AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread, discuss our setup/overclocking issues

kalakatu
post Apr 13 2007, 11:48 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Apr 13 2007, 11:23 AM)
For the Tforce mobo.. I tried the 2.4v but nothing.. I still can set from 1.9v to 2.1v in BIOS setting.. MAybe my mobo is crap?
not crap lar..actually it just semms like u can still change the vdimm, but when u view ur PC Health on ur bios, u can see that ur vdimm is 2.4v and it wont change anymore unless u move back the jumper to the default position.

mine is 2.48v if im not mistaken after set the jumper to over-voltage position.

QUOTE(treason @ Apr 13 2007, 11:37 AM)
I tried using the software too last time, and it said that I didnt need to update my bios...but I couldnt find my pcie frequency in bios..so i downloaded the latest wan from the net and flashed the bios from the bios itself..after that ok adi! it was a different version than the one before...so I dunno y the software said that I didnt need to update..only thing is that all the software from the cd wouldnt work after that..including the fan control software which i really like!  cry.gif it says Eaccess violation whenever i try to open it...anyone had this problem before?
uhm..lidat i better give a try loh..better dun trust that crappy utilities bundled on the cd..
kalakatu
post Apr 13 2007, 12:23 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Apr 13 2007, 12:10 PM)
OH.. like that kar? I didn't realise that..

Anyway, my pc cannot go over 285 Bus speed no matter what setting i do..
Tried CPU/6 and CPU/8... CAnnot.. Tried many timings also cannot..
My processor idle is 30c and full load 42c.. Can go 2.4Ghz or more but mobo cannot go..
RAm suppose can go coz now running at 450mhz no problem..
The only problem is that the divider cannot use if over 285...  doh.gif
Any idea?
I need more processor speed !  cry.gif

[attachmentid=216998]
what is ur vdimm? and try to lower ur HTT multiplier..make it below 1000mhz..
kalakatu
post Apr 13 2007, 03:36 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

currently managed to go 2.4GHz DDR800 CL4-4-4-8-18 2T.
forgot the vdimm liao:x

kalakatu
post Apr 13 2007, 06:48 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

uhm..dun have mood to go further..would like stay using this setting.

vcore : 1.4v
vdimm : 1.95v

temp : currently 49C

anyway hows my ram timing? is it ok? becoz i feel weird that my timing is not same as other forumers.
kalakatu
post Apr 13 2007, 06:58 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 13 2007, 06:54 PM)
kalakatu.... loose the Trc, you may be able to clock higher
loose mean higher?
becoz except CL4-4-4, after that all the numbers are the lowest in my bios setting.

anyway i already went to 2.7ghz but the temp holds me as it already reached approx 70C..damn its too hot.. sad.gif

and when at 2.6ghz, my system is not stable at all..cannot complete the superPI 1M and 32M, plus it will freeze during gaming session..

thats why im staying at 2.4ghz now..at least no freeze/hang/bsod.. wink.gif
kalakatu
post Apr 13 2007, 07:07 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Iylia @ Apr 13 2007, 07:03 PM)
so the biostar tf570u vs abit k9n ultra which one better? the boards 20bux difference in price only.. lol and the specs roughly same oso
i dunno for overclocking..but in terms of features, looks like abit k9n is better since it has Dual NVIDIA(R) Gigabit Ethernet and better heatpipe than tforce 570u..

kalakatu
post Apr 13 2007, 08:56 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

damn..2.4ghz is quite stable when running applications but cold boot happened when i turned on the pc.. mad.gif

so basically what should i do to overcome this problem?

This post has been edited by kalakatu: Apr 13 2007, 09:00 PM
kalakatu
post Apr 14 2007, 10:05 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Apr 14 2007, 09:08 AM)
Tried different ram divider already.. When over 280HTT.. system freeze no matter wat.. Haiz.. Guess really cannot go liao..
uhm..i might missed the info, but can u plz list down ur rig here?
kalakatu
post Apr 14 2007, 10:14 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

uhm..soulfly, about my ram timing, should i change it?
now i would like to stay on 2.4GHz.. maybe will clock more after final exam smile.gif
kalakatu
post Apr 14 2007, 10:24 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 14 2007, 10:17 AM)
well.... it's up to you actually laugh.gif

try something like 4-4-3-5 or 3-4-4-5 or 4-3-3-5
i tried the first and last, but beep sound came out.. doh.gif
ill try the second timing later.. nod.gif
kalakatu
post Apr 14 2007, 01:07 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Apr 14 2007, 12:22 PM)

This is using the D9GMH ? Or the Corsair ?
D9GMH..actually i went further before, just like soulfly, i made it to DDR1000 with un-changed vdimm.. smile.gif

the ram is good, used only 1.95v can oc far..but not my proc..2.6GHz needs 1.6v, thus my temp reached almost 60C for idle.. sad.gif

maybe i need o change to a better cooling method..

