[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

Clem1982
post Mar 27 2014, 11:13 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 27 2014, 07:29 AM)
These cases are dependable on what size your motherboard is.

Micro ATX Cases are a smaller than the usual ATX Cases, example of MicroATX cases are the Bitfenix Prodigy or Phenom. Mini ITX cases are smaller than those, such as the Coolermaster 120 Elite but prepare your wallet, these types of mobo isn't cheap whistling.gif
ehem... you're forgetting that the BitFenix prodigy is ORIGINALLY a Mini-ITX chassis bro... only recently that the Phenom-M is released for Micro-ATX... but yes they are not the smallest in the market for Mini-Itx chassis

to make things much more clearer here is the Prodigy beside an M1 case, also a Mini-ITX chassis

Clem1982
post Mar 29 2014, 09:28 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(tkk_21 @ Mar 29 2014, 08:47 AM)
Hi guys, gonna reward myself a new pc, please help me decide on the gc of r9 270x, gtx 760 or better choice? Budget rm800. Spec:
[CPU] Intel i3 4130
[GPU] ?
[Memory] 4gb PC1600
[Motherboards] AsRock H81M-DGS
[PSU] FSP HEXA 500W
either one will do actually, both perform about the same depending on the games you play
Clem1982
post Mar 31 2014, 12:31 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Mar 31 2014, 12:08 PM)
finalized my rig guys, gonna get it sometime this week, what do you guys reckon :

casing : fractal design r4 (RM390)
CPU: intel i7 4770 3.4ghz  (RM979)
Mobo: Gigabyte H87M-D3H (RM339)
RAM: 2 units of 8gb Value Ram either Corsair or Kingston (RM240 or RM245)
SSD: Plextor M5S 128GB (RM289)
HDD : Seagate Barracuda 2tb (RM279)
Samsung DVD-RW (RM55)
PSU : FSP Raider 650w (RM253)
GPU : Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB (RM849)
Win 7 64-bit (RM429)

total : RM4342

im guessing there was a price increase for some of the parts like about rm150-rm200 more than what I counted earlier in the month, ah well..hopefully the guys at lowyat can give me a good price/discount
All is good but change the DVDRW to another brand... any brand will do except for Samsung... they make great HDD and SSD but not ODDs.. noisy and unreliable that one smile.gif
Clem1982
post Mar 31 2014, 03:51 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Mar 31 2014, 01:54 PM)
Yeah, I agree that for DVD-RW, it is a case of very matured technology, so all DVD-RWs from reputable manufacturers like Lite-ON, Samsung, and LG should be OK ... For the last few builds I assembled, I used Lite-ON BluRay drives, and Samsung DVD-RW drives, and all are quiet, and have not failed in any way at all.  I have installed LG and Samsung DVD-RW drives more than 6 years ago, and up till today, all those drives are still working well.
Yes, the Samsung Drive I have was the only one that failed me, and quite a few others I know have the same problem, no other brands did so to be safe, just pick another brand other than Samsung in this department
Clem1982
post Apr 1 2014, 09:34 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Apr 1 2014, 08:29 AM)
If i were you,i'd get Corsair Carbide 200r for the same price and Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X 4GB GDDR5 RM1699! icon_idea.gif  tongue.gif
Btw,the GPU you recommended is Zotac la. laugh.gif
lol BitFenix Shadow good mah wink.gif comes with swithcable LED illumination at the front as well wink.gif
Clem1982
post Apr 1 2014, 02:39 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(AboveNBeyond @ Apr 1 2014, 12:49 PM)
Hello guys  icon_rolleyes.gif

I would like to ask about RIG for my friend's CyberCafe. His budget is low.

RM 1500

Only CPU. Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse..reuse.

I wonder, any posible that RIG will let his customer to play some High End game with the Low Setting.  sweat.gif
Rm1500 with monitor and peripherals? Hmm... maybe a kaveri and diskless solution? but even at that, RM1500 is too tight...the CPU and monitor will already eat up RM800 at least

A10 7700K FM2+ 3.80 4MB 589
MSI A88XM-E35 FM2+ RM249
Corsair Value RAM RM239
FSP Hexa 500W RM149
Gigabyte GZ series Chassis RM70
Acer S220HQL led 21.5" RM359
GIGABYTE KM5200 kb+mouse set RM29

RM1684

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Apr 1 2014, 01:18 PM)
Not sure if I should post here since it's technically part of my rig, but can anyone suggest any good mice, like the G400? Preferably non-Logitech since I hear their wiring work not so well done and I kinda lost faith in them.
a successor to the G400?? give Gamdias Hades a try wink.gif

QUOTE(investor @ Apr 1 2014, 01:30 PM)
Hi Planning to build a rig

Purpose :for photoshop, lightroom 5, kind of photo editing and play some today games, HD movies and internet surfing and etc.

