Bursa Traders V5

TSBoon3
post Jun 21 2014, 06:57 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 21 2014, 06:12 PM)
i shall wait for consolidation 1st. dow hitting new high everyday. should be retracting around this few weeks before it test above 17k ... 19k possible within a few month but this is a sign of a bull before the great depression come in

It's good to be prepared but as much as you are, prepare yourself for the unexpected too. tongue.gif

Market will always tend to surprise one.

This post has been edited by Boon3: Jun 21 2014, 06:58 PM
TSBoon3
post Jun 22 2014, 08:55 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 22 2014, 12:10 AM)
LOL!

Wake up call? Nah.... tongue.gif

See this is what I meant by 'coverage' when I wrote about Homer yesterday morning.

Consider the following.

1. Company has a rolloer coaster track record.
It had been recovering/turning around since hitting the low in 2009. Some would call it growth since 2009.
Nevertheless, the fact is profits had been terribly poor the last 3 quarters.
Yet the stock is flying. rolleyes.gif

2. Stock was stuck in 60-70 range for few months until news of this big order in April.
Stock flew up cos of that.
On one hand, order is big. So there's justification.
Stock closed at 1.16.
Up some 46 sen since breaking out of that range.
LOL! Chart is extremely bullish for the matter....
want to chase meh? hehe... tongue.gif
whistling.gif

3. In terms of EPS.
If assuming the same profitability and also using the same estimate, the order could bring in some 10 mil profit.
Could.
But in terms of eps, that's only some 6 sen EPS.
The lest 3 quarters, Elsoft only had sales revenue around 3 or 4 million nia.
Profit per quarter is about 1 sen per quarter only.....

Price now 1.16 yo....
How?

I would stick to my earlier comment... tongue.gif

Market is too generous.... tongue.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 22 2014, 10:14 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(wenqing @ Jun 22 2014, 09:53 AM)
Sometime coverage also can be manipulated by those analyst by using many technical term and also "Future prospect" brows.gif  brows.gif
Of course la.

Which is why Elsoft is trading 21 times current (trailing) earnings.

And compare to Homer.... it's only about less than 8 times earnings and Ah Lat at under 5 times earnings.

Which one you want?
With coverage, you get an over 20x earnings stock?
Or without coverage, you get the ultra low PE stock?

Remember, whether you are investor or trader....
you want to make money mah...
you want the stock to go up ma.......

Surely I cannot be wrong here..... laugh.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 22 2014, 10:37 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(wenqing @ Jun 22 2014, 10:28 AM)
Ya. No matter investor or trader, making money is the main priority.
But although lack of coverage, both homer and ah lat price have also increase around 100%+ within a year which already win a lot of stock already. Yes I admit with coverage, the stock will move with more excitement and faster. But what I wanna highlighted here is even without coverage one can also earn money slowly and able to sleep well at night.
Different people different playing style. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
It's not about different styles dude.

Look what's your rough value of Homer?

Yes, what do you think Homer should be worth?

My fungers (I dunno la) simply shoot out like a blind bat .... 160.
doh.gif

Look at it now....
A pathetic 80 sen.

Are you happy with 80 sen if the company is worth 160?
Yes, your cost is cheap... maybe 40 sen only...
but does the current price justify what the company's performance?

whistling.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 22 2014, 11:11 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(wenqing @ Jun 22 2014, 10:57 AM)
Try to think another way you will be more happy.If a company worth 160 is priced 160, then it is useless to buy because even you buy the company you also have nothing to earned. That why you should be happy a company worth 160 is selling at 80 sen now. And after buying, it is the battle with patient. Of course the process of waiting is very boring and lonely, that why I always aim those company that will give consistent dividend to cover up some "boringness". Hahaha.

You still don't quite understand my point... smile.gif

Which is why Elsoft is trading 21 times current (trailing) earnings.

And compare to Homer.... it's only about less than 8 times earnings and Ah Lat at under 5 times earnings.

Which one you want?
With coverage, you get an over 20x earnings stock?
Or without coverage, you get the ultra low PE stock?
nvm...
I no need hard sell...
as long as you are happy with the current price....
then so be it. smile.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 22 2014, 08:52 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 22 2014, 03:03 PM)
i'm sure that is elsoft will continue to grow... but yes according to my opinion, this stock is abit overrated for it's price right now

LED is temporary incandescent bulb replacement before they find another better lighting solution. how long? i don't know

LED consume 40% less energy than normal incandescent bulb, but the cost is 20X higher. maybe malaysia cheap electricity tariff may not create an interest in LED lighting, but it is getting popular in the euro/us
.... smile.gif

Meanwhile...

thumbup.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 22 2014, 10:13 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 22 2014, 02:59 PM)
price fair or not, the divvy for homer is already generous for it's current price. imagine profit is 1.5X each year and 40% divvy policy each year. eat this share alone can makes you fat enough. but of cause when disaster strikes this share may not be spared for punishment too
hmm.gif ...... another homer fansi or mangsa? laugh.gif laugh.gif

let me re-post this again.....................

