Canon PowerShot S3 IS
:+:DarreN:+:
Nov 18 2006, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Nov 18 2006, 02:59 AM) Same here  . We need them +power macro lenses to shoot macro from afar. If you ask me, 0cm is just a gimmick and is not effective cos when you get THAT Close, there is hardly enough light to take the pic. Also these Macro lenses have magnification power so you get more closeups. The one I got was from Vitacon. Unfortunatly theres barrel distortion at the sides and maybe does not work as well as the original S3IS macro lense (500D)... The Macro sifus here can advise how to correct it or make it better?  Eeek spider. I wouldn't dare get so near.. unless.. i had macro lens! Original S3 macro lense not much power wor..
julchin_09
Nov 18 2006, 01:41 PM
Yeah. I wouldn't go near ANY spider except this which are my pets. They are misunderstood really and their vibrant colours actually make very good photography subjects. Too bad the blurry pics at the side....
kevinyong84
Nov 18 2006, 03:41 PM
Now only i know canon lens hood so big if compare to Fz-7 lens hood.
can i see how's the carfour back looks like ? Rm 50 quite cheap men !
nairud
Nov 19 2006, 02:44 PM
One Leg Kick Ultra
anyone of you know why there's no indication on what iso setting we used to take the pics thru the pics metadata? it's all unknown. but if i set to auto iso, it'll say Auto. yes, julchin, pics pls
Nov 19 2006, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 19 2006, 02:44 PM) anyone of you know why there's no indication on what iso setting we used to take the pics thru the pics metadata? it's all unknown. but if i set to auto iso, it'll say Auto. yes, julchin, pics pls  Not very sure.. mine's the same... the ISO setting in the EXIF data is blank. But it does show the ISO setting in the camera when I press the 'display' button.
mystvearn
Nov 19 2006, 08:23 PM
just visited singapore motor show, best pics are at ISO 200 without flash. Not alot of cars, and even rare lenglui. The video mode was quite good as I could record Russ Swift insane moves
julchin_09
Nov 19 2006, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Nov 19 2006, 08:23 PM) just visited singapore motor show, best pics are at ISO 200 without flash. Not alot of cars, and even rare lenglui. The video mode was quite good as I could record Russ Swift insane moves Cool. Insane moves as in the "donuts" he did with the Impreza? Rare lenglui eh? Thats sad.... As for pics of the Carrefour bag, I will post it with the cam(s3) in it. Use my ixus to take but battery is charging now.....  UPDATE: Has a front compartment as well as one at either side of the bag.Dimensions (LxWxH) 9"X6.5"X6.5". Price RM39 There is a rearrangeable foam wall inside with velcro sides. Enough room to house the S3 IS Sitting vertically and a few lenses+accessories at the other side. There is a mesh net underneath the cover to house other accessories. This post has been edited by julchin_09: Nov 19 2006, 11:45 PM
nairud
Nov 20 2006, 12:08 AM
One Leg Kick Ultra
Rm39 for a bag like that. Looks fine to me. which section did you get it from?
This post has been edited by nairud: Nov 20 2006, 12:09 AM
kevinyong84
Nov 20 2006, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Nov 19 2006, 10:09 PM) As for pics of the Carrefour bag, I will post it with the cam(s3) in it. Use my ixus to take but battery is charging now.....  thanks for the pic~ is really worth to get it~ which carrefour men ? will get soon ahhahahaha and so do which section ~ : ) By the way can it be hang on the waist ? a little noob Q here~ is canon AEL same as Auto Bracket ?
julchin_09
Nov 20 2006, 12:35 AM
Kevinyong, it can't be hung on the waist as it does not have anything for your belt or clip to go thru. Its shoulders all the way. I got it at the Electronics section of Carrefour Batu Pahat(yeah, not KL  ). Try the ones in KL....Subang Etc.... which have bigger electronic sections than the one here.
kevinyong84
Nov 20 2006, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Nov 20 2006, 12:35 AM) Kevinyong, it can't be hung on the waist as it does not have anything for your belt or clip to go thru. Its shoulders all the way. I got it at the Electronics section of Carrefour Batu Pahat(yeah, not KL  ). Try the ones in KL....Subang Etc.... which have bigger electronic sections than the one here. ic~ thanks.... anyway there's a carrefour near my place ~ (wangsa maju) one haha. will go check it out when free. anyone know issit AEL same as auto bracket ? sorry for this noob Q
aaron
Nov 20 2006, 02:41 PM
dai kor...i think the AEL and auto bracket is different... the auto bracket is used to set and capture 3 pic with different exposure. the AEL is to let u lock the exposure and/or with the focus as well.
nairud
Nov 20 2006, 02:43 PM
One Leg Kick Ultra
QUOTE(aaron @ Nov 20 2006, 02:41 PM) the AEL is to let u lock the exposure and/or with the focus as well. iirc, once you take a pic, the exposure will be reset back to normal
aaron
Nov 20 2006, 02:47 PM
normally the AEL used with the A mode. where u set the aperature and let the cam belance the exposure. once u had see the right exposure than lock it. than re-compose ur pic the cam will auto adjust ur shutter speed to balance with exposure that u had lock.
nairud
Nov 20 2006, 05:05 PM
One Leg Kick Ultra
Come to think of it, i noticed that i like to take ppl's faces..their expressions and sometimes sceneries. what kinda add on lens can the s3 have? or should i just wait and go get dslr straight  f1.8 is too good to lepas from my hands
shinchan^^
Nov 20 2006, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 20 2006, 05:05 PM) Come to think of it, i noticed that i like to take ppl's faces..their expressions and sometimes sceneries. what kinda add on lens can the s3 have? or should i just wait and go get dslr straight  f1.8 is too good to lepas from my hands 50mm f/1.8
nairud
Nov 20 2006, 05:40 PM
One Leg Kick Ultra
Dont think the S3 can add that kinda lens. what about NP filter?
Nov 20 2006, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 20 2006, 05:40 PM) Dont think the S3 can add that kinda lens. what about NP filter? I think you can add any filter to the conversion lens as long as it's 58mm.
zombie
Nov 20 2006, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 19 2006, 02:44 PM) anyone of you know why there's no indication on what iso setting we used to take the pics thru the pics metadata? it's all unknown. but if i set to auto iso, it'll say Auto. yes, julchin, pics pls  This happens because Canon S3 chose to write the ISO settings without following the normal standard. To view the real ISO, you have to use their bloody zoombrowser program. Even with that, the pics shot with Auto mode will still see "Auto" written. Blody lazy Canon programmers!
nairud
Nov 20 2006, 06:09 PM
One Leg Kick Ultra
QUOTE(:+:DarreN:+: @ Nov 20 2006, 05:53 PM) I think you can add any filter to the conversion lens as long as it's 58mm. iinm, that NP filter is kinda exp. If can add lens to change the aperture to 1.8, i'm dreaming already