Android TV Box

barry
post Oct 9 2014, 09:18 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(mensa @ Oct 7 2014, 03:18 PM)
guys..thinking getting neo x8-h around RM479 at lelong..is the price ok? can get cheaper than this? TQ
i think the price is really good, considering that they are selling this at around usd140-160 in aliexpress.
albhong
post Oct 9 2014, 09:24 AM

314 posts

Hi guys, heard a lot of this android IPTV and even some 'offer xstro' kind of subscription. It this reliable ? do advise.
by the way, any good recommendation for android box to use as media player as well as stream online videos ?
AVFAN
post Oct 9 2014, 11:41 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(albhong @ Oct 9 2014, 09:24 AM)
Hi guys, heard a lot of this android IPTV and even some 'offer xstro' kind of subscription. It this reliable ? do advise.
by the way, any good recommendation for android box to use as media player as well as stream online videos ?
suggest u read the first few pages as yr questions are the usual ones to any new user...

assuming u hv a decent broadband, choice of box will primarily depend on yr preference for type of videos.

most if not all of these boxes can playback media.

can search in this or other forums for these "known" brands, read what users say:

.. vigica
.. miniand
.. mx
.. himedia
.. minix
.. mele
.. modeo
.. xiaomi mibox
.. techgear
.. CS918/928
.. tronsmart

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 9 2014, 11:53 AM
kitkatjapan
post Oct 13 2014, 11:20 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 18 2014, 02:08 PM)
www has involved into such a monster that sometimes, nobody knows what is where, where it comes from, etc...!
nicko, disney, cnn, discovery, bbc, etc. - each one has a hundred or a thousand versions, peculiar to each country or langauge or resolution or paid/free.
what "xyz" iptv like cloudtv do is to somehow tap into whatever is available and workable, then package them for sale via vpn. stability or legit over time, who can guarantee? then again, given how fast tech change and the price u pay, they may be worth it for the individual - for as long as it works well.

you surely need to find the right box that can do the right things that u want. if mandarin is not wanted, a lot is eliminated. if canto stuff is wanted, i suppose there r only these options or a combination:

.. astro wahlaitoi - pay or foc with aotg
.. hypptv scm, red - ruby pack foc with unifi10
.. azdrama browser - foc
.. azdrama via xbmc - foc
.. csplayer - asian domains incl azdrama, koreandrama, japanesedrama, chinesedrama, drama.se, other vod, p2ptv - foc (?)
.. paid iptv packages - how good, how big library, how good for live and vod...

the canto-eng subs combo is in demand in malaysia and malaysia only, i think. elsewhere, mandarin/jap/kor-eng subs are far more popular.
Hi, I have read the whole thread but still a little confused. Hope you can spare some time and help me out.

I read that you mentioned a few times that we choose an Android box based on what we want. But aren't all those boxes running android and technically I should be able to install all the same apps across all those devices, right? So what are the differences that makes one better than the other for certain applications? The only difference I know off is the specs (processor/memory/ram/etc), if so wouldn't it be better to just get the one with best specs?

How does the android box compare with those usb android mini pc? I'm assuming that the android usb pc can install the same apps as well since they all run on Android OS. Some even has the HDMI output as well. Are they the same thing packaged into different size/shape?

And I'm just thinking a little deeper (at the risk of sounding really silly)..My handphone is running android as well.. Would it be the same if I just installed those apps like XBMC/kodi which is popular for tv boxes on my phone and either output it through HDMI/Chromecast? I guess I'm trying to ask what are the advantages of the TV box compared to USB Android mini pc and using a phone/tablet as a source.

This post has been edited by kitkatjapan: Oct 13 2014, 11:20 AM
voncrane
post Oct 13 2014, 12:46 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(kitkatjapan @ Oct 13 2014, 11:20 AM)
Hi, I have read the whole thread but still a little confused. Hope you can spare some time and help me out.

I read that you mentioned a few times that we choose an Android box based on what we want. But aren't all those boxes running android and technically I should be able to install all the same apps across all those devices, right? So what are the differences that makes one better than the other for certain applications? The only difference I know off is the specs (processor/memory/ram/etc), if so wouldn't it be better to just get the one with best specs?

How does the android box compare with those usb android mini pc? I'm assuming that the android usb pc can install the same apps as well since they all run on Android OS. Some even has the HDMI output as well. Are they the same thing packaged into different size/shape?

And I'm just thinking a little deeper (at the risk of sounding really silly)..My handphone is running android as well.. Would it be the same if I just installed those apps like XBMC/kodi which is popular for tv boxes on my phone and either output it through HDMI/Chromecast? I guess I'm trying to ask what are the advantages of the TV box compared to USB Android mini pc and using a phone/tablet as a source.
Differences between Android boxes is a lot despite running the same base OS. Choosing based on what you want means buying a box based on your preference.

