Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

IwanAGP
post Nov 23 2014, 08:05 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 23 2014, 07:54 PM)
There is no entitlement in regarding to sick leave. Your entitlement is how much are you getting while on mc.
Can't understand what you trying to say biggrin.gif

Anyway... IINM, I can only apply for sick leave after 90 days of service. Then there's a max number of day per year that I can take sick leave. Does that count as entitlement?

Of course no ppl willing to get sick la. But some ppl may sick purposely in order to get sick leave? hmm.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 24 2014, 12:03 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Nov 23 2014, 09:58 PM)
DId you tell your boss working hours is 8.30 to 5.30 and walk out of office 5.31 when he ask you to OT? Favour should work both way.

But the problem is... Engineers don't usually get OT.

and... When a project is running, project team all station at site, boss only come supervise like twice a week.

So normally although 8.30 work, 8.45~9 only reach. Usually 6~7 leave site. Only a couple of days when some activities requiring supervision is going on, need stay back till maybe midnight. Confirm everything going alright then can cabut. Take taxi claim company biggrin.gif But no OT pay la sad.gif

Haven't feel stress yet. Even less stress compared to study time doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 24 2014, 11:12 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 24 2014, 10:51 PM)
you can take as many sick leave as require. There is no such thing as you could only take sick leave after 90 days of service. You are just not entitle to be paid when you are on medical leave. Ppl don't 'apply' sick leave, they just take it when sick.
biggrin.gif Yeah... But I can be sure that the word "entitled" is used in my offer letter. I think if I fall sick before that 90 days, it will be considered as unpaid leave (with appropriate reason) instead of sick leave.

Anyway, I get what you mean. Yes, just take it when sick but need to inform supervisor also mah. Sort of like verbal application? Who knows some supervisor will force you to come back to work even after knowing that you fall sick? tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 27 2014, 05:44 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 27 2014, 05:19 AM)
Somehow I am lucky I didnt meet such things myself. I hope more people will have a fairer work condition as I think sick leave is an essential thing but not something you use to exploit.

Hohoho.. welcome to Singapore! where work is life  brows.gif . This year I think it really passed too fast, I was rarely in SG mostly travelling here and there. Even my landlord thinks I am a secret agent.  biggrin.gif
Actually it's nothing special eh... I think it's some rule set by MOM. I mean the 90 days thingy.

See http://www.mom.gov.sg/Documents/others/FW/...n%20Workers.pdf

(v) Annual Leave
You are entitled to paid annual leave if you have
worked at least 3 months for the same employer.

You are entitled to 7 days for 12 months of
continuous service and one additional day for
every 12 months of continuous service, up to
a maximum of 14 days leave.
If you have not completed 12 months of
continuous service, you will be entitled to
pro-rated annual leave.

(vi) Sick Leave
You are entitled to 14 days of outpatient sick
leave per year and 60 days of hospitalization leave
(this includes the 14 days of outpatient sick leave)
if you:
Have worked with your employer for at least
3 months.

• If you are a new employee, your entitlement
to paid sick leave is phased in after you have
completed 3 months of service
as follows:

and then... http://www.rikvin.com/learn/incorporation/...employment-act/

The Singapore Employment Act does not cover the following groups of workers:

Professionals, Managers and Executives (PMEs) whose basic monthly salaries (BMS) exceed $4,500
Seamen
Domestic workers
Staff of the Singapore Government or a Statutory Board
However, the EA covers other employees under a COS, regardless of nationality, including:

PMEs whose BMS are S$4,500 or less*
Workmen (manual workers) whose BMS are S$4,500 or less and
Other employees whose BMS are S$2,500 or less.
*except for part IV of the EA, which provides for protection for rest days, hours of work and overtime.

So those rules set out in the EA applies to me (don't want say "us" coz many here exceeds the 4500 bracket tongue.gif )

Anyway... My work is fine. Nothing too stressful or anything as an entry staff. Not really unfair la biggrin.gif But as people usually do, not satisfied with the salary, I want moreeeeee tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 27 2014, 07:45 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 27 2014, 06:03 AM)
Welcome to SG forum.

