7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

v9.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

TSearl-ku
post Dec 31 2014, 01:01 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 31 2014, 10:17 AM)
Just went for 30K service

- was told that AC service was compulsory (as usual, SC person gives the ball juggling decision, if choose not to do it, warranty may be voided etc)
- charge was RM73.21 (element assy AC) + RM190 (AC service)

was it really compulsory? or ..
no its not ... its not on the honda service schedule booklet

but nevertheless i did mine at 75 or 80k
TSearl-ku
post Jan 16 2015, 01:35 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 15 2015, 01:12 PM)
Due to the limited tyre choices available for Honda City, i suggest you to go for Michelin XM2 (185/55/16). It should cost you around rm250 a piece at Hin Leong tyre Klang.
if i remembered correctly, Michelin XM2 also have a 195/55/16 - so its a little wider

i am on the ori model CPC2 but a little bigger 195/55/16
TSearl-ku
post Jan 16 2015, 05:49 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 16 2015, 02:04 PM)
195/55/16 will make the tyre look fat due to thicker side walls wor.
not sure if mine is 50 or 55, i can get u a pic, not fat donuts ...
TSearl-ku
post Jan 19 2015, 01:44 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 16 2015, 06:16 PM)
Appreciate it if you can share a picture smile.gif
sure, later when i get back to my car ...

QUOTE(Eclipse80 @ Jan 17 2015, 09:23 AM)
Holla. If I change the headlamp bulb to something better and stronger like Phillips Xtreme Vision 100%, will it damage my headlamp cover i.e. turn yellowish or faded.

i have changed mine to philips aftermarket and osram aftermarket, and now i am currently on projector with HID, no issues
TSearl-ku
post Jan 19 2015, 01:45 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 18 2015, 02:03 PM)
It is recommended to swap front & to rear every 10,000km.. But I do it every 15,000-20,000km depending on feel of the steering & whether alignment is out.

Replace all 4 new tyres are subjective. There are a lot of anomalies that will affect the lifetime of a tyre. Some tyres last a lot longer than other, how we drive the car, how we take care of the tyres etc..

It is recommended to replace every 4 years though..
QUOTE(sj0217 @ Jan 18 2015, 08:55 PM)
This could be really subjective. The tyre shop advice me to swap on 20k, change all 4 new tyres on 40k

Feel not bad with stock tyre CPC2, wanna give a try with XM2 when the time to change all 4  smile.gif
if the tires are not worn out, and still looks good for after 2 years, change it as the rubber will harden over time, if you are driving it regularly, i guess in 2 years time it will wear out

but like some where they rarely drive it, and the usage is not wearing out the tires, then 2 - 3 years should be it ...

if not gonna change all 4, at least the front 2
TSearl-ku
post Jan 21 2015, 11:30 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 16 2015, 02:04 PM)
195/55/16 will make the tyre look fat due to thicker side walls wor.
haha bro sorry its 195/50/16

TSearl-ku
post Jan 24 2015, 07:05 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 24 2015, 02:00 PM)
hi guys,

i'm using honda city 2011. and have started going to service outside of SC twice.

2 questions here:

1. the coolant cannot add water? what should i do if coolant almost near min? 
2. recommend engine oil for me plz..i do not know what is good.
You add water to the coolant, those you get original from honda or toyota, you can use 1 bottle and the rest top up with water... you dont use them full stregth

try to use filtered water and dont use those cheap coolant, those RM5 a bottle green stuff

Earlier i was doing some changes to the bulb and noticed the reserve tank was empty ... just in time

so went and flushed the radiator and used toyota coolant

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Jan 24 2015, 07:05 PM
TSearl-ku
post Jan 26 2015, 02:16 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 25 2015, 01:12 AM)
Hi. I'm still using my ori coolant from Honda since I get the car new from 3 years back . Just recently start going out to service.

A bit worried as first time see the mechanic add water without asking me
i think he add to the wiper fluid tank la ... not the coolant ...

