27 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

v9.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

cempedaklife
post Mar 30 2022, 03:23 PM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(joelriez @ Mar 30 2022, 03:15 PM)
Hi all, I'm planning to change my City 2012 absorber. Been using the stock since bought now the rear become saggy and will hit the bump when the car is full load. I'm eyeing on the showa absorber and quoted by VMAG around 1.5 for all front and rear. Anyone experiencing using the absorber? possible to share some review. TQIA
shows is the original absorber no?
1.5k all in? including mounting etc?
that's not too bad actually.
cempedaklife
post Mar 30 2022, 03:49 PM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(joelriez @ Mar 30 2022, 03:45 PM)
Noted on that, any reliable workshop u can recommend sir?
actually vmag also go recommend kyb punya. if you on budget.
last time when i chat with him, he also got mentioned.

else you can still source it yourself and bring to him.
he actually told me kyb can be bought online lol

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Mar 30 2022, 03:50 PM
cempedaklife
post Mar 30 2022, 04:37 PM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(joelriez @ Mar 30 2022, 04:34 PM)

Noted guys.. thanks for the advise  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
do update when you did it.
actually it might be time for me to replace mine these couple of years.
cempedaklife
post Apr 1 2022, 12:30 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(joelriez @ Mar 31 2022, 11:30 PM)
Yes, 1.7K inclusive front damper+ mounting, rear damper+bush, labor and alignment.. and also 6 month warranty for the part... looks like a good deal?
FYI. i was once quoted above 2k elsewhere, and that was a couple of years ago.
cempedaklife
post Apr 1 2022, 10:58 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Apr 1 2022, 09:36 AM)
good deal , i got quoted by AR MAN near Ampang waterfront for RM2k back into mid 2019 just the absorber front n back alone and not included mounting, bush, labor and alignment ..
haha...same same, bro.
i think its a couple of hundreds more than 2k.

QUOTE(joelriez @ Mar 31 2022, 11:30 PM)
Yes, 1.7K inclusive front damper+ mounting, rear damper+bush, labor and alignment.. and also 6 month warranty for the part... looks like a good deal?
its a good deal if you want to change to ori absorber.
i know bro Thrust feedback on kyb.
but I'm never on kyb before, and I'm quite happy with my current shokz by APM, a bit stiff, but i can clear bump better.
i forgot the good old days of original absorber, but all i remember is I cant clear my condo bump if its loaded with 4 persons and I cant clear my then gf now wife condo without scrapping even for 1 person. i have to drive really slow and sideway. with shokz, i could. that's all i remember.

also. i can't clear the bump in my neighborhood Aeon.

hence, I'm still undecided with kyb and original laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Apr 1 2022, 11:03 AM
cempedaklife
post Apr 4 2022, 10:18 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Milo_O @ Apr 4 2022, 10:13 AM)
Ar Man Auto is overpriced as i think back.
or so i have been told brows.gif
but i wont say overpriced la...but there are cheaper honda specialist alternative laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
cempedaklife
post Apr 4 2022, 10:19 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 1 2022, 03:24 PM)
if u prefer firmer ride like me. KYB.
if comfort, original or showa.
i dunno my preference hence i cant compare.
but I'm guessing, since i never try kyb, i will try it for the next round nod.gif
cempedaklife
post Apr 4 2022, 10:58 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Apr 4 2022, 10:40 AM)
nowadays i realize their fb page has been taken down, i wonder why hmm.gif
no ah...still got
https://www.facebook.com/armanautocare
cempedaklife
post Jun 15 2022, 10:38 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jun 15 2022, 09:09 AM)
Yesterday wasnt that lucky enough
Car sustained heavy coolant leakage at unknown places, luckily managed to park at the empty lots at the roadside and call my insurance company to tow the car back to my home .
sorry to hear that and thanks for the effort to share it.
let us know the update.

did the engine overheat ie: engine light come on?

on a side note, I'm just back from a road trip, and had the chance to sit on my SIL's 2005ish corolla. even though its a much older car, and the usual rattling here and there at times for an old car, it's a very comfortable car to sit in when driving in those kampung highway and over bumps, as compared to my TMO. dry.gif

looks like its a good choice that its one of my options to replace TMO (whenever it happens in the future).
cempedaklife
post Jun 17 2022, 09:04 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

Hi guys,

so i've been away for the whole week on a road trip earlier this month. needless to say, i have parked the car outside most of the time with no shades, and driven far (and perhaps trailing lorries, trucks, what not).

I only notice today the headlights are peeling quite serious, previously i just see a spot or so. the symptom itself as you can see from the pic. good thing is, i just use my one finger to swipe and it all peel off easily, with no further area damages, just the part where it stuck out.

for those that remember, I'm not too sentimental about cars, but the current plan is to have the option to keep this car for another 4-5 years, which makes it around 15 years old by then. its still a good car, but i could upgrade anytime before 4-5 years but would like to keep the option open.

so, I've always like to keep my car in good condition. i waxed my car not for vanity but to protect the paint. though i want it to look good. my stance is I'm driving an old car, but i don't want an image where I'm driving and old, beat up car. at this stage, what should i do?

