10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Gen2 Club, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

pacer
post Jul 23 2006, 09:01 PM

618 posts

owner here rclxms.gif

u sure 185km/h only? auto? mods?
pacer
post Jul 26 2006, 08:49 PM

618 posts

don worry lah, air filter will not void waranty, but only got to tell them not to air gun the KnN, ortherwise cry.gif

pacer
post Aug 4 2006, 01:08 AM

618 posts

actually it works, it improves a bit of the low end torque from what i can feel from my butt dyno, and also nice intake sound biggrin.gif

for mine, i didnt buy the RM80 units, custom made it from aluminium, well it works tongue.gif

pacer
post Aug 4 2006, 01:32 PM

618 posts

this is the first prototype, a bit rough, but second one will be better la tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pacer: Aug 4 2006, 01:32 PM
pacer
post Aug 4 2006, 01:46 PM

618 posts

135hp cams should not be a problem, minus 10-15% drivetrain loses should be ard 115-120 horses on wheels.... but i dont think its just cams on a stock car...

if compared to stock,
thats about 20 horses more on wheel compared to a stock campro engine ohmy.gif

ask them to dyno prove it rclxms.gif
pacer
post Aug 4 2006, 02:00 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Aug 4 2006, 01:52 PM)
so u mean, after installing this cam, our g2 become 135hp? or will add another 135hp??

if the second option, then i die die oso must buy one liao lor. biggrin.gif

Btw pacer,
watz the different in width between the stock snorkel and ur current aluminium one?
or couse after cams is 135hp total (or what they claim)

width ahh? hmmm didnt measure la tongue.gif, but i guess its abt the same width as the black tube at the back

pacer
post Aug 4 2006, 02:02 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 4 2006, 02:00 PM)
http://www.racerallyresearch.com/mme_edition/12.html

About 118 Hp on wheel, the car is supposed to be RM58 K only which is damn cheap considering the upgrades given to the car.
58K for what?

10.5 sec 0-100, seems slow
pacer
post Aug 4 2006, 02:05 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 4 2006, 02:04 PM)
I bought mine at 56K you know.
i know, i have one too, but what are u referring to at 58K? the mme editon 200 units?

that car DO NOT come with the cams, only bodykit, springs, plug cables,16 inch rims and tires and slotted disc

ur car, 56K is the highline version rite? so if take a normal version at 52K, thats 5K more, still think that its not that worth it, at the right place those items can be done at the same price

This post has been edited by pacer: Aug 4 2006, 02:17 PM
pacer
post Aug 4 2006, 02:18 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Aug 4 2006, 02:13 PM)
Sorry bro misunderstood, what i meant was the car's selling price is expected to be RM58,000.
icic smile.gif
pacer
post Aug 4 2006, 10:04 PM

618 posts

shackks,
not they overated it, just that i think u misunderstood what those figures ment

hp is calculated on engine
BHP is on wheel

proton claim that there is 110HP for the gen2 1.6
minus 10%-15% for manual and 15-15% for auto and u get the estimated BHP

This post has been edited by pacer: Aug 4 2006, 10:05 PM
pacer
post Aug 7 2006, 11:34 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Aug 7 2006, 12:59 PM)
thinkin getting front strut and lower arm.... which should i go for?? UR or zendan....

btw... i think shell new formula really givinf more mileage.. smile.gif
i got full tank for 350km... which is more den petronas....
i suggest u go for zenden as UR is not KIND to ur chasis
why u want a lower arm bar? does it work?
the gen2 already has a more or less boxed up shaped lower arm mounts (compared to wira U shaped)
i suggest its better to get rear strut bars, i have them and they are great

good luck

This post has been edited by pacer: Aug 7 2006, 11:44 PM
pacer
post Aug 8 2006, 11:10 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Aug 8 2006, 08:36 AM)
Erm... not really know why i want that also.. hahaha
haha.... put in the front one first lah, the rear one not important unless u are a handling freek... (read: gila corner) tongue.gif
pacer
post Aug 8 2006, 11:18 PM

618 posts

try ZTH, think a lot selling there which is quite cheap.. smile.gif
pacer
post Aug 9 2006, 12:11 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Aug 9 2006, 12:08 PM)
Guys, wanna ask something and I really hope for some useful input.

Have anyone here installed the Auto Timer and the Shift Light.

Not to discussed abt the practicality here but to discuss abt the possibility.

I've got someone telling me that he didn't manage to install it after a few tries.

