TSjunky_man
post May 29 2015, 10:12 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(hotjake @ May 28 2015, 03:41 PM)
i haz a jizzzz drool.gif
Please clean your computer. lol. tongue.gif

QUOTE(rockalt1292 @ May 28 2015, 05:03 PM)
Yes, went there on last Saturday. I was thrilled to see their vintage collection and the price is only RM899, I think it's reasonable considering the jeans are made in US.
yup, the price is at least "retail price". this is also considering our currency against USD is low.

QUOTE(itekderp @ May 28 2015, 05:28 PM)
Lucky you. Mr. Otsubo does work for LVC, he's their sales and marketing guy. Quite the expert on denim.
ahh.....so he does work with LVC? I didn't actually met him, the sales person did.

Apparently he said if you can get his autograph on your levis denim, the value goes up. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSjunky_man
post May 29 2015, 06:10 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ May 29 2015, 05:44 PM)
Yeah, it'd be nice to have a chat with him. He's among the best known authorities on denim, it's like a Lowyat member meeting the infamous junky man.  biggrin.gif
Haha, yeah right.

If i sign your jeans, it will be worthless! Lel.
TSjunky_man
post May 29 2015, 06:11 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by junky_man: May 29 2015, 06:34 PM
TSjunky_man
post Jun 2 2015, 10:09 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(dr.evil @ Jun 2 2015, 11:00 AM)
Anyone knows if they have the 54' model for LVC in KLCC ? Can't seem to get it anywhere in Malaysia.
I think they have. From the last time i saw.

QUOTE(hotjake @ Jun 2 2015, 11:21 AM)
u're too humble  biggrin.gif
Not humble, but that's the truth. biggrin.gif

TSjunky_man
post Jun 6 2015, 10:21 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

Anyone went to Art of Speed at MAEPS?

Share some photos.
TSjunky_man
post Jun 15 2015, 09:39 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Jun 15 2015, 12:15 AM)
Anyone can recommend a good tailor for denim?
check out the first post of this thread.
TSjunky_man
post Jun 19 2015, 09:30 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Jun 18 2015, 10:50 PM)
Woah, so cheap Total for both hemming and tapering? Any experience with The Yard SS15? And do they offer their services if we bring our own jeans, or only for store bought ones?
just bring them. you'd be more entice to see their jeans collection at the shop.
TSjunky_man
post Jun 25 2015, 11:40 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(eddychstu @ Jun 24 2015, 12:17 PM)
Anyone fancy a pristine condition raw denim for Raya?

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3615131&hl=
Nice Oldblue you got there. Where did you get them?

QUOTE(itekderp @ Jun 25 2015, 02:45 AM)
So, does the LVC in KLCC provide chain stitch service especially for Levi's regardless of model? Anyone done hemming there? Please comment on the quality of work, accuracy of threads used etc. About time to give my 511's a wash and hem.
I dont think the Levi's shop in klcc can provide hemming service, especially chain stitching as I've asked the salesperson before. Might be wrong. You can check the first post of this thread for other shops that provide hemming and chain stitch services.
TSjunky_man
post Jul 1 2015, 04:24 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Jul 1 2015, 09:52 AM)
Went to the yard s15 and they quoted me RM30 for a taper from the knee down. Is that a good price? Or is there any other tailor that can do it for a cheaper price?
I see as reasonable. Being that the machinery they use is not the normal tailors can provide (e.g. chainstitch).

TSjunky_man
post Jul 3 2015, 11:32 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Jul 2 2015, 02:03 PM)
I have found conflicting facts on chain stitching on the internet. Other than the aesthetic advantages, is there any other reason to get a chain stitch? Especially for a taper since i don't think the calves and the hem are high stress area on a pair of jeans. And wouldn't that mean 3 quarter of the inseam will use a different stitching to the tapered portion?
the roping effect is one of the consideration to have chain stitch. Aesthetic purposes though.

Well, since you bought the denim with chain stitch, it would be a shame if it were hemmed and not be chain stitch. thumbup.gif
TSjunky_man
post Jul 4 2015, 01:59 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 4 2015, 01:06 AM)
What's The best way to wash a raw denim with minimal shrinkage? I do not have a bath tub and totally forgot to presoak before wearing. Haven't washed them since I got it cause scared it becomes too tight.
Guess you dont hot soak it and leave it long. That is what i believe causes shrinkages.

