[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

alfiejr
post Mar 18 2014, 01:05 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(hikari151 @ Mar 18 2014, 12:17 AM)
hello all.. : )

[Budget]
RM2500 - 3000

[Purpose]
Mostly for gaming, with occasional 2D/3D work

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
- Thinking of reusing my HDD from my current PC, since all my data is in here. (Do I need to reformat it? )
- is is possible to reuse my DVDRW drive? Currently using a Dell Inspiron 545 CPU

[Monitor resolution]
1600 x 900

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Guild Wars 2, LoL, Blade & Soul, PSO2, Titanfall (planning to get), Photoshop, Maya, Unity3D.

[Personal preferences]
Mainly for gaming. Planning to get a SSD.. can it work together with HDD?

[Location]
PJ
Thank you in advanced!
yes you can re-use your old HDD and your dvd player (can refer here : http://www.wikihow.com/Install-a-DVD-Drive ) , add an SSD for your OS and your 3D work programs (autodesk maya, adobe photoshop, adobe after effects etc) and another hard disk for extra storage.

CPU-Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3-RM779
Mobo-Asrock B85M Pro-4-RM279
GPU-Gainward GTX 760 2GB-RM799
Memory-Gskill Value Ram 1X8GB-RM239
SSD-Plextor M5S 128GB-RM299
HDD-WD Blue 1TB-RM189
PSU-FSP Raider 550W-RM239
Case-CM K380-RM149

total-RM2972
alfiejr
post Mar 18 2014, 08:42 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(capitalFlynn @ Mar 18 2014, 07:46 AM)
Grats for V5  rclxms.gif

Still learning in this fields, thanks in advance for your help  nod.gif

[Budget] 3k-3.5k

[Purpose]
- Dual booting (Win & Linux Server),
- Web Development
- Network Forensic/Hacking
- Program/App Development (Coding/Programming)
- Multitasking
- Other typical purpose: Downloading, Light-Gaming, Light Photoshop

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Start from scratch.

[Monitor resolution] Suitable for dual-screen

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Packet Tracer, Eclipse, Google Chrome(w/ a lot of tab), uTorrent, DOTA2

[Personal preferences] Whichever value for money. 2nd hand part can be consider.

[Location] Doesn't matter. Can travel.

P/S: Let me know if my budget is too tight
CPU-Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3-RM779
Mobo-Asrock H87M-Pro-4-RM319
Memory-Gskill Value ram 2x8GB-RM478
GPU-Leadtek GTX 750 ti 2GB-RM569
SSD-Samsung 840 EVo 250GB-RM569 or you can use two 128GB SSD's for raid
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 3TB-RM379
PSU-FSP Hexa 500w-RM149
ODD-liteon 24x DVD/RW-RM59
Case-CM N300-RM149

total-RM3450
alfiejr
post Mar 18 2014, 08:46 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(hikari151 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:27 AM)
May I ask why Xeon E3 over i5 / i7? Do you think I can skip the 1TB HDD since I plan to reuse my old one? (1TB as well)

thanks again  thumbup.gif
the Xeon e3 is basically an i7 without onboard gpu and has slightly lower cpu clock rate but in all in all it's almost the same. Yes you can skip it, with that extra budget you can add another stick of 8gb memory or upgrade the gpu (probably gtx 760 with non reference cooler, Gainward 760 Phantom or Leadtek 760 OC for example).
alfiejr
post Mar 18 2014, 08:55 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(qifa_mfeo @ Mar 18 2014, 08:36 PM)
thanks alot Minecrafter  biggrin.gif

may i know y u choose intel Xeon unsure.gif  what's the advantage over i5 chipset??
btw is it worth if i pay a little bit more for items below:

a) Seasonic S`1G-750 80+Gols
b) Gainward GTX760 phantom 2048mb GD5

thanks for the great help  thumbup.gif
The xeon has multithreading which will help with your 3D/video editing works (this programs are cpu intensive) , best result would be getting the Sandy bridge-e/ivy bridge-e processor as they have 6 cores/12 threads , but it's far more expensive as the cpu/mobo and of course the cooling solution would add more to your budget. But the xeon would work fine too.

a) Yes Seasonic psu is the best right now, but that would cost more so better just get the S12 620w or the M12 620w as both still do the job and cost slighly cheaper plus you will still have that Seasonic brand.

b) If you can expand your budget then why not smile.gif
alfiejr
post Mar 19 2014, 12:30 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(PfftClock @ Mar 18 2014, 10:39 PM)
How about 2011 socket 8-core and 12-core Xeon processors? brows.gif

Dual xeon E5 with 12 cores each ohmy.gif
alfiejr
post Mar 21 2014, 02:40 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Mar 21 2014, 02:28 PM)
In terms of GPU as well as computer hardware selection, I personally find noise performance important, as I run my PCs 24/7.  It is irritating to me to have to hear fan noise when idle, and especially when gaming, where high fan noise (especially from some GPUs today) can intrude into the gaming experience (if you do not wear headphones).

