48 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

v9.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

Thrust
post Jan 1 2019, 08:47 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 1 2019, 08:35 AM)
But if the original Honda absorber is already so "low", is it worth it to go with Honda? Thanks - will read up about KYB Excel G.
Personally I myself didn't change back to Honda absorbers as they are a bit too soft for my liking.

I've replaced to KYB Excel G as I've seen many car enthusiast uses this for their OEM setup. This shock is a bit stiffer than Honda but I think it is good enough for a Honda City.
Thrust
post Jan 1 2019, 08:58 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 1 2019, 08:50 PM)
Where did you get yours?
I got it from Detox car service during their shoctober promotion for rm750 which include 4 absorbers, 1 pair of front absorber mounting and labour charge all in.

Without promotion, it will cost more but I reckon normal workshop can get it all done within rm750-900.
Thrust
post Jan 2 2019, 05:06 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 2 2019, 03:39 PM)
Are these two the right ones?
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i1154386...lFlag=true&mp=1

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i1154236...lFlag=true&mp=1

And are the price reasonable? It's about RM950 for the 4 wheels.
Yes it is this but I think its a bit on the pricey side without the promotion. Maybe you can ask around workshops how much they charge to replace all 4 shocks?
Thrust
post Jan 2 2019, 05:56 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 2 2019, 05:28 PM)
Thanks - yes, I will do just that or wait for better deals during the upcoming sales. At least now I know what I needed to buy/change. How about the mount and bush? Do I need to change them too (might as well?)? If so, any recommended brand/parts?
No need to change unless it is crack. You can ask the mechanic to inspect for you and replace if required.
Thrust
post Jan 13 2019, 03:37 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(p_cock01 @ Jan 12 2019, 07:03 PM)
how many oil seal inside gearbox cylinder.mine leaking lagi la at the back of the cylinder near lower arm
What is your car mileage now?

When replacing oil seal, better ask the mechanic to replace all at once.
Thrust
post Jan 21 2019, 04:29 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 21 2019, 04:22 PM)
Bro, it seems like the atf filter is under or behind the throttle instead of just the filter box. I need to remove the whole thing? I just bought the atf filter and wanted to diy myself. Haha.

Yes. You need to remove the air filter box assembly. You can do so by unscrewing 2 screws which is bolted onto the chassis and 1 which is connected to the throttle body hose.

Yours should be easily removable as you did not install Ultra Racing strut bar.

What mileage your car has accumulated now?

This post has been edited by Thrust: Jan 21 2019, 04:30 PM
Thrust
post Jan 22 2019, 09:31 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 22 2019, 07:16 AM)
Just to be sure. White highlighted definitely need to remove. Orange also? That is what you call air filter box? I thought only white is called air filter box.

So only red part is called throttle body? I thought orange is part of throttle body.

I tried to remove to nut on the right side of the white highlighted, but it's screwed too hard. I use the normal long nut driver to reach. I think maybe need the torque nut driver instead to apply better power.

My car now is 113k km. Previously got once gear seems to have problem. Switiching gear seems a bit hard. I'm 5 minutes always from home in a rainy days. Next morning it was fine. Bring to workshop, workshop can't figure out since not happening. Changed atf  every 20k km. So better change filter too I think.

But even without this incident better change too. I learned alot from you and other forummers on maintenance, beyond atf and engine oil change.

Did my throttle body cleaning, changed serpentine belt, changed brake fluid.
Actually if you can't remove it, maybe you can send and get a mechanic to do it for you. Observe how he do it and you can replace it yourself next time.
Thrust
post Jan 29 2019, 07:52 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 29 2019, 06:38 PM)
Wanted to explore myself if it's easy. I've asked the neighbourhood workshop, even point to him, he didn't know got such thing and never did before. Lol.
You have to go to the Honda Specialist lor.. Not all mechanics are well verse with all model of vehicles.
Thrust
post Jan 31 2019, 11:33 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(joelriez @ Jan 31 2019, 11:21 AM)
Hi Bro, can share ur workshop location/details? My AC giving me problem. not blowing cool air, before that every time on the AC got some sound and stinky smell...
Hoo Car Cooler

13a, Jalan PJS 1/48, Taman Petaling Utama, 46150
Thrust
post Feb 2 2019, 06:46 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(joelriez @ Feb 2 2019, 06:20 PM)
They open up the dashboard to replace cooling coil?
For Honda City no need.. But may need to cut the bottom part of the glove box compartment. Anyway, there's a original Honda bar meant to replace the cut area.
Thrust
post Feb 3 2019, 04:55 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(joelriez @ Feb 3 2019, 12:59 PM)
Confirm the cooling coil leaked, change to local brand (SWJ). Fill up the gas a day before and finish the day after, so the leak damn big.

