Android TV Box

VeeJay
post Nov 10 2016, 06:34 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(santakid @ Nov 10 2016, 05:22 PM)
hi guys, my family is considering to purchase a tv box to stream movies and tv shows but tv box is actually a new thing for us. Browsing through the net it seems like the Minix Neo U1 is a really good android tv box but is it recommended for newbies? Also how does the streaming part actually works? Does it come with the tv box or I have to get it somewhere else?
if you a retotally a newbie and dont have time to research and configure, I would recommend to get a ready made box, preinstalled with all the necessary addons and user friendly menu (skin). You have less things to worry about...as you get time, you could slowly pick it up about kodi and addons.

just read thru couple of pages back, we had detailed discussion on it.

cheers
VeeJay
post Nov 11 2016, 03:58 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Nov 11 2016, 03:49 PM)
beside Minix Neo U1, any other decent box that good for kodi and mainly streaming live tv channels
lol there are tons of them, if you could just flip back couple of papes in the discussion thread, there are many brand and model recommendations
VeeJay
post Nov 14 2016, 09:52 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(drunkonpiss @ Nov 14 2016, 09:26 PM)
What a coincidence! I have a KU6000 too. Don't tell me you have the 50 inch as well? lol
There are quite a number of brands but most of them are all china brands that I never heard of. I'm not really sure how reputable they are and I don't want to spend too much on it either.

Hope people can help us smile.gif
As been mentioned many time, just read thru the last couple of pages...there are so much info on various brands.

In short, my personal experience, I liked this 3 boxes, Himedia Q5, Himedia Q10, Z4 TV Box (OEM box - you could check it at lelong.com)
VeeJay
post Nov 19 2016, 10:07 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(joexoll @ Nov 18 2016, 05:58 PM)
He is a notable seller in LYN, if I'm not mistaken...you could check it out at garage sales
VeeJay
post Nov 19 2016, 05:35 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Nov 19 2016, 05:08 PM)
Hello,

Anyone can suggest to me a TV box (not necessary android) that is small and compact (something like those mi box mini) but most importantly have USB input & HDMI output (or better yet straight hdmi connect)?

The idea is its small and convenient enough to bring for travel and no messy long power cable. USB is used for connecting HDD/Pendrive for media

I saw one or two online but not sold in Msia

Tq
Himedia...go and get it...else read thru couple of pages back.....we have been getting the same question atleast 3 times a week...its kinda tiring repeating the same thing.

Mi box and most of the media boxes are Android based anyways.

cheers
VeeJay
post Nov 19 2016, 06:17 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(OPT @ Nov 19 2016, 05:41 PM)
I have Himedia.

Looking for alternative which is small and compact mainly for travel use...something like Sunvell T95P that was shared in earlier thread
So why dont you get that?

The smallest box I have is this....cant help you much there

http://www.lelong.com.my/z4-tv-box-android...7-01-Sale-I.htm
VeeJay
post Nov 22 2016, 03:30 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(hkindaichi @ Nov 22 2016, 03:25 PM)
Hello all sifus here. I would like to get android box that is good to watch TV (i want to get rid of Astro). Can sifus here suggest the reliable android box for my purposes? Plus, if can get astro channel is an advantage.
read couple of pages back...there are tons of suggestions, discussions on it.

lol...i thought the trend for similar question was about 3 a week, now it has increased to atleast 5 a week!
VeeJay
post Nov 28 2016, 03:37 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(thena123 @ Nov 28 2016, 02:07 PM)
Anyone know any seller in Lazada that sets up the box fully with different free channels, VOD and live TV? I noticed LC Marketing is the guy in Digital Mall Section 14. But I am not sure if he sells his boxes in Lazada all done up or just empty box. Anyone got experience buying from Lazada with boxes all done up? Who can I buy from that has det up the box fully?
You can get the guy from out garage sale section....he has an account here as well....

There are couple of trustable guys at garage sale...do check them out and ask questions on the box
VeeJay
post Jan 6 2017, 02:09 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 6 2017, 01:06 PM)
Hard to get really decent AVR + Speakers capable of handling up to Dolby Atmos & DTS:X for under RM3K.. Even for 5.1/5.2 configurations... Popular brands would be Onkyo, Denon & Yamaha.. Perhaps, branded Home Theaters instead? Say from Sony or Samsung. Need to browse around audio shops for more.
AVR= AUdio Video Recorder?

YUp, I use to own a ACRyan DVR....it went kaput last year, since then, unable to find a replacement.
VeeJay
post Jan 6 2017, 02:34 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 6 2017, 02:26 PM)
AV Receiver
Oops sorry....try visiting during the fair/expo, they do have many display and available for testing...need to plan the timing, else a little crowded.

