Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

meonkutu11
post Dec 3 2014, 11:00 PM

1,597 posts

http://www.upstreamonline.com/live/1385420...seismic-vessels

Leading oilfield services player Schlumberger said it will retire several of its marine seismic vessels and take a substantial impairment charge as a result.

-I still remember when my friend (with westerngeco, 7-8 yrs ago) was layoff just with a phone call..

This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Dec 3 2014, 11:01 PM
meonkutu11
post Dec 4 2014, 08:28 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(syarehey @ Dec 4 2014, 08:16 AM)
So when is your friend working now? other seismic company?
With another company in Brunei that doing laser scanning, dimensional survey etc.
meonkutu11
post Dec 11 2014, 10:50 PM

1,597 posts

SBM to Shed 1,200 Positions in Restructuring Moveby Jon Mainwaring|Rigzone Staff|Thursday, December 11, 2014

Dutch oilfield services firm SBM Offshore announced Thursday that it will cut 1,200 positions out of the 10,500 people it employs worldwide by the end of 2015 as it seeks to reduce costs in a tough market environment.

The news comes less than a month after the firm settled a bribery case with Dutch prosecutors for $240 million following a two-year inquiry into improper payments to government officials in Angola, Brazil and Equatorial Guinea by sales agents between 2007 and 2011.

SBM said it would cut 600 contractor staff and a similar number of permanent employees in order to optimize its cost base. The cuts will vary by country, depending on local legal requirements, it added.

The firm believes that the restructuring of its business will generate annualized savings of approximately $40 million, with total redundancy costs amounting to $25 million – of which $17 million will be recorded in 2014.

SBM CEO Bruno Chabas commented in a company statement:

"Although we regret losing some of our colleagues, we believe these steps are necessary to deliver value to our stakeholders and drive profitable growth over time."

SBM also announced a plan to relocate its corporate headquarters from Schiedeam, Netherlands, to Amsterdam during the third quarter of 2015.

The firm provides floating production solutions to the offshore energy industry, with its main activities being the design, supply, installation, operation and life extension of FPSO (floating production, storage and offloading) vessels.

meonkutu11
post Dec 29 2014, 05:38 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(sendatpadatketat @ Dec 29 2014, 04:46 PM)
i search in the internet that slb,hali,weatherford,etc all do wireline. i do not have specific company that i'm pursuing as i am not in position to be choosy at the moment. i will grab any offer that i can get to be honest.

wireline because not a lot of people are doing that job in my opinion, and i am keen on travelling outside.

btw, are you married when you are in wireline? is it mainly family factor make you change your job?
dont forget to try local company like dimension bid...
meonkutu11
post Jan 1 2015, 09:34 AM

1,597 posts

happy new year to all grease monkeys!!! be safe!
meonkutu11
post Jan 9 2015, 08:51 AM

1,597 posts

Another story...

http://oilpro.com/post/9507/now-ultra-deep...tm_medium=email
meonkutu11
post Jan 9 2015, 09:52 AM

1,597 posts

one more...

meonkutu11
post Jan 11 2015, 11:43 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Jan 11 2015, 10:10 AM)
I don't' study their financial statement but I know they are an oil field operator. Logically if oil price dip their income will be directly affected unlike other OnG contractor that don't derive their income directly from the price of oil.
I believed there is a reason why they are called "SapuKencang".
they are an operating company, drilling contractor, services providers incl. marine n subsea inspection n maintenance, and drilling rig, production platform builder and conversion, repairs....
meonkutu11
post Jan 19 2015, 10:30 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(syazone90 @ Jan 19 2015, 10:12 AM)
Hi, I have just graduated from Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) taking Bachelor in Mechanical Engineering. My major is Materials and learnt Failure Analysis, NDT, Corrosion & NanoMaterials. I also have experienced 7 months internship at ARKEMA Lychee Project, Kerteh as a Trainee Project Engineer for ALGOTECH for Mechanical & Piping Department. Up to now I've sent more than 150 job applications (email & website) and only received 2 interview offers, one is SLB (managed until 1st stage only- group & individual) and Gas Malaysia Berhad (interview this Wednesday).
My concern is that, most o&g companies are now freezing hiring and downsizing and most job vacancies are for those with experience only and an engineer from a Client company recently told me, we need CABLE to get into o&g especially client. Even UTP grads don't get the opportunity to be hired that easily by PETRONAS anymore.
I want to ask the seniors here to guide me on what to do for now and what to plan ahead. By the way, I would really love it if managed to secure a job with client as I'm the kind of guy who likes to talk and manage and I've experienced working with contractor(ALGOTECH) and also in manufacturing/automotive during my Diploma with PROTON.So, would really like to venture into new area  biggrin.gif  smile.gif  hmm.gif
bro, i wonder where is your alumni, seniors or friends...you said you like to talk, i bet you must have a lot of friends...

