130 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v6, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

nothingz
post Jun 16 2014, 08:28 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 16 2014, 07:06 PM)
i think most of the research stats are based on longer term than 5 years - 10s of years or rolling 20 to 30 years.
"Knowing" that equities goes up in time, IF one has say $100K, the stats are for the lump sum investment instead of breaking it up to do DCA for RETURNS purposes.

DCA in above situation is more for psychological acceptance / "staying power" (ie. not run helter skelter).

However, in normal terms where we dont have $100K lump sum every year or three, then DCA, VCA or value hunting makes more sense coz if we just hold and time, bila nak masuk?

http://www.investopedia.com/articles/stocks/07/dca-fight.asp
DCA Vs. Lump-Sum Investing
Both lump-sum investing and DCA have their appropriate time and place. The research shows that lump-sum investing pays off about 66% of the time, which is a long way from all the time. It certainly makes sense to look carefully at the current market conditions. If you hit that bad 33% in lumpy style, you can lose a lot of money.

On the other hand, many DCA users fail to monitor their investments after they start. The mere fact that you are investing in small pieces does not mean that you don't need to rebalance your portfolio, watch for changes in fund managers or in the economic environment, etc. So part of the problem is not DCA itself, but the fact that other investment issues still have to be taken care of. Indeed, one broker refers to the "no-brainer DCA", the equivalent of Smyth's "blind DCA".

Conclusions
DCA does not provide any real kind of guaranteed return and/or risk reduction. And it certainly does not work well in all market situations. Furthermore, research in the area indicates that lump-sum investing tends to perform better over the longer term.

Nonetheless, DCA is far less nerve-wracking than a lump-sum investment, and if there is a major bear market around the corner, it can really pay off. In some situations, it is an ideal way of controlling both risk and stress.

You can also treat DCA as just one of the strategies that you use in your overall portfolio (in other words, it makes sense to use it as a form of diversification), but as with those other strategies, you still need to monitor, manage and rebalance your DCA investments. (Read more about diversification and balance in Risk And Diversification and Rebalance Your Portfolio To Stay On Track.)

Finally, regular investing is a lot better than no investing at all. If the choice is between putting away $50 a month or treating yourself to an extra night on the town, it is clear which option will see you through your old age.

http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Dollar_cost_averaging
When you are ready to invest money, a common question is whether you should invest it as a lump sum or Dollar Cost Average (DCA) by splitting your investment across several payments. The answer depends on your psychology.

In most cases, you are moving your money from cash (or the equivalent, a low-yielding money market) to some mix of stocks and bonds. The expected value of both stocks and bonds are higher than cash. However, their volatility is higher as well. The risk is that just after making your investment, the market could crash, causing you to feel bad that you invested when you did.

Of course, according to Bogleheads Investment Philosophy, you should only be investing in the first place into a diversified asset allocation. Also, you should only be holding volatile funds like stocks and bonds if your investing horizon is long enough to ride out their volatility.

For a completely rational investor, lump sum investing will always produce a higher expected return, because it immediately moves your funds from asset classes with lower expected returns to ones with higher expected returns. Note that higher expected returns do not guarantee that your actual returns will be higher. According to an investopedia article, [6] studies indicate that lump sum investing has produced higher returns 66% of the time.

Some investors have the goal, not of maximizing their expected returns, but of minimizing their potential regret. For those investors, dollar cost averaging is superior because it reduces the chances of investing just prior to a market drop. If you instead decide to invest 1/6th of the money each month for 6 months, you will reduce the chance of buying just before a crash. Instead, as the price fluctuates each month, you will buy more shares when the price is low and less when it is high.

Many new investors are more interested in minimizing their potential regret, and it's important that an ill-timed market drop not scare them off from investing in the future. Many experienced investors are more interested in maximizing their expected returns. You can also decide to split the difference, where you invest half immediately and the other half over 6 or so months.
never really thought that lump sum investment would yield better return in the long term, i would consider it then
j.passing.by
post Jun 16 2014, 08:30 PM

1,639 posts

"However, in normal terms where we dont have $100K lump sum every year or three, then DCA, VCA or value hunting makes more sense coz if we just hold and time, bila nak masuk?"

"Nonetheless, DCA is far less nerve-wracking than a lump-sum investment, and if there is a major bear market around the corner, it can really pay off. In some situations, it is an ideal way of controlling both risk and stress."

Agreed with above. But investing yearly, whether it is 10k or 100k, can also be considered DCA if we do it 20-30 years.

And if I read it correctly as in the last part of the post (http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Dollar_cost_averaging), lump sum investing is defined as a one-short, once-in-a-lifetime entire investment immediately.

