4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

mhyug
post Jun 25 2014, 06:34 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(shazshah90 @ Jun 25 2014, 05:24 PM)
i see. thanks for the info. i'm trying to apply for mud cooling engineer there, is it a good future prospect?
i really a newbie here..
mm future prospect im not sure but if you are new to the industry i think its good place to start. gain a few years of exp then move up the ladder so to speak.
mhyug
post Jun 26 2014, 02:36 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(ady775 @ Jun 26 2014, 01:47 PM)
Hi there,

I recently got a job offer in a local compant as Equipment Engineer for Hydraulic Workover Unit. Their schedule is 4 weeks offshore and 2 weeks rest. Unfortunately I believe its offshore allowance is only RM80/day. Plus the work scope will be same as a mechanic( informed during interviews). I would like to know if its worth it to join this company as their basic is as same as my current company. Less than 4k. Please advise as I am having hard time to decide. Thank you.
i know wch company from the type of rig u mentioned. pay wise maybe low but maybe resume wise could be helpful in the long run in securing those foreign drilling contractors.
mhyug
post Jun 26 2014, 05:40 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(ady775 @ Jun 26 2014, 05:31 PM)
Thank you. I am currently in Mechanical Seal company. Office base. Offshore allowance here is 300/day compared to my offer which is too low. Still thinking hard on this... Furthermore how does it feels to be in offshore for straingt 4 weeks?  rclxub.gif
mm how to say, since you are with the rig side you will be working 12hrs, and resting 12 hrs so time flies. i rarely see those on the 12-12 shift do anything else.

work-rest-a bit of exercise-repeat.

now if you are with a service comp, we work when our job, and during standby, no job is a time to do many things, or just be bored as hell. biggrin.gif

but knowing you have a fixed schedule helps.unlike most service companies where even before you touch solid ground, you're off to another hitch somewhere else.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Jun 26 2014, 05:53 PM
mhyug
post Jun 29 2014, 06:08 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ Jun 29 2014, 03:33 PM)
ch_teo, thanks for the reply. actually i always update my cv and update to their database. until i also dunno which company i have applied for job because its too many. average about 20 emails send out from my email everyday seeking a job.

but they said, i just have 2 years exp. so they cant make me into fresh grad level, and not so exp yet. maybe i'm not so bright like you, thats why difficult for me eventho to get call for interview.

i'm not choosy, i just grab anything i can. but i still didnt get any offer yet.
i feel you. in due time. ive been firing them emials every day even during my working hours. hope 1 of them emails/apps will get noticed
mhyug
post Jul 25 2014, 01:59 AM

1,551 posts

ohooo raya on solid land this yearr. ooo how i miss the smell of dirt. biggrin.gif

happy holidays all, yg kat laut tuh work safe smile.gif
mhyug
post Jul 25 2014, 11:49 AM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Jul 25 2014, 09:39 AM)
yg kat laut tu, got extra allowance x?  laugh.gif
triple allowance?
my former employer got for the 1st day of raya, but my current one dont have. still the same rate as normal days.
mhyug
post Aug 2 2014, 04:50 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 2 2014, 03:40 PM)
Any offshore field engineers here? Im trying to compare my package which is one day time off per 5 working days offshore. So basically 1 month full offshore bout 6 days time off only.. How bout you guys?
good deal. im just getting 7 days for 1 day. and less flexibility on top of it.
mhyug
post Aug 4 2014, 11:59 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Aug 4 2014, 11:35 PM)
Bro what is this?  smile.gif
maps of the oil and gas blcoks around this region. smile.gif

any time there is convention/expo there will be a comp handing these out for free after u dropped your name card if im not mistaken.
mhyug
post Aug 15 2014, 06:07 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Aug 12 2014, 11:10 AM)
Never had an English test from Baker Hughes before! Times must have changed...
you already seasoned pro bro, they no need give all those test hehe.

