126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

[V22] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club, NOVELTY ke arah kuasa besar dunia!!!

quovadis123
post Mar 28 2014, 06:10 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Mar 28 2014, 06:06 PM)
But but but... That groupbuy is for ABS keycaps.

My main criteria for buying is Thick PBT actually
Why thick pbt ? any reason for this?
Ireferno
post Mar 28 2014, 06:11 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 28 2014, 06:10 PM)
Why thick pbt ? any reason for this?
Mainly trying out 1 by 1. I've test most cheapo sets already. ABS is out. PBT thin is also out. What's left is thick PBTs only.

I did read that the typing experience is different on thick keycaps (correct me if I'm wrong tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by Ireferno: Mar 28 2014, 06:12 PM
quovadis123
post Mar 28 2014, 06:18 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Mar 28 2014, 06:11 PM)
Mainly trying out 1 by 1. I've test most cheapo sets already. ABS is out. PBT thin is also out. What's left is thick PBTs only.

I did read that the typing experience is different on thick keycaps (correct me if I'm wrong tongue.gif)
So, after you buy this thick pbt, then you will back to try ABS?
God tiers keycaps also from ABS.

There are a lot of different materials for keycaps.
PC, POM, PBT, ABS are general 1. Some others are variant between them.

For Thick PBT cherry profile, there are IMSTO, and BSP.
Ireferno
post Mar 28 2014, 06:27 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 28 2014, 06:18 PM)
So, after you buy this thick pbt, then you will back to try ABS?
God tiers keycaps also from ABS.

There are a lot of different materials for keycaps.
PC, POM, PBT, ABS are general 1. Some others are variant between them.

For Thick PBT cherry profile, there are IMSTO, and BSP.
I've not heard of BSP actually. Seems they're not too common after a quick Google search.

God tier ABS keycaps? Care to share which one? O.o

Doubt I'll be moving back to ABS, but if I do, there's 2 ABS sets in my store

This post has been edited by Ireferno: Mar 28 2014, 06:28 PM
quovadis123
post Mar 28 2014, 06:37 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Mar 28 2014, 06:27 PM)
I've not heard of BSP actually. Seems they're not too common after a quick Google search.

Example of BSP pbt , http://www.originativeco.com/collections/k...p-classic-beige

Top tiers ABS are from Cherry or GMK..
Doubleshot ABS. Those famous keycaps set like Dolch is from GMK.

You may find those exotic keycaps set replica in Taihao current gb.
wildwestgoh
post Mar 28 2014, 06:37 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Mar 28 2014, 06:27 PM)

Oh, I sure know how you feel about PBT Thick, plus with Cherry profile, it's one darn nice of keycaps, but mine is just Dye Sub, not Double Shot, I bet Double Shot will cost a boom, probably cost another Filco Majestouch. doh.gif

I like this, nostalgic... blush.gif
Sanctuary

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Mar 28 2014, 06:41 PM
Ireferno
post Mar 28 2014, 06:43 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Mar 28 2014, 06:37 PM)
Oh, I sure know how you feel about PBT Thick, plus with Cherry profile, it's one darn nice of keycaps, but mine is just Dye Sub, not Double Shot, I bet Double Shot will cost a boom, probably cost another Filco Majestouch. doh.gif

I like this, nostalgic... blush.gif
Sanctuary
Does Double Shot, Laser etched or dye sub affect the typing experience? I don't think so right?
wildwestgoh
post Mar 28 2014, 06:46 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Mar 28 2014, 06:43 PM)
Does Double Shot, Laser etched or dye sub affect the typing experience? I don't think so right?
Erm, no... but the profile does, Cherry profile has slightly wider top base so (for my case) it's easier for me to type on.
The PBT surface also much nicer compare to Filco coating, less sweaty I guess? hmm.gif
Next profile, DSA? doh.gif
Ireferno
post Mar 28 2014, 07:00 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Mar 28 2014, 06:46 PM)
Erm, no... but the profile does, Cherry profile has slightly wider top base so (for my case) it's easier for me to type on.
The PBT surface also much nicer compare to Filco coating, less sweaty I guess? hmm.gif
Next profile, DSA?  doh.gif
I'm currently using the Rubberish feel Filco for the 37keys and stock black for the rest and a PBT spacebar.

