[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

Clem1982
post Mar 18 2014, 09:41 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:10 AM)
I have built a few systems using AMD, including the FX series CPUs, with the intention to save a few bucks, but the reliability of AMD systems are still way below Intel, not just only due to the CPU's higher heat, but the chipset/motherboard as well.

If you are planning to run your PCs 24/7, please consider using Intel CPUs, and quality motherboards, instead of AMD.
Doesn't matter if it's AMD or Intel bith can run 24/7, chocobo7779 is right about them FX series being hotter than Intel but not all of AMD CPUs are the same so saying that AMD isn't recommended to run 24/7 is wrong and even motherboards vary between brands and series where the quality varies.. same goes to Intel motherboards as well

Not too sure what bad experiences you have with the AMD builds you have so far but I have an Athlon 64x2 system that's still kicking till today without any major issues so far, so long as you understand what to do with them can make a difference on the longevity and behaviour of your RIG, such as giving them proper airflow and cleaning the system from time to time helps avoid overheating which by the way is the same with Intel products
Clem1982
post Mar 21 2014, 03:04 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 21 2014, 03:01 PM)
I would go for Sapphire R9 280X Toxic 3GB GDDR5 RM1299..but if you're a NVidia guy,get Gainward GTX770 Phantom 2GB GDDR5 RM1199 from Lingloong.. nod.gif
+1 for these, Asus components are mostly overpriced so why not a titan-killer for less? wink.gif
Clem1982
post Mar 22 2014, 10:32 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kdr31 @ Mar 22 2014, 04:19 AM)
hi sifus

one question, upgrade now or wait for DDR4?
hmm... you're upgrading from what? DDR2? what's the issue that you wanna perform an upgrade?
Clem1982
post Mar 22 2014, 11:14 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Mar 22 2014, 10:48 AM)
Hi guys, looking for GPU at below RM300. Using a FXP HExa 400W.
What's your purpose? at that price, you'll get what we call a "display-card" hardly any games can run smoothly on it on 1080P at low settings... unless you're looking to watch movies and web surfing only then it's another story

RM289 can net you a GT630 from Nvidia or a HD7730 from AMD.. any higher will be more than RM300 already
Clem1982
post Mar 22 2014, 11:43 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Mar 22 2014, 11:30 AM)
Well I am upgrading my bro's Nvidia Gt 430 for gaming. His monitor resolution is 1600x900.
well it's not much of an upgrade at that price... maybe a 2nd hand GPU will help a lot but you'd need to scour the GS... sticking to brands like Sapphire or Leadtek may help you could look for at least a HD7750 or a Gtx550ti at your budget, making offers as you go

This post has been edited by Clem1982: Mar 22 2014, 11:45 AM
Clem1982
post Mar 22 2014, 12:35 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 22 2014, 12:30 PM)
Only 8% Better whistling.gif But depend also. I don't know why, I always loved Nvidia so that's why just keep sticking to nvidia. Damn I don't know much bout AMD sad.gif
haha opposite from me , been with AMD GPUs all the way tongue.gif
BTW @hiezad - wait for another week, BitFenix launching new airflow-optimised chassis wink.gif
Clem1982
post Mar 22 2014, 12:44 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 22 2014, 12:39 PM)
You mean

this one > user posted image

Comrade Bitfenix, we have come to annihilate the dark ones.
tsk tsk tsk, nope biggrin.gif

here's a teaser

Clem1982
post Mar 22 2014, 12:49 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 22 2014, 12:42 PM)
drool.gif  drool.gif Biiitiful!! biggrin.gif
lol these are budget-oriented chassis bro wink.gif expect them to the priced close to the Merc or the Outlaw

otw to our shores and even the windowed side panel version is coming
Clem1982
post Mar 22 2014, 12:50 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 22 2014, 12:46 PM)
Demmit, Bitfenix y u make so sexy case ;-;

Whatever it is better be an ATX case whistling.gif
long story short.. yes it's an ATX chassis
Clem1982
post Mar 24 2014, 10:16 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(elanessar @ Mar 24 2014, 10:13 AM)
understood...any recommendation on cpu or proc cooling?n FSP raider 650w is ok?
for stock settings, you can use stock cooler, it's sufficient wink.gif and yes the FSP Raider 650W is a very good PSU
Clem1982
post Mar 24 2014, 11:09 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(rusty27 @ Mar 24 2014, 11:00 AM)
alamak overpriced ka? my budget is rm3k..can suggest better one? Thanks in advance
just need to mod a bit from your spec

Proc - i5-4440 RM 579
Mobo - MSI B85M-G43 RM289
GPU - SAPPHIRE R9 270X RM 759
PSU - FSP Raider 650W RM 269
HD - WD Blue 1TB RM 189
RAM - 8 GB RAM Value RAM RM 239
Casing - BitFenix Merc Alpha RM140
Monitor - Dell 23EA53V led ips RM519