*Like to root, tinker? >> Buy box with great online forums support.
*Games? >>> Buy box with quad-core, minimum 2GB RAM & 16GB internal storage, powerful GPU to handle intensive games.
*Media? >>>> Buy box that supports various audio & video formats you interested in playing. e.g. AVI/MKV/WMV/MOV/MP4/MP3/WMA/AAC... etc, even ISO & 3D files.
*Future OS upgrades?>>> Buy box from recognized manufacturers who offer such Google, Minix, Amazon, Himedia, etc.

See where I'm going with this. Its like buying a car, all cars main purpose is to move from point A to point B (*Run apps*), but some cars do that better or worse than others. You don't buy a Viva when u need an MPV and vice versa.

Yes you can install XBMC/KODI on your phone/tablet and hook that up to your TV. But then means your phone is no longer close to you and you can imagine what happens when you get calls or have to reply sms. Pause media, unhook phone, do function, plug back, wanna go sit down, then msg come in again... rclxub.gif . I've got KODI running on my tablet for out of home/bedroom usage, with a box connected permanently to the TV in the living room. Just convenience really, nothing more.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Oct 13 2014, 12:48 PM
AVFAN
post Oct 13 2014, 01:03 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kitkatjapan @ Oct 13 2014, 11:20 AM)

good questions! u r definitely thinking about the most valid issues.

i m <1 yr using androidtv boxes, but i'll comment as best as i can...

... no, not all boxes are built the same alto they may have same specs. manufacturer's firmware makes quite a difference as typically, it bundles with their inhouse apps which can't be used on others. e.g. some have certain chinese tv app which can't be copied onto a diff box. another example will be say xbmc - some boxes are custom built around it, other boxes may require additional settings. may not run as smooth. usually, you can't have it all but given some learning, trials and hours of testing and tweaking, you can get a lot.

... android mini-pc... u mean those sticks? typically, small handy units are limited in many ways, e.g. can't pass through hd audio or resolution max 720p. unlike full boxes, they may not have features like ethernet, digital audio, multiple usb ports, gaming, remote controls/keyboards. take note androidtv boxes typically come with usb playback media player, hd video and audio capable. some can now handle 3d and 4k.

yr handphone, yes, u can install xbmc, it will work becos these android apps were built for handphones. i have not tried on phone->TV but hv tried ipad->mirrorTV. i will say there is a difference - the box will deliver better video and audio probably due to better hardware, firmware and upscaling.

if the question is "why buy a box if a small stick or hnadphone can do it", i 'll say...
.. if light user, not big movie/tv fan, can do
.. if mid-heavy user, the box serve a great purpose

hope this is useful. others, pls comment!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 13 2014, 01:07 PM
kitkatjapan
post Oct 13 2014, 01:05 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 13 2014, 12:46 PM)
Differences between Android boxes is a lot despite running the same base OS. Choosing based on what you want means buying a box based on your preference.

*Like to root, tinker? >> Buy box with great online forums support.
*Games? >>> Buy box with quad-core, minimum 2GB RAM & 16GB internal storage, powerful GPU to handle intensive games.
*Media? >>>> Buy box that supports various audio & video formats you interested in playing. e.g. AVI/MKV/WMV/MOV/MP4/MP3/WMA/AAC... etc, even ISO & 3D files.
*Future OS upgrades?>>> Buy box from recognized manufacturers who offer such Google, Minix, Amazon, Himedia, etc.

See where I'm going with this. Its like buying a car, all cars main purpose is to move from point A to point B (*Run apps*), but some cars do that better or worse than others. You don't buy a Viva when u need an MPV and vice versa.

Yes you can install XBMC/KODI on your phone/tablet and hook that up to your TV. But then means your phone is no longer close to you and you can imagine what happens when you get calls or have to reply sms. Pause media, unhook phone, do function, plug back, wanna go sit down, then msg come in again... rclxub.gif . I've got KODI running on my tablet for out of home/bedroom usage, with a box connected permanently to the TV in the living room. Just convenience really, nothing more.
Thanks for the reply man. I really appreciate it.

I'm pretty well versed with android (root/flash/customize/etc). Been a long time user. Which is what is confusing to me..

Stuff like video formats should be able to be supported by the individual apps instead of the android box itself right? For example the MX media player can support almost all video formats. If I used that as the default player I should be able to play all video formats across all boxes, no? Unless the Android OS in a TV box is completely different from the one I'm used to on phones/tablets.

