Lowyat.Net Watercooling Club V8, Your WCed rigs, discussions, ideas & etc

chrono_kairo
post Sep 11 2014, 06:16 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(hafdin @ Sep 11 2014, 06:39 PM)
have you try other games such as crysis 3 or titanfall on full? by the way, how much does your rig cost? includes everything
yup, i know computer parts has no tax. but, all my items are only watercooling parts. it is big and heavy. have you ever saw a 480 radiator 80mm thick? just only that radiator is heavy enough, plus i have another 480 radiator 45mm thick in that box. it is pretty heavy.

notice there's even more fittings inside the plastic bag at the right corner.
your so lucky bro. biggrin.gif
chrono_kairo
post Sep 11 2014, 10:55 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(pristine @ Sep 11 2014, 10:09 PM)
That box is no where as big as the ones I used to bring in. brows.gif

chrono_kairo bro, can you bring in black sparkle/black chrome fittings?
not sure bro. as of now, all we have are black. a bit hard to find for oem of chrome. quality always not good. sad.gif
chrono_kairo
post Sep 19 2014, 05:36 PM

242 posts

up for this thread.. picture of the day??? biggrin.gif
chrono_kairo
post Sep 20 2014, 12:59 AM

242 posts

so clean. so good. smile.gif
chrono_kairo
post Sep 21 2014, 11:01 PM

242 posts

guys, anyone got a spare for this one? i need 2 pcs. biggrin.gif

any color will do. biggrin.gif thanks thanks.

chrono_kairo
post Sep 24 2014, 09:25 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(shuhong90 @ Sep 24 2014, 08:09 PM)
hey bro, i have a used heat gun. pm me if u are interested
hey bro. pm me price for heatgun and pic. thanks
chrono_kairo
post Sep 27 2014, 10:33 AM

242 posts

guys, anyone got mayhem mint green pastel, blue dye, UV Yellow/Green dye??
thanks.
chrono_kairo
post Oct 9 2014, 11:29 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(pristine @ Oct 9 2014, 12:10 AM)
I don't think we're so hard on people who come and ask to be spoon fed here unlike other subforums, so no worries. Just chill out with us.
I LOVE THIS PART MAN.. rclxms.gif biggrin.gif . so true.. thats the use of forum, to give personal opinion. its true that we have google, but some people prefer hearing/reading it from a personal point of view from other users. +1 for you bro.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 9 2014, 03:50 AM)
Much thanks for the thorough reply bro notworthy.gif
I actually spent some 2+ hours further digging on more info/reading with some of the info you have posted sweat.gif

Btw what example of AIOs that have expansion options? and how are watercooling kits differ from something that we custom from hand picked parts?

I we were exchanging posts some 7 years ago when i was active in the pc diy/modding/oc'ing, i would agree with you in a heartbeat. Fast forward today, there are things like the Noctua D14/D15 with their insanely efficient and silent fans that puts almost every watercooling AIO solutions to shame, with pricing *probably* being the only factor that is still being contested against.

Though i have to wonder, wouldn't the water cooling have radiator fans as well, wouldn't those be noisy?
that seems to be the downfall for AIOs as their radiator fans are way too noisy when compared against the likes of Noctua.
Perhaps the liquid runs on passive cooling on the radiators until temperature requires the fans to spin?
How are all the fans/pumps etc being controlled? PWM via mobo?

So with the above laid out, i guess the only way for water cooling solutions to compete would be to go all out full fledged solutions (be it hand picked or ready made kits/sets)?

If i choose to go all out on water cooling:
- since it's implied i will be spending beyond 1k, what are the common budget/pricing if one would choose full water cooling solutions? 1.5k? 3k?

- going all out, what are the brands/models that i should pay attention to?

- are all the components able to fit into the casing? tentatively eyeing the Coolermaster Cosmos II

- How do i go about on cooling the gpu as well? need separate pumps/radiators? if it's a single loop, wouldn't the excess heat from the cpu (or gpu, depending the flow order?) compromise cooling on the next component?

- do you have company profile/wiki on XSPC? they don't show a lot on their website it seems sad.gif
EK on the other hand have everything, although neither companies i've heard of them much to be honest.
I'm fairly detached from the pc/oc world for many long years and needless to say watercooling as i've never ventured in WC at all even when i was active.

- swiftech is among the few companies that come to mind when it involves water cooling. However it doesn't seem like they are commonly mentioned a lot on the this forum? at least not within the first page of threads.
do they not perform well, or overpriced, or just not good on the price vs performance?