QUOTE(Iylia @ Apr 14 2007, 12:57 PM)
hey guys noob question here..
if i buy the CM Hyper TX, do i need anything else for the cooling of my processor? such as thermal paste, etc.
we use the thermalpaste to create a better contact between processor and heatsink so that the heat can be transfered smoothly..

just use the thermalpaste that is already applied at HyperTX..
or u may want to choose any other good thermalpaste for a better result
kalakatu
post Apr 14 2007, 04:35 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(sempronic @ Apr 14 2007, 03:02 PM)
if it over 1000mhz?? ohmy.gif
perhaps the system wont be so stable if its over 1000mhz..
usual said, keep it below 1000mhz for a better stability.
kalakatu
post Apr 16 2007, 08:20 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Apr 16 2007, 06:41 PM)
HEyya, can i join the party ar? i just got an amd system, below ar the specs:

x2 4200+ windsor F2
abit kn9 ultra
1x kingston kvr667
stock cooler
welcome to the club rclxms.gif

bought new from PC Fair?

so did u try overclocking it? smile.gif
kalakatu
post Apr 16 2007, 08:47 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(sempronic @ Apr 16 2007, 08:33 PM)
anyone here that use X2 3800+ OC to 2.9ghz with a successful prime for 8 hours?
can share it here?
i think the only person who OCed until that insane speed is pcmoddingmy (check the first post)..
kalakatu
post Apr 18 2007, 02:13 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Apr 18 2007, 02:12 AM)
It is recommended to shut CnQ when u wan to oc to avoid unstable behavior smile.gif
-pWs-
i think its a MUST, not recommended smile.gif
because enable it will sometimes reduce the vcore and drop the curent clock thus the system wont be stable..

This post has been edited by kalakatu: Apr 18 2007, 02:15 AM
kalakatu
post Apr 18 2007, 12:34 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Apr 18 2007, 09:11 AM)
still pushing to the max it can go...

CPU @ 1.4v <---- is this ok for normal use ? tongue.gif
RAM @ 2.1v
1.4v can be considered good for 2.6ghz.. smile.gif
mine need 1.575v to achieve that speed.. sweat.gif
kalakatu
post Apr 18 2007, 05:23 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(momuchi @ Apr 18 2007, 03:59 PM)
i see some guy get this with  Abit KN9S + Semprom 2800+

cpu temp = 28C shocking.gif
i dun think this OC progress happened here in malaysia with such that low temp..
kalakatu
post Apr 18 2007, 05:44 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(momuchi @ Apr 18 2007, 05:38 PM)
i take pictures from portugal web forum. tongue.gif
LOL..so thats why the software there shows the sentences that are unable to pronounce sweat.gif

but look at his HTT, too low..only 332.2MHz blink.gif
kalakatu
post Apr 20 2007, 12:21 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Apr 19 2007, 11:06 AM)
Anyway, for T-series owner out there... This mobo always overvolt.. So, becareful when OC'ing..

Setting to 1.300v .. it will run at 1.344v..
Setting to 1.325v .. it will run at 1.388v..
i noticed it too when view the voltage thru CPUZ..
by im not sure weather the problem is on motherboard or cpuz..

becoz when i view the posthardware and pchealth inside the bios, the voltage is same with the voltage that i set in manual overclock section..
kalakatu
post Apr 20 2007, 03:15 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Apr 20 2007, 03:03 PM)
The voltage that i saw in BIOS is 0.38456 < WTF?  doh.gif
0.38456 sweat.gif doh.gif
thats really ridiculous voltage ive ever heard doh.gif

anyway brisbane really good hah..
anyone wanna trade his/her brisbane with my windsor x2 3800? brows.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top