Fundsupermart.com v6, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

wongmunkeong
post Apr 10 2014, 11:05 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 10 2014, 10:41 AM)
FSM keeps recommending Russia. This seems insane to me, given the risk of more Putin adventurism and increased sanctions from the rest of the world. Not to mention the moral issues involved.
May be insane to U but for those contrarians that "buys fear, sells greed", makes sense.

Case in point - Indonesia & India about 6 mths+/- back when Indonesia crashed >20+%
and India too with capital controls imposed to control capital flight.
Now look at them IF one bought in AFTER the crash with fear lingering around (smell of dead bodies & blood spilled) and lots of "experts" saying their GDP vs debt can't hold will kaboom, etc. etc.

Note - "experts" predict only not actual fact. Actual fact known at that time = crashed a heckuva lot.

Just a thought. notworthy.gif

Added:
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/russian-stoc...UZTJHIAfe.TmYlQ
http://www.cleareyesinvesting.com/2014/04/...-stupid-as.html
brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Apr 10 2014, 11:39 AM
wongmunkeong
post Apr 17 2014, 01:21 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 17 2014, 01:12 PM)
Must be investing with margin account.

NEVER invest with borrowed money, my opinion.
Quantitative expert-san Pinky - NEVER ever ar?

What if i can get 4.99%pa loan 3 years tenure (Citibank cash on call heheh),
AND my flexi mortgage is 4.4%pa (thus while waiting to use loan $ / opportunity, i don't lose much)
AND my trading /investing vehicle can near guarantee hit >= 8%pa when i execute (may have to hold >1yr though)
AND my debt/equity ratio is less than 20% including the new loan (and including all debts/mortgages)
AND most importantly, my emergency buffer can more than cover the monthly payments IF any "black swan" happens...

Safe enough, right?
heheh - just checking another opinion for my er.. bright idea / stupidity done notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Apr 17 2014, 01:22 PM
wongmunkeong
post Apr 17 2014, 02:32 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 17 2014, 01:24 PM)
Oops, here comes Mr Direct Access rolleyes.gif

Yeah if you're quite sure and/or your investment is quite secure, by all means go leveraged.

E.g. housing loan 4% EFFECTIVE RATE, REIT dividend yield 6% icon_idea.gif

But if leverage to gamble trade highly speculative counters...hell no sweat.gif
Trading options (selling options to get premiums) leh? tongue.gif
eg.
speculative option selling based on standard deviation / probabilities of strike price sold being hit within a specific timeline
+
out of 3 possible movements (no move much, move kakaload against me, move kakaload for me), can win 2 (no move much, move as planned)

eh - direct access best lar, dance like snake then try try no fun.
yoda says do, or do not. there is no try brows.gif
wongmunkeong
post Apr 18 2014, 02:22 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 18 2014, 02:13 PM)
for me writing options is like picking pennies in front of steamroller. Some are good at it though. I would rather go with long call/put.
i like "steam rollers" as long as i know their max speed and standard deviations tongue.gif

if not.. eee.. scary & not profitable in long term sweat.gif
btw, i've already factored in losses and it still makes sense long run. only worry is i got the % laugh.gif
oh well, it's just using my "crazy $" account.

oo - back to FSM.
eh - anyone saw that "reverse 2013" thing?
ie. most asset classes/sub-classes that were dogs in 2013, made good $ so far in 2014 (Vs. those that did well in 2014).
eg. frontier market, gold, emerging market
vs
Developed mkts
wongmunkeong
post Apr 23 2014, 09:21 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 23 2014, 09:15 PM)
Today my UT portfolio is at all time high. Previously my all time high is May last year.
ahem ahem.. <playing devil's advocate>
what happened after hitting all time high, say within a month or two? biggrin.gif
wongmunkeong
post Apr 25 2014, 09:50 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 25 2014, 08:32 PM)
I see the wholesale fund that FSM offering needs initial investment of 10k.  Subsequent investment of 1K
er.. RM10K & RM1K? no biggie what - why lar need to be of certain level of income or investable assets?
er.. i'm AssUMe-ing this relates to Franklin Templeton funds

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Apr 25 2014, 09:51 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 4 2014, 10:07 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 4 2014, 12:02 AM)
why FSM always auto log me out?
its less than 3 minit then log me out
FSM's systems can't deal with load balancers - ie. if your IP changes during your session, U get logged out the moment U click on a new page. My office uses 2 ISPs thus my experience + confirmation from FSM's IT
On my home's Unifi - no issue >= 5mins.

