48 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

v9.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

Thrust
post May 8 2020, 03:39 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Milo_O @ May 8 2020, 03:08 PM)
Wow, that is super cheap. Is it front and rear absorber only ?
Both front and rear including absorber mounting.

I did it at DTOX as every year they will have Shocktober Promotion. Price from last year are as below. However, I've boycott this place already. biggrin.gif

Our Shocktober Promo includes:
+ Front Absorbers 1 set (KYB)
+ Rear Absorbers 1 set (KYB)
+ Alignment
+ Installation and labour charges
+ 3 months warranty*
Shocktober Promo Price List:
(prices are valid from 1st Oct 2019 to 31st Oct 2019)
Proton
1. Saga BLM - RM 488
2. Saga FLX - RM 508
3. Persona - RM 558
4. Exora - RM 568
5. Wira - RM 428
6. Preve - RM 588
7. Iriz - RM 558
8. Inspira - RM 658
9. Waja - RM 498
10. Perdana - RM 488
Perodua
1. Viva - RM 478
2. Kenari / Kelisa - RM 458
3. Kancil - RM 348
4. Myvi 05 - RM 478
5. Myvi Lagi Best - RM 518
6. Alza - RM 498
7. Axia - RM 518
8. Bezza - RM 518
9. Kembara - RM 498
10. Kembara DVVT - RM 538

Suzuki
1. Swift 1.5 - RM 1258 (KYB Japan)
2. Swift 1.4 - RM 1508 (KYB Japan)
Nissan
1. Latio - RM 678
2. Almera - RM 668
3. Livina - RM 678
4. Navara (old model) - RM1088

Honda
1. City 2014 - RM 778
2. City IDSI (2005) - RM 728
3. City i-vtech - RM 738
4. Jazz - RM 738
5. Civic 05-12 - RM 758
6. Accord 08-12 - RM 788
Toyota
1. Vios NCP150 - RM 708
2. Vios NCP93 - RM 728
3. Vios NCP42 - RM 658
4. Altis ZZE121 - RM 748
5. Altis ZZE141 - RM 818
6. Altis ZRE172 - RM 838
7. Avanza F601 - RM 558
8. Avanza F652 - RM 718
9. Camry ACV40 - RM 988
10. Camry ACV50 - RM 1038
11. Wish 1.8 Valve Matic - RM 1588 (KYB Japan)
12. Wish 1.8 (old model) - RM 1488 (KYB Japan)
13. Alphard 3.0 AH10 2002-08 - RM 1388 (KYB Japan)
Thrust
post May 8 2020, 09:10 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 8 2020, 07:39 PM)
Nice seeing this car is still getting loved by many here. Im into my 9th year, and i intend to keep it as long as it doesn't have any major issue, in the future, either as 2nd car or ship back to my hometown for my bro.
I still remember when this car / thread was new, the chat was about what new things to get like tyres, bodykits, tints etc.

Now, it's more about maintenance and sharing issues to resolve the problems. biggrin.gif
Thrust
post May 9 2020, 07:26 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Milo_O @ May 8 2020, 09:11 PM)
Cheap !
Everywhere i go, i got quoted RM1800+

Front Showa absorber (Left & right)
Rear Showa absorber (left & right)
Front mounting 2 pcs
Stabilizer bar bush 2 pcs
Bump stopper 2 pcs
Dust sleeves 2 pcs
Labour
Alignment
Actually I bought the original rear Showa shocks from Hingan before. It only cost about RM110 / piece. But it is just the shocks without other items like mounting, bushes, sleeves.

Normally people will reuse the old items but just replace the absorbers.
Thrust
post May 9 2020, 07:27 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Bold III @ May 9 2020, 04:53 AM)
Small workshop run by an uncle alone..
Till today the most headache problem ever encountered was clock spring. I replaced it 3 times. First RM250 was oem but low quality, after 3 months claimed warranty but also oem, the problem happened again. then i found half cut from jazz gd8 RM250 too, until today no problem more than 9 months. And i got extra which i claimed warranty for third time, for spare.. total cost RM500.
I even asked honda sc, they quote me about  1500..
What is the symptom of a faulty clock spring?
Thrust
post May 9 2020, 12:44 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 9 2020, 11:43 AM)
Really that cheap? For showa. I shoud have quoted direct from honda stockist like hingan. Previously i quoted from honda specialist workshop genuine like 2k plus with all the bushes and stuff. I remember the absorbers were quite pricey.