some words from me in case you work with contractor or services company (in drilling) and in your learning phase, JOIN them and work with them especially those deckhands, floorhands...you'll get a priceless knowledge...
i have a friend like you, in fact your senior and have that kind of 'client' attitude...keep questioning why he has to do this and that, n etc...of course it didnt went well with him...talk too much and bossy...ppl dont like that!

This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Jan 19 2015, 10:37 PM
meonkutu11
post Jan 21 2015, 08:38 AM

1,597 posts

Good morning guys...

http://www.rigzone.com/news/oil_gas/a/1368..._and_Inaccurate

http://www.rigzone.com/news/oil_gas/a/1368...s_As_Oil_Slumps
meonkutu11
post Jan 27 2015, 10:15 AM

1,597 posts

hurm...

meonkutu11
post Jan 29 2015, 10:27 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jan 29 2015, 07:51 AM)
Was wondering how are the safety consultants situation in the current oil/gas downturn? Companies like BV, ERM, DNVGL,Synergy....
My friends in BV & Petronas Maritime still busy going survey here and there.
meonkutu11
post Jan 29 2015, 08:51 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 07:38 PM)
Nope, cannot disclose laugh.gif
i guess all the operators start spending back again, rigs easy to get contracts and demand high dayrate....kekekeke...
meonkutu11
post Jan 30 2015, 09:17 AM

1,597 posts

Hurmm...

meonkutu11
post Feb 5 2015, 09:34 AM

1,597 posts

hurm...

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
meonkutu11
post Feb 5 2015, 08:22 PM

1,597 posts

Weatherford to Cut 5,000 Jobs as It Fights Oil Slump

Feb 5 (Reuters) - Weatherford International Plc plans to cut 5,000 jobs, or about 9 percent of its workforce, by the end of the first quarter as the oil services company tries to save costs amid sinking oil prices and budget cuts.
The job cuts will focus on both operating and support positions and a majority of the reductions will be in the Western Hemisphere, the company said in a statement.
Weatherford, which currently employs about 56,000 people across the world, expects the job cuts to result in annualized savings of over $350 million.
"Due to the quickly changing market conditions, we are aligning and reducing our cost as well as organizational structures to match the new environment," the company said.
Weatherford said it expects its cost actions, a reduction in capital expenditure by $550 million to $900 million in 2015 and a positive contribution from working capital balances, to offset any reduction in earnings.
Last month, the company said it would eliminate the position of chief operating officer as it copes with a 60 percent slide in global crude oil prices.
Global oversupply and tepid demand growth have sent crude prices to five-year lows, prompting oil producers to trim their budgets.
Oil companies have responded to the lower spending levels by cutting thousands of jobs and also salaries.
Schlumberger NV, the world's largest oilfield services provider, is laying off 9,000 employees, while Baker Hughes Inc is reducing its headcount by 7,000.
Oil major BP Plc said it last month that it would freeze base pay across the company this year, while Resolute Energy Corp said it would slash its CEO's base pay by 96 percent.
(Reporting by Supriya Kurane in Bengaluru; Editing by Gopakumar Warrier)

Article Date: Thursday, February 05, 2015
meonkutu11
post Feb 7 2015, 02:01 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Feb 7 2015, 11:03 AM)
Boleh.. Boleh.. Tunggu 100 dulu  smile.gif
steady lah senior.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
meonkutu11
post Feb 7 2015, 02:02 PM

1,597 posts