TSearl-ku
post Jan 26 2015, 02:17 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 24 2015, 07:08 PM)
For Hondas, the correct way is to run the engine & let it heat up for like 5 minutes then turn it off. There on, you can measure the gearbox fluid level.

The easiest way is to replace back the same amount of fluid you drain out. Use an empty bottle to measure the fluid amount.

Remember to use GENUINE HONDA CVT Transmission fluid for your car.
when ever i change mine, its always 3 bottles + 1/5

and i have so far changed twice and always forget to bring back the opened bottle ...

i now have 2 bottles at home which are like left with 4/5 each per bottle ...
TSearl-ku
post Jan 26 2015, 04:54 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 26 2015, 02:22 PM)
err..it is the coolant  sad.gif
you can use water... distilled or filtered water, as the top common issues with the coolant is rust...

the normal coolant from manafacturer, u use 1:1 ratio...

TSearl-ku
post Jan 30 2015, 01:03 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(ascll @ Jan 30 2015, 01:23 AM)
I ended up replaced all 4 CPC2 to BS Turanza ER300 @ RM210/pc.

The 3 CPC2 with about 60% tread-wear treat in with RM40 each.

ER300 apparently quieter and softer than CPC2 :-)
Bro, so there is a 4th brand variant of tire for this?

are you on 16 inch? whats the new tire size u use?

all i know was Conti CPC2, Michelin XM2, achiles and now bridgestone turanza ... good to know

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Jan 30 2015, 01:03 PM
TSearl-ku
post Feb 2 2015, 10:50 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 2 2015, 10:23 AM)
No it won't.
you might have issues with your NCD if you are not on the 55% tier

lets say if you are currently on the 2nd year ncd, and by the next renewal, you will be able to move to the 3rd year tier, but if you change insurance company at this point, they might retain you on the current tier for the next renewal ...

thats what i kena when i changed insurance for another car ...

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Feb 2 2015, 10:54 AM
TSearl-ku
post Feb 4 2015, 10:16 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Ayrehn @ Feb 4 2015, 02:24 PM)
Can someone just sum up the good and bad for this City 2014? haha
this is a forum ... read ... if you cannot be bothered... dont ask ... just buy... if in doubt dont buy
TSearl-ku
post Feb 5 2015, 10:50 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(kensaikenai @ Feb 5 2015, 10:36 AM)
so far i see on the road HC, nobody cover with car plate, haha..
QUOTE(kensaikenai @ Feb 5 2015, 10:36 AM)
no scare rain go in the lock and make it rust?
QUOTE(kensaikenai @ Feb 5 2015, 10:38 AM)
my SA introduce me a locksmith.... gonna go find him
mine is covered with the number plate from day 1, requested the number plate with no key hole

if you guys already kena cucuk, you have 2 options

$$$ = replace the lock and replace entire whole key set(as you should be cautious that the thief not only wanted access to ur trunk, he might have also took the lock out and used it to duplicate another key) and he might come back for the car next time
$$ = replace just the back lock only and u get an extra key for the trunk
$ = disengage the lock(means cannot use the lock to open trunk as ur lock is already faulty at this point) then cover up the hole with a new plate number

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Feb 5 2015, 10:52 AM
TSearl-ku
post Feb 5 2015, 09:05 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(winterwish @ Feb 5 2015, 02:55 PM)
Since our headlight is so bad, anyone want to try and install this CREE LED kit?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3204270

Seems easier to install compared to HID. Just plug & play.
same la .. the amount of installation is the same as HID

go for the projector option ... but way way costlier ... but syiok

even when i am beside a higher end car, the amount of light output is just not as good as mine hahahaha
TSearl-ku
post Feb 6 2015, 02:39 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 5 2015, 09:51 PM)
Don't blind other road users wor...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
nope, no blinding as the beam of the projector very consistent, wide but not high ... its only to just below the side mirrors ... u wont get any glare and stray beams ..

