QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jun 6 2014, 11:51 AM)
Mr. Az.Dz. from Berantai.What I knew he started his safety career with Sarawak Shell.
Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream
Jun 6 2014, 07:13 PM
1,597 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Jun 6 2014, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(yellowlemonsun @ Jun 6 2014, 09:01 PM) hello all. long time lurker in this forum. now need some advises from the otai otais I would like to share my experience and observations regarding this. recent mech eng graduate here. is it advisable if i start off my career as a trainee drilling engineer (fast track work up from roustabout -> driller) in a drilling contractor company. then hopefully in the near future move on to being a drilling engineer in an operator/client company? is that even possible? any advises will be greatly appreciated! First of all, from what I know the local companies that offering this Trainee Drilling Engineer are UMW and Perisai. I'm came from one of them From my observation (local companies), yes, the training is to develop you to become a rig key personnel i.e. Driller, Toolpusher, OIM etc...Is it advisable? I would say yes because you will work as a regular roustabout, roughneck, etc etc....and will know well about the rig equipment and operations. First hand experience! For some of the international drilling contractors (Transocean, Seadrill, Ensco, Diamond etc), they have different programs, either to develop management positions (rig manager, asset manager, subsea supt) or specific rig positions program (Driller, Subsea Engineer, Mechanic, ET etc) In near future you want to switch to become drilling engineer (operating company/office job)? Yes I saw some of the trainees (international company) made that switch after a few years doing rig jobs (still in the program)...But, I never saw a guy completed his/her training and become a regular Assistant Driller or Driller switched to become Drilling Engineer. They already have fix rotation job with 4weeks on and 4weeks off (fully paid). Some of them that I see will progress up to become OIM or Rig Manager(office job) or another rotation jobs i.e Drilling Supervisor (operating company) or Directional Driller (services company). So, for the start it is a good exposure and experience to start working hands-on in this trainee program if you are good with physical jobs and know how to be good with people around you (friend/networking). Later on, along the way the process you might have a better view or a better choices... |
Jun 7 2014, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(yellowlemonsun @ Jun 6 2014, 09:59 PM) That's the exact answer I was looking for. Thank you meonkutu! You're right about The Driller Trainee Program in Maersk Drilling. Because I noticed international drilling contractors (like Maesrk) calls their fast track programs Trainee Driller. Not drilling engineer. So my biggest concern was the fear of pigeonholing myself or being stuck as a driller. And yes I was thinking maybe when I'm considering to settle down being a drilling engineer in an operating company (office job) will be rather decent. Now that I'm still young and capable I should be out there learning in the fields. One thing that I should highlight, there are differences between Trainee Drilling Engineer in operating company compare to drilling contractors. From what I know, operating companies will give their Trainee Drilling Engineers/WellSite Engineers some periods of time to work on the drilling rigs maybe 6 months (maybe more or less) and then will stay in the office. The DE with the team onshore will plan the wells and come out with the NOOP, DWOP, Pre-Spud meeting and so on..During the execution of the drilling program, the onshore team will constantly monitor the progress and liaise with the companyman(Drilling Supervisor) onboard. TDE in drilling contractors is the one who physically works onboard 12 hours a day, 7 days a week depends on your rotation for how many weeks. Your are part of the team that executing the drilling/workover operations based on what has been planned on the table. Everyday (if you are driller), you will receive the Standing Instruction on what to do for that well section. Having said that, if your are with drilling contractors for let say, 3-4 years (maybe you are doing Assist Driller) and want to switch to become DE, I'm not pessimistic but maybe not that easy because you have to compete with fresh grads, also if you with them from the start, you already designed a few well programs and about to become Sr. DE. One more thing, please note that Fast Track Program in local companies not that 'fast' as you think. Just beware. |
Jun 7 2014, 04:46 AM