This would means EPF withdrawal at age 50 or 55 for most of us. Might be too late to teach old dogs new tricks... investing is also an emotional game, and even though the market will turn around when there is a down turn, and even when all the financial experts advised against selling, new investors at that age (and at any age too) will tend to pull out...

wongmunkeong
post Jun 16 2014, 08:38 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 16 2014, 08:30 PM)
"However, in normal terms where we dont have $100K lump sum every year or three, then DCA, VCA or value hunting makes more sense coz if we just hold and time, bila nak masuk?"

"Nonetheless, DCA is far less nerve-wracking than a lump-sum investment, and if there is a major bear market around the corner, it can really pay off. In some situations, it is an ideal way of controlling both risk and stress."

Agreed with above. But investing yearly, whether it is 10k or 100k, can also be considered DCA if we do it 20-30 years.

And if I read it correctly as in the last part of the post (http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Dollar_cost_averaging), lump sum investing is defined as a one-short, once-in-a-lifetime entire investment immediately.

This would means EPF withdrawal at age 50 or 55 for most of us. Might be too late to teach old dogs new tricks... investing is also an emotional game, and even though the market will turn around when there is a down turn, and even when all the financial experts advised against selling, new investors at that age (and at any age too) will tend to pull out...
U got a point there - laugh.gif like that 10 years once also DCA lar.
eh - but then ar, in 10 years time, the lump sum will most probably be more than the lump sum now leh, thus DCA meh? brows.gif
j.passing.by
post Jun 16 2014, 08:46 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 16 2014, 08:38 PM)
U got a point there - laugh.gif like that 10 years once also DCA lar.
eh - but then ar, in 10 years time, the lump sum will most probably be more than the lump sum now leh, thus DCA meh? brows.gif
well, that 'professional' article points out that even dividing the investment into 1/6th or 6 months is DCA. In your case, its 60 years. tongue.gif
kabal82
post Jun 16 2014, 09:00 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

Btw, sifu & others... how come no news regarding the FSM magazine? Already discontinued?
kabal82
post Jun 16 2014, 09:15 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

Another thing... how come my RSP for EI GEM still cost me 1% sales charge only? Same thing occur to me last month as well... hmm.gif
TakoC
post Jun 16 2014, 09:38 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jun 16 2014, 08:34 PM)
Is my invesment in lump of RM10k to 20k per fund considered as lump sum investment? did it at 0%SC promo fr eunittrust.com.my.?
Hi, Sir. Yes, it's what they said a lump sum investment. When you hear the term "DCA", it means more like a monthly top up thing.
xuzen
post Jun 16 2014, 10:23 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jun 16 2014, 08:34 PM)
Is my invesment in lump of RM10k to 20k per fund considered as lump sum investment? did it at 0%SC promo fr eunittrust.com.my.?
It is all relative. If your RM10k is 1% of total investable asset, then it is not lump sum, more like DCA.

If this RM10k is 50% of your total investable asset, then it is considered lump sum.

I have client who has half a mil investable asset I asked him to put in RM 10 to RM20k per mth, the rest put into money market first.

Xuzen

p/s I have client who is withdrawing close to RM2,000 per mth from his portfolio (just profit alone without touching the principle) and he does not have to wait for distribution, I just sell his equivalent units. Who says unit trust cannot make money wan?

What I am trying to get at is, despite the negative perception about unit trust, I have seen with my own eyes, investors who manage to generate another stream of income through their investment from unit trust.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 16 2014, 10:29 PM
xuzen
post Jun 16 2014, 10:30 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jun 16 2014, 10:28 PM)
how much investment required to get that RM2000/month.. hmm.gif
RM450k. That is like a conservative 5.5% per annum. And this is only touching his profit, I mean, if he continues like this, technically his asset is perpetual.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jun 16 2014, 10:32 PM
j.passing.by
post Jun 16 2014, 10:35 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 16 2014, 04:18 PM)
http://www.moneychimp.com/features/dollar_cost.htm

http://ibd.morningstar.com/article/article...Id=12,%20brf295

That's something you have to think about.
Agreed with above; that there is an advantage to invest a big sum of money all at once (lump sum investment) than splitting it (DCA investment).

But I would rather take the option of investing as early as possible while we work, earn, and save without accumulating the sum of money into a big pile.

This lump sum versus DCA is academic! sad.gif Or maybe not... as there's my EPF. smile.gif

(That's why I was not too happy with EPF's new basic savings table which is holding back too much.)

j.passing.by
post Jun 16 2014, 10:45 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 16 2014, 10:30 PM)
RM450k. That is like a conservative 5.5% per annum. And this is only touching his profit, I mean, if he continues like this, technically his asset is perpetual.

