[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

alfiejr
post Mar 28 2014, 05:54 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(aeonsakura @ Mar 28 2014, 05:32 PM)
Enermax NAXN ENP500AWT 500W 80Plus ( supplier promo ---> 190 )
Antec Strictly VP-550P

which is better PSU?

i wanna buy Corsair VS550 but supplier say no stock and offer me enermax psu, and a lot ppl here recommend Antec Strictly VP-550P??
the Antec Strictly VP-550P looks like it has the same specs as Antec Basiq VP550P 550 W as both supports 30A at both 12V rails and max power of 540W

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Antec/VP550P/1.html

http://www.tech-review.de/include.php?path...contentid=15687

Looks like it has good reviews and antec generally do make good psu. You can ask Cable707 as I believe he owns the the same type of psu.

For enermax, that model I couldn't find any review from the web so I couldn't vouch whether it's good or not. blush.gif

This post has been edited by alfiejr: Mar 28 2014, 05:56 PM
alfiejr
post Mar 28 2014, 09:08 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(aeonsakura @ Mar 28 2014, 09:01 PM)
i browse through v5 again and found another PSU,
FSP Raider 550W/650W RM225/259
FSP Raider 550W 80+ silver seems better
yup the fsp raider will offer better quality as it has that 80 plus silver cert and it's semi modular , go for if you can.
alfiejr
post Mar 28 2014, 09:17 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(aeonsakura @ Mar 28 2014, 09:10 PM)
hi sifu, i follow ur build , but supplier say the FSP Hexa 500W no stock, then i seach internet lo, see cosair vs550 seems nice but no 80+ , then supplier say need order and giv other suggestion pula...
then psu from 149----200---299

LOL

my cpu and mobo is this only :
CPU:Intel G3220 3GHz
Mobo:Asrock H87 performance
the vs550 is definitely corsair one of corsair's lower end psu model, so fair its been good for me (will change once i'm upgrading my gpu again). hmm, that mobo can change to b85 or h81 chipset instead. Use the extra money to get at least a core i3.
alfiejr
post Mar 28 2014, 11:06 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

idealtech is good, been buying from them a quite few times already.
alfiejr
post Mar 29 2014, 06:36 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Mar 29 2014, 05:32 PM)
Crap. After assemble everything, then no display and no beeb sound.

- i already remove the gpu, and connect monitor to mobo.
- remove and re slot ram still no go

Anyone can help?
can you hear the fan running?
alfiejr
post Mar 29 2014, 07:00 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Mar 29 2014, 06:50 PM)
I remove the gpu first. My rig not boot at all. Will post pic later.
Fan, cpu fan, dvd rom, all working. Just it doesn't post. No beeping at all.

Could be my PSU is faulty or not compatible with this new build? It work great with previous AMD build.
hmm, try use one stick of ram and then boot again, wanna rule out if its a bad ram.

This post has been edited by alfiejr: Mar 29 2014, 07:02 PM
alfiejr
post Mar 29 2014, 07:14 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Mar 29 2014, 07:04 PM)
Err. Done that as well sir. Any other recommendation?
clear the cmos(reseat) is another option. Have a hunch the mobo could be the problem since the psu is ok beforehand. Make sure you check all the connections to rule out electrical shorts.

This post has been edited by alfiejr: Mar 29 2014, 07:16 PM
alfiejr
post Mar 29 2014, 11:03 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Mar 29 2014, 09:41 PM)
Thanks. I 99% suspect my mobo is faulty. Since Ideal Tech is closed tomorrow, guess cant do anything now. Dang. =.="
try bring your pc to their shop so that the technicians there can check it.
alfiejr
post Apr 4 2014, 10:58 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(paulyew3099 @ Apr 4 2014, 09:24 AM)
Noted, thanks guys. notworthy.gif  My bro have a gskill ripjaws 1600Mhz 4x2gb blue color. Any idea whether there is any 8GB 1600MHz red color?
Saw idealtech selling Gskill Aegis 1600MHZ ----> https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=101...&type=1&theater

