2015, 05:05 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 5 2015, 11:48 PM)
This thread is about to reach 100th page soon, and I am about to pass the torch to the next thread starter. Bro mhyug can you be the next TS? Aku lepas nih akan busy gila and will not have time to monitor the next thread...
ayak bro, i wont have internet once im back at my bilik sewa at kemaman, saya cadangkan pass the torch kat abg kik. dr satu otai ke otai lagi satu. smile.gif
mhyug
post Feb 7 2015, 01:31 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Feb 7 2015, 11:03 AM)
Boleh.. Boleh.. Tunggu 100 dulu  smile.gif
trima kasih abg kik~!

maap la x dapat nak start saya maseh green lg dlm bidang ong. bg otai2 handle dulu rclxms.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0586sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:32 AM