BTW, were U using ABNXcess OR your office's Internet when your "3 mins time-out" happened?

wongmunkeong
post May 5 2014, 11:41 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ May 5 2014, 11:36 AM)
NO

Please read Post #1 THOROUGHLY

And especially try to understand how the NAV price of a unit trust is calculated (esp FAQ No. 2 & 4)
Noticed lots of spoon-feed me newbies (even some oldbies) coming in?
Market's topping? brows.gif

time to <'ala Kramer> - "SELL SELL SELL!" ??heheh
wongmunkeong
post May 7 2014, 09:27 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 7 2014, 07:58 PM)
No.

Load balancer have persistance routing turned on which mean any port 443 will using same IP for entire session, mean IP will not change
U must be right - somehow must be both ISPs have problem with FSM site.
Every day, every time.
At the same time, on another similar configured PC on Digi or Celcom broadband - no issue.
Must be the dang ISPs.
Thanks for explaining all load balancers for sure uses persistance routing and port 443. notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 03:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 12 2014, 02:36 PM)
yawn.gif  cool2.gif
just something to past time while waiting....waiting....waiting......

Anyone who has been on a long car journey with children in the back seat will know just how demanding the trip can sometimes be.
Generally, things tend to start off on a fairly good footing with everyone filled with excitement. But it doesn’t take long before the inevitable “are we there yet” question pops up.
What are responsible parents supposed to do in that situation?

Has The Bull Market Run Out Of Steam?

http://www.fool.sg/2014/05/11/has-the-bull...n-out-of-steam/
(click refresh when prompted to sign in)
Offtopic alert
Play I-spy... word games, etc. - think & talk, nothing written else accident waiting to happen tongue.gif
OR
throw them yr mobile phone to play - which is constantly charged via your lighter - USB thinggy smile.gif

From another parent.

back to topic - when most "experts agree" something will happen in the financial markets... high probability it won't happen
OR the opposite happens (lower probability than it wont happen)
ie it's like a dang ship - if most passengers run to portside coz "they know what will happen", what really happens?

wongmunkeong
post May 16 2014, 11:03 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 16 2014, 02:07 AM)
Looks like US markets get beating quite bad today..
Not much impact in terms of S&P index mar - Wed hit highest high, Thu scaled back down - ok ar
hit below 1800 lar - then starts to get interesting tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jun 1 2014, 11:55 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Jun 1 2014, 10:57 AM)
Guys, a question on cmf.

I've invested in cmf for more than 6 months & the profit I earned is 1.5%
I checked the FAQ & realised interest earned is not compounded. So, even the net interest is 3% above as stated in the website, the returns is still lower compared to fd due to cmf is not a compound interest fund?
ahem..
U mean this?
Q: WHAT IS THE INTEREST RATE I CAN EARN ON MY CASH PARKED IN THE CASH MANAGEMENT FUND?

A: The returns of the Cash Management Fund will be determined by the fluctuation of the daily NAV price.
Any profit (interest) earned will be shown in your holding immediately based on the latest NAV price given. The profit/interest earned will not be compounded. If the investors want to get back the profit earned, they would have to redeem the fund.

from: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/faq.svdo?id=9718#6

Well, U can take it as U did but did U actually ask this portion:
"..Any profit (interest) earned will be shown in your holding immediately based on the latest NAV price given."

Taking the whole paragraph, my understanding of what FSM is saying:
Look here - everything's in the NAV.
We dont guarantee kaka on interest thus the NAV fluctuations will determine yr profits.
Yes - profits, not interest.
We do NOT guarantee profits nor interest. This is an investment - a money market investment.

Just a thought notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jun 3 2014, 03:14 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Jun 2 2014, 10:37 PM)
Thanks and I hope the lowyat readers are aware that the returns are not similar to fd and heck, lower than savings acct interest!

For me, back to learn more about investing & finance...
er.. the returns MAY be lower, equals or higher than FD.
Where does it say lower than FD or savings a/c ar? or based on yr own timing & returns?
Note - yr reality may not be the reality of others that has $ in CMF before or after yr date in leh.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 3 2014, 03:16 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 3 2014, 10:28 AM)
Read Post #1 THOROUGHLY, this question has been repeated over and over again.
U also getting sian with all these "feed me" spooners? tongue.gif
U too young to be jaded leh hehe.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 3 2014, 03:19 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 3 2014, 03:17 PM)
What to do, too stressed with work.

Needs Direct Access™ icon_question.gif
Gather the usual suspects this weekend and let's go "direct investing" tongue.gif
Time of entry should be 2pm for better options & choices of base-stocks drool.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jun 13 2014, 08:04 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 12 2014, 11:07 PM)
Please understand what is unit trust and how CMF works.

CMF is NOT FD nor savings account, it is a unit trust fund THAT INVESTS SOLELY IN DEPOSITS.