Cooling coil+aircond air filter+refill gas+workmanship cost me 600++

Dont know the performance of the cooling coil brand, but warranty cover for 1 year.
Where did you change the cooling coil? Normally when cooling coil leaks, you can smell the gas refrigerant inside your cabin. It releases a weird plasticky smell.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Feb 3 2019, 04:57 PM
Thrust
post Feb 4 2019, 04:29 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(joelriez @ Feb 4 2019, 04:06 PM)
Nilai. Yes, prior to the leak i do smell some stinky, but then it went away.
That stinky smell is the R134A gas.. It went away because the gas leaked all out biggrin.gif
Thrust
post Feb 5 2019, 12:09 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Feb 4 2019, 10:56 PM)
Did anyone's aircon button light went out? Is it a hassle to replace?
Mine KO also. Didnt bother to replace it as long as aircond is still working.
Thrust
post Feb 6 2019, 05:15 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Feb 6 2019, 07:11 AM)
LOL. So expensive. Thinking to replace it if possible. Outside workshop. Though I don't know how it should be replaced, whether it's a hassle. Older version seems have to dismantle alot of stuff just to get access. Was wondering if removing the button will do.

By the way, I have my gearbox light replaced by outside workshop as well. FOC. While change engine oil.
Where do you change your engine oil and how much they charge? You bring your own oil?
Thrust
post Feb 6 2019, 10:14 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Feb 6 2019, 09:41 PM)
I just change at my neighbourhood workshop in setapak. It was 15. Then they start charging rm20 a while ago. Then just before cny I go again it's Rm15 back. Haha. Now using fully synthetic so I just go every half a year. Sometimes out of convenience, I did it in other workshop also.

Yes. I bring my own engine oil. Was using Honda semi. Then start 2 bottle of Honda fully syn. Now just switched to shell helix 5w40 bought from giant, change before cny. I will reserve review after I go back kl tomorrow then straight long distance to johor first.

But at a glance, the oil is really heavier. But feel a bit protected whenever I step a bit more on the pedal. It will affect fuel efficiency.

In any case, I have another bottle waiting to be used. So I can wait till end of year before decide whether to stick to it or change. But most likely, I will switch back to 5w30, but not with Honda anymore.
Thicker oil such as the Shell 5W40 definitely will lead to slightly higher fuel consumption. Best is to stick to 0W30 or 5W30.
Thrust
post Mar 2 2019, 01:18 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Mar 1 2019, 08:42 PM)
Thanks. I was under the impression (my own assumption perhaps) that rear is drum brake. I was rethinking about it since I changed rear brake pad as well. Thought drum brake should have brake shoes and not pad, but I'm not sure.

And also. Most reputable brake pad, like akebono, it'd easy to find the brake pad for front but not rear. So it adds to my confusion.
You can opt for either Akebono or Nissin.. Both are good OEM pads.

Whenever possible, also replace the brake retainer clip to avoid screeching sound after installation.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Mar 2 2019, 01:19 PM
Thrust
post Mar 2 2019, 01:40 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Mar 2 2019, 01:36 PM)
Does the brake retainer clip comes together when purchasing brake pad?

Yeah I'm using a 1 year old bendix metal king front pad. A bit regret. But its all part of learning. The rear one I'm not sure as it's from the workshop and I didn't ask.

I cant seem to find akebono rear one.
Nope.. You need to buy it separately. A lot of times, mechanics said replacement is not needed but I tell you its better to change it to avoid noises later.
Thrust
post Mar 7 2019, 08:40 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Mar 6 2019, 06:55 PM)
So the issue happened lately again. I noticed that the piping which is supposed to be cold (at least the first picture one) is hot. The Two fans at the front is Turning so that's not a problem.

Someone mentioned in the forum about the smell and he got the correct description I think. It's smells like hair spray.

What could be the problem?

The hair spray smell is actually R134A gas. If you can smell it within the cabin, most likely your cooling coil is leaking. Replacement is required.
Thrust
post Mar 9 2019, 12:25 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Just bought engine oil (0W30) from Hingan. Price increased from rm150 to rm165 sad.gif
Thrust
post Mar 12 2019, 04:34 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 11 2019, 11:45 PM)
Anyone know what is the size of the drain plug washer? I can't find the exact model online. Agak-agak can find M14 (14mm) size, is that correct?

Would like to change it to magnetic plug when I DIY service. Gonna be my first DIY service my own car.
M14 is right.. head size is 17mm.

48 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.1297sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:09 AM