I end up buying shokz by apm when they have promo on lazada on 11.11 and a fellow forummer reviewed it.
Yes. It is that cheap but that pricing was like 5 years ago. Rear showa shocks was rm110 / piece. Front was arond rm220 / piece. This pricing is only for the absorbers without other stuff.

Considering APM or KYB came in a whole set, they are much cheaper compared to Showa.

I somehow felt Showa shocks are too soft. if you go through a deep pot hole, you will get a loud 'THANG!!' on your car.

Harder shocks are less susceptible to that but the overall ride will be bumpier.
Thrust
post May 9 2020, 07:20 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 9 2020, 06:13 PM)
Ohh. If front rm220 then yeah makes sense.
Used to not being able to clear the bump at my neighbour aeon, even when its news. Now with this new shocks, can ady. Lol.

By the way anyone has this sound like spring on your bed (actually i think its more metal to metal but the sound like spring) at underneath your driving seat while you are sitting on it? It started having this sound lately on and off. Maybe need to tighten a screw or two or spray wd40 just dont know where . Havent have time and bother to find the source yet. Lol.
Are you a heavy person? If yes, maybe the cushion spring inside the seat gave way already. Just like your old bed with worn out spring sound. biggrin.gif
Thrust
post May 15 2020, 07:24 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I just bought a new PCV valve and grommet. Plan to replace it as a maintenance item. A simple device but can do damage to the engine if it is clogged.

VIDEO on how to replace the valve on a GD8. The location of the pcv valve is the same on GM2.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVatzycCR0A&t=612s

This post has been edited by Thrust: May 15 2020, 07:26 AM
Thrust
post May 15 2020, 08:46 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 15 2020, 07:35 AM)
How much you bought? Whats a grommet? First time hear
Bought from Shopee. Last year I was browsing around and the price for these items was around RM125. Now there are other sellers which are selling it for around RM60-RM75.

Basically all cars have PCV valve. This item might clogged up when the car is of higher mileage as its function is to release gas vapor within the crank case into the intake manifold. When it clogs up, you will encounter oil leakages from various seals, engine idle rough.

Those days, this is a routine maintenance item which requires periodic maintenance as in to change them during major service. I think it is a good practice to change it once every 100,000 km. When I visited AR MAN Auto Care, The foreman told that they do replace them occasionally on high mileage vehicles especially the GD8 model.

On our TMO, the grommet is a rubber in which is to secure the PCV valve into the designated hole. If you watch the video, you'll know.

This post has been edited by Thrust: May 15 2020, 08:53 AM
Thrust
post May 15 2020, 11:00 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Bold III @ May 15 2020, 10:48 AM)
do u DIY? from the video, i think quite difficult for me..
I plan to DIY. The video is the older GD8 model and it is quite difficult to replace as it involves removing the intake manifold.

Our model is quite simple. Just need to remove 2 screws to free up the wiring harness to gain access to the valve..

I'll upload some pictures later when I complete the job later.
Thrust
post May 15 2020, 02:28 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I've just replaced the grommet and pcv valve and boy was it difficult and out of my expectation biggrin.gif

The rubber grommet was hardened like plastic and when I pull the pcv valve out, it snapped into half biggrin.gif

Then I started digging the other half end out but it ended up dropping inside the engine. I suppose it dropped down to the oil sump. I wouldn't be too concern though as these are rubber and plastic parts only. It won't damage metal components inside the engine.

I would suggest to let the pros do it.. DIY is not an easy job.

After replacing the pcv valve, I noticed the idle is a lot smoother now.

This post has been edited by Thrust: May 15 2020, 03:03 PM
Thrust
post May 16 2020, 07:26 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Bold III @ May 16 2020, 07:23 AM)
Waaa really envy with your car engine cleanliness!!
anyway it is a good effort though..eventually i will pass to the pro..
should be at what mileage interval to replaced that PCV valve?
The top photo I copied from the internet.. The bottom is only mine but is quite clean also.

Some people recommend to replace every 50,000 KM or 4 years once so that the rubber grommet won't be too hard to remove.
Thrust
post May 17 2020, 10:13 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Just to share some info here..

I think half of my pcv valve have dropped into the area highlighted below. It seems this area is not connected to the oil sump and my guess is it will be confine within that area. I guess the next time when the pcv valve is due for replacement, I'll ask the mechanic to open the breather cover to remove the broken pieces.