Regarding Homer.

This is actually a stock that I just discuss openly with gark
Yes, in my opinion (which could be wrong), I felt Homer should be valued at around 1.60 within a year.
That time, Homer was around 68 sen or so.

Now despite the superior results shown by Homer, tremendous growth and an unbelievably good result...
I think many would say Homer is kinda underperforming...
Homer is just trading around 80 sen...
Pathetic actually once you start comparing with other flying stocks.... tongue.gif

So what's the deal?

I had already voiced out the concern regarding the stock.....

it's a furniture stock - many still misunderstand and have a negative bias against the sector.
Not that I blame them...
Furniture companies is usually associated with furniture showrooms that gets burned down....
Many just don't like and trust such business....
They think it's all inside con job.
I don't blame them...

the lack of coverage....
an undiscovered stock is an undiscovered stock....
it runs the risk of being a sunset stock for a very long time....
which research house is covering it?
Kenanga had a research done on it...
but the research was horribly terrible....
Profit estimates were behind the curve (trailing profits were already more than the estimates given by the analyst! Duh! doh.gif)
The price target was simply given - it was based on TA... and the TA was faulty! Duh! doh.gif
KLSE is not a matured market...
without proper coverage... the stock is...... unloved.....

lack of news coverage....
Star had a coverage on the company recently...
but that's about it.....
when Homer announces its good result past couple quarters, there was ZERO mention. Duh!

lack of institute funds......

And all these issues still remain today......
That is why you don't see the stock go up bang band sound..... sweat.gif sweat.gif

In fact, I just wrote the following comments yesterday..............
The furniture sector stocks is probably the most misunderstood sector.

Most thinks that the furniture stocks are those that we tend to see 'open shop one day and then burned down the next'..........

Sad but true.

Many have such bad misconception about the stocks.

Some of these listed furniture shops are export oriented and despite the incredibly good profit growth and with fantastic cash flow too but due to the misconception, many just don't want anything to do with these stocks.

With people ignoring the underlining fundamental of these stocks in general, we get these stocks trading at super low earnings multiple.

For example, Ah Lat, trades only at less than an earnings multiple of 4.

Maybe there is some concern on Ah Lat's recent factory problems in Vietnam....

Maybe the recent stengthening of the RM versus the USD is a concern (these companies enjoy more profit if the USD is UP versus the RM)...
And this is where we stand on Homer today.

Are you guys and gals gonna hold that 160 as if it was some holy words cast in stone? tongue.gif

Or do you think it's high time to re-evaluate the trade?
Maybe those fungers of this Ah Boon was so damn intoxicated when it ran out the figures 160...... laugh.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 23 2014, 10:51 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(jyeong89 @ Jun 23 2014, 10:43 AM)
Boon Gor,

What do you think about Benalec?

do you think it is just a counter fueled with speculation or is it actually a decent counter?

Earnings per quarter differs quite abit. I can't quite brain
Use the forum thread search function la.
I discussed it before.

Don't be lazy. tongue.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 23 2014, 12:48 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(jyeong89 @ Jun 23 2014, 12:05 PM)
hahaha it's alright.

I gained alot of insight from Boon words. smile.gif
So did yoy manage to find it?

And what would be your opinion of it now?

tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 23 2014, 12:51 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jun 23 2014, 11:47 AM)
Slammed by boon. Now the thread will go quiet again for a week.

The discussion was with Onion. tongue.gif

Long detailed discussion too...
I could copy and paste everything again...

TSBoon3
post Jun 23 2014, 03:07 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Jun 23 2014, 02:08 PM)
only one short comment: it still has a nice uptrend line  sweat.gif
tongue.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 23 2014, 03:57 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(jyeong89 @ Jun 23 2014, 02:04 PM)
I saw a comment from @spring onion, "they are putting their revenue ahead, isn't it counting the egg before it hatches?"

Is this referring to their future projects?
I'm thinking whether the share price now is already reflecting their future "earnings".
And also I don't really like that the earnings are going up and down.
Hehe... that counting the egg thing, you have to ask Onion. smile.gif

The point is, Benalec was a simple trading example.