I want the rig can survive for my use another 5 years.

Budget 2K to 2.5K max 3K.

Any suggestion? It is being a long time didn't follow and build another rig since 2006. My current rig is getting old and it slow me down on photo editing.  smile.gif  sweat.gif

Possible use two monitors.
Two monitors is no problem, nothing to re-use from your old rig? cause RAMs are very expensive nowadays

Intel Xeon 1230 v3 RM799
ASROCK B85M PRO 4 RM279
Corsair Value RAM 8GB RM239
WD Blue 1TB RM189
Leadtek GTX750 RM459
FSP Hexa 500W RM149
BitFenix Merc Alpha RM169
Dell P2314H RM699

RM2982
Clem1982
post Apr 1 2014, 03:31 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Apr 1 2014, 02:43 PM)
I think the guy meant:"Monitor,Keyboard and Mouse are gonna be reuse." wink.gif

Btw,tak mau Palit GTX750 StormX OC 1GB GDDR5 RM420 in the 3K rig? brows.gif
ah.. my mistake yes, in that case then it's do-able

haha ya the Palit is priced better thanks smile.gif
Clem1982
post Apr 1 2014, 04:39 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Apr 1 2014, 04:02 PM)
Looks sexy. And within my budget! How does the grip feel? My hands are kinda big so I need a big mouse
look at my review for better feedback wink.gif this is the Optical version

http://www.tech-critter.com/2013/12/gamdia...cal-gaming.html

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Apr 1 2014, 04:28 PM)
Zalman..all i know they have CPU Coolers iinm. hmm.gif

What's the name of the PSU? hmm.gif
Zalman has all sorts of stuff, something like Cooler Master wink.gif but the market here is scarce of their chassis
Clem1982
post Apr 1 2014, 04:54 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Apr 1 2014, 04:50 PM)
I thought Zalman only make CPU Coolers.. tongue.gif I've rarely heard of them.. sweat.gif
Expensive?Better look up the price.. shocking.gif
I see..but CoolerMaster is better? biggrin.gif  tongue.gif  hmm.gif
I wouldn't say better... probably just market dominance.. Zalman makes cool chassis as well IMO.. their Z11 and their older GS1000 for example

and coolers.. I think they look good as well tongue.gif
Clem1982
post Apr 2 2014, 08:59 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(investor @ Apr 1 2014, 08:36 PM)
Thanks for the update Clem1982. To be frank I have no idea what you have written. I mean the brand. Long time didn't follow the tech stuff already. After copy and paste the stuffs that you written into google.com.my I got some picture on it. Hahaha. Good to go for the above specs.

Edit video no problem also on that spec. Nice recommendation on the Dell Monitor cos I use it mostly for edit photo maybe in future edit video too. The motherboard can support 16GB RAM cos probably once got budget will upgrade it again.

My old rig I will give it as a gift to my relative but I will take out one of the 1TB HD cos inside the rig got 2 HD. The rest leave it as it is. I save a lot of photos, music and video thus eat up my HD very fast. Hehe.
Glad to help really, yeah space can really be a pain if you're into photo / video editing, it's always not enough ahaha
Clem1982
post Apr 2 2014, 12:14 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Apr 2 2014, 12:07 PM)
thanks guys...hm so the  Seasonic S12 II 620W one is a way better PSU huh...ok.

For a layman like me, the 700w trumps the 620w one..620w is way enough for a computer with 4 hdd + 1 ssd right? It should be..
Wattage isn't all there is to a PSU, gotta take into account things like the build quality and effectiveness... of course if you're comparing within the same brand and line fo PSU then of course the 700W is gonna be better

and yes it will support your HDD and SSD.. they use very little energy... it's the GPU you have to worry about but the Seasonic S12II 620W should be able to power up a GTX770Ti / R9 280X without issues
Clem1982
post Apr 2 2014, 02:33 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(octavius_inc @ Apr 2 2014, 01:50 PM)
this build work right?

Proc - i3-4130 RM 369
Mobo - Asrock H81M-DGS RM 179
HDD - 1TB WD Blue RM 189
PSU - FSP Hexa 500w RM 150
RAM - 4GB Value RAM RM 129
Casing - GZ Series ATX Case RM 69
Gpu- palit gtx 750ti stormx dual rm560 (already got this gpu ) smile.gif
yes, it'll work
Clem1982
post Apr 3 2014, 04:21 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(gengka @ Apr 3 2014, 03:08 PM)
Thanks!