- What do you think about their MCR drive concept? which sorta makes it into a "glorified"/custom AIO water cooling solution?
http://www.swiftech.com/mcr-driveconceptintroduction.aspx
http://www.swiftech.com/MCR-X20-Drive-Rev3.aspx

- What's up with the h220x anyways? it seems like an AIO? there's also your previous post mentioning the MCP50X?  hmm.gif

- for coolant/tubing maintenance, i guess i've gone through this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2755861
so if say i go with acrylic, i will never encounter this issue?
which means my cpu water block will never be clogged or something and won't require maintenance (eg: flushing/cleaning) ?

- without plasticize issue, the only maintenance is basically topping up coolant time to time? is there like a warning sign/indicator or do i have to check time to time?
is this also the reason why a well placed/visible reservoir is preferred for easier maintenance?

- if my idea of acrylic is correct, they are not flexible at all and would require numerous joints and connectors with a lot of proper planning to have a successful pure acrylic tube build?

- for your waterblock, is it due to your delid proc? i'm not too sure if the newer i7 5xxx series would easily facilitate that as iinm their heat spreader is soldered on or something for better thermal conductivity?

- speaking of leak, what's the difference between AIO and custom?
is it the non electrical conductive coolants we can apply?

- what are brand/model examples of good non electrical conductive coolants that have biocide and other essential items that's required? (don't care about color lol)

well, the whole idea on the disclaimer is that you can never be too sure when treading unfamiliar neighborhood. And i can assure you I've been involved with a vast number of communities on/off LYN on various hobbies so yeah some can be very unfriendly to newbies sweat.gif
thankfully you're (and hopefully the rest) nice/helpful so that's great thumbup.gif
hi bro, i try to answer based on my knowledge/experience.

i already spend around RM3k for the water cooling setup.(fittings are OEM, not branded ones.)

for the brands, i prefer hwlabs for the radiator but some prefer alphacool.

if it will fit, it still be based on the LC setup you prefer, better check the size/orientation you want to do. but for cosmos 2, i think you will have lots of room to work on.

for the gpu cooling, its your decision if you want to have dual loop or single loop. for me, i only have 1x 240 rad with ek dcp 4.0 and a res, cooling cpu (oc @ 4.5) and zotac gtx760, temp is no higher than 35deg, having a push pull setup.

i dont usually check the company profile.

no experience with swiftech yet but based on the review i read, it has good reputation.

for me, every loop needs maintenance once in a while. some says, mayhems can last upto 3years in your loop, but for me, i like to clean my pc for dust/flushing every 4-6months. just a hobby for me.

for now, best tube is primochill advance lrt(if not mistaken). for me, since i have a horizontal mount res, i prefer the res to be almost full. i think as long as the pump does not goes dry, still ok. but having a full res, looks much more better. tongue.gif

for acrylic tubes, they are not flexible, but you can bent them using hot air. many of guys here are expert on bending acrylic tubes. you can ask opinions from them

actually, AFAIK, all coolants are conductive, since it still has water on it. its just that, they say that after market coolant is way better in terms of performance. as for me, im currently using ek coolant. but waiting for prestine for my mayhem coolants and dyes. hahahhaa

we are glad to help and share opinions. hope i helped in a way. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chrono_kairo: Oct 9 2014, 11:57 AM
chrono_kairo
post Oct 9 2014, 12:03 PM

242 posts

eye candy.

im not sure if this one is posted before, but this one look so nice for me.
chrono_kairo
post Oct 9 2014, 02:05 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 9 2014, 02:45 PM)
nice!

just wondering, why does the tubing needs to go through the bottom compartment? for pump?
i am guessing the radiator is on the top, the larger cylinders are the reservoir on the right ish side

wait, is that a modded cosmos ii?  unsure.gif
yup.. its a modded cosmos 2. i shared it so you can have an idea. tongue.gif hahahaha... thats one way to customize your cosmos 2. on my experience, it only take months for the computer to build dust. dust can worsen your temp. so better to clean your rig ones in a while. orientation of the loop, gpu-cpu or cpu-gpu, it actually depends on your preference. i know some people use gpu-cpu which is for some people, an awkward setup.

if you plan to dive in to the custom water cooling world, base on my experience, it will really burn some of your money. tongue.gif if you are picky on your coolant color it will also cause you some $$$$$. right prestine?? hahahaha.. btw, any news for the mayhems stocks?

btw, 5k-10k for a water cooled rig is enough i think if your not going for the highend specs.
for me, my set up is i5-4690k since i will only use it for gaming, total cost is i think not more than 10k rm. smile.gif
i mean, i bought a whole new set of pc(keyboard,mouse,monitor included) and water cooled it.

for those who are interested on the build log of that case,
you can visit it here.
Cosmos II- Skyline GT-R

This post has been edited by chrono_kairo: Oct 9 2014, 02:12 PM
chrono_kairo
post Oct 9 2014, 05:22 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 9 2014, 04:17 PM)
That's a very nice/simple/minimalistic casing! definitely aimed for water cooling from it's design/descriptions.