QUOTE(kart @ Aug 13 2014, 10:25 AM)
I have been an avid reader of this Oil & Gas Career ever since its first version. Thank you to all regular contributors who provide generous advices that are useful to newbies in particular.

Has anyone heard about Frank’s International N.V. (Frank’s International website), or Selaut Oil Tools Services Sdn Bhd (its regional headquarter in Malaysia)?

From what I know, Frank's International provides a range of tubular technologies for drilling and completions worldwide in the oil and gas industry. That places it as an oilfield service company, similar to Schlumberger and Halliburton.

Does anyone have any idea about career prospect and other information in this company? Thank you for the help.
QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Aug 13 2014, 07:18 PM)
They are doing same job like KST (Kejuruteraan Samudera Timur), Weatherford - tubulars running - conductor/casing.
We have their crews on one of our rig now.

Selaut Oil Tools Services Sdn Bhd
Unit A-23-15 & 16, Tower A
Menara UOA Bangsar, No. 5
Jalan Bangsar Utama 1
59000 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
60-3-7842 8010
60-3-7842 8011 fax
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Aug 13 2014, 09:54 PM)
Franks mainly provide tubular running service and conductor piling services. Other than that they also provide drilling tools such as torque reducer. Other TRS provider is Weatherford,KST & TESCO(for special application where casing can be rotated while running in).
QUOTE(kart @ Aug 14 2014, 01:38 PM)
Thank you for your information, meonkutu11 and backspace66.

Is the working experience obtained in Frank's International relevant to other oilfield service companies, namely Schlumberger, Halliburton, Baker Hughes and Weatherford?

Plus, is Frank's International a good company to work in, especially in term of job prospect?

Thank again.  notworthy.gif
ahaaa havent seen some one ask about tubular running in a loooong while. as answered by the seniors above.

i was a former employee of 1 afore mentioned company above, and currently am employed by another listed above. tho just for info besides those 3, there are a few more but not prominent around m'sia or the ASIAPAC region. among them BJ tubulars and ITS.

from what i know, franks a.k.a selaut is in search of plenty manpower since they are servicing quite a high volume of rigs at the moment. brows.gif . job wise pleanty to go around so to speak at selaut.

as for career advancement etc, well i think its best you experience it yourself the tubular running side of drilling. wink.gif . pay wise, well u know la local comp vs mnc company, and can come to a conclusion on your own rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: Aug 15 2014, 06:13 PM
mhyug
post Aug 15 2014, 11:06 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Aug 15 2014, 06:57 PM)
Congratulation on your new coverall...
mana ada bro. dah lama dah join. biggrin.gif

tgh nak dok carik peluang nak tukar coverall ni hahah cool2.gif
mhyug
post Aug 16 2014, 04:38 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 16 2014, 04:01 PM)
Because everyone keeps hearing about how good the industry pays. Which is correct to an extent but most don't know anymore than that and if they don't know more than that, it is very very hard to get in.
QUOTE(kslee79 @ Aug 16 2014, 04:18 PM)
Pretty much summed it up. It is also good if they should know the price to pay to get paid handsomely - still there's no such thing as free lunch!!!
very true. the assumption this is the only industry paying high is false. or the assumption this industry is easy thus paying high also wrong. brows.gif
mhyug
post Aug 18 2014, 06:16 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Aug 18 2014, 12:38 PM)
I am with Baker Hughes for past 8 years, as LWD Field Engineer/Logging Supervisor and Radiation Protection Supervisor - posted in Qatar, Germany, Brazil and now China.

Qatar and most Mid-East countries - rotation 6 weeks on with 4 weeks off.
Brazil - rotation 4 weeks on and 4 weeks off.
China - rotation 4 up to 6 weeks on with 4 weeks off.