About Us Recent Jobs Job By Location Job By Category Home > Entry Level Field Engineer MWD\LWD Email this Job Entry Level Field Engineer MWD\LWD Why Halliburton? How about global opportunities, interesting work within small cohesive teams, extensive training, and the opportunity to take your career wherever you want it to GO, with all the support and stability of a truly global organization. With more than 72,000 employees in approximately 80 countries, Halliburton is one of the largest and most respected energy services companies in the industry. Since 1919, our customers have relied on our industry-leading technologies, scientific expertise and, most importantly, our knowledgeable and experienced professionals to help them meet the world's demand for energy. Whether you are a new graduate seeking your first job, or an experienced professional looking to make a career change, we have fantastic opportunities across our organization. Are you ready to GO? Under strict supervision, provides on-site supervision of the Logging While Drilling (LWD) process including tool preparations, data acquisition, log generation and Quality Control (QC), and delivery of the services to the customer. Responsibilities are to learn the job role for the Measurement While Drilling/Logging While Drilling (LWD) service line. Serves as the third man in a subordinate role on most jobs; second man on select jobs. Provides technical and operational expertise to external customer in a professional manner. Performs assignments requiring knowledge and application of basic engineering and measurement while drilling principles. Maintains equipment inventory and supervises movement to and from well site. Checks equipment and advises repair requirements. Maintains computer database for on-going jobs; prepares job ticket, daily reporting and end-of-well reports. Job tasks, correctly performed, have minimal impact upon the viability of the organization. Error is readily ascertainable by the supervisor and can be corrected. Skills typically acquired through completion of an undergraduate degree in Engineering, Science, Geology or other technical discipline, or equivalent drilling/rig experience. Must have successfully passed company tests or met task guideline requirements. Ability to demonstrate technical aptitude to standards required. Must possess good communication skills, arithmetic, data entry, and recording skills. Proven competency in computer software. Requires ability to read and interpret formation well logs and interpret directional survey information and other well-site data. Must possess relevant offshore certificates as required. This is the entry-level position for the Measurement While Drilling/Logging While Drilling (LWD) job family. This is a field position. Promotes safety awareness and environmental consciousness, and complies with all applicable safety and environmental procedures and regulations. Ensures compliance with Health, Safety, and Environmental (HSE) regulations and guidelines. Promotes and takes an active part in quality improvement processes. Halliburton is proud to be an equal opportunity employer. Job Code: MV05-ESG |
Jun 7 2014, 07:40 AM
PETRONAS Widens Talent Search, Offers Overseas Graduates Sponsorships
Driven by a desire to grow its workforce to cope with an expansion in the company’s operations worldwide, Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS) is offering sponsorship to overseas graduates who are keen to embark on a career with Malaysia’s national oil and gas firm oyees,” the Malaysian NOC said in its statement. INDUSTRY SKILL SETS REQUIRED Recruiting suitable skilled employees has been a major priority for Asia’s oil and gas industry since this could impact directly on growth in the sector. Skills shortages and/or aging workforce was ranked after operating costs as the second most critical barrier to the industry’s growth in the region this year, Norway’s DNV GL pointed out in its “Challenging Climates: The Outlook for the Oil and Gas Industry in 2014” report. Based on its observation, the Malaysian NOC has identified 13 job types that the global oil and gas industry needs to fill urgently, which include: Geologist Petroleum Engineer Mechanical Engineer Chemical Engineer Electrical Engineer Asset Management (Integrated Process Engineer) Techno Commercial Marketing Logistics Plant Operations (Petrochemical) Health, Safety & Environment Marine Operations (LNG) Tax & Accounting PETRONAS OVERSEAS TALENT SPONSORSHIP PROGRAM Talent management is a key pillar in the firm’s business growth as PETRONAS recognizes that “an organization is only as good as its talents.” To help expand its global talent pool, the company developed the PETRONAS Overseas Talent Sponsorship (POTS) program. PETRONAS set out to achieve several objectives through the POTS program: To source and acquire potential multinational talents to support the PETRONAS Global Talent Strategy To build a talent pool to realize the global expansion and ensure sustainability of