I'm actually planning to get one for watching shows on demand(english/cantonese movies/series). But so far I understand that this is dependent on the service provider and not the box brand/type. Am I wrong?

Man I'm so confused rclxub.gif
kitkatjapan
post Oct 13 2014, 01:17 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 13 2014, 01:03 PM)
good questions! u r definitely thinking about the most valid issues.

i m <1 yr using androidtv boxes, but i'll comment as best as i can...

... no, not all boxes are built the same alto they may have same specs. manufacturer's firmware makes quite a difference as typically, it bundles with their inhouse apps which can't be used on others. e.g. some have certain chinese tv app which can't be copied onto a diff box. another example will be say xbmc - some boxes are custom built around it, other boxes may require additional settings. may not run as smooth. usually, you can't have it all but given some learning, trials and hours of testing and tweaking, you can get a lot.

... android mini-pc... u mean those sticks? typically, small handy units are limited in many ways, e.g. can't pass through hd audio or resolution max 720p. unlike full boxes, they may not have features like ethernet, digital audio, multiple usb ports, gaming, remote controls/keyboards. take note androidtv boxes typically come with usb playback media player, hd video and audio capable. some can now handle 3d and 4k.

yr handphone, yes, u can install xbmc, it will work becos these android apps were built for handphones. i have not tried on phone->TV but hv tried ipad->mirrorTV. i will say there is a difference - the box will deliver better video and audio probably due to better hardware, firmware and upscaling.

if the question is "why buy a box if a small stick or hnadphone can do it", i 'll say...
.. if light user, not big movie/tv fan, can do
.. if mid-heavy user, the box serve a great purpose

hope this is useful. others, pls comment!
I knew I asked the right person. Haha!

So I guess it is better to get a dedicated TV box if I plan to use it for movies.

Are there any service provider/repo that are available or you know of that allows us to watch movies on demand? I'm planning to get one for my parents to use mainly for English/Cantonese(HK TVB) series/movies and sometimes sports (football, badminton). How often do we have to update the repo based on your experience(my parents are technologically handicapped so I have to always do it for them)?

Which box would you recommend based on my needs?

Thanks again for your explanation! Clears up a lot of stuffs for me!
AVFAN
post Oct 13 2014, 01:43 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kitkatjapan @ Oct 13 2014, 01:17 PM)
Are there any service provider/repo that are available or you know of that allows us to watch movies on demand? I'm planning to get one for my parents to use mainly for English/Cantonese(HK TVB) series/movies and sometimes sports (football, badminton). How often do we have to update the repo based on your experience(my parents are technologically handicapped so I have to always do it for them)?

Which box would you recommend based on my needs?
english stuff, plenty. xbmc alone give you more than u can watch. and xbmc works on most boxes.

mandarin stuff - plenty, many apps work quite well for live tv, vod movies and tv series. some require membership/paid to get all of it, some u get all but may not last long due to changing regulations.

canto stuff... this is harder... there are some canto stuff tied with the mandarin apps but most are dubbed. eng subs, rare. but, you probably can find a lot more canto vod in paid iptv. these, i cant help as i dun use them.

canto stuff or yr parents, i doubt it will work well with free apps - not much available; some are way too old; some work only with browser -cumbersome navigation. having said that, i am not much into canto stuff, best others who have those goodies share with you the details.

as for brands/models, there are dozens... i hv no idea about most of them but will suggest u check out these threads, may be useful for you. all the best. wink.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3201002/+260
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3276304/+80

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 13 2014, 02:24 PM
kitkatjapan
post Oct 13 2014, 03:02 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 13 2014, 01:43 PM)
english stuff, plenty. xbmc alone give you more than u can watch. and xbmc works on most boxes.

mandarin stuff - plenty, many apps work quite well for live tv, vod movies and tv series. some require membership/paid to get all of it, some u get all but may not last long due to changing regulations.

canto stuff... this is harder... there are some canto stuff tied with the mandarin apps but most are dubbed. eng subs, rare. but, you probably can find a lot more canto vod in paid iptv. these, i cant help as i dun use them.

canto stuff or yr parents, i doubt it will work well with free apps - not much available; some are way too old; some work only with browser -cumbersome navigation. having said that, i am not much into canto stuff, best others who have those goodies share with you the details.

as for brands/models, there are dozens... i hv no idea about most of them but will suggest u check out these threads, may be useful for you. all the best. wink.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3201002/+260
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3276304/+80
Thanks for all the help man. Totally appreciate it.

I tried some of the links you posted on my tab just to get an idea of how XBMC etc works.

XBMC is changing servers so I can't download it yet.