Hmm, speaking of profiles, I've yet to try out Cherry profile actually..

Also a side question. How reliable is those self dyed keycaps in Taobao. Will they fade with time?
yuktsi14
post Mar 28 2014, 07:58 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Mar 28 2014, 07:00 PM)
I'm currently using the Rubberish feel Filco for the 37keys and stock black for the rest and a PBT spacebar.

Also a side question. How reliable is those self dyed keycaps in Taobao. Will they fade with time?
dye-sub (热升华) is "permanent"
http://deskthority.net/wiki/Keycap_printing
kaysa
post Mar 28 2014, 08:22 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Mar 28 2014, 07:00 PM)

What kind of self dye are you talking about?

浸染or热升华?I think 浸染is different than dye-sub keycaps,
浸染involve boiling the keys in chemical that etch the whole key with color,
and dye-sub is involving baking the key to a certain temperature to melt the color into the key surface.

two completely different procedure have very different outcome.
浸染because is etched, it turned dirty due to the surface micro etched holes.
while dye-sub keycaps doesn't have this problem.
ntw
post Mar 28 2014, 09:45 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 28 2014, 06:37 PM)
Example of BSP pbt , http://www.originativeco.com/collections/k...p-classic-beige

Top tiers ABS are from Cherry or GMK..
Doubleshot ABS. Those famous keycaps set like Dolch is from GMK.

You may find those exotic keycaps set replica in Taihao current gb.
So what level are Taihao keycaps? I see the thickness is like normal ABS keycaps oni.....
yuktsi14
post Mar 28 2014, 10:02 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Mar 28 2014, 09:45 PM)
So what level are Taihao keycaps? I see the thickness is like normal ABS keycaps oni.....
I think taihao is comparable to SP

skye
post Mar 28 2014, 10:16 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 28 2014, 10:02 PM)
I think taihao is comparable to SP
Sorry it is not, GMK>SP>Taihao cool2.gif

GMK and SP got polished the keycaps after produce, while Taihao does none rolleyes.gif
Nojo
post Mar 28 2014, 10:39 PM

845 posts

The extension kit from US got here faster than rest of the set from SG, hopefully it will arrive tomorrow

yuktsi14
post Mar 28 2014, 11:04 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

QUOTE(Nojo @ Mar 28 2014, 10:39 PM)
The extension kit from US got here faster than rest of the set from SG, hopefully it will arrive tomorrow

those windowed scroll lock and caps lock are from GMK?

This post has been edited by yuktsi14: Mar 28 2014, 11:04 PM
quovadis123
post Mar 28 2014, 11:15 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

This color is nice. rclxms.gif
Nojo
post Mar 28 2014, 11:32 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 28 2014, 11:04 PM)
those windowed scroll lock and caps lock are from GMK?
Yep, from GMK Dolch extension kit. The main purpose I bought the $48 kit is for those windowed keys whistling.gif

CODE
Extension

The kit includes many textless modifiers.
Includes 3 ISO keys, 3 Window keys, and 1x bottom row (B Profile) keys for older keyboards such as the G80-1800.

justnits
post Mar 28 2014, 11:35 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

QUOTE(Nojo @ Mar 28 2014, 11:32 PM)
Yep, from GMK Dolch extension kit. The main purpose I bought the $48 kit is for those windowed keys  whistling.gif
CODE
Extension

The kit includes many textless modifiers.
Includes 3 ISO keys, 3 Window keys, and 1x bottom row (B Profile) keys for older keyboards such as the G80-1800.

nojo hao...my tekmat not yet ship out? sad.gif
diaBoliQu3
post Mar 28 2014, 11:45 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 28 2014, 11:15 PM)

This color is nice.  rclxms.gif
wub.gif Cun for the HHKB I posted leh.

126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:06 PM