Android TV Box

voncrane
post Oct 3 2014, 08:45 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Oct 2 2014, 08:09 PM)
Is there any other shortcoming for minix x8-h? Prefer minix bcos it have sleeker UI n xbmc thats look cool ... hehehe.

By the way, my intention to upgrade my media player is due to audio delay issue on my old Xtreamer after changed to new tv n hope the new gen of player can rectify the problem.
I'm using the Minix Neo X7, decided not to upgrade to the X8-H yet cuz my current setup works perfectly for me. Waiting on more powerful specs. For new buyers, you should go for the upgraded box as the X8-h technically does all the X7 can and more, plus its more future proof in terms of OS upgrades. For best real life experiences on the X8-H, I suggest you join the official Minix forum and forums like freaktab. There you'll find more users, official and custom mods to tweak your device just the way you want it. The Minix team work directly with xbmc and so have superior support where xbmc is concerned. Feel free to ask me if you want anything tested on the X7.
voncrane
post Oct 4 2014, 12:29 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Oct 3 2014, 10:16 AM)
Thanks for the heads up.

As pointed out by AVFAN, the video quality should not be worse that Realtek based player, as the video will be more colourful n sharper. My other concern will be, the support of 3D movies, Western Digital MyBook 3TB USB external harddisk n the amount of free English/Chinese TV series / drama.
Video quality is excellent for me directly connected via HDMI to my plasma TV. Planning to buy an led TV soon, so hoping for even better picture quality (Knocks on wood). Before this, I was using a Noontec A9 android box, so I can't comment on comparison to a Realtek based player. I can personally confirm full support for 3D SBS movies & WD MyBook 3TB which I'm using. Others have reported support for even 4TB hard disks.Usually if the external hard disk has its own power supply, it should work. I primarily watch English movies, TV Series & Live TV and so can't comment on Chinese content but since its powered by android, there are apps out there including Netflix, HULU, XBMC, Cloudtv, Monster Pro etc that should be satisfactory for you. My XBMC setup is heavily tweaked to pull hundreds of live English TV channels worldwide, in addition to various addons that provide instant streaming of full movies and seasons of TV shows, even old ones. I recently just finished watching all seasons of "Fresh Prince of Bel Air". So there's literally an endless supply of free English content.
voncrane
post Oct 4 2014, 11:23 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 4 2014, 03:09 PM)
anyone can share wat is the best air mouse/remote to use for HTPC or android box?
Get one with the following comfort features.
*Handheld
*Bluetooth enabled with support for multiple devices and OS
*Backlit keyboard (Toggle on and off) for nighttime or dark theatre rooms.
*Inbuilt touchpad to simulate mouse/touchscreen response.
*Inbuilt USB rechargeable battery.

Check ur pm as I've got a brand new spare for sale if you are interested.
voncrane
post Oct 13 2014, 12:46 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(kitkatjapan @ Oct 13 2014, 11:20 AM)
Hi, I have read the whole thread but still a little confused. Hope you can spare some time and help me out.

I read that you mentioned a few times that we choose an Android box based on what we want. But aren't all those boxes running android and technically I should be able to install all the same apps across all those devices, right? So what are the differences that makes one better than the other for certain applications? The only difference I know off is the specs (processor/memory/ram/etc), if so wouldn't it be better to just get the one with best specs?

How does the android box compare with those usb android mini pc? I'm assuming that the android usb pc can install the same apps as well since they all run on Android OS. Some even has the HDMI output as well. Are they the same thing packaged into different size/shape?

And I'm just thinking a little deeper (at the risk of sounding really silly)..My handphone is running android as well.. Would it be the same if I just installed those apps like XBMC/kodi which is popular for tv boxes on my phone and either output it through HDMI/Chromecast? I guess I'm trying to ask what are the advantages of the TV box compared to USB Android mini pc and using a phone/tablet as a source.
Differences between Android boxes is a lot despite running the same base OS. Choosing based on what you want means buying a box based on your preference.

*Like to root, tinker? >> Buy box with great online forums support.
*Games? >>> Buy box with quad-core, minimum 2GB RAM & 16GB internal storage, powerful GPU to handle intensive games.
*Media? >>>> Buy box that supports various audio & video formats you interested in playing. e.g. AVI/MKV/WMV/MOV/MP4/MP3/WMA/AAC... etc, even ISO & 3D files.
*Future OS upgrades?>>> Buy box from recognized manufacturers who offer such Google, Minix, Amazon, Himedia, etc.