Xuzen
I'm aiming for 4%. (If I wanted to have 2k/mth, this means 2k x 12 x 25 = 600k)

Anything above 4% is plough back for inflation. Truly perpetual.

(Keep in touch.)

xuzen
post Jun 16 2014, 10:54 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 16 2014, 10:30 PM)

Xuzen
I wish to impress upon you guys, RM450k post retirement is quite achievable. It is very close to reality. I mean, given a regular Joe who start work around 21 y/o and contribute to EPF, by the time he retires, he easily can get half a mil. If you are a high income earner, two mils is a reality post retirement.

The person above so far is 90% fixed income and 10% equities. My target for him, via DCA is 70% fixed income. His RM 2,000/mth income stream has potential to grow.

j.Passing.by, 4% is too low, you owe yourself to make your money work harder. Aim for around 6% nett of fees.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jun 16 2014, 10:58 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jun 16 2014, 10:51 PM)
5.5%?? too low...for me.

UT >> FD..thats why i park >> RM100k into UT.. to get at least 10% per annum..

i getting about 1.8% per month..

Other UT..average RM500/month for RM50k investment.  whistling.gif
Managing UT is not just about getting the best ROI, it is about managing client's expectation. I cannot put high percentage into risky fund for a retiree. There are other factors for me to consider.

If I want to get 12% p.a ROI, it is quite simple, just increase the equity portion. In fact some of the good local funds hit 20% p.a. for the past three to five years.

Xuzen
j.passing.by
post Jun 16 2014, 11:10 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 16 2014, 10:54 PM)
j.Passing.by, 4% is too low, you owe yourself to make your money work harder. Aim for around 6% nett of fees.

Xuzen
You misread... the 4% is how much I aim the pool size to be by withdrawing only 4% annually. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jun 16 2014, 11:44 PM
Kaka23
post Jun 17 2014, 10:23 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 16 2014, 11:54 PM)
I wish to impress upon you guys, RM450k post retirement is quite achievable. It is very close to reality. I mean, given a regular Joe who start work around 21 y/o and contribute to EPF, by the time he retires, he easily can get half a mil. If you are a high income earner, two mils is a reality post retirement.

The person above so far is 90% fixed income and 10% equities. My target for him, via DCA is 70% fixed income. His RM  2,000/mth income stream has potential to grow.

Xuzen
Bro.. how long has your this client been investing in UT. 90% FI to get 5.5% at current situation is amazing!
kimyee73
post Jun 17 2014, 10:28 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jun 16 2014, 04:14 PM)
based on whose study? Which economist can beat the market consistently over a long term period?

profit and risk are inter-related, can you ignore the risk while chasing for high return?

anyway, there is no way to justify lump sum investment approach can generate higher long term profit because there are other investment approach such as VCA. Some of the members here use this method including myself.
I'm late to this discussion but I have done backtesting myself several months ago based on 8 years of data. Lump sum always give better return than DCA provided you perform value cost averaging after the lump sum. After my backtesting, I lump sum all instead of continuing with my DCA. Now I'm maintaining it with VCA. If you don't perform VCA, your lump sum return may lower than no VCA method depending on when you did the lump sum. But one thing, make sure lump sum into funds with good 5-10 years consistent track record than those 1-2 year funds that looks good short term. You don't want to lump sum with fund that the price nose dive and never resurface like those China funds.
Kaka23
post Jun 17 2014, 10:40 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jun 17 2014, 11:28 AM)
I'm late to this discussion but I have done backtesting myself several months ago based on 8 years of data. Lump sum always give better return than DCA provided you perform value cost averaging after the lump sum. After my backtesting, I lump sum all instead of continuing with my DCA. Now I'm maintaining it with VCA. If you don't perform VCA, your lump sum return may lower than no VCA method depending on when you did the lump sum. But one thing, make sure lump sum into funds with good 5-10 years consistent track record than those 1-2 year funds that looks good short term. You don't want to lump sum with fund that the price nose dive and never resurface like those China funds.
So lump sum into Kenanga Growth fund la...??!
kimyee73
post Jun 17 2014, 10:46 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 17 2014, 10:40 AM)
So lump sum into Kenanga Growth fund la...??!
I did that and I'm glad I did it but KGF is only 14% of my portfolio. Before this I was DCA-ing rm100 monthly.
Kaka23
post Jun 17 2014, 11:22 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jun 17 2014, 11:46 AM)
I did that and I'm glad I did it but KGF is only 14% of my portfolio. Before this I was DCA-ing rm100 monthly.
which equity fund has the biggest percentage in your portfolio?
kimyee73
post Jun 17 2014, 11:57 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 17 2014, 11:22 AM)
which equity fund has the biggest percentage in your portfolio?
They are all the same 14%. Everyone have equal opportunity biggrin.gif

130 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:01 PM