QUOTE(winterwish @ Feb 6 2015, 12:12 AM)
Problem with HID we need to retrofit with projector type headlight.. huhu. This one can use the same headlight, just change bulb only.

Just curious, how much you change to projector? Got pic?  tongue.gif
bout 1k ... let me know if u are interested, can recomend u the dude ...pic i think should be a few hundred post back, lemme find for u
TSearl-ku
post Feb 6 2015, 02:41 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 14 2014, 04:22 AM)
So this is what happened with my quest to use HID ... by installing the projector on the City

After 2 weeks of deliberation, decided to get the service of this one guy to retrofit this onto the car. He mentioned that this is his last few projects being done out of his home, and they will be moving into a proper shop for projector retrofitting.

In my previous post, i did mention there is several retrofitters in this forum and around KL. The reason i choose him was because they do original Morimoto Projectors.

So this package comes with 2x Morimoto Projectors, 2 Mini Gatling Gun shrouds, 2 red LED for Demon Eye and 2 55w Instant HID ballast(4300k).

Now the installation is really a pain, i have watched numerous videos on Youtube and it looks really easy on Youtube, in actual fact its not. It took a whole 6 hours to install and further 15 minutes to align the projectors beam pattern.

There is several issues with this retrofitter in terms of his workmanship, though he knows what he is doing, but several things he did was shoddy, like cable management and ballast placements. Yet they are still better than the normal accessories shops out there which does even worst. He is willing to take suggestions and work towards it. Though he wasnt that cautious with the handling of items and sometimes he just does it as is, and not take much care in it. Not severe damage but just saying.

Once done, it was only 3PM and wasnt able to align the beam, so was told that i can do it myself or come back when its dark, i did the latter and came back later and he took care of it.

Now i am rather pleased with the work except for the issues above. Went on my way and got back, later did i found out the red demon eye wasn't working. Initially i wanted default option of not smoking the lamps, no CCFL, no demon eye as provided with the other retrofitters. But since this was included without me asking, i just went ahead. Dont really prefer any weird colors on the lens actually.

So back to the demon eye, once i am home, found out its not working, on both sides. The demon eyes is actually split from the pilot light, no wires cut here as he used some form of connector to tap that pilot light cable. So i informed him and was told to go back to let him check, and this was around 1AM.

So i went back and he checked and found out its faulty and its on both side, he found it weird. but i told him its ok, not important for me and let me know what he plans to do. He told me his stock will arrive next week and will replace it for me. If this is the case, means he has to redo the whole thing and re-open the headlamp again. I might not want to do that, but will see.

Forgot to take pic of just the projector, this is with the Mini Gatling Gun shroud

winterwish nah here you go

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Feb 6 2015, 02:48 PM
TSearl-ku
post Feb 6 2015, 11:02 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(winterwish @ Feb 6 2015, 03:22 PM)
That look really good actually, and the output is so much brighter.. but 1k. Fuh. Haha.

Does he offer warranty for the service? Got any issue so far?
so far so good ...
even changed the bulb again from 4.3k to 5.5k

hahaha i think next i will go to 6k...
TSearl-ku
post Feb 13 2015, 03:54 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

some idiot just stole my wiper nut rubber cover! both! argghhhh
TSearl-ku
post Feb 14 2015, 09:59 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Feb 14 2015, 04:23 AM)
Wow the output is very consistent and much brighter. Btw won't get than by JPJ?
Not glaring, u wont get their attention - so far so good ... friendly with cops too

QUOTE(kons @ Feb 14 2015, 07:45 AM)
mine got stolen last time too. but when i got those replacement, i just took it off and replaced it with a rubber washer and nut.
someone has posted this issue about the starter motor and solenoid before.
your service centre should know about this kind of issue.
you can try to find it back in the thread few months ago.
bro - replaced with rubber washer and nut? like how? like those nuts for the rims?

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:06 AM