can try that.
alfiejr
post Apr 4 2014, 03:14 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(octavius_inc @ Apr 4 2014, 02:48 PM)
asrock h81m dgs and h81m gl. any different? need fast repon.
the h81m gl has extra features such asprinter port and COM port on the rear I/O and another pcie 2.0 port running at x1 . But other than that they have the same specs.
alfiejr
post Apr 5 2014, 03:27 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(nazmi300 @ Apr 5 2014, 03:06 PM)
Which one is better, i5, i7, xeon or amd FX 8350 ? And value for money.
depends on what you're doing if solely for gaming go with the i5. If you're doing other stuffs that are cpu intensive the xeon (non overclockable) or the core i7 would be a fitting choice. The reason fx 8350 is not widely popular here is mainly because of the price.Unlike in the US, Basically you can get an i5 (which is equivalent to it and faster in certain area) for around the same price. Other than that, the power consumption on the intel chip is usually more efficient than the amd chip.
alfiejr
post Apr 17 2014, 08:02 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 17 2014, 06:37 PM)
Zotac is ssshhhooo ugly.... i try find phantom, if dun hav then need find tht ugly zotac d...

Btw bro, idealtech ask me get cpu cooler, say xeon will reach 100c lol. Need mah?
my sister rig is using the xeon with intel stock cooler. Seems fine but its a tad loud because the nature of the cooler itself. If you still want to add an aftermarket cooler get Scythe Ashura which price around rm179. Idealtech is selling it.
alfiejr
post Apr 17 2014, 11:54 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 17 2014, 11:29 PM)
not cheap  cry.gif
btw, can i use my laptop HD to the desktop? do i need to buy a new sata cable?
eeerrr, ur tad loud is how loud bro~
Yes you can, you need a sata data cable and power connector cable.

its not that loud , though if you put your ear beside the side panel you definitely hear it biggrin.gif , a case with acoustic dampener would be good.

This post has been edited by alfiejr: Apr 17 2014, 11:55 PM
alfiejr
post Apr 18 2014, 12:25 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 18 2014, 12:11 AM)
aaahhh~ icic, then i shall reuse my lappy hd and get a ssd instead biggrin.gif
well, i guess i use the stock first till i got more budget  nod.gif
hahaha... thats the prob, not enuf budget
i guess this is my final build which is abit off budget..

Proc - Xeon 1230 V3 RM 799
Mobo - Asus B85M-G RM 279
PSU - Antec VP-550w RM 199
GPU - Gainward GTX 760 Phantom RM 849 if got stock, else going with Zotac GTX 760 AMP! RM880 (if wan cut cost go with Gainward GTX760)
HDD - Reuse lappy HD
SSD - Plextor M5S 128GB RM 284
RAM - Kingston Value Ram 8GB RM 230
Casing - Still cant decide... Either this 4 listing from most preferable (Corsair Carbide Spec 03 RM207, Cooler Master N300 RM179, NZXT Source 210 RM159)
Wifi Card - TP Link TL-WN881ND RM 49
KB/M Combo - CM Devastator RM 149
ODD - LiteOn DVD RW RM 55

if im going with zotac(because phantom most probably no stock) and corsair, total will be RM 3131. wah can buy toto liao....

last thing.... best shop to shop in lowyat? anyone can recommend?
viewnet sell most of the components you listed out , though for gpu they don't bring gainward and zotac brand.

The new corsair carbide series looks nice , have big sidewindow and the case can fit radiator too biggrin.gif . Another case you can consider is nzxt h230. It has removable hdd rack and has noise dampening material.
alfiejr
post Apr 21 2014, 10:55 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(aishulicious @ Apr 21 2014, 09:41 PM)
Hey guys, need suggestion for gaming rig, I do read on the past post and comment but doesnt have the suit with my needs.

Budget : RM4k with monitor.

Usage : Hard gaming, no future OC.

Question : 1) Is it necessary  to have SSD nowadays? as for boot up, Windows 8 already boot fast enough to me. I googled around, as for game, just for the load in the game will run fast iinm? correct me if im wrong, so i was thinking should i have SSD or not and is there any other benefit the user?

