XBMC / KODI users club, An Open Source Media Center

plumberly
post Dec 24 2015, 07:44 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 23 2015, 09:04 PM)
I installed it before but I just can't get used to the navigation. So I reverted back to default Kodi mode. It's pretty awesome to look at though  smile.gif
I see. Thanks.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 24 2015, 04:26 AM)
I've installed it before and been using it for quite awhile till I recently sold off my box. Chris's repo is down. However, you can install it through "Ares Wizard".
Ares Wizard! Found the web location!

Will try it after my Xmas holiday family trip.

Merry Xmas & Happy New Year to all here!
plumberly
post Dec 27 2015, 08:43 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 24 2015, 06:32 PM)
In addition to Ares Wizard (which is amazing by the way), Chris has fixed up the repo. You can now get his build from Spartan Pixel. You are welcome and a Merry Christmas to you & family.  biggrin.gif
Tried Areswizard. Simple and easy to install. Watched 007's Spectre on The Beast. Find this user interface better, neater and easier to use. More professional in my view.

1 question. I selected Beast as my build. Later I assume that I can select another build say Spartan in Areswizard?

And later revert to The Beast if needed?

All these build changes will not affect installed apk right as the builds are inside Kodi?

Many thanks for your help.

plumberly
post Dec 28 2015, 08:53 AM

4,761 posts

Many thanks for your feedback!

See below.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 28 2015, 12:43 AM)
Yup, so far I've favored the Beast's setup myself. Yeah, what happens in KODI, stays within KODI and won't affect your other installed android apks in any manner. As for running multiple builds;
1. You could have two separate KODI variants installed and setup separately (which I can confirm works).
2. Setup separate profiles and during launch, you'll be requested to select a profile to login. Profiles can be password protected in case your have ehem..research files/addons to protect biggrin.gif. Adding multiple profiles to KODI.
***  Gee, like PC on different OS! Did not know that. Will explore and then try it out. I like The Beast and may use that for my H8 TV Box. Enjoyed watching Genesis concert last night on The Beast. By the way, you can open up another selection list by using the left arrow button when you are on the main selection menu. That is where I found the concerts list!

*** Good tip on the password for SPECIAL RESEARCH files! Ha. Will come in handy.

Whichever method you choose, be sure to do regular backups.... Ares Wizard; Once you've installed a particular build, to install another, its usually best to perform a fresh install vs overwriting files from the previous builds, to avoid inconsistencies. So means, clear data & cache, launch KODI as new, install Ares Wizard again and select new build.
*** Aiyoh, so much work? Ha. Need to install Areswizard again? I thought just run the program and select the new build. No?

Downloading, streaming or playing local files? Hmmm... Usually, the cache is cleared after playing the media content or at most after exiting KODI. IMO, I use the official KODI more than the pre-installed version. Reserving the latter for instances where for some reason I'm unwilling to troubleshoot or don't have the time to at that moment (just want to hit play) for a local file that refuses to play on the official version. Never had such an issue. You might want to look into creating an advancedsettings.xml file with an increased cache size. I've attached mine as reference... Worked smoothly with 15.2.
*** Thanks.
plumberly
post Jan 2 2016, 01:02 PM

4,761 posts

Sharing some tips from a TVBox beginner. I am using H8. Sifu here, please excuse me with my tips as the advanced users would know these by default.

AA
Say I start CloudTV, select NEWS. Click on the first choice. Don't like what I see, close it. Click on the 2nd one and see.
Shortcut is, instead of closing it and open the next one, just use the UP ^ button on the remote to go to the next channel. Easier and faster.

BB
As beginner in TVBox, one will go and try different apps like 1Channel, Genesis etc. In the search, one may find some channels one likes. Problem is, later one may forget how to get that channel again as some may be a few layers down the menu.
Tip is to select the channel you like as FAVOURITE (press menu on the remote, select FAVOURITE). Later, just go to your FAVOURITE menu and all the channels you like are in there. You don't have to go hunting for channel 1, 2, 3 etc.

Having some problems in using the FAST FORWARD in 1Channel & Genesis. Watched 1 hr of a 2 hrs movie. Want to continue watching it by fast forwarding it (this one, for some unknown reason does not ask me whether I want to continue from where I stopped before or start from new). I used 3 methods:
* click on the time bar and drag it to where I want it to start.
* click on the time bar where I want to start
* use the fast forward button (for few seconds or minutes fast forward, it works fine. For longer period, it does not seem to do anything when I press on the play button).