PETRONAS’ businesses To leverage on the PETRONAS Education Sponsorship Program to promote PETRONAS’ branding through scholarship program To support the Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP)’s vision to be an internationally-recognized higher learning institution as a partner of choice for the oil and gas industry and a respected member of scientific communities by 2025 Under POTS, successful overseas candidates will be offered an 18-month development program covering a comprehensive on-boarding course as well as leadership and development stimulations. In addition, they will pursue a post-graduate Master of Science (MSc.) program at UTP in one of the following disciplines: petroleum engineering, process integration, petroleum geosciences, asset management and maintenance, and process control. PETRONAS revealed that another MSc. program in drilling might be added to the existing POTS disciplines, subject to approval by the Ministry of Education in Malaysia. The subjects offered at UTP, which was established in 1997, under the POTS program was chosen because “these areas are considered critical in PETRONAS and highly-demanded by the company,” the firm explained. It has already selected the first batch of POTS applicants, who will commence their program in May. The 11 POTS scholarship holders are from Britain, Colombia, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Slovakia and Spain. Six of these candidates will pursue a MSc. course in petroleum geoscience, three in asset management and maintenance, and the remaining two in petroleum engineering. The firm expects POTS recipients to add to the diversity among international students now studying at UTP, where currently the “majority … come from non-developed countries especially from where Petronas operates,” the firm commented. Embracing diversity as part of its corporate strategy is reflected in the number of overseas staff employed by the company, which stood at 21 percent in 2012, data from PETRONAS Sustainability Report 2012 unveiled. However, “no ideal target has been set by the Management of PETRONAS” on the hiring ratio for Malaysian versus non-Malaysian staff. Meanwhile, PETRONAS has indicated that it is “targeting about 40 students [for the POTS program] including the 11 successful applicants” and these students will be offered employment with the company upon graduation. COMPETITION FOR TALENTS PETRONAS acknowledged that petroleum companies face intense competition in the search for skilled talents to fill industry vacancies worldwide. Given its extensive operations globally, PETRONAS’ top management considers POTS a high priority “especially in realizing our vision to be a leading oil and gas multinational of choice. Also in building global talents pipeline for Petronas’ Global Operations,” the firm emphasized. “One way [for PETRONAS to prepare for the competition in talent search] is through [the] POTS program, in which we trust … could be a good platform to invite capable individuals to join our diversified workforce,” PETRONAS told Rigzone - See more at: http://www.rigzone.com/news/oil_gas/a/1334...h.3E3NkQpE.dpuf This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Jun 7 2014, 07:45 AM |
Jun 10 2014, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jun 10 2014, 07:38 AM) I dont care any stupid remark from those who claim they are expert but we Sarawakian deserve to request 20% O&G royalty from Federal Govt else anarchy liao lulz Drilled by Mighty 106 This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Jun 10 2014, 08:29 AM |
Jun 17 2014, 01:46 AM
Malaysian player SapuraKencana Petroleum has secured more work for its drilling division in the form of new contracts and an extension worth a total of $700 million. [COLOR=blue]
Wholly-owned subsidiary Petcon has landed a brace of contracts with Petronas Carigali to provide two tender-assist rigs, SKD T-9 and SKD T-10, for development drilling work off Malaysia. The SKD T-9 has been hired for an initial five years, effective from next month, with an optional two-year extension while the other unit has been taken on a three-year lease starting in August and extendable for two more years. Another tender-assist rig, SKD T-18, has been tanken on charter by Chevron for development drilling off Thailand under a separate five-year deal with wholly-owned subsidiary SapuraKencana Drilling Asia, due to start this month. Wholly-owned offshoot Seadrill Jaya has meanwhile gained a one-year contract extension with BP for use of the tender-assist rig West Jaya off Trinidad, due to start in August. Really SapuKencang...Just announced the finding on 4 exploration wells and now secured more contracts for their tender rigs..... |