2) Graphic card : nvidia or Amd today? Help suggest model on each.

Thank you smile.gif
Q1-It's optional but it certainly improves your booting time, you can feel the difference, my rig with no ssd against my sisters rig with ssd, hers was definitely faster biggrin.gif .

q2-depends , both of them are good. But I do feel nvidia is slightly better in terms of gpu updates.

CPU-intel core i5-4570-rm629
mobo-Asrock B85 Killer-rm299
gpu-Gainward GTX 770 Golden Sample 2GB-RM1199
memory-Gskill Aegis 8GB-RM239
SSD-Plextor M5S 128GB-RM284
HDD-WD Blue 1TB-RM189
PSU-Seasonic S12ii 620W-RM299
Optical Drive-Liteon 24x dvd/rw player.-rm59
Case-Bitfenix Merc Alpha-rm189
monitor-LG 23ea63v-p ips monitor-rm553

total-rm3939
alfiejr
post Apr 23 2014, 11:45 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(dannrawr @ Apr 22 2014, 11:58 PM)
Hi guys, right now im installing the gainward gtx 760 phantom to my asrock b85m pro4. I also have tplink at pci 2.

The problem is if i put my gpu at pcie 1 which is pcie3.0, it block both the pci 1 and 2 where i put my wifi card.

Can i put my gpu at pcie 2 slot so that i can use my wifi card?
Would there be any diff on performance? Thanks
You can get usb wifi dongle instead which will work as well. I'm also having trouble installing my sound card because of the blocked pci slots. Should have gotten the pcie version instead.
alfiejr
post Apr 25 2014, 12:45 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Apr 25 2014, 12:29 AM)
Hi guys, need your opinion

CORE I5 4440 1150 3.10 6MB RM579
ASROCK B85M-HDS 1150 VSGL RM239  // ASROCK H81M-DGS 1150 VSGL RM 179
Palit GTX750Ti StormX Dual 2GB GDDR5 RM560
CORSAIR 4GB PC1600 8 chips RM119
WD 1TB RM189
Some Cheapo casing, RM??
Some good Psu RM??

1st question. Is It okay?

2nd. Why you guys go for B85M but not H81M?

3rd. GTX 750Ti Or the new R7 265. Similar price.

Thanks guys for your opinion, building cpu for my friend. Me long time no follow up with desktop.
1. its ok

2. B85 chipset because it supports pcie 3.0 while the h81 supports only up to pcie 2.0 . Other than more sata ports and also more DIMM slots in the b85 chipset. the M denotes to the size of your mobo which is micro-atx.

3.r7-265 is faster

4. case-cm k280-rm129

5.for psu-fsp hexa 500w is good imo-rm149
alfiejr
post Apr 25 2014, 11:28 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Apr 25 2014, 01:11 AM)
i see. the pcie 3.0 boost the performance about 10%.

have to change to CORE I3 4130 1150 3.40 3MB RM349 i think cuz my friend is on tight budget.

thank you so much!
the pcie 2.0 is sufficient . Keep the i5 and change the mobo in the future.
alfiejr
post Apr 25 2014, 05:58 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(erdeno @ Apr 25 2014, 05:49 PM)
hi, thank you.

for the gpu, is gtx 670 sufficient to support my workload?
yup, the 670 is just a slightly higher clock of the 760. You can get a gtx 760 instead which will open more budget for your 2nd monitor.
alfiejr
post May 3 2014, 12:17 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(jdachum @ May 3 2014, 12:08 AM)
So, we can say that B85 is actually better than H81, features wise but without any lack of performance even though the article above said B mobos " lack many of the performance features"? I wonder what performance features B85 lack compared to H81.
I'm guessing it's better since the b85 mobo have more dimm slots, more sata , have pcie 3.0 and in some mobo like mine have an extra pcie 2.0 lane at the bottom blush.gif . But you won't miss out much with the h81 chipset if you're using your computer for basic use like gaming and browsing the web.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0493sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:17 PM