Maybank 2 Cards Premier, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

herc
post Jun 30 2015, 09:06 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jun 29 2015, 11:19 PM)
They sent me a GST statement upon requesting.

The next round i'm gonna tell them i will pay you cash for GST vmad.gif

It was RM30+ for 20+ thousand EM.
let us know if you able to pay the GST via cash
herc
post Jul 9 2015, 10:33 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jul 9 2015, 09:18 AM)
Thanks. Do you guys have second thoughts after getting this card ? (ie: a better alternative?) The perks for me would be 5 x TP for AMEX and the freedom to convert into airmiles if needed.

Currently using MBB2Card because of 5% cash back for most things. I don't spend enough on Petrol / Groceries to make use of Ikhwan or OCBC Titanium.

EDIT: PPL benefit is a plus but have a BMW White Card which grants me access. Would I be able to bring a guest in with this card , or must the name match ?
Airmiles would be the only main concern and it's the best rate in the market to date. Not to forget is you unable to meet the minimum annual spending, there is a RM800 annual fee.
herc
post Jul 10 2015, 09:57 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(zeronuker @ Jul 10 2015, 08:44 AM)
Awesome! and Thanks for the info.

What was the rate? Wanna redeem to buy lots of electrical items!  flex.gif
RM50 at 20,000 TPs, in the block of RM50

herc
post Jul 23 2015, 11:12 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jul 23 2015, 09:01 AM)
just wondering if Malaysian CC is the most cost efficient way if making a big purchase overseas ? (US & UK) Thinking around RM40k mark

Don't have a US or UK bank account so can't do bank draft.

Sifu and bosses here any tips ?
cost efficient way is still to get bank draft in the destination currency (GBP or USD), but it takes time to clear into the account at the point of your purchase, not recommend for retail shopping.

we use these M2Premier is mainly for the FFP redemption.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 23 2015, 10:16 AM)
Just for curiosity, this card got no cash back so is basically a pure reward points card with very good exchange (lowest rm- points). Am I right?

How much FD is needed to pledge for this card?
lowest rm to frequent flyer program point, enrich krisflyer or asiamiles. To pledge, need RM30k - current CL with Maybank.
herc
post Jul 23 2015, 11:39 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jul 23 2015, 11:30 AM)
yes..rich people dont see RM50 per month cash back  tongue.gif
i still see RM50(and more) laaa, after HLB Wise, MBB2Amex (bye bye), PBB VS, CIMB CR, Aeon Watami, HLB Fortune then only come to here brows.gif
herc
post Jul 27 2015, 03:42 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(dc8585 @ Jul 27 2015, 10:11 AM)
According to bro GenX, it's the best conversion rate in the world!

Thank goodness we can redeem for Asia Miles. Am planning a huge multi-carrier redemption award. Will report back once flights are confirmed and ticketed.
I been trying on that too, not easy as BA now no longer shows available award ticket for Qatar, and when check via Enrich, its available but nope when using AM on MAS. Even when trying to book BA via AM, chart shows available but unable to proceed mad.gif

Please share if there is success case!

p/s: Time frame I check is 15~31 Dec 2015 and 1 ~ 15 Feb 2016

This post has been edited by herc: Jul 27 2015, 03:43 PM
herc
post Jul 28 2015, 11:49 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(dc8585 @ Jul 28 2015, 10:24 AM)
You are redeeming online I presume. For the multi-carrier awards I believe you have to call up AM. Flyertalk is full of horror stories re AM call centre but my experience has been quite ok. Calls were attended to only after a few minutes' wait.

I'm planning my mega trip for 2016/2017 so still far away compared with your Xmas 2015 - Feb 2016 dates. My only challenge as I see it thus far is securing 2 J award seats on CX's popular HKG-YVR flights. I have complied with the 5 stopovers, 2 open-jaws and 2 transits (confirmed by AM), just waiting for the miles to add up and I'll be ready to redeem in a few months' time.
Through online form.
At first was trying multi-carrier, QR/MAS open jaws, KUL-DOH-BCN then MAD-DOH-KUL for shortest miles. No luck
Then, KUL-LHR-BCN (BA) return, no luck as well.

Then checking HKG-BCN (CX), shows available but can't book online.

Will get the AM points ready by next month then only call up them, book once available. I usually need put auto redial about 4~5mins before some one pick up.

This post has been edited by herc: Jul 28 2015, 11:53 AM
herc
post Aug 3 2015, 08:34 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

guys, when redeem AsiaMiles, how long does it take to credit in your AM account?
herc
post Aug 6 2015, 12:54 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

Called up to premier helpline to redeem AsiaMiles on Aug 3 11pm, and its in!

Took 3 days? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by herc: Aug 6 2015, 12:54 AM
herc
post Aug 7 2015, 12:16 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Aug 6 2015, 11:48 PM)
During redemption, AM only for the flight ticket only rite which excludes the airport tax and etc?

Yup, airport tax excluded, and some airlines require you to pay for fuel surcharge as well.
herc
post Aug 7 2015, 09:14 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Aug 7 2015, 01:04 AM)
Compared to normal fares, is this worthwhile? I've got Krisflyer and the redemption points are kinda inflated and with the taxes incurred looks like its not worthwhile! Opinions?  notworthy.gif
Compare at economy class ticket, award ticket is slight cheaper for long haul and expensive for short.

Compare at business class ticket, award ticket is very cheap for long haul.
herc
post Aug 7 2015, 03:23 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Aug 7 2015, 02:31 PM)
May I ask a question, for AM......

which route is worthy to redeem, Europe or Japan?

