used e90 325i vs used golf gti mk6, which is your choice?
Apr 20 2014, 03:06 AM
1,911 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Ang Mo Kio, Singapore |
e90. you can always transplant a 335i engine or m3 engine in the future
Apr 20 2014, 07:41 AM
3,772 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Apr 20 2014, 02:49 AM) this mudah ad is a tsi so 7spd right. which version is the 6spd dsg ah? how to know. or as long as the spec says 6spd dsg, then it's the more reliable wet clutch d is it. thanks. If not mistaken all mk6 are using the problematic gearbox, only make not using is the gti model,edit: http://www.mudah.my/Volkswagen+Golf+MK6+TS...2811.htm?last=1 |
Apr 20 2014, 09:19 PM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Apr 19 2014, 11:51 PM) Awesome stuff, I went to see a couple of Subaru Impreza WRX STI over the weekend. A version 8 on Saturday and a Version 9 Spec C earlier today. Funnily I know the Spec C is Subaru's track spec version of the Impreza which is lightened but the previous owner decided to add more weights to it by including huge woofers and sound proofing all around. All the weight saving was gone haha. |
Apr 20 2014, 10:20 PM
4,880 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL/PJ |
Man. Everything that could be said Mavik already did. When i bought the car in 2012. I could had afford for a A4 1.8 or a mk6 gti. Mk6 gti it is and still brings a big grin to my face all day LONG!
Apr 20 2014, 10:50 PM
6,413 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong Not For Human Live One.... |
Guys how about the Gold GTI mk5?
Apr 21 2014, 12:00 AM
2,114 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: East |
Apr 21 2014, 01:21 AM
1,206 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Apr 20 2014, 02:49 AM) this mudah ad is a tsi so 7spd right. which version is the 6spd dsg ah? how to know. or as long as the spec says 6spd dsg, then it's the more reliable wet clutch d is it. thanks. thats the tsi 1.4L using 7 speed for sureedit: http://www.mudah.my/Volkswagen+Golf+MK6+TS...2811.htm?last=1 any 2.0T models will use the dsg6 if dsg equipped. |
Apr 21 2014, 01:34 AM
1,206 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Apr 19 2014, 07:08 PM) QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Apr 20 2014, 10:50 PM) driving one for 5 years/120k KM and counting.mk6 gti is similar to GTI mk5 in many things, in fact the mk6 gti is like the facelift version of mk5 the mk5 gti uses a 2.0TFSI engine instead of the 2.0TSI of the mk6 gti, the mk6 one is a bit more powerful stock for stock (mk6 205whp vs mk5 185?whp) and at stage 1-2 tunes their chassis are similar, dsg similar, interior the mk6 is more modern but many things are actually quite similar from the mk5. many things are interchangeable between them in terms of mods (roll bars, intercoolers, unibraces, brakes, rims etc). except for engine related ones (intake, fuel pump, turbo?, etc) but Mk6 Golf R and mk5 gti uses the same engine (with the R having stronger internals etc) but one thing the mk5 really miss from the 6 is DCC where you can choose between comfort, normal and sport. comparing mk5 gti and e90 325i, the 325i probably has better comfort, refinement, better highway cruiser and prestige and maybe boot space. but for performance, point and shoot in town driving, mod potential, fun to drive, handling (not sure if the M sport is better tho), fuel economy, the gti wins This post has been edited by phas3r: Apr 21 2014, 01:38 AM |
Apr 21 2014, 09:20 AM
6,413 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong Not For Human Live One.... |
