4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

UTM @ Space, Anyone doing it?

TSnumlock
post Aug 20 2006, 04:13 PM

Blazin Beat
1,749 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Aug 20 2006, 10:36 AM)
*currently in Makmal Linux 2 taking Software Engineering*

the lecturers tend to remember you better as you spend longer time with them, thus, you can have a better relationship and easier to ask for help with anything, and I mean anything
you r SPACE student?
TSnumlock
post Sep 4 2006, 09:32 PM

Blazin Beat
1,749 posts

space adv is out on newspaper!
XNANX
post Oct 6 2006, 03:26 PM

28 posts

Im planning of taking the bachelor in comp. sc programme at s.p.a.c.e.hv a diploma in comp. science. is it possible and easy to get credit transfer? wat bout the quality of education there...a bit hesitate coz heard some people said it's a bit lousy. and another thing...is it possible to complete it in 4yrs or less?

what are other college/U that offer this course for part time..wth fees <30000.i know oum does offer degree in IT...bt i want to specialize in comp. science,moreover..most of the modules are taught in malay.any suggestions from you guys?

This post has been edited by XNANX: Oct 6 2006, 03:32 PM
TSnumlock
post Oct 10 2006, 05:53 PM

Blazin Beat
1,749 posts

try space lah~
azarimy
post Oct 10 2006, 07:54 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(XNANX @ Oct 6 2006, 03:26 PM)
Im planning of taking the bachelor in comp. sc programme at s.p.a.c.e.hv a diploma in comp. science. is it possible and easy to get credit transfer? wat bout the quality of education there...a bit hesitate coz heard some people said it's a bit lousy. and another thing...is it possible to complete it in 4yrs or less?

what are other college/U that offer this course for part time..wth fees <30000.i know oum does offer degree in IT...bt i want to specialize in comp. science,moreover..most of the modules are taught in malay.any suggestions from you guys?
where did u graduate from? credit tranfers are arranged by application basis. it is possible to transfer credits, but u will have to arrange about it BEFORE u actually apply. SPACE UTM might need to contact ur awarding school to verify the syllabus and all.

i'm not sure about SPACE's comp_sci, but SPACE is a different type of education compared to fulltime. in SPACE, u're expected to be independent, work on ur own, self driven/motivated, and capable to move forward with less or no supervision from the lecturers. most complaints of SPACE being lousy is becoz people expects to be pampered and tutored just like in fulltime course.

so bear in mind, SPACE is adult education. the sooner u accept that, the sooner u can make progress. unfortunately, some students dont understand this aspect, and blames SPACE biggrin.gif.
XNANX
post Oct 10 2006, 09:08 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 10 2006, 07:54 PM)
where did u graduate from? credit tranfers are arranged by application basis. it is possible to transfer credits, but u will have to arrange about it BEFORE u actually apply. SPACE UTM might need to contact ur awarding school to verify the syllabus and all.

i'm not sure about SPACE's comp_sci, but SPACE is a different type of education compared to fulltime. in SPACE, u're expected to be independent, work on ur own, self driven/motivated, and capable to move forward with less or no supervision from the lecturers. most complaints of SPACE being lousy is becoz people expects to be pampered and tutored just like in fulltime course.

so bear in mind, SPACE is adult education. the sooner u accept that, the sooner u can make progress. unfortunately, some students dont understand this aspect, and blames SPACE biggrin.gif.
yup...i agree n understand tht the environment would be different...more independent wth less supervision.bt then,i'd like to know hw's the lecture session...are the lecturers helpful? and let say after graduation....will i get the same degree as the fulltime course...or will it mention SPACE.and another thing,to the employer's point of view...does it matter which university's grad are u when u already hv working experience?i graduate from uitm by the way

This post has been edited by XNANX: Oct 10 2006, 09:09 PM
azarimy
post Oct 10 2006, 09:24 PM

10,672 posts

well, UTM SPACE programmes are becoming more well known in the industry because they tailor suite for people who're already working in the field who seeks to better themselves with higher qualifications. in doing so, most of the graduates are degree holders with a substantial amount of expertise/experience in the field their in compared to other fresh graduates. without having to look at other aspects, this alone can be enough for potential employers to pick u above anyone else.

lecture sessions have the exact same content as the conventional full-time programme. the only difference is, it's held part-time, and u only attend classes during the weekends. even so, it wont be everyweek. however, classes tend to take whole day, sometimes 9am to 6pm bcoz they're compressing what the other students learn in a week in just one day. so it tends to be exhaustive.

lecturers consist of the actual lecturers for the fulltime course. if they suck, basically the full-time students are experiencing the same thing as well. doesnt have anything to do with what SPACE does.

graduates from UiTM will have no problem transferring credits. i can say that subjects u scored distinctions (A or A-) will almost automatically be transfered. but then again, it's a case by case basis, so i dont want to get too much ahead of myself.

u can check at SPACE centre in UTM KL or JB, or just give them a call.