1. You dont need a local address to apply for a job, but having a local address is in a way better. But most important is to get a SG local number (prepaid) to at least establish the bridge in communication if you are at JB.

2. There are headhunters here in this forum. Ask the sifu and guru here.

Just to give you a summary of the ball game here:

Usually, it is better to apply through head hunter. As most head hunting jobs are outsourced to them by the clients.
Clients dont want to waste thier time in a shit pile of of applicants.

In Singapore everyhing is about networking with people. Bombard your resume to head hunter sites. Send them emails and call them.
Take your time to explain your core experience and professional certifications.

Take what ever you need make you have the better edge as a candidate. Also there are alot fo people applying for the same job. Citizens and PR are given higher priority to secure a job. Usually you will know how many locals have applied for a job at https://www.jobsbank.gov.sg/

Usually those job posted on Jobstreet.sg sites are stale. So, dont bother applying at Jobstreet. Instead apply at head hunter sites listed at Jobstreet. Deposit your resume in all of thier website. But nothing beats networking and real conversation.
Actually... Any recommended headhunter? Always see headhunter headhunter (although I got recruited through headhunter actually tongue.gif but different case because this one only advertise this job, unlike other headhunter you send them resume they give you multiple jobs that you can go for interview) but don't actually know how to engage one.

Not for present use. It's for future use. Survey first biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(razo2 @ Nov 27 2014, 06:09 AM)
Well, I rarely touch my sick leave anyways still young. I always refer to my contract only. MOM is like a mother setting out ground rules, anything agreed beyond MOM is between you and the employer. Of course anything fishy I can smell, I always look it up at MOM. Thus, contract always overwrites MOM, unless it breaks their rules such things like no OT or day compensation for working during public holidays. Even when the contract didnt state anything, the MOM rules kicks in as the minimum condition.
Ya... I don't really sick also. Even sick also like one whole night rest then normally recover d. But once in few months sure ulcer once la. That's not really "sick" though.

Anyway... Since it's the MOM guideline for them, follow lo. Again... 3 months just about to pass already. Now already 27. 3 more days only.

OT wise... If you read in the website I posted, OT doesn't apply to PMEs (professionals whatever whatever) but employer have to grant off-in lieu to compensate. Public holiday I sure don't work la. If forced to work for a couple of hours when I'm free maybe I still close one eye. If forced to work for a whole day when I'm free, maybe can ask for off-in lieu in off peak period. I can accept that. If forced to work when I have planned activities for that holiday, no way!! But most companies also know one la... They won't challenge MOM rules in their face gua.

QUOTE(lawtm @ Nov 27 2014, 07:37 AM)
how much the local sim card???? this is my first time going to sg hehe...need advice...thank
$8 or something? If you want with internet, need to have at least $7 inside then can get 1GB 7 day plan.

So either you buy the cheapest sim card and top up or straight get the $15 or higher price one.

Btw... Just to give more details.

On prepaid, outgoing and incoming calls are both charged at same rate. $0.16 on peak (8am - 8pm on weekday) otherwise $0.08 off peak. Consider this when choosing the value to top up. How often do you expect to make calls etc. Don't run out of credit whilst on a call biggrin.gif Minimum top up is $10.

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Nov 27 2014, 07:52 AM
IwanAGP
post Nov 28 2014, 08:03 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Nov 28 2014, 01:19 AM)
hello all!

Could you guys help me with a query? Say if I would like to rent a new place starting 12th of January, when do you guys think I should start looking?

I plan to use a full week starting from the 8 December to look for the place. Would it be sufficient?

Thank you in advance!
To get a room to stay won't be a problem. Just the matter of rental only. Even if you start finding at the beginning of January I don't think will have any issue. If you're personally here to find a room then even less trouble. Just engage agents and make appointments to view rooms at the area you're looking at. Viewing rooms just the matter of a day or two. If fit your requirement then pay deposit lo. After that sign tenant agreement, pay first month rental, agent fee etc.