CMF interest is not compounded (in fact, it is misleading to use the word "interest" in this context), but the fund manager uses the interest earned by the fund to PLACE ADDITIONAL DEPOSITS.
aiyo Pink - dont argue with these flers lar.
they'll drag U down to their muggle-level & beat U silly with experience.

Most of us here are talking about CMF's returns "similar to FD 1yr with total flexibility for in/out flow to invest"
and about NAV, not interest compounded.
They talking about FD without total flexibility, interest compounded and starts going into laddering.
Want to talk pure FD talk in FSM thread..
sigh.. like comparing being vegan in an omnivore thread.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 13 2014, 08:06 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 13 2014, 10:44 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jun 13 2014, 07:11 PM)
IMO, higher distribution is better..i.e. more units is given to the holder. No doubt, total amt profit/loss is the same, but once NAV is gaining, your profit is getting fatter & fatter..
er.. U serious ar?
There is a difference if
Distribution, more units BUT lowered NAV, then NAV grow say 9%
VS
No distribution, same units, no lowered NAV then NAV grow same 9%
? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 13 2014, 10:46 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 14 2014, 12:09 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jun 13 2014, 11:31 PM)
thanks for your enlightment, but why we invest in UT in the 1st place?, since u guys mention no difference at all!

before or after distribution, remains the same. Correct but  PLease dont tell me, you know better than me or any street person.  doh.gif

to me, there will be increase of profit gain..after distribution,

for example,

[visible to us, investors]

NAV 1.05   10000 units   = RM 10,500

after distribution of 0.05 per unit = 500 units
NAV back to 1.00 with 10500 units = RM10,500

[*] NAV goes up (if market drops), NAV goes even higher (if market goes higher), that why some UT yield better than others.
[not visible to investors]

other investor may buy at cheaper NAV (after distribution), so more $$ for FMgr to leverage for more profit. More $$, more mgt fee for them. Incentive to perform.

NAV = still increase, although KLCI or other market drops [*]

Thinking back, wasting time to inform those 'expert' who knows everything, thru the books 'spreadsheet', but other mechanism doesnt work.
er.. U do know that UTs <> stocks right?
Thus, more $ from uncles & aunties into the fund does NOT mean more cash chasing up the NAV or billions more for fund manager to fling.
UTs' fund size is governed by SC - have U not seen some UTs being "closed" to new buys?
http://www.sc.com.my/legislation-guideline...stment-schemes/
search for "Application to increase fund size for a unit trust fund"

We're all here to learn.
I was just pointing out in numbers your stated logic earlier.
Please do share actual data and not anecdotes of invisible stuff - benda halus ke?
Just because i farted & thunderstorm started doesn't mean kaka - have to look into the actual underlying causation, right?

Anyhow, have U read the statistics that the bigger the fund becomes, the harder for it to maintain its profitability / CAGR?

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 14 2014, 12:11 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 14 2014, 12:14 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 13 2014, 11:37 PM)
Never underestimate the lure of distribution to lay-person aka uncle and aunties.

To them, distribution = dividend. Manyak syiok wan.

Something for those UTC to talk about. "Hey auntie, auntie... see, your unit increase ady. Good rite?"

UT without Dividend ahem... I mean distribution is boring lar... like those stupid Insurance Investment Link type, never give distribution wan... NAV hit RM 3.XX... crazy wan.

Psycho psycho... investor where got wanna buy leh?

Xuzen
Dude - U gotta hand it to them marketing BS lor.
<insert curses and hexes for evil marketing BS people here> tongue.gif

Can con ppl about laying more eggs during distribution BUT didnt tell whole-truth - them eggs all smaller eggs and if one weighs them, dagnabit - total weight same! doh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 14 2014, 12:18 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 14 2014, 09:33 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 14 2014, 06:54 AM)
Don't lar curse and hex.... It is all about cari makan only. I mean let's look from a psychological point of view. Every day ask money from uncle & auntie, never give anything.... Lama lama, customer sure boring wan.

They will kow peh kow bu... Why stockmarket got dividend, UT boh eh? Very potong stim wan lar!

That is why UT company in order to play the game and pander to the retail investors come out with something similar, called it distribution and voila! Customers happy, UT companies happy, agents pun happy. And all live happily ever after!

Xuzen

P/s Disclaimer: I am a UT agent but mainly for myself (to lower cost of transaction and for close family members and friends) I stopped acting smart and telling about how distribution is just an illusion. I just go with the customers level of smartness and play my role I.e, "Wah! Distribution Lai liao! Hoh Sei!"
GoldQuest, Geneva Gold, Scratch & Win all also cari makan mar tongue.gif
Hoh Sei! bwahaha - when stupids insist on being thus, we aren't taking advantage right?
Law of the jungle - predator & prey drool.gif

0.0532sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:05 AM