Eh, what's the link for the tekmat ah? Can't find dy
[V23] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club, Lowyat.Net Key caps are here!!!!
May 8 2014, 06:03 PM
1,105 posts Joined: May 2009 From: On the computer |
Eh, what's the link for the tekmat ah? Can't find dy
May 12 2014, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(ntw @ May 12 2014, 09:50 AM) sifus here, anybody ever thought of making a novelty keycap through 3D printing? i've seen a quite active thread in lowyat on Rephraps and 3D printing, but not sure whether its suitable for printing keycaps or not, in terms of durability, material, etc.... anybody can enlighten me on this? Biggest problem would be resolution and durability. Only good for 3d novelties because other methods are cheaper/better for others. |
May 12 2014, 04:05 PM
May 13 2014, 10:51 AM
May 13 2014, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(slimfox @ May 13 2014, 12:11 PM) Bro so which part got melted? some of the keycaps or most or just one or two. Due to shipping and bad packing I guess. Are those o-rings I see in your picture? I can't brain why people like to use non-ANSI layouts....BTW keep up the good work with your NAD (was introduce to it back in the 80s, good amp) sales. Then when the caps arrive have to use wrong profile for the mods :| |
May 13 2014, 02:35 PM
May 13 2014, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 13 2014, 02:53 PM) Mostly just the surface. I think about 5 keys or more got sticky tops, while 2-3 had their legends melted off. Oh well. Bad shipping. I choose the cheaper $16 option anyways. But lucky the important keys weren't affected. I can't take it...And no, never used O Rings. And thanks bro. Let me know if you need any speaker sets. Lol bro, it's on purpose. Wanted to use as much of the novelties provided as possible. So inelegant. Makes the board feel cheap. |
May 13 2014, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 13 2014, 03:06 PM) Erm, the whole point is for fun. It's a normal brand keyboard anyways. If i do this to a KMAC2 or a 456GT then by all means kill me. Then you godai. QUOTE(0168257061 @ May 13 2014, 04:43 PM) Arrive already? |
May 13 2014, 05:24 PM
May 14 2014, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ May 14 2014, 12:48 AM) Said many times. Sanding must do three times. Coarse grit first to remove the top layer, followed by medium grit and finishing with fine grit. The importance of this is to ensure a consistent surface for the paint to adhere to. You fucuked up, means you need to sand the area again to smoothen it. I suggest you use wet sandpaper instead of the dry ones. The technique is called wet sanding and will create a freaking smooth surface for you to work with. Don't act smart, just follow the standard technique for preparing your work surface. Next step is the proper spraying technique. You need to spray evenly (same pressure on the nozzle, move at even speed across your material). I prefer to spray in quick motions across the entire surface to ensure an even coat, so you might wanna try that too. My friend moves his hand slooooowwwwly across the surface, so that might work for you (I prefer my technique, but in the end all same result). For the ordering of work done: 1. Sanding. 2. Base coat. 3. Main coat x3. 4. Top coat. Done properly you'll have great results. |
May 14 2014, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ May 14 2014, 10:14 AM) i did sand it before spraying. got smooth surface liao. You first time spraying isit?most probably the fucukup is because of my spraying technique. i tried to wet sand it again earlier morning to remove all bumpyness. seems to be much better now. yeah like what you've said, need to spray evenly. that's the one thing that (i think) i didn't get it well done. if all else fails. dump case, buy pcb, byebye wallet. |
May 14 2014, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ May 14 2014, 10:21 AM) Not bad what. First time spraying do plastics. My first time is do cardboard and EVA foam. Now upgrade already can do any material. Just need time to prepare... and see sky to make sure it's sunny day before doing. You'll want the thing to dry. Also have like a stack of newspaper ready. A big stack or your mom will scold you for messing up your own house. |
May 14 2014, 10:32 AM
May 14 2014, 11:33 AM
May 14 2014, 04:56 PM
May 15 2014, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 15 2014, 08:37 AM) iinm 0168257061 uses blacks with 55g. I think those lubed are really nice for typing. Yeah, lube the stems on the sliders, and the part where the sliders make contact on the switch housing. Geekhack and reddit has great guides for this. Don't lube anything metal as they are not going to affect the switch feel.Any idea where I can get lube in Msia ? Or I should just order them over at techkeys. I heard lubing the sliders on the switch and the stem is sufficient which means I don't have to lube the springs. |
May 15 2014, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 15 2014, 09:09 AM) Alright thanks. Can I use any other lube other than krytox ? I'm not too keen on spending much on lube. You spend a thousand bucks on a new keyboard. Custom made and all. Top of the line switches, board and keycaps. Suddenly you balk at buying good lube. Go use KY jelly instead then. |
May 15 2014, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(ntw @ May 15 2014, 09:19 AM) That one is different story. Lubing stabs important because it helps make the big keys feel natural. Otherwise unnecessary. As for KY jelly... not recommended because it is water based. Besides I use high quality lotion instead, which moisturizes and protects skin. QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 15 2014, 09:23 AM) Sry bro, not enough sleep, so no patience today. But the point stands... it's like people buy nice phone but cheapo pasar malam cover that doesn't fit properly. It just sucks and smell of cheapness. |
May 15 2014, 09:53 AM
May 15 2014, 02:40 PM