Good News for Silkhld?

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-ne...for-rm398m.html
TSBoon3
post May 27 2014, 10:10 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ May 27 2014, 07:51 PM)
hi, thanks for your information. but according to chart. why cant the 0.155 or 0.15 be the supporting point ? i am just a beginner, still weak in chart analysis  sweat.gif

i in at 0.175 and 0.165, thought it will bounce back around there since the stochastic and RSI is near bottom.  cry.gif
JFYI I do not use stochastic and RSI.
As seen by you in this stock, it has its limitations.

Before today's trading, it was NOT a stock to be in.
Stock is clearly trending lower (which is reflected by the news)...
and IF continues to trend lower, then there is a possibility it could hit the support, which is about 14 sen....
... and there is no guarantee that the stock will even hold at that 'support'....

... it's in exactly what I call no man/woman land.

No new catalyst and stock looking weak.

Not a smart bet to make at this juncture.

Today the stock closed with a gravestone doji.

.... well depends on tomorrow's trading, things might just improve..... wink.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: May 27 2014, 10:11 PM
alpha91
post May 27 2014, 10:29 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 27 2014, 10:10 PM)
JFYI I do not use stochastic and RSI.
As seen by you in this stock, it has its limitations.

Before today's trading, it was NOT a stock to be in.
Stock is clearly trending lower (which is reflected by the news)...
and IF continues to trend lower, then there is a possibility it could hit the support, which is about 14 sen....
... and there is no guarantee that the stock will even hold at that 'support'....

... it's in exactly what I call no man/woman land.

No new catalyst and stock looking weak.

Not a smart bet to make at this juncture.

Today the stock closed with a gravestone doji.

.... well depends on tomorrow's trading, things might just improve..... wink.gif
oh... in that case, i should analyse a stock base on what? is the gravestone shape indicate anything now? how about MACD and boilinger band?
TSBoon3
post May 27 2014, 10:48 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ May 27 2014, 10:29 PM)
oh... in that case, i should analyse a stock base on what? is the gravestone shape indicate anything now? how about MACD and boilinger band?
You need to find yourself first.

Know what's your best trade.

Know the limitations of indicators.

If indicators can be used to make money all the time, then why don't people win all the time?
Why do we still see people losing money despite trading with indicators?
Are they using the wrong indicators or they using the indicators wrongly?
or is the simple fact is that indicators all have its own limitations?

alpha91
post May 27 2014, 11:03 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 27 2014, 10:48 PM)
You need to find yourself first.

Know what's your best trade.

Know the limitations of indicators.

If indicators can be used to make money all the time, then why don't people win all the time?
Why do we still see people losing money despite trading with indicators?
Are they using the wrong indicators or they using the indicators wrongly?
or is the simple fact is that indicators all have its own limitations?
makes sense. but then what should i do now? study the chart and gather experience? i am clueless now sad.gif
SUSwankongyew
post May 27 2014, 11:07 PM

1,177 posts

I think boon looks at fundamentals first to decide when to buy and at charts to decide when to buy. Charts are mostly used to see if the stock is on an uptrend. Don't buy stocks when they are on a downtrend. Wait for the downtrend to break first.

At least this is my interpretation of his strategy.
alpha91
post May 27 2014, 11:11 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ May 27 2014, 11:07 PM)
I think boon looks at fundamentals first to decide when to buy and at charts to decide when to buy. Charts are mostly used to see if the stock is on an uptrend. Don't buy stocks when they are on a downtrend. Wait for the downtrend to break first.

i see...
TSBoon3
post May 27 2014, 11:19 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ May 27 2014, 08:15 PM)
3 sen....

This is something the company needed to do.