But no harm to come here and get a room earlier la. Can go around try the public transport and explore your work place + the place you stay. Maybe can try how's the traffic by going to your workplace and see what time you have to depart from home etc.

tongue.gif Although this is my advice, I haven't done that before I came here 3 months ago biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 29 2014, 12:13 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(faint_loop @ Nov 28 2014, 11:53 PM)
Thank you for your advice! I am just trying to figure out if there's anything i can do to better my chances in applying for a job in singapore, because I received rejections already, and this despite a Masters degree and overseas experience. I would have to retain my JB address in my cv, because i dont know anyone in spore tht i can use their address, but i shall purchase a singapore pre-paid soon.

I have heard of Job Bank. Are only locals allowed to apply in tht website? What about still applying to them but not through Job Bank, but straight to the advertised company?
Headhunter? Sometimes they have better jalan to get better offer for you. You get better offer = they get more agent fee mah biggrin.gif

You can still apply. But if they haven't posted the post offered to you (assuming that you got the offer), you'll have to wait quite a while for them to apply EP for you due to Fair Consideration Framework. They have to fulfil requirements before they can employ you. Unless you're elite that takes home 12k or 20k/month la biggrin.gif

IwanAGP
post Nov 29 2014, 09:53 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(djay16 @ Nov 29 2014, 06:24 PM)
Hi, want to ask, when first moving to SG for work, what are the things we should bring over and what should we buy over there in SG ?

I will be renting and was wondering if the cost of many small things like bedding, sheet, hangers, kettle etc etc etc have a noticeable price diff ?

Currently bringing cloths, documents, electronics, light toiletries only.
Erm... When you first arrive here and go to supermarket and buy things. 100% guarantee you will convert it in your head then you'll hesitate to buy them. It gets better after few weeks.

Most things can be gotten cheaper from M'sia. But again it depends on how you come here. If your family drive you here right to your rented place, just bring everything as long as it's not illegal to bring into singapore la. If you take bus or plane, then depends on how much you can take lo. If can't take don't force yourself to take also mah.

For groceries, look for Fairprice. There's one fairprice is about every neighbourhood. Price is alright. I find giant supermarket more expensive. Giant hyper then only can be same or cheaper..
IwanAGP
post Nov 29 2014, 10:19 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Nov 29 2014, 10:02 PM)
as long as not PR/singaporeon, still subject to MOM
The employer still have to submit the application to MOM, and if they reject then GG.
However in most of the case won't get rejected, the concern is only getting what pass
first of all, which part of Msia u're from? Can you travel back frequently?

bedding sheet house owner no supply?
I will say what you bought down is sufficient..
Perhaps some SGD as well...
Don't say some la... Later he bring 100SGD only. 100SGD no need 1 week also finish d biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 30 2014, 01:54 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Nov 30 2014, 01:19 PM)
value dollar and good price centre are way more cheap than ntuc. most of their items are direct/parallel imports or near expired ones. simply because they are actually pemborong themselves smile.gif

lays stax for SGD1.90 or coke for 60 cents.  thumbup.gif
First Price too.

What's good about valuedollar is that can get cheap chocolate, crackers, titbits from there. Oreo for just 0.7 KitKat for 0.8 etc. Toblerone also quite cheap there. But choices for household use still quite limited. I go to valuedollar or first price for lifebuoy and head & shoulder. Like 50% or more cheaper than Fairprice.

But still... Not so much choices la. Can't find much dairy products too since those expire quite soon so I get milk from Fairprice instead biggrin.gif Things like clothes hanger, I also prefer fairprice one. $2 for 10 nice solid metal hangers.
IwanAGP
post Dec 1 2014, 10:29 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(rcr @ Dec 1 2014, 11:56 AM)
Btw, Singapore food sucks to the max... Even you pay a premium at an exclusive restaurant.

Dammit, especially that satay bihun... WTF!

How you guys survive with the food here?