See where I'm going with this. Its like buying a car, all cars main purpose is to move from point A to point B (*Run apps*), but some cars do that better or worse than others. You don't buy a Viva when u need an MPV and vice versa.

Yes you can install XBMC/KODI on your phone/tablet and hook that up to your TV. But then means your phone is no longer close to you and you can imagine what happens when you get calls or have to reply sms. Pause media, unhook phone, do function, plug back, wanna go sit down, then msg come in again... rclxub.gif . I've got KODI running on my tablet for out of home/bedroom usage, with a box connected permanently to the TV in the living room. Just convenience really, nothing more.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Oct 13 2014, 12:48 PM
voncrane
post Nov 1 2014, 05:46 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Oct 31 2014, 10:29 AM)
hi all,

i am new with android box, and very interested into this.

1. first question, if we are aiming a good android box then no need to buy the expensive smart lcd tv to hook up it with. sufficient a good led tv with sufficient connectivity? the smart tv itself got the android like card installed so if want to use this external box no need then to buy the 'smart' tv..

Yes... Though as already pointed out, smart TVs are cheaper today & besides you probably won't find a non-smart led TV at a decent price with good quality.

2. can android box replace pc use? for eg for normal browsing, facebook, viewing documents in office/pdf..if editing work documents maybe not so suitable, as full version MS office is not supported..

No mobile-based OS can truly replace a desktop PC. Sure there are apps which can enable you do light editing in images, pdf or MS Office files, but none will pack all features as a full-blown office or photoshop software on PC. So for light editing? Yes. Also, as already pointed out, these devices are built for entertainment purposes.

3. does it support normal wireless keyboard and mouse? like the logitech one..

Usually it does depending on the keyboard and mouse. Better still, just get those mini-keyboards with track-pad included to serve as a mouse.

tq in advance..
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 31 2014, 08:07 PM)
is it possible to watch football without astro on smart tv ? something similar to netflix :/ e.g. premier league

guessing need to use that dns trick as well.
Yes, if you find the right sources.
voncrane
post Nov 1 2014, 05:58 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

Alas, My Minix Neo X7 now has a new home... Pal dropped by, loved my setup and simply had to have the box configured as is. So now in the market for a replacement... Current contenders include;
Minix NEO Z64
Minix Neo X8-H
Probox2 EX
Google Nexus Player (Though lacking in hardware compared to the above, future software upgrades & Dev community support is very attractive).

I welcome comments & suggestions..

This post has been edited by voncrane: Nov 1 2014, 06:04 PM
voncrane
post Nov 3 2014, 01:24 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Nov 2 2014, 10:48 PM)
im so confused with all the varieties here people... -.-" to make it short, what's good for astro like channels? important ones are aod, wah lai toi and english channels (hbo etc). one off payment or monthly?
Once you understand that an android-based media not equals to Astro/Unifi TV packages, then u are good. An android box can be much better or worse than a regular set-top box, depends on the device, your expectations, how much setting up & maintenance you are willing to put into it. I can only vouch for English channels (HBO, FOX, FYI, etc included), TV shows & movies, as I'm not interested in anything else.
voncrane
post Nov 3 2014, 04:35 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(xiphone4 @ Nov 3 2014, 02:49 AM)
I plan to purchase a android TV box for downloading ISO bd movies, which it also serves as media centre, is there any good recommendation that has excellent video and audio output ? Also support 3D ?
I don't know is it wise to download movie using android box or pc ?
Hmm, what's your budget? Also, torrents can be downloaded easily to an external hard disk connected to or to the internal memory of most android media boxes. However, its highly not advisable to do so as it'll drastically reduce the lifespan of your box's internal memory due to multiple files caching. So better download via PC or an RPi.
voncrane
post Nov 4 2014, 11:32 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(yktan @ Nov 4 2014, 10:36 AM)
Hi voncrane, may I know if you've success using a 4TB external drive with your Minix? I tried plugging in my 4TB Seagate Backup Plus Fast Portable Drive (I think it is formatted as NTFS) into the Minix X8-H but it is really unstable. Sometimes it gets detected, sometimes not. And even when it gets detected, sometimes I managed to browse to a folder that I want but playing is unstable too. I plugged in my 2TB WS external drive and it works perfect, silky smooth operation.
Hmm, sorry can't test for you cuz I only have a 3TB hard drive and my Minix Neo X7 is no longer with me (in the market for a new device). I'm guessing your hard drive has its own power source? Also try the other USB ports cuz sometimes a particular USB port might be the problem. Running stock or custom rom?
voncrane
post Nov 4 2014, 11:56 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 1 2014, 05:58 PM)
Alas, My Minix Neo X7 now has a new home... Pal dropped by, loved my setup and simply had to have the box configured as is. So now in the market for a replacement... Current contenders include;
Minix NEO Z64
Minix Neo X8-H
Probox2 EX
Google Nexus Player (Though lacking in hardware compared to the above, future software upgrades & Dev community support is very attractive).