In that respect, I have mostly kept to buying GPUs from either Asus, Gigabyte, or MSI - specifically the Asus Direct Cu II, Gigabyte WindForce, or MSI TwinFrozr series of graphics cards.  I do understand that they do cost more, but for those people who are looking to buy a new rig, please consider if you are willing to spend more for a quieter PC.
The reference card especially do tend to run louder than the non reference. My card for example is slightly quieter than my sister reference gtx 760 (my fan setting is set to auto as I see no problem with the temp). Buying case with noise dampener and quiet case fans would help a lot to.
alfiejr
post Mar 21 2014, 09:16 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(kenshin84 @ Mar 21 2014, 07:45 PM)
Hi Guys, want to ask you guys opinion about this build. I almost make up my mind and I'm down to this 3 option and my budget is around 2k-ish:

Option 1:
CPU: Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3 Rm799
Mobo: Asrock H87 Performance Rm399
RAM: Kingston Value RAM 1600MHz 8G RM245
Casing: CM N600  RM269
PSU: Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
Total: RM2011

Option 2:
CPU: Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3 RM799
Mobo: Asrock Z87 Extreme3 RM429
RAM: Kingston Value RAM 1600MHz 8G RM245
Casing: CM N600 RM269
Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM 299
Total: RM2041

CPU: Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3 RM 799
Mobo: Asus H87-Pro RM439
RAM: Kingston Value RAM 1600MHz 8G RM 245
Casing: CM N600 RM 269
PSU: Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM 299
Total: RM2051

The reason for the build is for some video editing, photo editing and some programming such as Mat-lab and currently I have 2 monitor and will be using dual display cos i will do some multitasking like doing some work on one monitor and surfing the net on the other monitor. I also play some game such as DOTA2, FM, Grid 2, Hawx, starcraft 2, i can live with medium setting. Here are some part that I will re-used back:
HDD: WD 500G Blue
  WD 1TB Green
  WD 3TB Green
GPU: Asus EAH 6870
Monitor: LG 21.5" E2242
            Viewsonic VA1703wb

The reason I choose these 3 motherboard is that:
-all 3 have 6 sata3 connector (can install up to 6 HDD since I'm a heavy downloader  tongue.gif )
-all 3 have DIGI+ VRM - Phase digital power design (asrock Z87 & H87 performance 8) & (Asus H87=Pro 6)
-all 3 have 6 USB 3.0
*although the price difference is just around RM30 to RM40.
http://www.asrock.com/mb/compare.asp?Selec...H87+Performance

For the CPU i think i choose the Xeon since its have 4C and 8T which help in doing some rendering video and programing (sorry correct me if im wrong still in learning process  biggrin.gif )

The casing I choose CM N600 is because it can support fan up to 10 fans (which might help full in future since I want a good airflow for the casing in order to keep it cool) http://apac.coolermaster.com/en/product/De...eries/n600.html

plus I might left my computer on 24/7 most of the time.
What do you guys think about this rig since I'm stuck with these 3 option  hmm.gif . Appreciate you guys opinion and suggestion  notworthy.gif
sorry for the long explanation.. blush.gif
Thanks in advance guys.. notworthy.gif  icon_question.gif
option 1 and 3 , both relatively have the same specs but my preference would be option 1 as it has that 7.1 CH HD Audio and also the colour scheme looks nicer. Plus its a bit cheaper too.
alfiejr
post Mar 22 2014, 11:15 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Mar 22 2014, 10:48 AM)
Hi guys, looking for GPU at below RM300. Using a FXP HExa 400W.
R7-250-rm299

though you can look for 2nd hand gc for that price, I saw a hd 6870 selling around that price at garage sales.
alfiejr
post Mar 22 2014, 11:47 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(octavius_inc @ Mar 22 2014, 11:46 AM)
planning to buy normal atx case. PALIT GTX 750 Ti StormX is bigger right?
mid tower case, it should fit.
alfiejr
post Mar 22 2014, 12:00 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

yup gigabyte gz series, Xigmatek Helios(edited-its a micro atx case), Aerocool cases (some of my friends are using it so far its ok) , CM 343 elite black (i think it's rm99, edited- this is a micro-atx case but the 750ti should fit in easily).

This post has been edited by alfiejr: Mar 22 2014, 12:03 PM
alfiejr
post Mar 22 2014, 09:53 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

Yes the sound can come out from the tv as HDMI do carry both audio and video signals.

@ 1080P that GC can run well with new games, eventhough you will have to turn some of the eye candies but it will still work well.