My old Technics...been servicing well...although kinda bulky for current trend
VeeJay
post Jan 10 2017, 02:44 PM

3,845 posts

Havent tried on mine using internal memory, will try later tonite...if time permits.

Tried using external 1TB disk, it played well in the beginning, but stuck half way.

UPDATE: Tested not working on my box, neither my PC, stuck halfway...maybe file is corrupted? hmmm

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Jan 11 2017, 09:08 PM
VeeJay
post Jan 14 2017, 12:46 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 14 2017, 12:43 AM)
Wait, hidden USB ports.. Working.. Why? Wut! How?.. So bizarre.  shocking.gif

Good job.
yup...totally wierd, when it has build-in port yet, the they conceal it?

Or could it be over consumption causes some implications?

Hmm, this is tempting me to open up my box as well

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Jan 14 2017, 12:48 AM
VeeJay
post Jan 18 2017, 01:11 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 18 2017, 01:47 AM)
smile.gif Noted with thanks, will purchase this tomorrow once Lazada payment page is up. I found one local seller. smile.gif
Found for you one from putrajaya

http://www.mudah.my/3+Pieces+of+RCA+audio+cable-50345247.htm

If there is any electrical shops or DIY shops near your home, should look for it...faster that way biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Jan 18 2017, 01:12 PM
VeeJay
post Feb 1 2017, 10:13 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Feb 1 2017, 09:38 PM)
ok…since today talking about file manager, let me share (or re-share) more about box softwares for new comers.

this should be pinned on first page...but no TS here...maybe new thread?
VeeJay
post Feb 2 2017, 02:52 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 2 2017, 02:45 PM)
Guys, what's your processor's thermal reading? Mine fluctuates between 50 - 70 depending the usage. I thought that's pretty high and might harm the box in the long term. Though I understood the processors are built to withstand high temperature.

Nevertheless I modified a bit my H96 Pro Plus cooling system by replacing the rather small original heat sink with a bigger one.

Now the temperature fluctuate between 38 - 51 only  biggrin.gif
wow...good DIY job!

Nowadays, processors would easily take 70C...no issues there smile.gif
VeeJay
post Feb 3 2017, 04:34 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Feb 3 2017, 12:52 PM)
i see

no point of getting a powerful 1 for my situation just for normal viewing.

as i already have Blu-ray bitstreaming to my amplifier on my much powerful setup.

thx
Aiyo...give la details....what you know, how you are going to use it, are you well verse with kodi or willing to maintain it..or need external support, and what actually you dont know....so that we can give details..

if its just gimme suggestion for a best rm200++ box, there are tons out there and "best" is relative

its like any car or tv, everyone has their own likes and requirement, there is no "best"
VeeJay
post Feb 6 2017, 11:14 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 6 2017, 10:39 PM)
can you show picture or link?
Hmm its been long time havent touched VGA devices...

dwrk why do you think he need a converter....hmmm

Shouldnt direct cable work?
http://www.lazada.com.ph/audio-focus-rca-t...ack-392209.html

Wacky...btw dwrk was referring to something like this
http://www.lazada.com.my/tv-rca-composite-...s-10729315.html

VeeJay
post Feb 8 2017, 03:36 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(plateau @ Feb 8 2017, 12:13 AM)
To use simultaneously that is. Box is minix u1 if that info helps? Don't want to buy 2 Bluetooth headsets and find out later that it can't be used simultaneously. Maybe just buy cheapo ones to test first lol.
Interesting concept...hmmm would it work on PC, have you tried it?

QUOTE(tek_kee @ Feb 8 2017, 08:11 AM)
Hi all, first of all a big thank you to all sifus here as I have learned so much about android tv box and recently purchased one myself. Just received 2 days ago and able to use it with all the tips given here. 😊 However, I wish to seek some advise, is it advisable to unplug the power of tv box when not in use? Or would it be better to leave it on standby mode until next use (as we does with android phones)? Thanks!
Similar to other feedbacks, I would leave it to standby, its easier to turn it on when needed. And I do run all my equip on UPS

One my media player has a glitch, hence I quit Kodi before going on standby

QUOTE(wkc @ Feb 8 2017, 03:10 PM)
Hi guys, anyone here try before using usb speaker for the Android box?
Im currently using HDMI Vide and audio output to the TV.
Now the sound is coming from TV. 
I wonder is i want to use USB speaker for my Android box will it work?
Another interesting concept....borrow la someone who has ISB speaker and test it out and do let us know. Personally I wont use since the sound system would not be to my liking...its just me...
VeeJay
post Feb 13 2017, 08:16 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 13 2017, 07:52 PM)
All kambings died... again...
Kambings are meant to be slaughtered...shouldnt be surprised, right? hmm.gif
VeeJay
post Feb 13 2017, 08:23 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 13 2017, 08:20 PM)