125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club Ya'll! v2

jaswwp
post Aug 21 2006, 09:24 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Strange my fish gets it although I change the water every 4 days or so. Any brand of medicine recommended? Or as long as its for popeye then its ok?
meiteoh
post Aug 21 2006, 09:56 AM

280 posts

Jas: Here's what I found out:

From arofanatics (betta fellas from singapore):
Cloudy eye/ Pop eye
Anti internal bacteria and salt

In all situation use salt. therefore in normal daily water change dun add salt. Ketapang leaves can help too, in fact, help a lot.
Dosage of med, according to instructions or trial and error.

From bettatalk:
uGENERAL INFO:

If you always keep your betta's water very clean, he is not very likely to get Popeye. Popeye is a bacterial infection usually caused by poor water condition (in other words filthy water because you were too darn lazy to get off the couch and attend to your betta!!!). but popeye can also be the tip of the iceberg, the external sign that something inside Mr. Betta is going very wrong. For example, tuberculosis will sometimes result in popeye. In that case, the popeye may not be curable or even if it gets better the fish will die (because tuberculosis is not curable and always kills its host). In short the fish will have died, not of the popeye itself, but because of the more serious disease that triggered it

uSYMPTOMS:
One or both of Mr. Betta's eyes start bulging out. In about 2 to 7 days the eye might look so grotesque you will be afraid to look at your betta. Casimodo on a bad day will look more attractive then your betta at that point!! Please do not destroy your betta! In many cases, the bettas make a full recovery from it and look normal again, as if nothing had happened. Only some of the popeye cases are caused by the terminal diseases mentioned above and will result in your betta dying. The rest will heal nicely if caught early and treated aggressively (see below). During outbreak, betta may be less active, may stop eating.

uTREATMENT:
As I said, popeye is usually not fatal and Mr. Betta will often fully recover. On occasion he may lose an eye. But if you catch it right away, he should be fine. Immediately do a full water change. Keep his water very clean, changing it every third day. After putting him in clean water, add the antibiotic Ampicillin to his water. It has become difficult to find on the market and can be costly, but if you can find a 12 capsule quantity, it will be well worth the $10 to $12 investment. This medication usually comes in capsules. A full capsule usually treats 10 gal of water. So for a 1/2 gallon of water, open the capsule and take the right proportion of powder and sprinkle on jar water. You may steer gently with a disposable plastic spoon. This is a white powder and will not affect the color of the water. Do not overmedicate! Once Betta's eyes are back to normal, keep treating for one more week (just to be sure) and then stop the medication. And keep his water clean from now on darn it!!

From ultimatebettas.com:
Pop eye and swim bladder infections are caused by gram-positive bacteria. Corynebacterium is the culprit. the drug of choice would be erythromycin, found in Maracyn. Maracyn 2 is Minocycline, not the drug of choice for this disorder.

Use the antibiotic for 10 days, despite what the label or directions tell you to do. This will fix your fish.
ynneb25
post Aug 21 2006, 05:32 PM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Aug 21 2006, 09:24 AM)
Strange my fish gets it although I change the water every 4 days or so. Any brand of medicine recommended? Or as long as its for popeye then its ok?
4 days is too long...i used to change the water everyday! 2 days is also fine but 4 days is definitely too long. Any branded medicing will do the trick...just make sure it is medicine for pop eye...not the fish shop's universal medicine(the green coloured liquid) tongue.gif Good luck to your fish!! thumbup.gif
jaswwp
post Aug 21 2006, 08:36 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Ok, will try to change the water more often then. I bought Ocean Free Internal Bacteria & Ulcer Away, it says on the label it can be used to cure popeye as well.
Quote my dad: " It costs more than 6 of your bettas !" Oh well *shrugs*
ynneb25
post Aug 22 2006, 11:02 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Aug 21 2006, 08:36 PM)
Ok, will try to change the water more often then. I bought Ocean Free Internal Bacteria & Ulcer Away, it says on the label it can be used to cure popeye as well.
Quote my dad: " It costs more than 6 of your bettas !" Oh well *shrugs*
sweat.gif what can you do? bettas are so cheap nowadays...its totally different if u are rearing show quality bettas...and after all, you only need to use a few drops of the medication tongue.gif
TSJitticus
post Aug 22 2006, 10:50 PM