I welcome comments & suggestions..
QUOTE(orangutan @ Nov 4 2014, 11:35 PM)
What are you looking for? No more Minix? Can share your reason/experience?
See my earlier post for my final contenders. I was extremely satisfied with my X7 due to massive support & my decent understanding of the pros & cons of using an android device. Right now, I'm searching for the elusive ultimate media player with the smoothest KODI & custom mods & roms support. brows.gif
voncrane
post Nov 6 2014, 12:23 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(yktan @ Nov 5 2014, 10:37 AM)
Ok no problem bro. This harddisk is a portable hdd, so it doesn't come with independent power source. I tried different USB ports and the behavior is the same. I'm running stock rom.
Now that you mentioned it, is it safe to root my device? Will they still provide warranty? I heard that sometimes NTFS file system gives problems, so someone actually said he rooted his device and they installed Paragon and the external drives work fine after that. So I am thinking of exploring that route.
Ok bro, thanks for that info. I have another high quality cable USB 3 cable, let me try to with it tonight.
A 4 TB without its own power adapter is probably why its having issues on your box. Possibly not enough power produced to handle the drive efficiently. It's perfectly safe to root your device, just make sure it's not rooted if you have to ever claim warranty. My hard disk is formatted to NTFS file system via the inbuilt software & no issues till today.

QUOTE(orangutan @ Nov 5 2014, 10:39 AM)
Nice!

You might want to consider Raspberry Pi and Intel NUC.
I did but not feeling either @ the moment. Maybe in the future...

QUOTE(afaidhi88 @ Nov 5 2014, 10:54 AM)
hello guys, any cheap box dat really good?
The words "cheap" and "really good" very rarely go together.
QUOTE(XyDi @ Nov 5 2014, 03:29 PM)
Can anyone recommend android box purely for sports...especially BPL football. Must be HD. Budget no limit as long as the service is excellent.
Nope!
voncrane
post Nov 12 2014, 02:07 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(SFerrari @ Nov 12 2014, 01:04 PM)
haha i type wrong, what i means any software to recommend for live streaming tv international.

I know how to install APK on android.
We wondered & by software, u mean android apps right? There are a few, XBMC, cloudtv, Monster pro... To name a few. Free & paid.
voncrane
post Dec 6 2014, 08:26 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 5 2014, 01:53 PM)
did that... still "server error"... sad.gif

hope somebody else can try it and comment...
Been using Showbox app for awhile now & a quick test just now, no server error as movie plays smoothly using MX player. You can also use Mobo or their inbuilt default player to stream. Hope you have the latest apk, mine's version 3.7. They've introduced subtitles support, though you need an account from opensubtitles to enable those.

Edit: No VPN usage here on my end & have zero issues with streaming. Movie or show starts streaming within 30 seconds regardless of quality chosen. I must point out though that my TM router's DNS has always been pointed to a friendlier DNS service as opposed to the crippled default. That probably helped. Using Unifi 10mbps.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Dec 6 2014, 08:40 AM
voncrane
post Dec 6 2014, 12:41 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 6 2014, 10:56 AM)
yo! got it working, incl opensubs! biggrin.gif 

i did everything correct as per susa's instructions, incl use of version 3.7. din work a first; tried vpn and it worked but clumsily, not very smooth - probably these free vpn's are crap anyway.

at yr tip, i changed dns, toggled ethernet-wifi, and i found:

.. open dns like 8.8.8.8 ethernet works fine.
.. other dns like the 2 i use (great for many other sites) do not work on ethernet but work very well on wifi - a matter of "friendliness", i guess.
.. archos player, mx player, kodi player - all of then work, no problem.

showbox is indeed a good app - pretty fast, easy to use, lotta suff there n up-to-date. the only things not so good is max 720p mp4 and need to select subs for every show like in kodi.