What if i am willing to spend abit more, let say RM800-900?
then go for the DELL P2314H led ips
Clem1982
post Apr 3 2014, 04:50 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Apr 3 2014, 04:25 PM)
No HDMI.. tongue.gif
oh? I was thinking for user to utilize the DisplayPort instead of HDMI lolz

if want thin bezels the BenQ has some nice ones like the GW2760HS led but yeah it's a 27" at 1080P so not as sharp IMO
Clem1982
post Apr 4 2014, 07:52 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Apr 4 2014, 06:20 AM)
oh yeah.. sifus... I wanna ask, is it possible for a laptop to have an external GPU?? doh.gif
possible.. but not now... and not sure if it ever will because with steam-box coming up the purpose seems.... less than ideal already

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 4 2014, 07:26 AM)
not need 1866mhz or 2133mhz on b85.

it can boot. but the speed will reverse to 1600mhz.
Whoa.. Taikor made an appearance rclxms.gif
Clem1982
post Apr 8 2014, 09:28 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(fitzhex @ Apr 7 2014, 09:15 PM)
if dell S2340L gooding?
glossy screen means like my laptop screen i guess.
idk, based on review, quite nice. VX2370S  also getting great review  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
my house kinda dark,only day time quite bright. most of the time i will use it on the night, unless holiday  laugh.gif
so glossy i think no problem
I think any monitors are fine, just need to see what you need (such as connection type, size, thin bezels etc) and your budget

QUOTE(TJP @ Apr 8 2014, 01:02 AM)
Hi there all! Would need some help on this!
Budget  around RM3,000

Purpose  I am a multimedia designer so I do quite a bit of video editing and also 3D stuff. I also do a fair bit of programming for web and interactive installations.

Monitor resolution  Already got monitors that are 1920x1080. (Probably gonna run dual monitor setup)

Games & softwares that use frequently  a whole bunch of Adobe products from Adobe illustrator & photoshop to Adobe Premiere Pro & After Effect. Adobe dreamweaver and Adobe Flash for coding. Cinema 4D

Personal preferences Would prefer to have a setup with a bunch of storage and also SSD to run my software. (But HHD could add in the future also) Would be hoping to dual boot Windows 8.1 & Mac OS X as well.
THANK YOU GUYS SO MUCH! smile.gif
Try

Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3 RM799
ASROCK B85M PRO 4 RM279
Kingston Value RAM 8Gb x 2 RM458
PALIT GTX 750 Ti StormX OC GDDR5 2GB RM530
Samsung 840 EVO 128GB SSD RM309
WD Green 2TB RM274
FSP Raider 550W RM229
BitFenix Comrade RM148

Total RM3026

QUOTE(enciksohai @ Apr 8 2014, 01:35 AM)
No need to buy an enclosure just for this IMO.. just plug it into your PC as normal, initialize it and run acronis to clone
Clem1982
post Apr 8 2014, 12:55 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(enciksohai @ Apr 8 2014, 10:57 AM)
its for my laptop
OIC.. well.. it doesn't have to be fancy I'm using this

yeah the HDD is naked during cloning
Clem1982
post Apr 8 2014, 01:09 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(enciksohai @ Apr 8 2014, 01:07 PM)
where to get that?
any PC shops should have it, it's a small accessory, but I got mine from Idealtech wink.gif
Clem1982
post Apr 8 2014, 02:29 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 8 2014, 01:37 PM)
the plextor one ?  laugh.gif
ya bro tongue.gif been very useful like you said wink.gif
Clem1982
post Apr 8 2014, 02:40 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(NFG89 @ Apr 8 2014, 02:30 PM)
Hi there, looking to build a PC for around RM 3k +- 10%. Main goal is to do some side work on 2nd/3rd monitor while gaming on main.

Currently based on my research I am thinking of

Xeon 1230v3: around rm800?
Asrock b85 Killer (just for the looks lol): around rm300?
2*4gb of RAM: should be rm250 or so
Gainward GTX 760: rm800
Corsair Carbide 300R: rm270
samsung 840 evo ssd 120gb: rm 350
Have my own HDD
FSP Raider 650w: rm 260

Monitors I already have 1 1080p and two 1440p monitors, gaming on the 1080p only, rest are for work. If i plan on playing 1440p I can just sli the 760.
specs looks good everything should work the way you wanted, but just a suggestion, get a single piece of 8GB RAM, Kingstons are RM229 at the moment wink.gif and the samsung 840 Evo is at RM309 from Viewnet

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0539sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:44 PM