used e90 325i vs used golf gti mk6, which is your choice?

jwrx
post May 2 2014, 01:28 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Apr 20 2014, 03:06 AM)
e90. you can always transplant a 335i engine or m3 engine in the future biggrin.gif . not to mention, more room to mod.. if you have the cash
its alot easier to mod a GTI then a e90 325i. Alot more parts/mods/specialists in pj/kl as well focusing on the gti
jwrx
post May 2 2014, 01:34 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 18 2014, 12:10 PM)
I respect your views but I think that's typical Ah Beng thinking that the only function of a RWD car is to drift.  wink.gif

It's not all about straight line speed. It's the drive that's important. I find it hard that a 50:50 weighted RWD car is so under appreciated.  sad.gif
i think alot of ppl just assume RWD>FWD, but a factor thats alot more important is weight, and power to weight ratio. just because a car is RWD doesnt magicly give it better handling then a FWD car thats 500kg lighter. A good example is a 325i vs a Swift Sport...i guarantee you, i will have more fun, and be faster at a gymkhana with the SS

as per what mavik said, im also a e9x owner, and i came from a Mk5 GTi. for the TS age, the GTI is a far better choice. Faster, cheaper to run, more fun, easier to mod

i have owned FWD/RWD/AWD over the last 15 years.... only a AWD can you really feel a diff in daily driving. Im pretty sure most RWD fanbois on this forum have never owned a RWD car...and probably would not be able to tell, if asked to do a blind testdrive

AmenoJaku
post May 2 2014, 05:33 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ May 2 2014, 01:34 PM)
i think alot of ppl just assume RWD>FWD, but a factor thats alot more important is weight, and power to weight ratio. just because a car is RWD doesnt magicly give it better handling then a FWD car thats 500kg lighter. A good example is a 325i vs a Swift Sport...i guarantee you, i will have more fun, and be faster at a gymkhana with the SS

as per what mavik said, im also a e9x owner, and i came from a Mk5 GTi. for the TS age, the GTI is a far better choice. Faster, cheaper to run, more fun, easier to mod

i have owned FWD/RWD/AWD over the last 15 years.... only a AWD can you really feel a diff in daily driving. Im pretty sure most RWD fanbois on this forum have never owned a RWD car...and probably would not be able to tell, if asked to do a blind testdrive
An article on a mag once mentioned that about 80% of bmw 1-series owners didn't know they bought a rwd. Not sure if it's true. But ironic nevertheless.

Shawnzz
post May 3 2014, 12:09 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ May 2 2014, 01:28 PM)
its alot easier to mod a GTI then a e90 325i. Alot more parts/mods/specialists in pj/kl as well focusing on the gti
im talking about in the future la, in about 10-15 years time laugh.gif when halfcuts for e90 are easily available. But then again, no 1 will buy these cars and keep for 10-15 years.
kinkyoreo
post Aug 28 2016, 01:37 PM

I am currently driving a mkv gti (i much prefer the lines of this gen) and previously had an e90. Trust me, all bimmer fans (bar none) will never admit their cars cost more to maintain in comparison and will always quote dsg issues (like every other tom, dick n harry). I bought mine 10 years ago and no problems with my gearbox to-date. All issues ive had are with the usual wear n tear parts. Having said that, name me one make or model who has had absolutely no issues in their history?

Like the others have said, feeding your ego is probably the only benefit you will get from choosing thr e90. Apart from the m5 series, i will never bother with Bavarian Money Wasters again. But thats just me...

Go for the golf gti...Attached Image

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0138sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:57 PM