then again does one need a 480mm rad? i'd figure if i stick below 280mm or something the cosmos 2 would suffice, and i really like the handle bars from the cosmos 2
not sure about 2x 280 rad. but afaik, it can accommodate 2x 240rad. biggrin.gif
it all depends on your own preference and needs. smile.gif
chrono_kairo
post Oct 9 2014, 11:06 PM

242 posts

hahahha... i love this one. "and PLENTY of Mayhems, that seems to go out of stock like ice cream in hot weather.". seriously, we need to have more stocks of mayhem coolants. biggrin.gif
and also, just a reminder, fittings for acrylic tubes and flex tube are different. smile.gif
chrono_kairo
post Oct 9 2014, 11:13 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(Zzorro @ Oct 10 2014, 12:06 AM)
sikit gile la hehe.. laugh.gif
1-cpu+ram
2-mobo
3-gpu
apa mcm boleh..  hmm.gif
i will be waiting for this sick project man. smile.gif

chrono_kairo
post Oct 9 2014, 11:22 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(Zzorro @ Oct 10 2014, 12:18 AM)
stay tuned man.. brows.gif
project on the way..
water cooling = burning $$$$$$$$$$$$$

hehehehehehe

This post has been edited by chrono_kairo: Oct 9 2014, 11:24 PM
chrono_kairo
post Oct 10 2014, 06:02 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 10 2014, 06:42 PM)
definitely got more questions! tongue.gif
from here:
http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=257107&page=2
2 rads

let me try to wrap my head around it:
single loop:
RAD1 > cpu > gpu > RAD2 > reservoir/pump > RAD1
sounds correct?

wouldn't a RAD1 > cpu > RAD2 > gpu be better? although with that, i suspect the tubing would be a nightmare?
why are 2 reservoirs needed? how would the path flow?

i don't quite get how the water flows for the GPU, especially after looking at this example

after exploring further, it looks like the CM cosmos ii isn't that nice to pack all your water cooling stuff in it.
if i can forego the handle bars, things like CM HAF, or Phanteks (they don't look very well to me though lol), or corsair osidian (looks bland, and the pricing is insane lol) are probably better candidates.
At the moment my gaze are set on the nzxt phantom 820 but a lot of people are mentioning overpriced for what you're getting so unsure.gif
for my opinion, there will be not much of a difference in temp from this RAD1 > cpu > gpu > RAD2 > reservoir/pump > RAD1 or this RAD1 > cpu > RAD2 > gpu. I think the place where the liquid truly reduces the heat is on the res. (correct my if im wrong guys). there might be a difference but not that much.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 10 2014, 06:45 PM)
also this kept wondering my mind:
- tubings are generally very tight for aesthetics purposes
- dry pump should always be avoided

so... how does one drain/disassemble the water cooling units/blocks/tubing for maintenance without making a huge mess in the casing/risk staining components (and possibly leaving stains/residue depending on what coolant/dye etc you're using)?
for me, i've been playing with with loop for this past month. drain-fill-drain-fill-drain-fill. hahahhaha.. coz im doing some light modding on my case which needs to test the components and since i want to use my pc, need to do this. LOL.

for me, what i do is, tilt my case(bitfenix phenom), its a small one so its easy, LOL, den put a fitting with tube on the res and start draining the loop. then afer removing the liquid on my res. i tilt to other side to transfer all other liquids from tubes/blocks to res then tilt again to drain. some uses valve, i think bitspower got one.

chrono_kairo
post Oct 10 2014, 06:43 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 10 2014, 07:17 PM)
hmm i thought the bulk of the cooling would be on the radiators?

and the method you're describing sounded like a ton of hassle especially on bigger ultra/full tower cases sweat.gif
not to mention the nzxt phantom 820 is mentioned to be very scratch prone sweat.gif
yes it is, but the set up for cpu>rad>gpu. for me it will not much make a difference.
hahhaa.. yup, if thats the case, better grab some valve. tongue.gif
chrono_kairo
post Oct 16 2014, 05:03 PM

242 posts

i got mine from sogo. tongue.gif hehehe
chrono_kairo
post Oct 16 2014, 05:45 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Oct 16 2014, 06:09 PM)
You can get it from Giant. 5L of Giant brand for only RM3.
waaaa.. this is the cheapest... i will go grab one. tongue.gif thanks bro for the info. biggrin.gif
chrono_kairo
post Oct 17 2014, 02:05 PM

242 posts

i also use primochill and grab it from apes.
chrono_kairo
post Oct 17 2014, 02:13 PM

242 posts

guys, anyone wants to buy coolant from mayhems?? i'm so itchy to have one and want to buy directly from them. any one wants to join? thanks.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1318sec    1.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:38 AM