Discuss...
So far so good for me. Maybe I've got trained during the uni time to eat shitty food.

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Dec 1 2014, 05:24 PM)
Do like the locals, queue behind long queue sure good one. Different taste buds, we can't blame the food taste bad and think our tongue are the correct one.
I see long queue then change restaurant/stall one tongue.gif

But there's some crazy queue I see in SG. One serious one is at 313@Sommerset (or Orchard central? They're like all in the same building so I can't differentiate). The yogurt at B2 or B3 named Llaolao or something. Last time I see, the queue turn one whole round around their outlet till the end of escalator, continue again at another end near emergency exit. Sot one really doh.gif I rather go there on a weekday to skip the queue.

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Dec 1 2014, 10:02 PM)
Agreed on the point that Singapore's queue cannot be trusted  laugh.gif
When it comes to food, seems like generally Malaysians still prefer the taste back home  biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif Prefer the price back home.

*Calculator mode ON:
2 vege 1 meat $3.5
$3.5 x 2.585 = RM9.0475
RM9.0475 = 0.9 x M'sia McD Big Mac Set

In short... You eat one mix rice in SG can get 0.9 x Big Mac Set in M'sia*

Jk biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Dec 2 2014, 07:54 AM
IwanAGP
post Dec 1 2014, 10:59 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(rcr @ Dec 1 2014, 10:51 PM)
What does 0.9 means?
If I remember correctly, BigMac in M'sia after tax is RM9++~RM10 right?

Then RM9 can only buy ~0.9 BigMac la biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 1 2014, 11:36 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 1 2014, 11:04 PM)
that's why i always try to eat at workplace. cafeteria, 1 vege 1 fish 1 meat S$2.20 . chinese tea / coffee / tea free.
My goodness that's cheap!

Too bad I not working in big company with cafeteria sad.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 2 2014, 07:53 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 2 2014, 07:08 AM)
2 vege 1 rice 3.5? or 2 vege 1 meat 3.5?
me here 2 vege 1 rice 2.5-3.3 only leh
Oops... 1 meat. Sorry doh.gif doh.gif Work till sot d.
IwanAGP
post Dec 2 2014, 11:05 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Dec 2 2014, 05:25 PM)
Just want to ask... SGD 2000- SGD2300 is ok for living in singapore? for people that less go out. and live alone. work at school.
To be honest biggrin.gif biggrin.gif My expenses each month is just 1k +- inclusive of rental, mobile, transport, meals (no self-cooked meals), groceries. I stay alone and work at everywhere (where my project will be). Still ok to spend huge on food once in a while like 10~20/meal and stay within my budget.

Of course, very much depend on how you eat and spend.

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Dec 2 2014, 09:31 PM)
When you work in Sg and earn SGD, you should not convert the costs of living to ringgit and compare that way. Especially if you are earning the same salary dollar for dollar i.e. RM3K and S$3K

So, if you spend $3 for a chap fun and 0.80 for a cup of tea, your costs are lower than rm5 for the chap fun and 1.40 for the tea.

Only if you are visiting Sg, then it is more meaningful to convert and compare to see how much more you have to spend visiting Sg.
biggrin.gif But still it takes few weeks to months to adapt to that currency. Especially the beginning part.

Now after 3 months I also close 1 eye d. Last time control under $8 a day now sometimes colleague bring go japanese one meal already $20. Jia lat doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 2 2014, 11:14 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Dec 2 2014, 11:09 PM)
yup.. i last time work in ampang, selangor.. with 2k salary.. still can save 500 per month.. jz hard for few first month la.. after dat ok... and rarely go out hv some fun unless meet friends  sweat.gif
Work in SG just beginning need a significant amount of money like 2~2.5k. After first and second month salary come in then savings start coming in also.