What is the right way of fast forwarding 30-60 mins?

plumberly
post Jan 2 2016, 08:57 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 2 2016, 04:42 PM)
what u experience is normal.

kodi links do not allow big jumps in FF. dunno why, probably buffering protocols, congestion due to massive nos. of users worldwide.

it has always been like that, as far as i know.

other apps - some also need a little time to complete buffering, some are almost immediate, dependent on no. of seeds and peers. but most are faster than kodi for FF.
QUOTE(Ngto @ Jan 2 2016, 06:07 PM)
From what I can tell, Kodi only cache a small portion ahead, so if you fast forward, it has to do a fresh search from the server for the portion you want. There will surely be delay.

When this new portion is found, it will replace the previous cache with the new one. If you try to go back , the previous one no longer exist, so a new search will start all over again.
QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 2 2016, 06:10 PM)
Answers to questions on the Beast & Builds are just a few pages back... Please use the search feature if too tiresome to click and read. Korean & Local shows? No idea.
IMO, fast forwarding speed and handling depends on buffering, network congestion, and source. If playing from local content and you've got decent buffering space, FF on KODI is a breeze. Same with streaming off local networked content. Fast forwarding does get tricky when it comes to streaming sources of the internet as those largely depend on how much already buffered content is available for KODI to access. So larger buffering size + current internet speed + server strength + manually setting how fast KODI fills up the cache leads to better FF performance. Outside already buffered content, either option 1 or 2 is the best way to get KODI to jump forward. Have to remember that KODI is designed to be efficient to avoid the app crashing as a result of too little storage space available for smooth media playback.

I see. But to me, FF means I do not want to watch that part and so it should just start downloading the part where I have skipped to.

I either finish watching the movie from now on or make sure the"resume" option is working for my next viewing.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Jan 3 2016, 11:14 AM

4,761 posts

Another question from my TV Box learning journey.

After failing in getting any sound with the optical cable, decided to use RCA. Watched Eagles Farewell 1 Tour concert last night on one China source. Impressive and liked the sound from the AVR compared to from the TV. Much better.

But ...

I have to increase the AVR volume to 55 (will be loud at 55 if I were playing BR) and could do with higher volume as it was at night. Reduced to about 45 when wife complained as she could not sleep at about 11 pm! Ha.

My guess is, audio signals from BR player and from the net are not 100% the same, depending on the audio technology available then. Can I say that, on average, internet audio quality is not as good as from BR player?

The only choice I have to select the audio is STEREO. No surround etc.

AA
What can I do to have more audio selection choices? Settings in ANDROID, APK?

BB
If this is controlled by the streaming file, how can I find out what audio choices are there in that file?

plumberly
post Jan 3 2016, 05:00 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 3 2016, 01:04 PM)
Bro, this is KODI thread.. Ask in or create a thread in the appropriate section..
QUOTE(Ngto @ Jan 3 2016, 01:06 PM)
Why are you comparing stereo sound from RCA analog cable with Bluray 5.1/7.1 sound using Optical or HDMI ?  doh.gif .
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 3 2016, 01:08 PM)
most online streams are either 2.0 or 1.0 incl kodi and china sites.

a minority in kodi are dd/dts 5.1.

in general, do not expect good audio with online streaming.

for that, stick to yr BR discs or downloaded stuff.
QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 3 2016, 01:15 PM)
My 1st thought too.. You would think one who bought or uses an AVR would at least understand sound & formats available. Noob or not.. An AVR system sounds better than TV speakers... Well that's a shocker..  tongue.gif

No offense meant... Some questions need not be asked especially if the answers are one Google search away.

Some background infor I did not supply earlier ...

In Kodi, I have already set System System Audio to 5.1, enable passthrough, Dolby xxxxx. Watched John Wick (2014 movie), got only stereo. Wondering why, and thus asked here. By the way, John Wick is a nice action movie!

Yes, for fixing audio from apk, maybe better for me to raise this in TV Box thread.

AVFAN, I see, current online streaming audio is not really that good/advanced. Pity. Maybe with 4K, audio will be better?

I have googled to find out how to set the audio in Android (also found out how to do that in Kodi but still not working. Maybe like AVFAN says, the files are mostly stereo files) and replies were mainly on setting the audio in mobile phones. So, asked here for help.