Btw that mouse better get the Deathadder 2013 instead, really nice mouse to use thumbup.gif .
alfiejr
post Mar 24 2014, 04:07 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(luqakim @ Mar 24 2014, 03:47 PM)
dlam rm5000
wait for the new lenovo y50 smile.gif

Processor: Up to 4th generation Intel Core i7 4702HQ
Graphic Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX860M
Display and Resolution: 4K 3840 x 2160 resolution or standard 1920 x 1080 with touch or non-touch
Memory: Up to 16GB RAM upgradeable to 32GB RAM
Storage: Up to 1TB hard drive or 1TB hybrid storage with integrated 8GB SSD cache, or a 512GB pure SSD
Keyboard: Optional backlit keyboard with AccuType rounded keys
Connectivity: Bluetooth 4.0 and 802.11 b/g/n or ac WiFi
Battery Life: Estimated 4 hours
Weight: 4.7 pounds for non-touch, 5.7 pounds for touch version
alfiejr
post Mar 24 2014, 04:20 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 24 2014, 04:09 PM)
Alot people seems recommend i5-4440 for processor
From what I know it cant be OC right? Is it because of the price or is it because of performance ?  If wish to have a OC processor what kinda processor will you advice ?
the i5-4440 is the non k variant of the new i5 haswell cpu which means it's non overclockable(as it has locked multiplier) , it has a base clock frequency 3.1ghz but it can boost up to 3.3GHZ when you're doing heavy task like gaming, rendering etc..

well you can take the i5-4670K and pair it with a Z87 chipset mobo. If you're on a budget can get the Asrock Z87 Pro or the Extreme series.
alfiejr
post Mar 24 2014, 04:22 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(luqakim @ Mar 24 2014, 04:16 PM)
agak2 berapa harga nnti masuk malaysia?
not sure bro, SRP will be US$999. Launching May 2014.
alfiejr
post Mar 25 2014, 04:31 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Mar 25 2014, 02:37 PM)
That i3 is good for gaming ah? Some sellers told me not recommended lah. They suggest i5-4440 hmm.gif If it's good enough for most games then I'll probably consider downgrading to save budget because money is a little tight but I need to replace my dead laptop a.s.a.p.. Though to be honest right now that build you posted is a lot cheaper than what I've got here:
Mine lari budget ody cuz I still need to get a wireless usb thingy, dvd-reader thingy, and keyboard (already got mouse)  rclxub.gif
I'm not really looking for anything fancy tbh. 1366x768 reso is fine with me. I just want to be able to run Excel and some games. I'll probably get the monitor Cable707 suggested though since it looks good smile.gif
a core i3 cpu would do you just fine, just spend the extra money on getting a beefier gpu.
alfiejr
post Mar 25 2014, 09:53 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(encikapat @ Mar 25 2014, 09:39 PM)
Gaming and workstation thou.
I would like bitfenix prodigy but that case cannot support dual gpu I guess.
I am going LowYat tomorrow so I need to know what to buy.  sweat.gif
can go to Viewnet if you want to see the bitfenix prodigy case , they display it on their counter (last time I went) , really compact biggrin.gif . Can consider prodigy-m too. Dual graphics will always be a problem due to clearance and airflow in m-atx case (itx even more impossible due to only single pcie slot). Suggest go with at least getting mid tower case if you want to go with this route.
alfiejr
post Mar 26 2014, 05:03 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Mar 26 2014, 04:20 PM)
Or AOC i2369VM at RM629.AH-IPS..slight cheaper for the same spec.. brows.gif
Between this and the Dell P2314H , which one would you recommend? (thinking of getting one biggrin.gif ). I've read both has the same AH-IPS panel but colour accuracy wise I'm not so sure.
alfiejr
post Mar 26 2014, 09:07 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Mar 26 2014, 05:29 PM)
Go with the cheaper one.. laugh.gif i2369VM has thinner bezel(same like Asus MX239H which great for Eyefinity/multi display brows.gif ) and MHL technology..since they're both AH-IPS,so i think there's no significant differences..
ok thumbup.gif
alfiejr
post Mar 27 2014, 10:26 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(darylloh @ Mar 27 2014, 10:17 PM)
how about speaker any suggestion which 1 should i get?
can try look at brand like edifier, they do make decent speakers at low price.
alfiejr
post Mar 28 2014, 12:09 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Mar 27 2014, 11:24 PM)
Guys, is it ok to get H81 chipset compare to B85?

Torn between Asrock H81M-HDS (RM185) vs Asrock B85M-HDS (RM239). Price gap quite obvious.

I only know that H81 chipset only got 2x USB3. But for Asrock H81M-HDS it got 4x USB3. The rest more less the same.
the Asrock B85M-HDS has 2 more Sata 3 ports and it supports PCIE 3.0 X16 lane while the asrock h81 uses pcie 2.0 running at x16 but since you're using an SSD and a hard disk I assume you won't be using more than 2 sata 3 ports (and the asrock h81m has 2 sata2 aswell if you wish to add more storage)

And the pcie 3.0 vs the pcie 2.0 you won't see any performance different. Its ok to take the Asrock H81M. Looking at your specs , spend the extra money on getting a better power supply smile.gif

This post has been edited by alfiejr: Mar 28 2014, 12:15 AM

0.0518sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:44 AM