But savings coming in... Expenditures start to grow also biggrin.gif

Buy phone, buy laptop, buy camera, buy prada, buy gucci, etc etc etc tongue.gif tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 3 2014, 12:42 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Dec 3 2014, 12:22 AM)
haha.. 2k u think enuf? O_O
I personally brought 2.6 here la. Lasted me two months expenses + 3 months rental (2 months rental + 1 month deposit) + etc etc etc
IwanAGP
post Dec 3 2014, 12:50 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Dec 3 2014, 12:45 AM)
usd 2.6k? erm.. looks ok
Nah I brought 2.6k GBP.

I can't stop you from bringing 2.6k USD also right? biggrin.gif Enjoy your life in SG wink.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 3 2014, 07:57 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Dec 3 2014, 03:31 PM)
If you have a personal culture/habit of spending more than you earn, then earning $4K will also not be enough.

Some Singaporeans actually raise a family and pay for their flat on a $2.5K salary. Of course it must be tough, but it can be done. My guess is that the majority of you guys here in the forum are single right? It all boils down to self-control and prudence.

The only additional and sizeable expenditure is your accommodation, and if you are from smaller towns in Malaysia working in the Klang Valley, you would have spend on rental too anyway.

For your information, we have to fork out more than rm20 a person just to have a Chinese meal at a non-aircond restaurant here in KL. Utilities providers are poor and the quality of utilities provided (internet connectivity, handphone lines etc..) are still so low.

So, you get higher quality of life working in Sg, not to mention the better exposure and opportunities - intangibles but important.

So, press on, stay positive, save the strong currency and enjoy the environment there!
But those singaporeans are there since they're young. They more or less inherit some from their parents, not start from scratch. Of course I'm referring to some of them. I know still a large number of people that starts their own business and earning hugeee.

RM20/pax for chinese meal? What kind of chinese meal? Whole table? Which area? Bukit Bintang area?

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 3 2014, 03:40 PM)
Can't agree more!

Infact people might tend to spend more in SG, as they will think 'even save a bit oso better than in Msia', and end up very tight in end of the month..

personally spent less than 250sgd for foods last month..quite tough though..haha
My goodness... 250???

doh.gif Btw... Today lunch 10SGD. Not good not good doh.gif doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 3 2014, 08:51 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Dec 3 2014, 08:35 PM)
The average Singaporean doesn't inherit that much from their parents. In fact their parents should still be alive if they are below 50 years old. Probably the younger ones have the advantage of not having to pay rent.

Sorry I should have made it clearer about the costs of food.

Let's say you and 2 friends go to Chinese restaurant (non-aircond type) in setapak or puchong or ampang etc.. and order 3 or 4 dishes for a simple dinner, nothing extravagant. The bill could end up around rm80+. If you order seafood, it will be rm100+. If you have the simple dinner at an aircond restaurant or one in a mall, it will set you back around rm120! If you eat around Bukit Bintang, you will be 'slaughtered'!

Another example : one piece of yong tau foo here in KL is now rm1.20 per piece while it is 0.60 cents per piece in Sg!

The point I am making is that our inflation here in Malaysia is worse than that in Sg. So, our cost of living is higher (not counting housing and cars), and our standard of living is much lower than that in Sg. It is a sad situation. Yes, one can move to a smaller town where food is probably cheaper, but there will not be any jobs there for you.

If you earn $5000 a month, spending $10 for lunch is ok. If you earn half that and spend $10 for lunch regularly, then you need to review your lifestyle.
Go out with colleague cannot choose la.

yeah... Yong tau fu here is quite cheap. But KL also got cheaper ones, depends on where you go.

Very much depends on the restaurant. Normally I go with my friends, end up around RM15 if order dishes.

I baru start, you think got $5000?

Half of that is about there la. But not everyday will eat $10. Still bearable biggrin.gif

But even if everyday $10 for one meal, another meal takes $5 breakfast takes $3, that's $18/day

One month 540, +90 for transport +70 for phones = $700. +600 for rental = 1300, +150 for grocery = $1450.

If earn 2000 still got $550. Based on current sky high rate, that's RM14XX. Even if you get RM2800 in KL, the savings is already half of that salary.

Yeah... M'sia inflation too jia lat.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0552sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:33 AM