On RCA cabling, I bought my Onkyo (5.1) 13 years ago and but then I don't think we have HDMI cable. May be I am wrong. No HDMI plugs on my old Onkyo. Even with RCA, I can get surround, 5.1, etc. I can get surround, 5.1 with RCA before via BR and thus wondered why I cannot get it via streaming on RCA.

Now I understand better.

Cheerio.

plumberly
post Jan 3 2016, 07:02 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 3 2016, 05:36 PM)
let me help u understand it completely. biggrin.gif

online streaming can't have the best audio yet because it takes a much higher broadband speed and most people don't have it. hd video is already difficult for most users, let alone dd/dts or hd audio.

yr old avr should have only toslink (optical) and coaxial (rca) input. hdmi did not exist then. it also has red/white rca stereo input.

yr device (h8) has hdmi (good for hd video and hd audio which i suppose u now connect direct to tv), toslink (dd/dts only, cannot do dtshdma/ddtruehd) and stereo red/white (rca).

with red/white rca, u get only stereo. the "surround" effect is just "all channels stereo" - an avr giving u as good as it can with a stereo stream.

if u connect device output via toslink to avr, you should get dd/dts if the stream is such and for usb playback. stereo streams will be almost like the same as using red/white rca.

"After failing in getting any sound with the optical cable" - this may be due to yr box audio audio setting. try the different settings available - auto, spdif, lpcm.
*** I have tried HDMI, SPDIF & LPCM earlier. No success. If current limitation is due to streaming audio technology, think I will just stick to RCA. Then wait for my next system upgrade to get 70-80% of what technology has to offer.

if required, please post further in the android/himedia box thread!
*** Will do.

plumberly
post Jan 3 2016, 07:11 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 3 2016, 06:11 PM)
While a video is playing in KODI, press the letter "O" for codec info or "M" for onscreen player controls (OSD). To find out video & sound format being played.
*** Only have remote and mouse to my H8. Will try that once I have a keyboard.

There is no such thing as 5.1 stereo sound. "Stereo" means two channels of sound. RCA can only handle two channels.
*** Understood. My current setup is 5.1 and I am only getting sound from the front 2 speakers. Nothing from the center and 2 side speakers with my current streaming setup. If I said "5.1 stereo" earlier, my apology.

So you'll get stereo with RCA cables, not 5.1 surround.
*** Really? I hooked up BR player and also ASTRO via RCA to the AVR. Got surround. Maybe my ears are playing with my mind. Ha.

Many receivers will have audio listening modes that allow stereo sound to be sent to all 5 speakers. Dolby Pro Logic is an example of just such a surround sound simulator. So the "5.1" you are getting is simply a simulation & not the real deal as intended.
*** This explains how I got surround via the RCA. Only simulated surround. Ha.

IMO, the best connection for HD surround sound is actually thru an HDMI connection. Even most TVs with optical out will only send out stereo sound. Plus optical (box) to optical (AVR) is also plagued by the limitations of a toslink connection.

S/PDIF is based on the professional AES3 interconnect standard. S/PDIF can carry two channels of uncompressed PCM audio or compressed 5.1/7.1 surround sound (such as DTS audio codec); it cannot support lossless formats (such as Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio) which require greater bandwidth like that available with HDMI or DisplayPort.
*** Thanks for a quick lesson on Audio 101! Ha.
plumberly
post Jan 3 2016, 07:17 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jan 3 2016, 06:15 PM)
Plumberly smile.gif , if the source is only stereo (you can see the info in the playback Window), then whether you select 5.1 or even 10.1 (haha , just a joke) you will still get only stereo.
*** Understood. I thought audio from streaming is like audio from playing BR until AVFAN explains that they are mostly just stereo.

Btw, when you selected 5.1 in your Kodi Settings did you read the on-screen notes that appeared when you placed your mouse/pointer on the selection button ?

It says this 5.1 settings is only for analogue 5.1, that 's probably for PC that uses 5.1 anologue channels to it's speakers.
*** Not using PC for this. Using H8.

Enabling passthrough will have no effect on the above settings, since it's analogue.

If you want to play Dolby or DTS 5.1 source, connect Optical cable from your PC/Android Device to your old AVR (which does not have HDMI).

