Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

meonkutu11
post Aug 21 2014, 11:31 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Aug 21 2014, 06:54 PM)
it was said about 7000 world wide was laid off. and within my base at east coast ive seen 1 BU closed, a few laid off.
We laid off almost 50% of the onshore ppl (locals) and many of the offshore crew in our south america operations. Because of the downturn and huge debt, internal scandals, etc (petrobras), clients are more focusing on production and slowing down the explorations. Many of the drilling contractors and service companies were starting laying off the locals and trying to relocate the expats to other regions.

meonkutu11
post Sep 1 2014, 08:17 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Sep 1 2014, 09:10 AM)
UMW Oil & Gas gonna build another rig Naga 8 (hull code B376) in Singapore, just saw their banner put up at my canteen just now lunch time =).
NAGA 5 also there..preparing for the next job..
meonkutu11
post Sep 11 2014, 10:23 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 11 2014, 09:44 PM)
hi ,
what is job position available offshore in oil and gas?
can someone explain the hierachy
Too general mate...what are you looking for? Upstream or downstream...oil company, service company, drilling contractors, marine etc??
meonkutu11
post Sep 11 2014, 10:52 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 11 2014, 10:29 PM)
more into marine actually .. can explain more about offshore marine?
i want to jump from merchant ship to offshore ship , but i have less knowledge about offshore
Offshore Support Vessel, Anchor Handling Tugs, Heavylift Vessel, Survey Vessel..position i guess pretty much same with the merchant ship..but i'm not sure how the ticket/license...i heard there some differences btw coastal and foreign going...

My employer and other deepwater drilling contractors (semisubmersible rigs and drillships) also employ marine crews e.g Captain, Chief Mate, Sr. DPO/2nd Mate, DPO/3rd Mate, 3rd Eng, 2nd Eng, Chief Eng, Ballast Control Office, Control Room Officer...

Suggest you go to www.rigzone.com to see vacancies and the requirements for the related position...

This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Sep 11 2014, 10:56 PM
meonkutu11
post Sep 12 2014, 12:02 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 12 2014, 08:45 AM)
Thanks man, I have fg ticket for 3rd and 2nd officer, but I don't. Have dpo. Cert. Because. Most of the website showing engineer posn.
Do you mmind, telling me ur company name?
JOBS AND CAREERS

I took this from Maersk Drilling Website. They also provide DP training and other maritime courses.

DYNAMIC POSITIONING OFFICER (DPO)

What does the work consist of?

The DPO is responsible for the daily maintenance of the draught, trim and stability of our floating units (Semi-submersibles or Drillships). Furthermore the DPO is responsible for keeping the GMDSS radio watch, updating the radio logbook and testing the GMDSS equipment as well as assisting the Barge Engineer and Safety Officer in the maintenance and updating of the rig’s marine and safety equipment as required.

What do I need to know to hold the position?

In order to hold this position, you must have the following:

Certificate of competency – STCW 95 II/2 (Master Mariner Unlimited) is required for promotion possibilities
Full DP Operator’s certificate (issued by Nautical Institute or similar)
GMDSS certificate
How do I get there?

You typically start your career in the maritime industry where you obtain your marine officer certificates, including experience with Dynamic Positioning. Once you have obtained the certificates, you can start your career in the offshore industry as Dynamic Positioning Officer.

You maybe want to see the vacancies for marine crews (drilling rigs) in below list..I'm working with one of them.

Transocean www.deepwater.com
Seadrill www.seadrill.com
Ensco www.enscoplc.com
Diamond Offshore
Atwood Oceanics
Noble Drilling

And other deepwater drilling contractors...

meonkutu11
post Sep 12 2014, 02:14 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 12 2014, 01:30 PM)
Early this year, I was offered a DP post.
Currently, lot of vessels in a company which is the subsidiary of an O&G operator with DP Class 1. So there is a requirement to upgrade to DP Class 2, this company which offering me this posting was tasked for this upgrading.

DP is totally not relevant to my oilfield tubular experience when was offered of this DP post. So, it is about attitude, skills and experience, and of course qualifications. Just through 2 times phone interview, I was offered directly the DP post.