It wants to turn itself into an O&G company but still runs a highway (which isn't very profitable)...
As it is, earnings is very SMALLISH... stock rather pricey. wink.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
It needs this disposal.
It makes sense.
After selling, it will have the fund to improve its O&G division...

so in a way... it's a good news for the stock. biggrin.gif
TSBoon3
post May 27 2014, 11:21 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ May 27 2014, 11:07 PM)

sweat.gif

interpreting me no use one............................. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post May 27 2014, 11:26 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ May 27 2014, 11:03 PM)
makes sense. but then what should i do now? study the chart and gather experience? i am clueless now  sad.gif
It's going to sound cruel.
Well, if you are clueless now then you should read more before you play the market.
Read tons of books....
Do paper trading.... lots of it.... that's the best way to gather experience.

Only when you are ready, then only you should play the market.

sweat.gif

Hope this does not sound so discouraging.....

anyone can make money from the stock market.
but they need to learn before they play the market. icon_rolleyes.gif

alpha91
post May 27 2014, 11:30 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 27 2014, 11:26 PM)
It's going to sound cruel.
Well, if you are clueless now then you should read more before you play the market.
Read tons of books....
Do paper trading.... lots of it.... that's the best way to gather experience.

Only when you are ready, then only you should play the market.

sweat.gif

Hope this does not sound so discouraging.....

anyone can make money from the stock market.
but they need to learn before they play the market.  icon_rolleyes.gif
i did read some books, but just some. and those books is more on fundamental more than technical, suggest to hold stock more than one or two years.

may be you are right, i should start paper trading instead sad.gif

anyway, thanks a lot for you information notworthy.gif
spring onion
post May 28 2014, 12:13 AM

1,087 posts

hi guys, just back from random backpack taiwan trip with friends after i finally resigned from my company... looks like i miss lots of things and tips here
TSBoon3
post May 28 2014, 07:47 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ May 27 2014, 11:30 PM)
i did read some books, but just some. and those books is more on fundamental more than technical, suggest to hold stock more than one or two years.

may be you are right, i should start paper trading instead  sad.gif
Would it help a trader if you understand why someone else (like an investor) would want (and also NOT WANT) to buy a stock?

If your answer is yes, then knowing fundamentals is a big help! smile.gif

TSBoon3
post May 28 2014, 07:48 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ May 28 2014, 12:13 AM)
hi guys, just back from random backpack taiwan trip with friends after i finally resigned from my company...  looks like i miss lots of things and tips here
Waaaa.... taiwan backpacking?

Sounds fun. smile.gif
kueyteowlou
post May 28 2014, 08:30 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 27 2014, 11:19 PM)
3 sen....

This is something the company needed to do.

It wants to turn itself into an O&G company but still runs a highway (which isn't very profitable)...
As it is, earnings is very SMALLISH... stock rather pricey. wink.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
It needs this disposal.
It makes sense.
After selling, it will have the fund to improve its O&G division...

so in a way... it's a good news for the stock.  biggrin.gif
highway is just investment for them... asset investment ....

unlock value.... booooom.. fly lo.... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSBoon3
post May 28 2014, 08:45 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ May 28 2014, 08:30 AM)

unlock value.... booooom.. fly lo....  icon_rolleyes.gif
Company started as a highway operator la....

recently it's only divesting into O&G.

with this disposal, it wants to be a full fledged O&G player....

I don't quite agree this is 'unlocking value'....
not quite the same.... tongue.gif

spring onion
post May 28 2014, 08:48 AM

1,087 posts

silk q price is crazy. i'm not joining them for sure
spring onion
post May 28 2014, 08:51 AM

1,087 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 28 2014, 07:48 AM)
Waaaa.... taiwan backpacking?

Sounds fun. smile.gif
it was good, but quite dissapointed by their food. overated
TSBoon3
post May 28 2014, 08:56 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ May 28 2014, 08:30 AM)
this is from SILK's profit report.

like I said, the highway is not 'very profitable'.....

not very valuable.....

if it's not valuable... it's not unlocking of value... laugh.gif

no value to unlock. tongue.gif

,,,, and you really do not want to see it's balance sheet too. whistling.gif

.... stock boom or not.... laugh.gif

I dunno lor..... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: May 28 2014, 09:01 AM
spring onion
post May 28 2014, 11:25 AM

1,087 posts

hevea looks stable now