QUOTE(phas3r @ Apr 21 2014, 01:34 AM) driving one for 5 years/120k KM and counting. Thanks for ur feedback. Hopefully I can afford one when the time comes mk6 gti is similar to GTI mk5 in many things, in fact the mk6 gti is like the facelift version of mk5 the mk5 gti uses a 2.0TFSI engine instead of the 2.0TSI of the mk6 gti, the mk6 one is a bit more powerful stock for stock (mk6 205whp vs mk5 185?whp) and at stage 1-2 tunes their chassis are similar, dsg similar, interior the mk6 is more modern but many things are actually quite similar from the mk5. many things are interchangeable between them in terms of mods (roll bars, intercoolers, unibraces, brakes, rims etc). except for engine related ones (intake, fuel pump, turbo?, etc) but Mk6 Golf R and mk5 gti uses the same engine (with the R having stronger internals etc) but one thing the mk5 really miss from the 6 is DCC where you can choose between comfort, normal and sport. comparing mk5 gti and e90 325i, the 325i probably has better comfort, refinement, better highway cruiser and prestige and maybe boot space. but for performance, point and shoot in town driving, mod potential, fun to drive, handling (not sure if the M sport is better tho), fuel economy, the gti wins |
Apr 21 2014, 10:53 AM
1,256 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 17 2014, 03:41 PM) Personally as an E90 owner now, please go for the Golf GTI. 1) The interior in the Golf is so much nicer compared to the E90 2) You definitely get more power from the Golf GTI (from personal dyno experience, E90 325i gets around 170whp and the Golf GTI Mk6 gets around 207whp) 3) Since you are single, the Golf GTI Mk6 is a lot more fun to drive, lighter and have plenty of mods available 4) The DSG gearbox on this car is fantastic, it is the 6-speed wet clutch DSG which can withstand a lot more torque and is proven for the past 6 years already (This gearbox was in the Golf GTI Mk5). People who complain about the DSG problem saying just check Google are either people who have never owned the DSG6 and just listen to rumours. If you are keen, I can introduce you to the Volkswagen Club Malaysia folks and I can show you at least 50 owners of the Mk6 GTI who have no issues with the 6-speed DSG clutch. (On hindsight you will probably face the same 50 owners who complain with their 7-Speed DSG clutch, me included) 5) Road tax for the Golf GTI is cheaper! 2.0L engine versus the 2.5L engine 6) Maintenance for the Golf is cheaper compared to the E90 325i who is known to have the aircon condensor issue and ABS sensor and pump issues 7) Don't listen to all those driving pleasure driving rear wheel drive cars. Unless you plan to turn off your traction control and spin your car around doing donuts and burning your tyres, the Golf GTI is a good handling car. I swapped from a Golf to a E90 and regretted since. The only difference I feel between FWD and RWD is that my racing lines change. 8) The Golf GTI is faster than the E90 325i on the track. A stock Golf GTI can do around 2.49-2.50 at Sepang while the E90 325i can do around 3m. That is a whole 10 secs slower. 9) Tyres for the Golf GTI is cheaper, because you are running on stock 17" rims (if you upgrade to 18" it is still cheaper). For the E90 325i, if this is the M-Sport version, that means you will be running on a staggered setup meaning wider tyres at the rear. 235/40/18 and 255/35/18. 10) The roar of the inline 6 engine is overrated. The exhaust is muted and unless you plan to do highway runs just to hear it sing, you would probably be overtaken by countless Mk6 GTI while you are doing that. Downside with the Golf 1) Lack of boot space if you intend to play golf as it struggles to fit in a single golf bag 2) Prestige between a luxury brand and VW (personally I think it is over rated) and at your age, who cares about that. The Golf GTI is a lot more of a fun car. ![]() |
Apr 22 2014, 10:11 PM
1,704 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 20 2014, 09:19 PM) Awesome stuff, I went to see a couple of Subaru Impreza WRX STI over the weekend. A version 8 on Saturday and a Version 9 Spec C earlier today. Funnily I know the Spec C is Subaru's track spec version of the Impreza which is lightened but the previous owner decided to add more weights to it by including huge woofers and sound proofing all around. All the weight saving was gone haha. Maybe the guy likes audio and must have to accompany during traffic jams. So even if he buys normal Sti he would still do the same so will end up heavier still than using the type c. |
Apr 23 2014, 12:56 AM
2,695 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Prison Break |