It is not the 1st question, how much is the Salary which always coming out from some fresh grads.
Without relevant maritime experience and DP Cert, I also wont let the fresh grad to become a DPO on my rig.. smile.gif

meonkutu11
post Sep 13 2014, 01:21 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(zizdnyll @ Sep 12 2014, 06:41 PM)
thanks for the response , they want master mariner unlimited..
well still a long way to go for me then..
start career as dynamic positioning officer? mean , i have to join ship with dp
where can i get dp certificate in malaysia? i heard ALAM already stop the course ,anywhere else the course is available?
Below is the min requirements for the 3rdMate/DPO (Gulf of Mexico) for my company; maybe can give you some pictures of what you must have...i know Maersk Drilling provide the DP course and they have the training center in Singapore...

3rd Mate DPO- GOM

Primary Responsibilities
Dynamic Positioning Operations
· Assists with DPO watch, monitoring and operating the DPO system controls and instrumentation to ensure the rig is kept stable and on station at all times.
· Makes logbook entries for DPO operations in accordance with Ensco procedures.
· Assists with preventative maintenance on the DPO system, including sensor checks.
· Sets up operational parameters following changes in rig position or sea conditions.
· Promptly reports all problems to the Officer-In-Charge; including potential loss of station position.
· Monitors engine room status; calls for assistance as-needed to avoid loss of station-keeping ability.
Safety
· Participates in the Safety Training Observation Program (S.T.O.P.) and weekly and operational safety meetings.
· Performs inspections as required; reports all hazards.
· Performs all duties in accordance with the Permit to Work System.
Other Responsibilities
· Assists with ballast control operations and the running of subsea navigational sensors.
· Performs other duties and special projects as requested by management.

Qualifications
Education:
· Degree from a recognized Maritime Academy or University.
Professional Experience:
Skills – Technical:
· Completion of the Nautical Institute Dynamic Positioning Training courses is required.
Skills – Communication:
· Bi-lingual is preferred (English, Spanish, French, Portuguese)
· Verbal communication skills necessary.
Skills – People:
· Ability to interact with individuals in a cross-cultural environment.
· Leadership and employee development skills.
· Team oriented.
Licenses, Certifications, Credentials, and Other Requirements:
· Offshore survival and medical certificates as mandated by government regulations are required.
· Valid unlimited 3rd mate license is required.
· GMDSS Radio Operator’s License or equivalent certification for the governing jurisdiction where assigned is required.
· Must pass pre-employment and random drug tests.

meonkutu11
post Sep 14 2014, 09:35 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Sep 14 2014, 08:37 PM)
pehh nih dah naik OIM ni....aku bole kena runoff ni kalau datang rig ko hahaha tongue.gif

bila ko balik kg ni, bole la ajak sembang/minum cool2.gif
Xlayak jd oim bro...opis boy boleh la...

Dah ada di seberang tambak ni bro...
meonkutu11
post Sep 14 2014, 10:52 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Sep 14 2014, 10:34 PM)
oo rig kat singapore docks ka?
Dok HQ..u still on rotation bro?
meonkutu11
post Sep 30 2014, 06:31 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Sep 30 2014, 05:18 PM)
land ahoyyy. been a while at sea.

by the way anyone got the news about the punch-through incident with aqua marine? saw the photos, the rig needs a tow back to the dry docks by the looks of it.

some of the dangers us ONG peeps face.
Wow...when, where??
meonkutu11
post Sep 30 2014, 06:52 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Sep 30 2014, 06:43 PM)
did you mean the spud can sank deeper into the soil?  hmm.gif
Some people call it 'rapid penetration'....

Hopefully not like what happened to Trident 17...

Which field the rig was working??