There was a catalyst back when I wrote...
The company was buying back the shares aggressively.

Now?

Anything change?
Price now and then, differ quite a bit. tongue.gif
There is still buybacks but very, very little.

Any fundamental changes?

These are the things you need to ask yourself.
Do your own homework.

Do not simply bet blindly.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 25 2014, 08:15 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jun 24 2014, 11:43 PM)
LOL boon, i was following this tread. may miss a few post but never missed yours due to your ultra long sincere reply laugh.gif

first of all, i do not treat homer as a tipsy. i was just saying that, if a price of a stock is trading a much lower price then it's supposed to be... and it's result have good profit record, why not just kept it for dividend itself?

take example. current price of homer last year: 0.35-0.45. how much divvy they give last year? it was around 4 cent, convert it into percentage, that would min makes up to 10% if you buy at 0.40

now the price is 0.80 and if you buy now and if they still follow it's 40% divvy payout, and provided that the stock has a same performance last year. i would still yield about 4-5cent divvy. 5% yield, at least, more if you hold it earlier. what happen if profit is up 20%? - you get 20% more yield, what if 50%? you get even more

Hohoho ..... laugh.gif

whistling.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 30 2014, 02:35 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jun 30 2014, 02:26 PM)
No posts in this thread for a while now, so here is a link talking about how Bursa Malaysia is currently the world's longest running bull rally:

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-06-29/w...heast-asia.html
And this is where it is strange yes? tongue.gif

Many of us sees the bull run yet many still don't feel it is a bull run. laugh.gif

Am I making not sense?

laugh.gif laugh.gif

So how are you?
TSBoon3
post Jul 4 2014, 08:38 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jul 3 2014, 10:21 PM)
for CSL case, who ever bought it sendiri cap sang la, but everywhere now and then, sure got party who likes to goreng such shares
Oiii... onion. biggrin.gif

CSL again meh?

Really?

Yes, I AGREE with you that any BAD, LOUSY and CHAP LAP shares can be goreng

Fried until hangus.

As can be seen lately, half baked fundamentals also can be used as reason to fry a stock.

This is how the stock market is....

However.... the risk of course.... if you are not lucky (sarcasm deeply intended laugh.gif) you would run into a share like CSL. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway, just the start of this thread... post #3

Dunno how many times must say.....

NEVER TRUST THE CHINA MAN STOCKS!!!!

And for the matter of CSL....

Would it surprise you that I have warned against the punting of this share since...... April....... 2013!!!!!!

whistling.gif

LOL! Bragging time lor.... tongue.gif

See post #102

good NOT.

Good stock don't simply simply IPO and then die until so low.

You can see the classic reply....

But last year, year to year got growth wo. hmm.gif

And technically it is at over sold zone 22 like that hmm.gif

Anyway, I just look see look see only for now

My blunt reply.
I won't buy.

The downtrend in the stock is so unreal.
What is low today could be a high in another month's time.

But if you like you go buy.
another reply of mine....

Last month, I read comment on this stock before on a blog.
Currently, it's cash is more than the traded price.
When the cash is more than the traded price, that means the stock is free, yes?
The owners should be aware and they should be the ones sweeping up the shares.
Sapu finish, kasi private.

CSL owners did none of that.
Instead, they were seen selling shares at 0.60!
doh.gif doh.gif

Their IPO price was 95 sen!
doh.gif doh.gif
Cash per share is NEVER EVER a 100% safe indicator cos CASH LEVELS (esp as seen in several Chinaman stocks) can be easily faked.

Of course, many don't believe these kind advices...

For example:

See its NTA how much and now how much ....

I think got external/third party auditor to check one , right? .....
Why was I so convinced that the CASH levels were fake then?

Yes cash on hand can easily be manipulated.

The biggest giveaway that something is not right is when the owners disposed shares at 60 sen when the company's cash per share is more than 60sen!

And this is the stock market.

Many can be seduced to trade/invest/punt in a stock for all the wrong reasons...

They see the stock trading at a huge discount over the stock's highest price.
Buy low sell high is what they always have been taught.
They then see the NTA. (duh!)
They see the low PE (duh!)

And sometimes (and more so in a hot bull market) whatever advice we can offer goes in one ear and out another.