From your Kodi settings, select 2 channels (yes, you heard right ; again read the notes to know why, it's a special mode), then enable passthrough,  and don't forget to select the correct Audio Output Device and Passthrough Device to SPDIF that matches your Android/PC connection.

Also don't forget your SPDIF output is properly enabled and configured  in your PC/Android Box.

And most important, your source must be Digital 5.1 before you can get 5.1 decoding from your AVR.
*** Thanks. This was the light at the end of the tunnel for me as I assumed wrongly that streaming audio is by default 5.1
plumberly
post Jan 3 2016, 09:17 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 3 2016, 09:12 PM)
online streaming kodi or otherwise is NOT going to give u good audio.

to enjoy the best audio, get a new AVR! then get bluray material.

yr device can handle:

Audio codec : DTS, DOLBYDIGITAL PLUS, AC3 ( support DTS-HDMA passthru, Dolby TrueHD 7.1 passthru and ATMOS passthru )
Noted and thanks, Sifu!

Need to get $ visa from the Home Minister for my toy! Ha.
plumberly
post Jan 13 2016, 02:37 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(danielSinclair @ Jan 13 2016, 11:02 AM)
Hello,

I'm newbie here. I don't know is it right to ask? I need an android tv box for youtube, iflix and streaming channel. any suggestion for budget under RM250? Fyi i'm using unifi 30mbps.

Thanks smile.gif
My 2 cents as a newbie in this TV Box thing. Started only some 3-4 months ago.

I recommend using Kodi AND other apk. Not just either one as none of them is perfect/complete. This means you need one with large memory (in PC terminology, at least 2 GB ROM and 16 GB RAM).

Gives you more space to install apk, less problems in running the apk (need to keep free at least 200 MB for apk to run smoothly).

My streamyx 8 Mbps is coping fine with my streaming. So no need to go over-board in getting 30 or 50 Mbps. Some times, the slow streaming speed is due to the heavy traffic load of the source rather than your broadband speed. E.g. when I get lot of buffering, I change it to another link/source, and usually, this solves my buffering problem. Of course, if you must get 1080 or 4K, then get faster speed one.

Lastly, be prepared to go through a steep learning curve in using TV Box on setting it up and doing minor fixes. Not like ASTRO etc.

Enjoy your new toy!
plumberly
post Jan 13 2016, 03:16 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(danielSinclair @ Jan 13 2016, 02:55 PM)
thanks bro. may i know what kind of devices and softwarez you using it? do you manage to play youtube or iflix at your tv? sorry if wrong thread again ...  thumbup.gif
Using Himedia H8 Quad

Like in mobile with apps, you can find lots of apk in googleplay. Just google and see.

My kids use Youtube in H8 and I don't use iflix.
plumberly
post Jan 17 2016, 12:25 PM

4,761 posts

Like to get some feedback from those who have upgraded to the latest Kodi V16.

The good and the bad?

plumberly
post Jan 25 2016, 01:46 PM

4,761 posts

Like to know whether there are add-on for educational, self improvement videos.

plumberly
post Jan 25 2016, 06:08 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 25 2016, 05:27 PM)
TED Talks... Available in KODI's addon repository.
Sorry for not mentioning TED and Khan Academy.

Any others beside the above 2?

plumberly
post Jan 25 2016, 08:25 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 25 2016, 08:19 PM)
Well, there's always YouTube... You could also check out the documentary section within the Phoenix addon or the Decado documentary addon. I haven't tried this yet, but check out the Learning Zone addon inside the SR repo.

plumberly
post Feb 18 2016, 11:39 AM

4,761 posts

Heard about this new Exodus. Been using Genesis for some time now, like it and without much problem.

Had a look at Exodus on the web. Looks like Genesis in its functionality. Now asking myself whether I should install Exodus or not. Afraid that Exodus may corrupt Genesis if they are installed on the same TV Box (Why? Just guessing, written by the same guy who now has a problem with Genesis)

Appreciate feedback from those using Genesis before and now using Exodus.

plumberly
post Feb 18 2016, 11:54 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 18 2016, 11:52 AM)
Wont have prob. Its just another addon.

What are the 2 best things you find on Exodus vs Genesis?

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Feb 18 2016, 12:07 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 18 2016, 12:00 PM)
UI almost similar as Genesis.
1080P content (particulary Dizilab source for drama).
Noted and thanks.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0656sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:11 AM