Somehow, the US version of the L15A7 uses a different type of breather cover as shown below. This breather cover is better as it uses the metal screw on type pcv valve.

Our engine uses this type of breather cover which needs a rubber grommet.

This post has been edited by Thrust: May 17 2020, 10:26 AM
Thrust
post May 17 2020, 10:37 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 17 2020, 10:32 AM)
I drove my car out from carpark midnight to 'wash' my car off the dust with rain as it been months since i went to a car wash and im reluctant to go one for the time being.

Took the opportunity to clean my MAF sensor, and engine air filter. I took a look at the engine bay and i cant figure out where is this pcv valve. This morning look for it again when placing back the filter, still cant find lol. I dont see anything in yellow as well. biggrin.gif
You can't see yellow probably because it's covered with oil, dirt and grease. If you know where is the thermostat, it is slightly on your left.
Thrust
post May 20 2020, 02:10 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Bold III @ May 20 2020, 11:59 AM)

Finally found my pcv valve. Hahaha
If not replaced, can i clean the pcv valve?
What i mean by uninstall and flush with 4wd 40 or same spray for throttle body?
I would suggest not to remove and clean it. I read on the internet, a lot of people actually struggles to remove it and also they broke it like me.

Based on my experience, just ignore and don't replace it until it really gives you a problem. Even if you want to replace it, I'd recommend doing so when your engine mileage hits 200,000 KM.
Thrust
post May 20 2020, 07:52 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 20 2020, 07:16 PM)
Previously you said smooth idle means what? No more vibration when stationary, or no idle hunting?
Lesser vibration. But vibration can also be caused by worn engine mounting, spark plugs and some other issues.

Don't know whether it is placebo effect or not but I feel it restores a little bit of power back.
Thrust
post May 20 2020, 08:44 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 20 2020, 08:30 PM)
Yeah. Got it. Thats why i asked coz my spark plugs was changed about 30k ago. And if you remember, i have yet to change my mounts that i have purchased as mech say still good. So i wonder the vibration i have is due to this. Cleaned throttle body 30k ago as well
Most likely is due to the engine mounting. I've already checked with spare parts shop. Our model needed 3 mounting and replacement cost isn't that expensive if you take the OEM mounting. According to the shop, the OEM mounting are made by the same Honda supplier in Thailand but without Honda certification.

The OEM mounting for 3 pieces will cost you around RM540. The original Honda mounting for 3 pieces will land you around RM800 - RM900.

I've just replaced the right hand side mounting as mechanic said it is this one that wears out faster than the rest. You can notice it if you see the rubber inside it actually bottoms out and touches the metal part which connects to the body. The other 2 pieces, will replace when my car dashboard / steering vibrates more. Now it is quite smooth.

This post has been edited by Thrust: May 20 2020, 08:46 PM
Thrust
post May 20 2020, 09:36 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 20 2020, 09:30 PM)
Ei. No la. I get from hingan, about 670 for all 3.
Wow.. RM670 is actually quite affordable also to use original mounting.
Thrust
post May 21 2020, 07:03 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

When the D light is blinking, it usually is usually cause by a faulty sensor.

If indeed there's something wrong mechanically, you will be able to feel it.
Thrust
post May 21 2020, 09:53 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ May 21 2020, 09:18 PM)
After that the foremen told me TMO gearbox mostly are very reliable unless ATF is overdue or using wrong/bad fluid
My City's ATF just only 17,000km but to play safe i decided to give it a change
so i went to shopee bought a bottle of new ATF but not Honda brand
Fluid that drain out was dark pink to my surprise, foremen take the drainage nut and take a look as the tips of the nut was magnetic there's tons of black powder sticking on it, he proceed to clean it off before pouring the new fluid into the gearbox.
usually people will replace the ATF using original Honda DW1 fluid. This is because Honda gearboxes are very finicky on the ATF being used.
Thrust
post May 22 2020, 07:27 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ May 22 2020, 01:59 AM)
I used DW1 too but it starts to give me problems
Thats why i choose others brand for this round
Can you describe the problems? I normally don't trust 3rd party fluid which claims they are compatible with so many different type of vehicle gearboxes.

Sounds too good to be true.

Below are the specifications of the Penrite ATF and Honda DW1 ATF. There's a difference in its viscosity primary at 40C which is during cold start in our Malaysia climate.

PENRITE

HONDA DW1

This post has been edited by Thrust: May 22 2020, 07:58 AM

48 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.1171sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:07 PM