The man with the wok and the cooking oil... LOL
He the man yo!
He can fry it until no Aunty can recognise!

laugh.gif laugh.gif

For the record:

last April 25, CSL traded at 34 sen.
Yesterday CSL closed at 7.5 sen.

doh.gif

This post has been edited by Boon3: Jul 4 2014, 08:43 AM
TSBoon3
post Jul 4 2014, 04:23 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Jul 4 2014, 04:07 PM)
morning tongue.gif
Too early....still few more hours....

tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 4 2014, 05:22 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Jul 4 2014, 04:37 PM)
juz wake up after watch football.
Ah felix, last night got what bola wo?

tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 4 2014, 05:31 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Jul 4 2014, 05:23 PM)
I dont watch football......

How i know..maybe kuetow watch last 2 day...sleep for 48hr only wake up.
I don't watch either....tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 4 2014, 09:40 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jul 4 2014, 08:50 PM)
PMcorp, a good buy?
Is it any good? rolleyes.gif
TSBoon3
post Jul 5 2014, 09:56 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Jul 4 2014, 11:15 PM)
hmm.... quite yummy for it's current price? healthy financial flow after a bad 1 few years back.
Are you turning into a 'value' investor meh? laugh.gif

PMCorp has a terrible history.
It was a simply badly managed company.
Then came the efforts to restructure the company....

Which makes things interesting a bit -- if you are a 'value investor'. tongue.gif

Last year earnings was distorted.
The profits were distorted by accounting profits caused by sales of asset + bad debts adjustments.

So therefor, I am NOT one that would freely use the phrase 'healthy financial flow' to describe PMCorp.

Story telling time. LOL!

That chart probably describes PMCorp the best.

See how the chart fell off the cliff from 2004? PMCorp was around 60 sen then. ( If not mistaken, PMCorp took a 1 billion losses in 2004 in an earlier restructure effort. The company was in such a typical mess. Inter company loans were all over the place etc etc etc)

It probably hit the lows of around 8 sen or so in 2012.

60 sen to a bottom of 8 sen.

doh.gif

Like I have been mentioning, this where knowing fundamentals helps.

And if you look at the chart, you can see only one decent attempt to 'deep fry' the stock.

That's highlighted with the small green arrows.

What's the driving factor that drove the stock from a low of 13 sen to a high of 37 sen?

What's the catalyst?

tongue.gif

Is it a fundamental induced rally?
Or is it Mr.Char who dumped the stock into a hot wok and fried the shit out of the stock?

whistling.gif

Well for me, my interpretation, is that the answer lies in the disposal of asset announced in the Sep announcement.
That disposal helped boost EPS to 3 sen for PMCorp.
PMCorp became very cheap in the eyes of value investors at the prices then.
Not forgetting the cash pile PMCorp had.
Over 140 million and very little cash.
That's translated to about 18 sen.
Share price of PMC then was around 13-15 sen.
And then some even pointed out the treasury shares PMC had.

Here's the interesting about the treasury shares held.
For example, this was the first of PMC buybacks.
It was done in 2005!!! *whistle*

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...ncements/802778

Shares were bought between 43 and 45 sen!!!
Last share buyback was in 2012, bought back at 9 sen but the amount of shares repurchased was very little only.

Anyway, from a value point of view, there was value in the company.

That was the catalyst that made PMCorp an attractive stock buy.

Penny stock some more. tongue.gif
And of course, with so much cash, naughty wild speculations was spread in the market.
Talks of PMCorp being taken private was like putting extra cooking oil in the hot wok! laugh.gif

Fry baby fry!!! LOL!!!

Then of course... nothing materialized.
Mana ada private offer?

December came and PMCorp had some bad debts left in its book that it needs to take off.
So came a bad debt write off which caused PMCorp announcing some 4.7 million losses in December.

And then came Feb 2014.

I think this should be the clean start for PMCorp.

17 Million sales, 1.68 million profit or an eps of 0.24 sen.
Annualised it, we can estimate an eps of around 0.96 sen nia.
Which is rather small.
And if base on profits, the current price of 22.5 sen is about justifiable.

And if you look at the chart...
This probably explains what PMCorp's trading pattern since Feb.

based on profits, there wasn't much attractions 'left'.
hence the stock, traded in current trading range between 21 sen and 24.5 sen.

but yes...
the company still has plenty of cash...
but the big boss does not want to do anything much with the cash for now.... wink.gif
and since PMCorp still holds accumulated losses in its books, there isn't much chance for investors to see any dividends anytime soon for now.

So if you buy the stock now....
what would be the catalyst to drive the stock higher?

I know, I know... I see... goreng has been in vogue lately. laugh.gif
Fry baby fry!!!! laugh.gif
Will those guys decide to fry this stock on their own? *whistle*

49 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0597sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:40 AM