RM2983
Clem1982
post Mar 24 2014, 11:12 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 24 2014, 11:10 AM)
Umm,that monitor is from LG la.. tongue.gif
Lol yeah, wasn't paying attention to everything, Thanks!
Clem1982
post Mar 24 2014, 03:45 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(luqakim @ Mar 24 2014, 03:40 PM)
i'm going to study science computer and need to buy laptop for progamming tpi nk guna untuk gaming gk bleh bgi cadangan x?
gaming is do-able but not advisable, they run hotter and battery life is almost always not enough... and they're more expensive... what's your budget for this gaming laptop?
Clem1982
post Mar 25 2014, 11:27 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Mar 25 2014, 11:25 AM)
Actually, you could have the rig built here in West Malaysia and then have it shipped back to you, with some charges of course. Companies like Ideal Tech (zhen^wei) do shipments to whole of Malaysia, you can check them out in Garage Sales. Or they may have already caught you on their radar and will approach you shortly. brows.gif
+1, Apes.my, Hikari85 and a few others also offer the same kinda service, you could pm them all for a quote and select one that best fits your criteria and budget wink.gif
Clem1982
post Mar 25 2014, 11:44 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 25 2014, 11:37 AM)
If I option for the i5 4670 which is nee to top up extra RM180, would the Motherboard ASUS H87 Plus / Asrock H87 Performance still suitable ?
Another thing is the usually put e.g Corsair Vengance DDR3 1600MHz 4GBx2 - RM339 (mean 2 RAM for RM339 or 1 unit RM339)?
Haiz the idealtech reply me they not encourage to sell corsair ram because of poor RMA and price is damn high now ... the RM339 is last year.
Any nice RAM that is Red in colour that can recommend me?

How about the ASUS H87 Plus Vs Asrock H87 Performance ???
Yes I am trying to coordinate all the colour scheme to match the casing. Now learn how to add more LEDs interior casing design. It is all about Budget build Average performance with Nice interior looking.
Adding LEDs is easy depending on the solutions you're looking at.. I suggest getting the LED strips that connects directly to a molex for hassle-free lighting.. NZXT should have some sleeved solutions, Other brands like Xigmatek , BitFenix and even Akasa and icute have them as well wink.gif

some samples for you to see

NZXT user posted image
BitFenix user posted image
Xigmatek user posted image

Clem1982
post Mar 25 2014, 11:59 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 25 2014, 11:53 AM)
Btw is the CPU cooler hard to installed ? will it be difficult to install CPU cooler if It is install last ??
Not really, thanks to the huge CPU cooler cutout at the mobo tray, you could mount a 3rd party HSF without having to remove the motherboard
Clem1982
post Mar 25 2014, 03:37 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 25 2014, 12:30 PM)
I already knew about this stuff lad. I don't know whether NZXT or Bitfenix. Both look good, does these 2 companies has green LED? Would be awesome if they have one whistling.gif
Not sure abt NZXT but for BitFenix yes we have green LED strips wink.gif

Clem1982
post Mar 25 2014, 05:28 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 25 2014, 05:15 PM)
I would if my casing is white colour ..... but my casing is black/red. If the CoolerMaster Hyper 212X have red colour led light or fan then I would certainly consider.
Btw Thermaltake NIC 5 Untouchable not good ?
If I ever take a I5 4670K processor for OCing can the Asrock H87 Performance adequate for OCing?

Might take your advice to take Gskill Ripjawsx (XL-Red) PC3-17000/DDR3 2133Mhz - RM 369

Just few more item to finalize ... feeling great  rclxms.gif
fans on the Hyper 212 is swappable so no big issues there

tanother RAM you should take a look at are teh Avexir Core LED series wink.gif 4Gb x2 for RM319 from APES.MY
Clem1982
post Mar 25 2014, 11:13 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 25 2014, 11:00 PM)
Hyper 212 fan is swappable ? meaning you can buy a standard cooler master fan (red) and install it ??
yup it's swappable, you can install any 120mm fan on the bracket and mount it to the fins

mine:

Clem1982
post Mar 26 2014, 02:52 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(kelv1983 @ Mar 26 2014, 02:41 PM)
Just finish order my new PC

now only 1 thing left which is monitor 23" IPS LED, please help me choose

1)Viewsonic VX2370S 23" IPS LED
2) LG 23EA63V 23" IPS LED
3) Samsung ???
4) Dell ???

Any recommend ??
budget?? tongue.gif Dell is a popular choice but any IPS screen shouldn't differ that far in terms of colour reproduction IMO

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0506sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:16 AM