As our ECU is highly intelligent(read stupiak), therefore, installing these gadgets might cause haywire to it...

wat do u guys think abt this??

and lastly, where the hell can i locate the ECU in my car??

thanks in advance.
cheers.
dunno about installing those stuff but i would also like to know can or not tongue.gif

anyway the ECU is loated behind the 3 knobs that controll air con...

pacer
post Aug 9 2006, 08:45 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Aug 9 2006, 08:18 PM)
hi guys,

i will be gen2 driver soon... my family going to get a new gen2, perhaps this sat will hunt around... smile.gif

our main target is going to the proton's COE which nearby my house... except that, have any recommended proton dealer around? not prefer those FKK dealer and deliver the problematic car to me...
since when proton didnt deliver problematic cars? vmad.gif

anyway, i think its best u go to mutiara damansara or coe, at least they cannot run when u want to claim waranty and stuff.

good luck
pacer
post Aug 10 2006, 10:03 AM

618 posts

shackks

nolah, just that i had a major problem when i got the car. dealer cannot solve then ask me to go to coe. then coe say 'thats why la, buy form dealer, got problem then come to us...." so i guess its better buy form coe.

southern where, i also southern... jb

This post has been edited by pacer: Aug 10 2006, 10:04 AM
pacer
post Aug 23 2006, 03:29 AM

618 posts

juz curious since i'm not driving a ABS gen2.. will the ABS light on?

[/quote]

no ABS how can the light be activated... blink.gif
pacer
post Aug 23 2006, 11:13 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(andy @ Aug 23 2006, 12:29 PM)
Ah so! means there is a Gen2 model out there without ABS? Take advantage of it then, drift tongue.gif

Hm, when I tested mine no light came out also?
FWD cars how to drift leh???
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drifting_(motorsport)
Pls read ohmy.gif

On the topic of ABS lights, when will it come on?

when the sensors at each wheel is faulty/dirty, when u got not enough brake fluid, when the main module is jammed....
it will not light up if u jam brake, only shrudders (correct spelling ahh) will be felt...

pacer
post Aug 24 2006, 08:13 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(sunshine-kc @ Aug 24 2006, 07:41 PM)
Guys & Gals,

The GEN2 car brakes is rather "soft" so as not to cause wheel lock ...thus....SKIDDING. And the brake pads...BOSCH .. has lots of  dust which causes the wheel to be dirty quickly. So there is nothing much that can be done with the OEM braking system.  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

I was rather disappointed with the OEM brakes as they does not stop fast and the brakes becomes "spongy" when push hard. So after checking around...HOPE the following is of use.

If there is a need to "Upgrade" then suggest that the following be done in stages:-

a) Pads ...... Use metallic pads from other manufactures. BOSCH pads are "soft" types. Brands like "FORODO", "Delco", Bendix","EBC", etc. are good.
b) Brake Hose & brake fluid. ..... Use "Stainless Braided Hose" like Pro RS with DOT4 brake fluid.DOT5.1 Not recommended as it is rather corrosive to the rubber seals in the brake system.
c) Brake Pump .... Upgrade to a BIGGER brake pump. 
d) Clippers ( Big Lump which houses the Brake Pads ).... MAJOR Upgrade to better clippers like "ENDLESS", " VTTR", "BREMBO", etc. with matching Brake pads.
e) Brake disk rotor...... MAJOR upgrade. See matching disk rotor to the clippers. PS:- Slotted disk are for serious TRACK use which ONLY last a few races. Need to be constantly check as they then to crack !!!! Nice to see though.

IMO the stages a) and b) is sufficient if you travel in town and at H\ways.  cool.gif

If for high speed ....... then c) is required.  thumbup.gif

For Track  then d) and e) is also required...  icon_rolleyes.gif

Hope this helps. OEM pads...BOSCH .. cost about RM 180/= for the front pair. Check for equivalent like FORODO, MINTEX, Delco, EBC which cost slightly more. Surely money well spend.

Of course...your TYRES are also important... Another major tropic !!!  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
i think it would be advisable to just do the pads and fluid, maybe the hoses too...
but for the calipers and disc... i am not too keen on the mods

why?
its because cars like the gen2 uses a full bosch system. mixing and matching it may cause more harm than good if not done correctly,the brake balance of the car may be too much in front if u use a two pot with a wrong setup. moreover... HL models with ABS and the sensors may also choose to give problems.

changing the brake pump..... how big u want them to be, what is the maximum pressure our stock lines (not the brake hoses or raided hoses) can take?

however, some companies (forgot which company la) have came out with caliper and disc upgrades for the gen2 which are quite good... these will not disturb the brake balance although its a two pot system in front....
pacer
post Aug 25 2006, 10:54 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Aug 25 2006, 09:19 AM)
DBA or ABD if me not wrong. The gen2 brakes is developed with the collaboration with R3.
the brand that came out with calliper and disc is Grippen.... DBA only does disc... and the last i checked they don have for gen2 la.... it is used for the satria R3, but not on the MME editions waja and gen 2

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:26 PM