1. leave it as it is? I'm not sure how it will look 5 years down the road.
2. i know from online and TMO FB group, so offer headlight restoration services, looks good, but with 5 years timeline, not sure if restore better or keep it this way better in the long run.
3. at this stage, i don't feel like buying a new headlight cover, i dunno the price but i presume definitely more than restoration and i don't need it to be that perfect. going aftermarket worries me as well coz I've seen very very bad headlight/cover on the road. i hate it.

before swiping it off
after
cempedaklife
post Jun 17 2022, 10:39 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jun 17 2022, 10:29 AM)
I suggest you to restore the headlamp... Actually can DIY but if you let ppl do, they will charge you around RM200. I did mine and so far, it had lasted more than 3 years and still no sign of fading. PM me if you want to know where I did it.
you did it outside? where?
i know can DIY, but i don't trust my skill + the hassle lol. rather get some freelance expert or what not.
i believe your restoration includes, sanding and re-coating?
cempedaklife
post Jun 17 2022, 10:42 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jun 17 2022, 10:40 AM)
A bomba guy did it for me in Sri Hartamas fire station 😆

His side income.. So far quite lasting.

Yes.. sanding and recoat using UV coat spray.
how long the process?
I'll reach out to you when I've decided, for his contact.
cempedaklife
post Jun 17 2022, 10:48 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jun 17 2022, 10:43 AM)
if your headlight cover still clear looking then leave it as it is
change new headlight cover will cost RM330 which i did mine around end april this year, results was superb, better lighting cover on the road for the better view at night.
RM330 is after market right?
still clear, my only dilemma now is, if i leave it now, will it last 5 years. coz i don't want later 2 years later, i reach a point of no return and need to replace it.
i prefer restore than replace in this scenario.
cempedaklife
post Jun 17 2022, 05:34 PM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jun 17 2022, 11:28 AM)

mine the original lens really faded and crack  inside (the black plastic liner).
end up buy new depo headlamp and retrofitted with 3" bi-xenon projector..  rolleyes.gif

thanks for your suggestion!
but mine is not cracked yet and touch wood light still good.
reluctant to change light without reasons coz on the road I've seen many lights burned the cover.
I'm okay with the original lights.

not that there is no good aftermarket light, just that...i don't need to take the risk and trouble tongue.gif
cempedaklife
post Jul 3 2022, 01:26 PM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 1 2022, 10:32 PM)
If not mistaken all hoses cost me RM130
cheaper than what i would expect.
how much would the labour be?
cempedaklife
post Jul 5 2022, 06:48 PM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Jul 5 2022, 06:27 PM)
Hi, anyone knows can we still go sc to replace ATF / perform spare parts replacement as we wish even though already long time didn't service there?
yeap.....
but...get ready to be asked, ada appointment tak? weekends normal services saje. banyak orang, bang, tinggal kereta 2-3 hari la boss

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
cempedaklife
post Jul 5 2022, 07:55 PM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Jul 5 2022, 07:39 PM)
owhhh so we can't make appointment early for cars not servicing there?
Can. Make sure you make appointment. But SC nowadays is more on scheduled maintenance, not troubleshooting and fixing cars.
cempedaklife
post Jul 6 2022, 09:26 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jul 6 2022, 08:25 AM)
Just go to Vmag... Give Andrew a call to schedule a time and all the stuff you mentioned can be done there... In addition, faster, cheaper and better workmanship as compared to the SC's slacker mechanics.
haha..
i was thinking about that too.
its good to know a honda specialist @ outside workshop.

btw, today suddenly i hear weird noise for a few seconds.
like there is friction in rotating gear. was coming from driving side. but really unsure if its my audio suddenly bad, or outside motor/car/environment or from engine bay. so ngam got petrol station, stopover, open bonet, nothing. no off engine. drive back, nothing.

hopefully its outside noise. will continue monitor.
cempedaklife
post Aug 19 2022, 11:46 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Aug 19 2022, 11:41 AM)
Come here to fix the oil leak issue
hahaha..i did that earlier this year laugh.gif
completely satisfied.

oh..but bro. remember to ask if they topup. i didn't ask and assume they didn't mention and oil level is enough.
i didn't check coz 2 months later i memang mau change oil

when i change, the foreman said macam not enough oil.
cempedaklife
post Aug 19 2022, 11:50 AM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

btw, anyone know where to source good same/better than ori engine oil filter? used to just buy online that cost about rm15, but since now switched to once a year oil change due to lesser driving, wanted to make sure filter is good quality one.

i can go genuine honda stockist, but a bit malas to go just for an oil filter or two. if anyone of you know where to get from reputable online, do let me know.

27 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:37 PM