Just toss it in the washing machine. By the time it finshes, give a gentle stretch and air dry it.

It wouldn't shrink/stretch so much as your denim is mostly sanforized. If unsanforized, that's another ball game. biggrin.gif

Once it's dry, wear them as usual. If it feels tight, just wear them and they will expand as when you wore it before the wash.
TSjunky_man
post Jul 5 2015, 01:44 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 4 2015, 11:08 AM)
Thinking of hand washing it coz it's raw. Don't wanna have any indigo residue in the washing machine Haha. Normal detergent can already right? I saw some people on YouTube wash their denim while wearing them. So hardcore.
Normal handwash is enough. Tip: dont twist and squeez out the extra water after your soak. Your indigo bleed can ruin your fades.

Just gently squeez any access water and let it air dry.
TSjunky_man
post Jul 12 2015, 11:37 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(kamoohlala @ Jul 12 2015, 09:13 AM)
Goint to wash my naked and famous MIJ for the first time today. Been wearing since end of march this year.

Hope it turn out great.

Basuh sebab nak raya. I dont want to smell during raya. Hehe

Attached before and after pic.

Before

After few months wear before wash.

Will update after wash. It take a while to dry hehe
Nice evo!

Aih.....why la my jeans dont progress so good.
TSjunky_man
post Jul 13 2015, 11:59 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(HarimauMuda @ Jul 12 2015, 06:02 PM)
hi

Anyone knows a good tailor where I can get my selvedge jeans hemmed?

first post of this thread.

TSjunky_man
post Jul 14 2015, 10:43 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(azizul9736 @ Jul 14 2015, 05:49 AM)
Samurai s003jp  how is the fitting, it should look slimer or OK? Size 30
[attachmentid=4594082][attachmentid=4594088]
is the second pic the same as the first?

It looks great from the side profile, but looks baggy from the back.

nevertheless, if you feel great about it, no one should stop you. thumbup.gif
TSjunky_man
post Aug 5 2015, 09:39 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Aug 5 2015, 05:13 AM)
Just ordered my first pair of selvedge jeans. Will see how it goes few months down the road.
Welcome aboard fellow selvedge/raw denim member!

Just a quick update: tried my first time sea washing my denim.

Not something I'd do, but im currently in Lombok, and dont want to waste the opportunity sewashing them.
TSjunky_man
post Aug 10 2015, 01:43 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Aug 9 2015, 11:14 PM)

Junkyman: do you mean wearing it into the sea?
Yup. Just dive them into the sea!

Sounds crazy and probably gimmicky, but the sand supposedly sands off (sorry for the pun) the denim giving it a better contrast.

I dont normally do it, but i had a company trip to Lombok Indonesia, and just took the opportunity to sea wash it. Plus i haven't washed my jeans since i first wore them....since october 2014. Hehe.
TSjunky_man
post Aug 11 2015, 01:24 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Aug 10 2015, 03:28 PM)
done it... love the result. thou swimming on a pair of jeans is really somewhat troublesome lol...
Haha, yes. Learn it the hard way. Sands all over my pockets.

Make sure you thouroughly rinse them off before heading back to your hotel room. biggrin.gif

TSjunky_man
post Aug 23 2015, 04:44 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Aug 23 2015, 02:05 AM)
Wah seh, junkyman nowadays sea wash denim. Hardcore mang
Mana ada.jpg tongue.gif

Btw, anyone bought Old Blue Denim's 5th year anniversary jeans?
TSjunky_man
post Aug 25 2015, 10:43 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Aug 24 2015, 09:28 PM)
If you can afford it, if you like the look why not. I've always preferred the look of chain stitching on denim, looks substantial.

Anyone used the Aesop APC detergent for your denim before? Any comments on results?

Never tried those specific denim detergents before. I just use whatever detergent i have at home. Seems fine for me.

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Aug 25 2015, 08:28 AM)
Spilled Sun Screen protection on my Iron Hearts T_____T How do I remove them
Just wash it as you would on any normal clothes you have. Nothing special about these raw denims to be worried about.

But dont squeeze or twist the denim to rid of the access water if you soak it. Gentle squeeze is ok.

Other than that, i wont recommend putting it in the dryer or dry clean it.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0555sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:03 PM