This post has been edited by meonkutu11: Sep 30 2014, 06:54 PM
meonkutu11
post Sep 30 2014, 09:59 PM

1,597 posts

Murphy Oil To Sell Nearly A Third Of Malaysian Assets For $2B

Sept 30 (Reuters) - U.S. oil company Murphy Oil Corp said it would sell 30 percent of its oil and gas assets in Malaysia for $2 billion in cash to Indonesian state-oil company Pertamina as it cuts overseas holdings to focus on an improving home market.
The transaction is subject to the approval of Malaysia's state-owned oil and gas company, Petronas, Murphy Oil said in a statement.
Reuters reported earlier this year that Arkansas-based Murphy Oil, which has interests in Malaysia, Vietnam, Indonesia, Brunei and Australia, was seeking buyers for its Malaysian assets.
(Reporting by Ashutosh Pandey in Bangalore; Editing by Simon Jennings)

Article Date: Tuesday, September 30, 2014

meonkutu11
post Oct 20 2014, 08:07 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Oct 20 2014, 10:11 AM)
It was reported that there was a fatal accident happened at Rig E-104 (Chemingat Rig? anyone?). 2 crews were working on the life boat when the life boat suddenly fell off 35m onto the sea. Both were found dead by the rescue team.
nothing much can be shared with the outsider at the moment as this incident is still under investigation. Most people roughly know what happened but to find the root causes it will go through a proper investigation which will involve many personnel including representative from the client..
meonkutu11
post Oct 21 2014, 10:24 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Oct 21 2014, 09:21 AM)
Stay safe, guys.
Yes..Stay focus..Stay safe...

Be familiar/competent with the equipment that you're working and ask if you're not sure.

p/s: at any circumstances, do not operate the lever/release mechanism when you are ~ 85ft off the water..especially w/o safety pennants hooked on the both sides.
meonkutu11
post Oct 31 2014, 08:39 AM

1,597 posts

Malaysia's future talents pick Petronas & Google as top choice
Bernama

SINGAPORE, June 17 -- 2014: Malaysians studying business, engineering, natural sciences and law picked Petronas as their Top 1 IDEAL Employer this year, while Google claimed the hearts of those doing humanities and IT.

Set out to track career aspirations and preferences of future talent pools, the Malaysia Top 100 IDEAL Employers student survey by Universum also recognises the most coveted employers based solely on responses gathered.

The inaugural survey also uncovered the most important career goals of undergraduates, whereby 65 per cent consider having work/life balance as the most important, followed by 50 per cent who chose "to be secure or stable in my job."

The survey was conducted among almost 11,000 university students in Malaysia.

Despite this, when assessing attractiveness of employers they want to work for upon graduation, students valued remuneration & advancement opportunities as much as their people & cultural qualities.

Rachele Focardi, Senior Vice President of Employer Branding and Talent Strategy - APAC, Universum said, "Malaysia has made significant progress in recent years, positioning itself competitively as a business hub and gateway to the region.

"Naturally, the ease of finding and attracting good local talent becomes crucial for the success of homegrown and foreign enterprises.

"By launching a Malaysian edition of Universum's annual global student survey this year, we hope to provide a regular reality check for employers on expectations that their future talent had of them and their careers upon graduation," Focardi said.

Undergraduates in Malaysia share similar aspirations with their global counterparts, who also view work/life balance as their most important career goal.

When asked about their expected monthly salary upon graduation, Malaysian undergraduates hoped to draw an average of RM3,258 while other key findings from the survey revealed that a majority of Malaysian university students find local employers more ideal to work for compared with foreign ones.

Universum is the global leader in employer branding, providing end-to-end solutions that empower organisations to become better at attracting, recruiting and retaining top talent.

Source: MOLE

http://www.mole.my/content/malaysias-futur...ogle-top-choice

hmmmm......Goodluck!

meonkutu11
post Nov 25 2014, 11:25 AM

1,597 posts

Here you can get information (i.e ebook, formula, video etc) on geology, petroleum, drilling, well services etc..

http://www.fanarco.net/
meonkutu11
post Nov 25 2014, 03:50 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Nov 25 2014, 01:49 PM)
suddenly, become viral...lol

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3421527
for people in the industry, this is not uncommon thing. biggrin.gif
more experience Sr. DSV, more higher day rates. Especially those DSV in Ultra deepwater rigs (Semis, Drillships).

One Sr. DSV on our rig last time was getting USD2500/day. biggrin.gif
meonkutu11
post Nov 26 2014, 08:20 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(BRC @ Nov 26 2014, 12:11 AM)
when you think you are earning a lot... there's always someone earning more
Agreed!
meonkutu11
post Nov 28 2014, 06:52 AM

1,597 posts