Jun 17 2014, 02:26 AM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 17 2014, 02:03 AM) how come locals so hard to enter their drilling arm. so many fleet all mat salleh for the key positions Sama ada client kagum sgt sama mat salleh atau ini LOCAL kompeni tak percaya sama locals...Ask them how many years they operating in Malaysia Water and how many local Toolpushers or OIMs they produced!!..same goes to my company cam ni bila aku nak jadi OIM kahkahkah Lagipun, NOC tak push hard enough to this drilling companies...Kesian geng2 Bayong.. |
Jun 17 2014, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jun 17 2014, 08:20 AM) UMW-OG allocates RM2 bln for capex this year Good to have a Malaysian drilling training center. Hopefully can boost drilling personnel in near future. But one of their rig now equipped with people from 'bollywood' and keep calling their people to come working on the rig..Posted on June 17, 2014, Tuesday KUALA LUMPUR: UMW Oil and Gas Corporation Bhd (UMW-OG) has allocated RM2 billion for capital expenditure this year to grow its fleet assets as part of its expansion plan. Its president Rohaizad Darus said the company spent RM1.7 billion last year as part of the listing proceeds to add to their fleet of premium jack-up rigs, and is expected to add three more rigs – the UMW Naga 6,7 and 8 – which will be delivered in September and December 2014 and September 2015 respectively. “We currently own five oil drilling rigs, of which three are operating outside Malaysia – the UMW Naga 5 in the Philippines and the UMW Naga 2 and 3 in Vietnam – while two (the UMW Naga 1 and 4) are serving the Malaysian market,” he told reporters after the company’s annual general meeting here yesterday. Eight rigs is a comfortable figure but beyond that the company will have to look into adding more people not only on the rigs but also at the office dealing with procurements and support, he said. Rohaizad said the company spent RM20 million to set up a drilling academy in collaboration with Institut Teknologi Petronas called UMW-INSTEP Drilling Academy, which started operations in March this year and is expected to train 120 people a year. This year the company also participated in 25 tenders worth around US$2.2 billion including 13 outside Malaysia, and is quite confident of getting at least 30 per cent, he said, adding the contract tenure ranges from two months to over two years. Meanwhile UMW-OG Chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin said the oil and gas landscape is very encouraging, with a healthy domestic market plus increased activities regionally including in non-traditional oil producing countries Myanmar and the Philiphines. He said the company will continue to play a role in creating a more sustainable Malaysian and Southeast Asian drilling industry, adding it would also look for opportunities in the Middle East. — Bernama Read more: http://www.theborneopost.com/2014/06/17/um.../#ixzz34qpoRbOf |
Jun 20 2014, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(engrfeez @ Jun 20 2014, 10:20 AM) Yes the vessel was in Dubai named Deep Producer. It is Dynamic Positioning vessel, it is abandoned ship. Not sure some equipment or packages still can used. Bro, This is Bolehland...no need to confuse..kekeke..But what make me confuse, how TTHE got this project? At least the worst this project shall go to MMHE since they are local champions on FPSO |
Jun 20 2014, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(engrfeez @ Jun 20 2014, 11:32 AM) Just pity I heard they using money those who invest to tbg haji to go peform hajj to bought this vessel and construct FPSO They have a few offshore support/supply vessels JV with Alam Maritim (TH Alam). Maybe this is time to venture into FPSO....about TTHE, no comment. It was ramunia if I'm not mistaken...Malaysia is very good at awarding contracts to haw-haw company..maybe it "wahyu" come from top above...kekeke...seems politics now likely enter to oil n gas..where this people really need money badly and do whatever their want.... |
Jun 23 2014, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(engrfeez @ Jun 23 2014, 05:04 PM) this is what i mean, politician please stay away from oil and gas business, you're ruin a lot of things.. Now he also feels the pressure. Maybe byk sgt 'wahyu' punya projects utk kayakan politicians or political linked company.hehehe....let people in oil and gas do their own business and pay the tax to government... enough! So no matter how many CEO, if politicians still involve, it won't go anywhere. Hopefully the current restructuring in their organization will make some improvements. Someone close with this people said there are two different characters between current CEO with the past especially when dealing with people outside (during OTC). Also, how good the Japanese welcome the previous CEO when he went there for a meeting. |
Jul 2 2014, 02:19 AM
The EU's Best Universities for an Oil Career
http://www.rigzone.com/news/oil_gas/a/1338...Career/?all=HG2 |
Jul 7 2014, 10:24 PM
Calling for Drillers..