I am not a frequent flyer, collect airmiles to redeem air ticket never done b4. Thank you. smile.gif
In term of value, the longer distance more worth.

Especially if u find those route cover by CX/KA.
herc
post Aug 7 2015, 04:11 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 7 2015, 04:03 PM)
guys, just one question. this card entitle for PPL lounge access ?
Maybank 2 Premier Visa Infinite gave 5x entry per year to local PPL, it also comes with PriorityPass which give u another 5x entry worldwide.
herc
post Aug 7 2015, 07:39 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 7 2015, 05:23 PM)
thanks mate. Can I walk in to maybank card center and get it within like 1-2 hours unsure.gif
no idea with that, u have to try it and update us biggrin.gif
herc
post Aug 17 2015, 04:37 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(dc8585 @ Aug 17 2015, 03:29 PM)
My previous experiences with AsiaMiles redemption were smooth too, first one took 2 days, the other, 4 days.

I am currently having a horrible time with my third redemption. Requested conversion of a measly 47,700 TP to 10k AM on 6 August and they still haven't put it through. I've placed 6 calls and excuses included a new redemption system for AsiaMiles, system down, etc. Promised dates for conversion were not met, with the latest one saying I have to wait till Thursday, meaning 14 days from the date they took my TP. Kinda reminds me of the 1MDB "probe" happening in Malaysia now.

It is extremely annoying because I am booking a multi-carrier award trip and have found hard to get seats for CX to US/Canada at the dates I want but availability will not be around forever hence my agitation and frustration. I've also locked in dates and availability for my close to 35,000 mile RTW trip x 2 and am just short of 10k Asia Miles before they can entertain my request.

Moral of the story: make sure you allow for delays in Maybank conversion of treatpoints when converting the requisite miles to Krisflyer, Enrich or Asia Miles.
Sorry to hear that. shocking.gif

I am going to make the 2nd redemption tonight after the TP is in, u made me worry doh.gif

I am looking at the table and pray everyday that no one is taking up my slot

-----------------------

Last check at 4:45pm from M2U and saw the TP already in, so make the call immediately for redemption.

After hang up the phone, CS call back and says she needs to register my name for the 'first time' on AsiaMiles after their system upgrade, despite I just redeem 2 weeks ago.

Hopefully nothing went wrong.

This post has been edited by herc: Aug 17 2015, 05:01 PM
herc
post Aug 18 2015, 08:26 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(dc8585 @ Aug 18 2015, 07:39 AM)
5 weeks of travelling sounds great!!

Just a quick update: woke up this morning and saw that my Asia Miles account has been credited. Called up Asia Miles immediately to redeem my flights. Some of my original dates were no longer available (grrrrrr....Maybank!!!) but I managed to get other dates. After one hour my booking was issued. sweat.gif
Congrats on ur booking!

Since u firmed booking d, can share us ur flight route, which airline/class? brows.gif My next plan would be RTW too, but not sure AM or KrisFlyer

P/S: CS told me 1 to 3 weeks to credit in, will monitor..

herc
post Aug 18 2015, 08:29 AM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 18 2015, 08:26 AM)
You can change Asia Miles award dates although there's a fee. I think you know that CX opens up first (and to a lesser extent biz) seats closer to departure date so for 2 x $25 you can get the seats that you want much easier I think. I've been keeping track of CX from KUL to the US over the past few months and there's almost always a lot more seats within 1-2 days of the flight.

Of course if you're flexible then no reason to spend the $50 biggrin.gif
That's for the condition that u booked first class or u may upgrade from biz to first if there is first opened?
herc
post Aug 18 2015, 01:37 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 18 2015, 12:30 PM)
I've not upgraded on Asia Miles before, what I know is ticket reissue will cost $100 so I'm guessing an upgrade may be considered a reissue.

However you have two options. First is to waitlist although this works on CX only. When it opens you will be charged your miles. Not very convenient for planning though because you never know if the biz flights will open up although with 2 people you'll likely get it.

Second option is to book in biz whatever dates you want then move the ticket dates to your preferred dates when new biz seats open up. A bit better because you get biz seats no matter what, just that the dates are not so convenient and it'll cost you $25.
when calling AM, if my desire date is not available, they able to extend the search to nearest possible date?

my upcoming journey is via Qatar, fuel surcharge is high.

wanna plan a RTW trip for next year with least fuel surcharge possible.

was thinking KUL-FRA-JFK-LAX-NRT-KUL, stopover at all 4 places, but the hot route seems impossible to get an award ticket.

This post has been edited by herc: Aug 18 2015, 01:40 PM
herc
post Aug 18 2015, 01:55 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

Anyone had book MAS flight with AsiaMiles before?
herc
post Aug 18 2015, 04:13 PM

Small Potato
1,702 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 18 2015, 03:59 PM)
I suggest you check the award availability yourself using either JAL or British Airways website first. Once you have availability, call Asia Miles and tell them to book the itinerary exactly as you have already. This way you know exactly what's available and what you want.

Least fuel surcharge (YQ) would point towards CX, AA. Avoid BA biggrin.gif

- KUL-FRA on CX (YQ RM150?) or QR (YQ RM900)
- FRA-JFK on AA
- JFK-LAX on AA although you probably can't get a direct flight
- LAX-NRT on JL (YQ ~US$90) or AA
- NRT-KUL on JL (YQ ~5000 yen) or MH

You can find estimates of fuel surcharge from ITA Matrix, listed under YQ or YR in the price.
that's impressive! thanks for ur help.

Problem is CX HKG-FRA route is very difficult to get the availability.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:28 PM