If I work for Baker Hughes home country (Malaysia) - on call, anytime! No fixed and predictable schedule. Therefore, for a predictable rotating schedule and skipping income tax altogether, I opt to go rotating as international rotator and get paid in greenback!
hoo now this is good info. didnt know that. guess next stop is trying to seure things on international side...(mimpi la kot hahah)

QUOTE(abgkik @ Aug 18 2014, 03:21 PM)
After more than 10 years on the field.. Now I'm 'lepaking' at office and trying to finish all company's budget...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
another mimpi i nak capai hahaha biggrin.gif
mhyug
post Aug 21 2014, 02:34 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Aug 20 2014, 01:10 PM)
Looking back at ver1 created 2006! Woo

We are very close in terms of product line...lol. I am with Weatherford...wireline. Been bouncing around different countries too these past 8 years.
Just added you to Linkedin.
what do you one a fellow red(maroon in a few washes) coverall mate. smile.gif

hows the wireline dept doing these days. not much of a business in the malaysia side of thing for the W tho.
mhyug
post Aug 21 2014, 03:52 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Aug 21 2014, 02:54 PM)
Weatherford much action in Qatar a few years ago when they JV with QP...
this year has been a year of downsizing. lay off here and there.
mhyug
post Aug 21 2014, 06:54 PM

1,551 posts

it was said about 7000 world wide was laid off. and within my base at east coast ive seen 1 BU closed, a few laid off.
mhyug
post Aug 21 2014, 10:39 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(drfuad23 @ Aug 21 2014, 03:59 PM)
Hi bros n Sifus. I am currently doing master's in petroleum eng - UTM as a part time student. Graduated in Chem (Petroleum Major-hons) eng.

I am looking for ong vacancy. Now I am doing water & waste treatment for industry and municipal-2 years experience - Project, business dev. Others, I been working as kuli macai in non related profession for few years.

I have been trying to get into this industry for quite a while. No invitation for interview whatsoever.

Now I am more focus than ever to get into this industry since my good friend left for petrofac - his first step into this industry after few years of working. He also doing master in UTP - jalan semarak.

I also want to liaise my work with my study, so I am seeking your expertise and good advise for my dilemma..chio
this mate of yours, before this he was working in the ong industry or other industry?? hmm.gif

anyway its good to have a bit of both. chances are there, not easy but its there. work hard for it smile.gif
mhyug
post Aug 22 2014, 02:26 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(drfuad23 @ Aug 22 2014, 09:46 AM)
Now he is doing dust collector for boilers. good market tho, since they gazette the new regulations. He will receive the offer letter in short time.

Sure. Thanks bro. when there's a will, there's a way. I just keep pushing myself.  smile.gif
ahh the power industry. actually i wanted to know because i am planning to further my studies too haha. kinda feeling stagnant at the moment. biggrin.gif

but had that doubt would my current exp+a masters would help me move on. i guess it does help a little, then the rest we work for it.
mhyug
post Aug 28 2014, 05:48 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Aug 28 2014, 03:09 PM)
today I heard Technip Geo was reduce 20% employee this... seems a lot of company now practice to reduce manpower

Leighton Offshore - Closed
OPE - Closed
Petrofac Engineering/RNZ - reduce employee
MMHE - reduced employee (VSS)
Technip - reduce employee
SBM - dont get project

etc etc

signs slow moving on market now
it was slow ever since they annouced the new pan msia 5 years contract. exploration and development wise all very slow.

mhyug
post Aug 30 2014, 11:38 PM

1,551 posts

that pecos is the cheapest of red wings. they got some more coveted stuffs wch so far i see mat salleh wear. and some locals whom sanggup buy them.

but among the safety shoe line, that pecos held in top tier. one look without proper storage, sure kena sapu.
mhyug
post Sep 14 2014, 08:37 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Sep 12 2014, 02:14 PM)
Without relevant maritime experience and DP Cert, I also wont let the fresh grad to become a DPO on my rig.. smile.gif
pehh nih dah naik OIM ni....aku bole kena runoff ni kalau datang rig ko hahaha tongue.gif

bila ko balik kg ni, bole la ajak sembang/minum cool2.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: Sep 14 2014, 08:38 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0534sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:00 AM