Thanks for responding to my inquiries via Linkedin. Reason I am approaching is because i am assigned by both UMW, Maersk and Perisai for a role that are lack in Malaysia. Malaysia has limited talent skills of Driller. Requirement they need 15 years of experience of Drilling operates either deepwater drillships, Jack-up rigs and semi-submersible rigs as per Petronas requirements. They willing to compensate on the pay as per international market rate. Are you interested or do you know anyone interested for this role? Opportunities with Spring Engineering - Marine Engineering My name is Andy Chua and I am the Senior Consultant of Spring Engineering and I am overseeing the overall talent placement portfolio of Subsurface, Well and Marine Engineering serving Oil and Gas Industry based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Client is one of the world’s leading companies in the development, construction and operation of offshore drilling rigs and drillships and the fleet consists of deepwater drillships, Jack-up rigs and semi-submersible rigs. They are looking for candidate that able to manage their international drilling operations, based on experience from worldwide projects. Driller/ Assistant Driller Kuala Lumpur Currently they have an opportunity for a Driller and/or Assistant Driller to join their team which is operational in South China Sea. The main duties and responsibilities will include; • Control all Drilling Operations performed during his shift in a safe and efficient manner. • Ensure the drilling operation is carried out as defined in the approved Operator’s Instructions and Drilling Programme, and the operation is executed in accordance with Company's Drilling Operation Manual and RSWMs. • Report directly to the Toolpusher any deviations from approved Operator’s Instructions or Drilling Programme. • Responsible for ensuring the Drilling Crew perform Planned Maintenance on drilling equipment thoroughly and that it is recorded on the PM sheets. • Responsible for all lifting activities on his assigned wellcenter or area. • Never leaves his post without being replaced by the Tool Pusher or by the Assistant Driller if permitted. • Must regularly liaise with the Bridge regarding the station keeping capabilities of the rig where applicable. • Ensuring that all maintenance carried out on drilling equipment has been entered into the TAG system. • Ensure that the daily checks are carried out on drilling equipment. • Delegates the drilling crew to carry out derrick inspections and Dropped Object Checks thoroughly and timely, the results documented and anomalies reported and rectified. • Responsible for ensuring good housekeeping on the drill floor at all times. • Complete Daily Drilling Reports. • Check the accuracy of drilling line ton mile record. • Check instructions, programmes and calculations supplied by Operator. • Maintain an accurate pipe tally. • Maintain an accurate and complete record of all equipment which enters the well. • Acts as co-ordinator during well test operations and maintains a valve status board. • Monitor the well at all times and record volumes when tripping. • Must be familiar with space-out and shut-in procedure. • Solely responsible for shutting the well in when circumstances dictate. • Maintain a current kick sheet and update Slow Circulating Rate (SCR) record at least each shift in line with Company Drilling’s Well Control Procedures. Requirements • All drilling jobs have direction, but with them its forward. • Entry Qualifications: Valid IWCF Well Control Certificate. • Required Experience: Experience working in a Driller capacity/ Previous experience on a similar installation. To learn more about how Spring Engineering can help on your next career move, please drop me a note or contact me as per below. Andy Chua Senior Consultant Spring Engineering - Oil & Gas t - +603 2630 8888 m - +6012 557 2337 e - andy.chua@springasia.com w - www.springasia.com |
Jul 28 2014, 09:26 AM
Aug 3 2014, 08:02 PM
Aug 4 2014, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Aug 4 2014, 09:32 AM) not sure i have heard of IPWC well control before. There is only two which IADC and IWCF for drilling and well intervention with two levels driller & supervisor. Most people did their IWCF certification in PTTCO. There is also another provider which is Falcon. But i do recommend PTTCO me neither but i guess that refers to IWCF WELL INTERVENTION PRESSURE CONTROL.Yes, PTTCO much more better from Falcon. I took my IWCF cert from both providers. This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Aug 4 2014, 10:33 AM |
Aug 13 2014, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(kart @ Aug 13 2014, 10:25 AM) I have been an avid reader of this Oil & Gas Career ever since its first version. Thank you to all regular contributors who provide generous advices that are useful to newbies in particular. They are doing same job like KST (Kejuruteraan Samudera Timur), Weatherford - tubulars running - conductor/casing.Has anyone heard about Frank’s International N.V. (Frank’s International website), or Selaut Oil Tools Services Sdn Bhd (its regional headquarter in Malaysia)? From what I know, Frank's International provides a range of tubular technologies for drilling and completions worldwide in the oil and gas industry. That places it as an oilfield service company, similar to Schlumberger and Halliburton. Does anyone have any idea about career prospect and other information in this company? Thank you for the help. We have their crews on one of our rig now. Selaut Oil Tools Services Sdn Bhd Unit A-23-15 & 16, Tower A Menara UOA Bangsar, No. 5 Jalan Bangsar Utama 1 59000 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia 60-3-7842 8010 60-3-7842 8011 fax This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Aug 13 2014, 09:26 PM |
Aug 15 2014, 06:57 PM
Aug 16 2014, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(bloodchow2 @ Aug 16 2014, 06:27 PM) hi sifu-sifu here, i just offered petroleum engineering course @ UTM last week, going in UTM next month for first year degree already =D Study hard...and join ROTU (like me, hahaha)...and also SPE- UTM Student Chapter...any tips share wit me? This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Aug 17 2014, 12:56 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0239sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:32 PM |