CSplayer keeps force closing. Any idea how to get it to work? It says on its website that it works on all android devices.
AVFAN
post Oct 13 2014, 03:11 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kitkatjapan @ Oct 13 2014, 03:02 PM)
Thanks for all the help man. Totally appreciate it.

I tried some of the links you posted on my tab just to get an idea of how XBMC etc works.

XBMC is changing servers so I can't download it yet.

CSplayer keeps force closing. Any idea how to get it to work? It says on its website that it works on all android devices.
cs player should work, but only for 7-8 days trial, after which some donation needed to revive it - i din go for it, so now no more.
try popcorn time - while being "shut down" now, the android version still works. pc version is dead.
kitkatjapan
post Oct 13 2014, 03:28 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 13 2014, 03:11 PM)
cs player should work, but only for 7-8 days trial, after which some donation needed to revive it - i din go for it, so now no more.
try popcorn time - while being "shut down" now, the android version still works. pc version is dead.
Thanks! Didn't know such a nice app existed haha! Loading time is really long though. Been loading for 15min but still haven't been able to start watching yet.

Using 4Mb streamyx line. sweat.gif
AVFAN
post Oct 13 2014, 04:00 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kitkatjapan @ Oct 13 2014, 03:28 PM)
Thanks! Didn't know such a nice app existed haha! Loading time is really long though. Been loading for 15min but still haven't been able to start watching yet.

Using 4Mb streamyx line.  sweat.gif
if 4mb streamyx, try not to expect too much.
some apps dun work very well even with 10mbps.
then again, it's not only about broadband speed.
there are issues of geoblocks, ip, dns, proxies, vpn - which i dun know very well.
well... once you acquire a box, u will dive deep into these blackholes! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 13 2014, 04:58 PM
OKLY
post Oct 15 2014, 09:29 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Finally received my Xiami Mi Box! rclxm9.gif

Elanges
post Oct 18 2014, 04:58 PM

706 posts

guys which TV box have a very stable XBMC ?
nite_eif
post Oct 31 2014, 10:29 AM

482 posts

hi all,

i am new with android box, and very interested into this.

1. first question, if we are aiming a good android box then no need to buy the expensive smart lcd tv to hook up it with. sufficient a good led tv with sufficient connectivity? the smart tv itself got the android like card installed so if want to use this external box no need then to buy the 'smart' tv..

2. can android box replace pc use? for eg for normal browsing, facebook, viewing documents in office/pdf..if editing work documents maybe not so suitable, as full version MS office is not supported..

3. does it support normal wireless keyboard and mouse? like the logitech one..

tq in advance..
AVFAN
post Oct 31 2014, 10:42 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Oct 31 2014, 10:29 AM)
hi all,

1. first question, if we are aiming a good android box then no need to buy the expensive smart lcd tv to hook up it with. sufficient a good led tv with sufficient connectivity? the smart tv itself got the android like card installed so if want to use this external box no need then to buy the 'smart' tv..

2. can android box replace pc use? for eg for normal browsing, facebook, viewing documents in office/pdf..if editing work documents maybe not so suitable, as full version MS office is not supported..

tq in advance..
1. yes, with androidtv box, no need smart tv. connect android to tv, an idiotic tv will become very smart!

2. no. androidtv box can't and wont replace pc. android apps are like phone apps, actually meant for mobile so they r usually smaller and less detailed. bad idea to use for documenting editing and other detailed pc tasks. copying, deleting files, ok.

3. wireless mouse, yes. some may work better than others. i hv a logitec wireless mouse - works perfectly. keyboards... less sure.
steventan85
post Oct 31 2014, 10:45 AM

6,446 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Oct 31 2014, 10:29 AM)
hi all,

tq in advance..
smart tv aren't expensive nowadays .... 40" Sony Smart TV for RM1399 , available @ shop / lazada.com.my ...the latest 42" Sony Smart TV @ Rm1,800+ only ....

android box is mainly for entertainment use . why would u want to sit at sofa and do ur typing etc ? excel ?

smart tv do support wireless mouse and keyboard .. but for android box , its depend on which model and brand u buy i suppose
steventan85
post Oct 31 2014, 10:56 AM

6,446 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Oct 15 2014, 09:29 PM)
Finally received my Xiami Mi Box! rclxm9.gif

can u watch TVB drama using the xiaomi mi box ? i remembered someone said that they have blocked oversea IP address ...
OKLY
post Oct 31 2014, 12:40 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Oct 31 2014, 10:56 AM)
can u watch TVB drama using the xiaomi mi box ? i remembered someone said that they have blocked oversea IP address ...
Yes they are blocking it but can easily bypass by configuring it to use a DNS from China.

248 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:02 PM