in contrast, popcorn time comes with 1080p and the right subs if it displays its availability. but popcorn works better for movies, much less so for tv shows. u tried popcorn time? if u haven't, try it.

with a combination of showbox and popcorn time, i will need kodi's genesis, xbmctorrent and phoenix even less now!
thanks susa and voncrane for sharing yet another great android app! thumbup.gif
Using a mix of all.. Never a dull moment when it comes to entertainment. Yes, Showbox is kept relatively up to date very quickly and its easier for the missus to navigate compared to XBMC.. Welcome rclxms.gif

QUOTE(susa @ Dec 6 2014, 12:23 PM)
He..good discussion... Will be good information..
Yes i'm not use any VPN
Which popcorn u mean..
Any link or apk...?
Popcorn Time. Click here for apk.
voncrane
post May 10 2015, 12:33 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ProfessorR @ May 10 2015, 03:32 AM)
Is there any karaoke app that lets you play your own songs that you can turn off vocals?
I'm unsure cuz I haven't used it but have u tried XBMC Karaoke addon?
voncrane
post May 10 2015, 06:14 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(MichealLees @ May 10 2015, 01:32 PM)
is it out in malaysia aready?
Is what out?
voncrane
post May 20 2015, 07:42 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(s.n.a.g @ May 20 2015, 03:48 PM)
guys newbie here with android tv.

wanted to ask, say for example device like 1OTT, those channels that they claim they have. we can always download the app/apk from Google Play store? does this apply to all android boxes out there?

if yes, can i DIY it with a Xiaomi Mi Box Mini?

thank you sifus
If I recall, apps like that are tied to a hardware ID & can't be used on another hardware without a subscription or transfer. You can ask from the sellers of the service for more precise answers or "borrow" the apk off someone who already uses it. I know CloudTV ties a subscription to a particular hardware ID which can be transferred across devices or the same device in case of a format which usually generates a new ID.
voncrane
post May 25 2015, 12:27 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(kclg1985 @ May 25 2015, 12:19 AM)
Hi I would like to seek for some help here.. ive purchased the android tv box 2 months back .. my main intention is to watch astro ..

I got it frm a person which I paid rm250 for the device n need to pay rm300 yearly fr the subscription .. am using unifi dunno whats the mbps but am paying rm150 monthly which is more then 2mbps.. thts all I know cuz thts the min req needed to play the android box..

Hence now I always get service interuption like when watching the astro channel half way it will hang and then go bck to the menu which u need to press the channel to view again.. and sometimes when u press to enter the channel its jz the loading screen and nothing more..

I needed to know if this is the hardware or the tv network prob.. I used the same box run youtube and it works perfectly fine..
and is there any way tht can solve this cuz I dun wanna waste my rm550 jz like tht.. prvsly was using hypptv..
@RM150 a mth, sounds like VIP 5Mbps. So YouTube 720p should stream buffer free. As for your RM550 box with a RM300 per year subscription. Seems like you bought one of the numerous android boxes up for sale that come with pre-installed "funny" IPTV package. At that price point, you are definitely not being serviced by Astro Malaysia (unless its Astro On-The-Go) but other questionable providers, exactly what you paid for. Which is, service as is and when possible. So chalk it up to experience and configure your box to the best of its abilities and your requirements. See AVFAN's post as well.
voncrane
post Jun 5 2015, 11:35 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jun 5 2015, 05:47 PM)
I believe it requires Widevine DRM to be enabled, since the only other unofficial Android-powered box that I know of that runs iFlix is the Minix X8-H Plus.
Once again.. Minix FTW!! rclxms.gif The team recently became a Diamond Sponsor of the XBMC Foundation. That's a plus for me right there. Now, if only android TV would play nice.... Waiting on their next android powered hardware.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jun 5 2015, 11:44 PM
voncrane
post Jun 6 2015, 09:26 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jun 6 2015, 12:54 AM)
All they need now is to get Google licensing, just like Wetek, then can play Google Movies and  Netflix in HD.
True, let's see if they do. Haven't tried Google Movies service before cuz no need yet for it and found an easier workaround to get Netflix 1080p & 5.1 surround sound through Samsung's inbuilt Smart TV app. That has been working flawlessly. hmm.gif Wetek? Looks like a contender, off to check them out. Their intro video claims support for custom roms & Linux OSes. Nice!

34 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:57 PM