XNANX
post Oct 10 2006, 09:49 PM

28 posts

thank you very much for the explanation.will gv them a call later...
TSnumlock
post Oct 15 2006, 09:42 AM

Blazin Beat
1,749 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 10 2006, 09:24 PM)
well, UTM SPACE programmes are becoming more well known in the industry because they tailor suite for people who're already working in the field who seeks to better themselves with higher qualifications. in doing so, most of the graduates are degree holders with a substantial amount of expertise/experience in the field their in compared to other fresh graduates. without having to look at other aspects, this alone can be enough for potential employers to pick u above anyone else.

lecture sessions have the exact same content as the conventional full-time programme. the only difference is, it's held part-time, and u only attend classes during the weekends. even so, it wont be everyweek. however, classes tend to take whole day, sometimes 9am to 6pm bcoz they're compressing what the other students learn in a week in just one day. so it tends to be exhaustive.

lecturers consist of the actual lecturers for the fulltime course. if they suck, basically the full-time students are experiencing the same thing as well. doesnt have anything to do with what SPACE does.
graduates from UiTM will have no problem transferring credits. i can say that subjects u scored distinctions (A or A-) will almost automatically be transfered. but then again, it's a case by case basis, so i dont want to get too much ahead of myself.

u can check at SPACE centre in UTM KL or JB, or just give them a call.
how about Polytechnic subject?are the subject are accepted to be transfered?

TSnumlock
post Nov 10 2006, 11:45 AM

Blazin Beat
1,749 posts

bump .......................
TSnumlock
post Nov 10 2006, 11:56 AM

Blazin Beat
1,749 posts

i heard that space student who are offered need to be registered at JB , izzit true?
narf03
post Nov 13 2006, 11:51 AM

4,547 posts

Main problem is courses are delivered in BM, not in english, i feel the cert is only worth a little in malaysia and can be total useless in many country or some large cooperation in malaysia.
azarimy
post Nov 16 2006, 12:09 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(numlock @ Nov 10 2006, 11:56 AM)
i heard that space student who are offered need to be registered at JB , izzit true?
only registration is in JB. it's a one time thing for each semester, due to the SPACE centre is in JB. currently UTMKL is being prepped for massive redevelopment, so they switched off some of the facilities in KL campus.

but if i'm not mistaken, u can do everything online or by phone call, and they're open 7 days a week, so u can come down during weekends, if need be.

QUOTE(narf03 @ Nov 13 2006, 11:51 AM)
Main problem is courses are delivered in BM, not in english, i feel the cert is only worth a little in malaysia and can be total useless in many country or some large cooperation in malaysia.
well, one thing people must understand is that language is not an issue in SPACE. we're not offering people fresh out of SPM/STPM, but rather people who usually have atleast 7-10 years experience in related field. most of my students are about 30-35 years old (several years older than me). they already have a job, capable of doing whatever that they do, but seeking for better qualification to move up the ladder.

whether they are able to communicate in english or not is entirely dependent on their skills. SPACE degrees assume that its students are already capable in their field. that's why freshies are not encouraged to join SPACE, but rather join the prime (fulltime) programme.
TSnumlock
post Nov 16 2006, 07:54 PM

Blazin Beat
1,749 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 16 2006, 12:09 PM)
only registration is in JB. it's a one time thing for each semester, due to the SPACE centre is in JB. currently UTMKL is being prepped for massive redevelopment, so they switched off some of the facilities in KL campus.

but if i'm not mistaken, u can do everything online or by phone call, and they're open 7 days a week, so u can come down during weekends, if need be.
well, one thing people must understand is that language is not an issue in SPACE. we're not offering people fresh out of SPM/STPM, but rather people who usually have atleast 7-10 years experience in related field. most of my students are about 30-35 years old (several years older than me). they already have a job, capable of doing whatever that they do, but seeking for better qualification to move up the ladder.

whether they are able to communicate in english or not is entirely dependent on their skills. SPACE degrees assume that its students are already capable in their field. that's why freshies are not encouraged to join SPACE, but rather join the prime (fulltime) programme.
how about student with 1 or less than 1 year experience? rclxub.gif and i heard the ex-polytechnic student always got stuck in problem with university learning...izzit true azarimy?

This post has been edited by numlock: Nov 16 2006, 07:56 PM
azarimy
post Nov 17 2006, 10:45 AM

10,672 posts

i wouldnt say it's entirely true, but there are some cases like that. however, it's not across the board, so it's not enough to conclude that polytechnic students in general have problems with university learning. simply put, most polytechnic students have problems adapting with open/independent-style learning, compared to spoon-feeding-ish style in school and in polys.

but most poly students who managed to secure a spot in universities are usually the outstanding ones, and majority that i've met did not have any problems at all studying in the university.
linkinstreet
post Nov 17 2006, 10:56 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

Actually, SPACE's office is closed on Monday tongue.gif

TSnumlock
post Nov 18 2006, 07:18 PM

Blazin Beat
1,749 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 17 2006, 10:45 AM)
i wouldnt say it's entirely true, but there are some cases like that. however, it's not across the board, so it's not enough to conclude that polytechnic students in general have problems with university learning. simply put, most polytechnic students have problems adapting with open/independent-style learning, compared to spoon-feeding-ish style in school and in polys.

but most poly students who managed to secure a spot in universities are usually the outstanding ones, and majority that i've met did not have any problems at all studying in the university.
im think that im confident to survive in university...im ex-mechatronic..however what course should i apply in SPACE?

linkinstreet
post Nov 19 2006, 01:26 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

Visit it's site first and look at all the course offered. and then take what you feel is most likely good for you
Far-KingOfSorts
post Aug 26 2013, 11:28 AM

307 posts

NEVER ENROLL IN SPACEUTM. The admin people are rude, the management problematic and you as a student will suffer. Money gone and what you get is poor service. You will regret enrolling there. As per my personal experience amongst many of my other peers.
lilmom's
post Oct 23 2014, 10:14 AM

hye! anyone here yg amik PROFESSIONAL DIPLOMA IN TECHNOLOGY MANAGEMENT????

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0184sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:03 AM