QUOTE(Mavik @ Apr 17 2014, 03:41 PM) Personally as an E90 owner now, please go for the Golf GTI. Very nice comment. 1) The interior in the Golf is so much nicer compared to the E90 2) You definitely get more power from the Golf GTI (from personal dyno experience, E90 325i gets around 170whp and the Golf GTI Mk6 gets around 207whp) 3) Since you are single, the Golf GTI Mk6 is a lot more fun to drive, lighter and have plenty of mods available 4) The DSG gearbox on this car is fantastic, it is the 6-speed wet clutch DSG which can withstand a lot more torque and is proven for the past 6 years already (This gearbox was in the Golf GTI Mk5). People who complain about the DSG problem saying just check Google are either people who have never owned the DSG6 and just listen to rumours. If you are keen, I can introduce you to the Volkswagen Club Malaysia folks and I can show you at least 50 owners of the Mk6 GTI who have no issues with the 6-speed DSG clutch. (On hindsight you will probably face the same 50 owners who complain with their 7-Speed DSG clutch, me included) 5) Road tax for the Golf GTI is cheaper! 2.0L engine versus the 2.5L engine 6) Maintenance for the Golf is cheaper compared to the E90 325i who is known to have the aircon condensor issue and ABS sensor and pump issues 7) Don't listen to all those driving pleasure driving rear wheel drive cars. Unless you plan to turn off your traction control and spin your car around doing donuts and burning your tyres, the Golf GTI is a good handling car. I swapped from a Golf to a E90 and regretted since. The only difference I feel between FWD and RWD is that my racing lines change. 8) The Golf GTI is faster than the E90 325i on the track. A stock Golf GTI can do around 2.49-2.50 at Sepang while the E90 325i can do around 3m. That is a whole 10 secs slower. 9) Tyres for the Golf GTI is cheaper, because you are running on stock 17" rims (if you upgrade to 18" it is still cheaper). For the E90 325i, if this is the M-Sport version, that means you will be running on a staggered setup meaning wider tyres at the rear. 235/40/18 and 255/35/18. 10) The roar of the inline 6 engine is overrated. The exhaust is muted and unless you plan to do highway runs just to hear it sing, you would probably be overtaken by countless Mk6 GTI while you are doing that. Downside with the Golf 1) Lack of boot space if you intend to play golf as it struggles to fit in a single golf bag 2) Prestige between a luxury brand and VW (personally I think it is over rated) and at your age, who cares about that. The Golf GTI is a lot more of a fun car. How bout the E46 M3 |
Apr 23 2014, 01:29 AM
4,494 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Apr 23 2014, 10:14 AM
39 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
bmw e90
Apr 23 2014, 10:29 AM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
Thanks for the comments. Many Sifus here.
1. Just curious, if anyone knows what happen to the oil leak on the valve timing control actuator area on mk6 GTi? 2. Shared from bmw technician, e90 series is common having oil leak on pump (vacuum?) This post has been edited by VP999: Apr 23 2014, 10:38 AM |
Apr 23 2014, 10:33 AM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(InF.anime @ Apr 23 2014, 12:56 AM) The M3 is a totally different story. I have seen a couple of the E46 M3 sold for around RM110k-RM115k cash on Mudah. If TS is ok with the dated look, go for the M3. Performance wise is at a whole different level. Last year's time to attack had a E46 M3 who did a 2.33 timing at Sepang. |
Apr 25 2014, 10:03 AM
2 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(VP999 @ Apr 23 2014, 10:29 AM) Thanks for the comments. Many Sifus here. What about it? If it happens get it fixed.......Not a recurring problem.1. Just curious, if anyone knows what happen to the oil leak on the valve timing control actuator area on mk6 GTi? 2. Shared from bmw technician, e90 series is common having oil leak on pump (vacuum?) |
Apr 25 2014, 01:16 PM
3,836 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Cheras, Selangor |
May 2 2014, 10:15 AM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
May 2 2014, 10:22 AM
2,499 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Tyneside |
| Change to: | 0.0276sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:48 PM |