328 posts

Yes, keep a red HM and see if your dad tells you the same thing tongue.gif

TSJitticus
post Aug 22 2006, 10:59 PM

328 posts

Yuekuan, so when is your fren coming to get his fish? I have more ppl coming and I need place to store new show pieces. smile.gif
Reanne
post Aug 23 2006, 05:39 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

I saw a petstore selling a HM and DT for RM108.... Do you think that's a rip off?
yuekuan
post Aug 23 2006, 06:33 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(Jitticus @ Aug 22 2006, 10:59 PM)
Yuekuan, so when is your fren coming to get his fish? I have more ppl coming and I need place to store new show pieces. smile.gif
Will contact u after i asked him
happy.gif
Sorry for making u waiting
hehe

ynneb25
post Aug 23 2006, 06:36 PM

708 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Aug 23 2006, 05:39 PM)
I saw a petstore selling a HM and DT for RM108.... Do you think that's a rip off?
TOTALLY! tongue.gif the HM and DT lines are unknown so got no guarantees....better off buying from betta breeders tongue.gif maybe cheaper
meiteoh
post Aug 23 2006, 09:41 PM

280 posts

Bah. I don't think I want to keep bettas anymore. I was doing PK's water change and noticed that he has raised scales. It looks like dropsy. ~_~
ynneb25
post Aug 23 2006, 11:16 PM

708 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Aug 23 2006, 09:41 PM)
Bah. I don't think I want to keep bettas anymore. I was doing PK's water change and noticed that he has raised scales. It looks like dropsy. ~_~
dropsy? wow...that only happened to me once because i was still noobish then and i used to change the water whenever i feel like up to it:P
nazisson
post Aug 24 2006, 03:43 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(ynneb25 @ Aug 23 2006, 11:16 PM)
dropsy? wow...that only happened to me once because i was still noobish then and i used to change the water whenever i feel like up to it:P
dropsy.. so,why tiz problem happen 2 betta r?? what the coz??
nazisson
post Aug 24 2006, 03:44 AM

122 posts

-sorry double post- sweat.gif

This post has been edited by nazisson: Aug 24 2006, 03:47 AM
meiteoh
post Aug 24 2006, 07:48 AM

280 posts

Dunno. I change water every five days, put in aquasafe, blackwater extract and salt. When I got him, he had a bit of finrot, so I put in melafix. That was like a week ago. And he only takes FD bloodworms. So bleh.
jaswwp
post Aug 24 2006, 09:29 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Aug 23 2006, 09:41 PM)
Sorry to hear that. My fish isnt getting any better either, although I am medicating him and changing water more often. I think he is already blind in that eye because he doesnt give responce when I wave my finger on his "blind" side. Still having good appetite though, so I'll just wait and see how it goes.
ynneb25
post Aug 24 2006, 10:07 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Aug 24 2006, 09:29 AM)
Sorry to hear that. My fish isnt getting any better either, although I am medicating him and changing water more often. I think he is already blind in that eye because he doesnt give responce when I wave my finger on his "blind" side. Still having good appetite though, so I'll just wait and see how it goes.
if your fish has dropsy, there is a very slim chance of curing it....pop eye will just take time....maybe a week or so...
meiteoh
post Aug 24 2006, 10:17 AM

280 posts

Ynneb: Yeah, I know. That's why I have resigned myself to letting PK enjoy the rest of his days eating bloodworms and living in a clean big bungalow. :S
ynneb25
post Aug 24 2006, 08:34 PM

708 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Aug 24 2006, 10:17 AM)
Ynneb: Yeah, I know. That's why I have resigned myself to letting PK enjoy the rest of his days eating bloodworms and living in a clean big bungalow. :S
a slim chance...still got chance ma...its like cancer to humans...still got chance to live...leave the betta on medication and see how things go...good luck!!
jaswwp
post Aug 26 2006, 11:27 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Argh, my fish now has more problems. Notice the edges of his fins seem to have round grey stuff on them. I have been changing the water every 2 days now, wonder why the problems are increasing.

125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0153sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:18 PM